We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2013”
Review of Relaxia Olivina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relaxia Olivina
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here in October 2013 on the basis that we usually stay close to this hotel but in a villa. (the villa was being used by other family members) The location was probably the main advantage of this hotel for us as it was close to everywhere we usually go. Easy walking distance of the beach, shops, bars etc.

We stayed in the apartments which were a little dated but personally this wasn't a problem for me because as we usually stay in villa's, these tend to be decorated the same. They are typical for lanzarote, wooden furnature - tiled floos. Spotlessly clean so nothing to complain about really.

We stayed in 228 which had sun on the balcony all day (was upper floor) and was close to the apartments pool and pool bar. Unfortunatley during the stay some tiles began to fall off the wall in the kitchen. We told reception who quickly made sure they were removed and it was made safe. This was late at night so there was no time to repair. The next day we went out and by the time we came back they had been put back on. We were impressed with the efficiency which meant that this didn't affect our opinion on the hotel at all.

The apartments are very spacious and have lots of wardrobe and storage space. Plenty of hangers too !

The food does get repetative but is always nice. At dinner there are always 2 fresh dishes on show cooking (usually 1 meat and 1 fish) then another dish such as a stew. You also get Pizza, Pasta , Chips and Garlic bread every night. There is a wide variety of Salads and cold meat. Desserts are plentiful, 4 ice cream choices along with cakes, buiscuits and fruit. Lunch is very much the same each day. Burgers, Pizza, Chips along with fresh cooking of meat and fish also the salads and fresh bread. Breakfast has lots of choices, eggs, beans, bacon along with fruit, fresh bread, pastries and again salad and fresh meat and cheese.

The bar is nice, the bar staff will make you anything you want as long as it is available. The spirits are quite weak compared the branded stuff but they do put plenty in for you! Beer, wine and soft drinks are all on self service taps with ice available. Also coffee, tea and fruit juice are also self service.

Entertainment was really poor in my opinion but we went out after dinner every night anyway to meet up with family and friends who were not staying in the hotel. We had always planned to do this so its not like the entertainment drove us out ! I would recommend going out of the hotel a few nights. Lanzarote is a great place and there is lots of very very good bars to explore.

The staff are very helpful and will do whatever they can to help you. If you are in the apartments (maybe hotel too) if you request a kettle from the reception they will give you one. We just took cups and tea bags from the bar and bought a small milk from the shop so that we had drinks available in the room if we didn't want to go down the bar in the morning.

Overall considering everything this hotel was perfect for us this time. If the price was right I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again. If you want a luxury hotel, however, I would not suggest this hotel.

The majority of guests tend to be older so it may not be suitable for younger couples either. This does mean that the hotel is very peaceful and quiet though.

This was our fist experience in a Riu hotel and it has given us a great first impression. We will certainly look to stay in one of their hotels again.

Room Tip: Apartments have more space but hotel is probably more updated. If staying in the apartments request...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RachaelMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
There are newer reviews for Relaxia Olivina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks, 29/9/13 to 13/10/13. Weather great first week, but then cloudy and even a few showers!! But still warm. We stayed in appartment with no air con and it was unbearable at times.The only fan was in the bedroom, nothing in lounge area. After a day in the sun to go back to an apartment with no a/c was like walking into a sauna!! For this reason we would not go back .Food was not wothy of 4* hotel. My husband struggled to find something to eat some days.
Pool area by aparments was usually quiet , but sun beds uncomfortable, plastic strips and no cushions. Entertainment was ok for us especially No Limits Duo.Excellent and talented!
Beds were really terrible and woke in morning with bad back which I do not suffer from. It was nice to have room and space of apartment but a/c would make a world of difference.

Room Tip: All apartments are a long walk from reception especially pulling cases for return trip as porter was...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allanjaneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for the week was in a great location near to shops and pubs because was the first time been to lanazrote and was not sure weather there was a lot to do there but they was the hotel was very clean food was good and the hotel staff was fantastic are thomson rep vicki was great to very helpful and friendly when we was booking trips with her the only thing that let's the hotel down is the entertainment at night it was not are thing and sometimes was not in english so we could not understand it

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned from a fortnight's stay at Riu Olivina, it was amazing( we always stay with The Riu Hotels) we can't fault it. From arrival to departure, everything was great. All staff, from groundsmen, chambermaids, reception,and the wonderful dining room and bar staff, were all smiling, friendly,and did everything , to make our stay the laid back, relaxing holiday we so desperately needed.Look out for Tomas at the bars, a truly lovable, funny,young man, we will remember him always.We stayed in room 1133, main hotel and it was situated adjacent to reception, I was a little concerned that we might have noise problems, but not a sound disturbed us !We have never slept so soundly , rooms kept beautifully, bathroom was always spotless. Food was excellent, meat and fish cooked freshly in front of you, breakfasts were everything you could have wanted, plenty of wonderful salads with freshly prepared, coleslaws, potato salads etc.cold meats, fish and cheeses. The team work in the dining room , was amazing, everyone worked together keeping it running so smoothly, everything was refilled as soon as needed, all staff working with a smile........all of these are no easy task when catering for such large numbers !!!!!!! All the swimming pools were maintained to highest standard, plenty of sunbeds and parasols, pool towels were provided and were changed once a week, unless like myself, you throw Brandy and Chocolate all over everything in which case they were changed immediately ! Evening entertained was varied, always enjoyable, yes the area is small, but there's nothing like lying on a sunbed (again) drink in hand, on a warm sultry night, listening to, or watching live performers. Watch out for NO LIMIT, I have never heard anyone one play a guitar / violin so amazingly , they made their instruments 'talk' wonderful .Location ..perfect,far enough away from 'the strip' to be peaceful, but close enough(20 min walk) for the younger ones to party the night away.We hired a car for 3days (75 euros all in, no excess etc.) and drove around the whole island, apart form the obvious touristy places, there are some lovely little villages to explore.Weather was fabulous, average of 28 c,Spar shop , left, left out of hotel and 2mins to bottom of the road, beach directly in front of you , right to Puerto Del Carmen, left to Matagorda for a lovely walk along the prom, both of which have good watering holes on the way !!!! Just for guidance....Darlia have best perfume prices often with 20% off at weekends, Fund Grube had best genuine cigarettes prices,watches. bikinis were also wonderful buy, and in all sizes, personally I always tried to shop in the Spanish shops, and was always served by lovely friendly people. Spar had best genuine spirit prices.We had a totally relaxing and enjoyable holiday, and if I could return tomorrow I would !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank redhead522013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Olivina 22 - 29 September and loved every minute of it. The weather was perfect. We were fortunate to have a room in the main hotel on the second floor on the side overlooking the swimming pool (I had e-mailed the hotel about a week before requesting this). No lift but not many steps to walk up and the porter will take your luggage. The room was cleaned to a high standard and a nice size with plenty of storage and a good size balcony to sit and enjoy the late afternoon sun. There is a small fridge which did keep the water nice and cold. The bathroom always had hot water and complimentary shower and shampoo in sachets in case you had forgotten to pack these. As others have said the towels had seen better days and were quite thin but you only had to put them on the floor and they would be changed. There is a free safe in the room.

We found the food excellent (and always hot) with plenty of choice each day although it was mostly the same every day but with so much choice we never ate the same thing twice. Never had to hunt for cutlery or plates etc. The fish was lovely. There was fresh fruit at every meal, as well as the usual sweets which normally I think look nice but always taste the same although here you could taste the different flavours. Drinks were self service in the restaurant i.e. wine, beer, water and soft drinks and of course in the morning orange, apple and mixed fruit drink all of which were rather strong but could be watered down. At breakfast one day it was bacon and the next sausage,(never the two together) eggs done in different ways, cereals, pastries etc. as well as all the cold meats. We liked the freshly baked bread. On Sunday morning you could have fresh fruit smoothies which were made for you as you walked into the restaurant. There is a dress code, men were not allowed short shorts in the restaurant in the evening although longer ones were allowed and we saw several men being told about this. Our only criticism is the tables are so close together and as everyone from the gardens and across the road have to eat in the same restaurant if the hotel and apartments were full feel it could be a nightmare although there was an extension to the restaurant which we saw open a few times.

The coffee from the machine was very good and again always hot and this was self service in different parts of the hotel. Water is not provided but you can fill your bottle from several places. Cake is available late afternoon if you feel peckish.

What we liked about it was no loud music playing around the pool with no entertainment team pestering you to take part in different things. In fact I think there was only the childrens entertainer there and this took place in the gardens. Evening entertainment was mainly live music and a magician one night. There is room to sit in or outside for this or strut your stuff if this is your thing. There is a cocktail menu but they will make anything you ask and to different strengths. The sangria was particularly good!!

The main swimming pool seems to be quite low compared to the road so does get very hot. The sun loungers were far more comfortable around this pool. Pool towels are provided if you ask at reception and can be changed half way through your stay.

The gardens are very close to the hotel and there were always sun loungers to be found here although they were extremely uncomfortable. For a change we would sit at the bar here under the parasols. The gardens are very well kept. Don't know what the apartments are like but they don't have air con. There are also apartments across the road and you could use the pool here if you want extra peace and quiet but no bar was open. Everywhere in the hotel is kept very clean.

The hotel is ideally situated because after a short walk to get to the promenade you can either turn left towards the airport (which goes on for miles) or turn right and walk to the harbour. Both ways there is a cycle track and is pedestrian friendly or you can paddle along the waters edge (heaven!) or look into the many knick knack shops (mostly Chinese).

We had a late flight home so went to reception to book a slot for a courtesy room to shower but were told these could not be booked, just to come when we wanted one but we may have to wait. There was quite a queue and we waited about 30 minutes. The room we used was in the main hotel and on the first floor looking towards the gardens and service road, it was very dark and dreary and near the kitchens with all the noise that brings so we were glad we didn't get allocated one of those rooms.

We found all the staff at the Olivina to be very friendly and efficient and made us feel very welcome and are a credit to the hotel.

Others have said they did not think this hotel was up to the usual standard of a Riu but personally we found it to be excellent value for money and will certainly consider another Riu Hotel for our next holiday because it was extremely well run. We would also return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: worth paying extra for hotel room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Previously stayed at riu Paraiso which was great so was unsure what we would find here. We were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in apartments (109) which was a great location. Terrace opened out onto pool which was kept very clean and there were always sunbeds and parasols available no matter what time of day. Always very quiet and a pleasure to be at with no loud music. Pool towels supplied from reception but you can only exchange for clean ones on a wednesday. Pool bar was only 3 doors away which was an added bonus and less than 5 minutes to main hotel and restaurants. Room always kept very Clean with fresh towels every day apart from Wednesday when the apartments have no maid service. This I found a bit strange but didn't cause us any problems. Please note there is no air conditioning in the apartments only a ceiling fan in the bedroom. Not a problem in September but think it would be in high season. Food we found to be of a very good standard with plenty of choice. You would have to be very fussy if you couldn't find something you liked at each meal time. Tables always cleared promptly although the staff could be a bit more cheerful! There are a couple of points to the hotels disadvantage - no sunbed mattresses and the beds in the apartment are very very soft consequently the last 3 days of the holiday were spoilt due to a bad back which I am still having treatment for a week on. Due to this, although a brilliant location we would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kim1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from a week’s holiday at the Riu Olivina. The weather was perfect as was the location but the hotel was rather disappointing. Having stayed in other Riu hotels we were surprised to find this one rather tatty and tired in places. The food was good and there was always a good choice but the coffee cups were cracked and chipped and there was quite often a rather nasty drain smell in the restaurant especially at breakfast which wasn’t pleasant. The pools were good although the tiles around it were very worn, uneven and cracked and the pool towels were so thin and worn I suggest you take your own with you and we were only allowed to change the pool towels once in the week we were there! We had an apartment rather than just a room which was a surprise as we were all inclusive, again it was rather tired but ok and cleaned to a good standard. Reading the other reviews it appears the rooms in the main hotel block are of a better standard than the apartments. The staff there were very friendly and helpful and all in all we had a good time and would definitely return to the area but would probably choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sueb104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,572 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
762 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relaxia Olivina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relaxia Olivina

Address: Calle Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Olé Olivina Lanzarote)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $158 - $1,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relaxia Olivina 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relaxia Olivina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Relaxia Olivina Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing