We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week break”
Review of Relaxia Olivina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relaxia Olivina
Ranked #29 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is clean and very efficient. Staff helpful and polite.
The food is well cooked but very bland. Don't expect anything out of the usual or spicy. As a German hotel the breakfast caters for their taste more as does the entertainment. All the entertainment was more for the over 60s but the small kids did seem to enjoy theirs, however I would imagine the English speaking children struggling with the German sing song!
The pools were spotless and the heated was actually warm.
The drinks were alcohol which the bar staff thought the object was to get as much in a glass as possible. Lacking quality but made up for in quantity. We drunk outside due to the poor quality. They need to take more time and care over cocktails rather than think we all want a glass full of spirit. Shame the WiFi needs to be paid for! Room comfortable and plenty of space. Beds a bit hard but clean.
Would I stay here again, yes.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We returned from 2 weeks holiday on 12th March and were very pleased with what we got for our £783 each. All my reviews are based on what we paid and this hotel was extremely good value. Before we went , we emailed the hotel asking if we could have a high floor and pool view and they returned an email back to me on the same day stating that they had received my message. When we arrived, we were lucky enough to get exactly what we had asked for.
From start to finish, we could not fault any of the staff. They were always welcoming, friendly, helpful and knew their job and did it to a high standard whilst really enjoying it. We travel a lot and have never known staff to be quiet like it, even in other Riu hotels. We thought they would be good but they went the extra mile without being over the top...so well done!!!
Our hotel room was a good size and kept spotlessly clean every day. We had a free safe and fridge and clean towels every day, although they were quite thin. The maid did several towel art animals and left flowers and chocolates for us. The bed clothes were left in fancy displays often and toiletries stocked when needed. There was also a hairdryer, flat screen TV and air conditioning in the room. Our balcony had a lovely view and sun in the afternoon with a small table and chairs plus a clothes line. There were plenty of drawers and hanging space in the rooms for two weeks or more. The beds were a little hard but comfortable and were changed and made up each day. No tea/ coffee making facilities in the room so take your own if wanted. Some people had Mossi bites so be warned! We only found one in our room but some people had several bites.
The hotel is 4* and the apartments 3* and the rating seems to be right in our view. The public areas are quite small for a full hotel but it was only two thirds full on our visit and coped well with that amount of guests. We had no trouble finding sunbeds, seats in the restaurant or bar areas and pool towels were there if you asked for them. There was a good variety of food and it was of good quality but did repeat quite a bit over the two weeks...especially the pork ( my husband says they must have a share in a pig farm) !
Breakfast was good with all the usual choices but never sausages and bacon on together and never mushrooms. The juices were the squash type but on several occasions there was fresh smoothies on offer as well as cava. They had all the usual choices of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, crusty bread, toast, cakes and the cold meats, cheeses and salads etc. Eggs were fried, scrambled, boiled and small omelettes also, along with baked beans and grilled tomatoes. There were also pancakes with sugar, chocolate and raspberry sauces.
Lunches had salads, pizzas, burgers, hot dogs, nuggets and fish fingers and a choice of grilled meats and fish with veg. This was the same every day with just the type of meat or fish changing. Lots of small brightly coloured desserts which all seem to taste the same, ice cream with sauces and sprinkles, rice, caramel, fruit pies and gorgeous coconut macaroons!
Snacks were in the covered poolside bar/ TV/ smoking area and included fresh fruit, ice cream and small cakes which you help yourself to.
Dinners were similar to lunches but you had more choices of fish and meats and lost the hot dogs and burgers.
You help yourselves to wine, soft drinks and beers at mealtimes and a coffee machine is available at breakfast also along with pots of ready filtered coffee and tea making facilities. All seemed fine to us but the tea wasn't quite the same as at home...it never is.
There is also a help yourself section in the bar for tea, coffee, hot chocolate, soft drinks and beer, plus ice and lemon. All other drinks ordered from the bar were of good quality and served with a smile and friendly chat.
All areas were kept clean and tidy and the staff were on top of everything all the time.
The hotel was in good order and the gardens very well kept and the pools were clean.
There is a main heated fresh water pool by the hotel with plenty of sunbeds, parasols, small tables in between and a large seating area. The pool was lovely and warm and empties were cleared regularly. The only down point was that the block paving is crumbling around the pool and this is making the surface very gritty and uncomfortable to walk on in bare feet. The grit is black and will leave your feet very dirty, wish they could sweep it up occasionally? The small tables were wiped but were dirty in the cup holders, nothing major but it was something that was overlooked seeing as how spotlessly clean the whole place was otherwise. There was no need to reserve sunbeds here, always enough for the amount of guests this time of year.
The apartments had two salt water unheated pools with a nicer tiled area around them. The biggest of the two had it's own bar and very colourful gardens. The smaller pool over the road never seemed to be in use whenever we passed it.
The toilets are situated between reception and the main bar / restaurant area, under the covered walkway. There are none by the main pool but there is a changing room and shower by the pool. It's not far to walk and wasn't a problem.
The apartments do not have a covered walkway connecting them to the main building so you could get very wet if it rains whilst going back to your room at any time.
The entertainment was mainly singers which were of the usual type of standard...pretty poor!!!!! There were a couple of quizzes and a magic act plus an Argentine act which we didn't see. Kids club was only on for half an hour and that suited us. Most of these acts were way too loud for the small room that they were being held in and it was very hard to hold a conversation whilst they were on. The Micheal Jackson tribute was terrible!!!! Everyone was of this same opinion but it was so bad that it was funny! Some people liked to dance to the music each night but it wasn't really our type of thing.
Most of the people staying here were pensioners...about 80% and the others made up of young families and 40 - 60 year olds. Teenagers were not here at this time of year. About 50% were German, 40% British and 10% others. We felt fine about this and felt all nationalities were treated the same.
Overall this was a really relaxing holiday with a few regular poolside activities going on like darts, rifle shooting, table tennis, gymnastics, boules etc and only music playing quietly in the bar, which was only just heard from nearby sunbeds and the seating area. There was never loud music around the pool and you were never pestered to join in the activities.
The hotel is just a 5 min walk from the seafront and the start of endless shops, bars and places to eat. Very convenient but far enough away to be very quiet at all times. The resort is very clean and well maintained and flat for walking. The buses are cheap and regular and all looked new and clean.
Just one thing more...There was no tips jar on the bar or in the dining room. We wish there had been as you could have left an amount to be shared amongst all the staff. It is hard to choose just one member of staff to hand your tip to as they are all so good.
They do not remove your All Inc wristband as you check out, it's valid until you actually leave. You can keep your baggage in a locked room and have use of a shower room if needed before you leave.
As usual, I've gone on too long. I will answer any questions you may have if possible.
If you are having any doubts, DON'T WORRY. There are no real problems here.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are nicer. Pool view ones get the sun. Hotel rooms are carpeted so quieter. Ours was at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank elleHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to this hotel as part of a very short notice, sneaky week away. Took all inclusive with flight etc. as this was far the best value. Booked at 6 days notice.

Decided upon hotel after reading fellow travelers reviews and it reflected their good guidance.

Good things about hotel:
Very pleasant staff who were very welcoming and lively, they seemed to enjoy their work.
Lovely setting with lots of grounds which had pretty flowers and was very well tended.
Choice of three pools, one freshwater and heated and two unheated pools in quieter areas.
Could join in with the crowd around the biggest pool or find a quieter spot.
Food plentiful and varied (perhaps missing a bit on taste, but there was always tabasco sauce to help here) and local papas arrugadas really good with the green and red sauces, gazpacho also great. Lots of salads, breakfast lots of choice with very drinkable wine and beer.
Bar staff and choice of drinks very good.
Comfortable sun loungers and good pool towels.
Beds OK, a bit on the hard side but very clean.
Internet access good for a small fee.
Very good setting close to Pocillos beach and easy walking to town, shops and restaurants if you wanted a change from all inclusive.

Poorer points.
Bedroom a bit tired with carpet bare in places.
A/C not brilliant but told it is cranked up as it gets hotter. Manageable if, like me, you get warm at night by removing the plastic under-sheet on bed and only having sheet and blanket and not bed cover.
Would have been nicer to have same quality of bathroom towels as the pool ones. Could change daily if wanted so again manageable but a bit on the small/thin-ish side.
Our room was top floor in the hotel smelt a bit musty possibly because of recent heavy rain.

All in all a good place to either to stay all holiday in if you like entertainment and access to food and drink all day. We chose to use it as a base as we know the island very well and spent most days at Famara but good to return to and make use of facilities in the evenings.

Very helpful and accommodating reception staff who were consistently pleasant and always trying to help. I had my birthday there and a bottle of sparkling wine was left in our room. A very nice touch.

Would return but we normally go self catering so unlikely, unless again took a week at short notice as this would be better value.

Room Tip: As a large resort the rooms in the hotel were far more central and easier access to bar, restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank debw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Every member of staff friendly and very helpful. Food always fresh,well cooked and beautifully presented. Huge choice.
All areas spotless.Note that pool towels provided.
Very near sea front, shops and lots of tourist restaurants. No real need to visit restaurants as food so good. Red wine excellent- white wine not so and less popular.
Quite classy , most people dress smartly in the evenings.
Quiet.We will return .
Would be happy to stay in apartments too. Reception offered us a key to one and they're good too.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms facing the pool as the get the sun on the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IanandFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for a week end of February found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable with plenty of drawers. Everything was very clean. Have stayed in Rui hotels before and this one equals any of them. The food was good. Would certainly recomend this hotel and will certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

2 weeks at the Riu with my partner and baby boy proved to be a pleasure. The staff were so friendly and helpful with any request and made you feel like a special guest. The hotel is very clean and he heated pool was a Bonus as the wind was very cold due to the time of year. A good selection of food every night meant there was always something to choose from, and the food was constantly replenished and lovely and fresh. We stayed in an apartment,which again was spotless and had all we required for the fortnight...I would advise that anyone who feels the cold like me needs to take a hot water bottle as it can be really cold and damp at this time of year...although rooms have furry blanket as well as your sheet. We spent a lot of time walking and the area is reasonably flat, clean with lovely beaches. We also hired a car for a week which was really worth it as we toured the whole island...the only complaint was he baby car seat which was horrendous,really dangerous and not like ours in uk!!will advise thomsons and holiday autos of this though. Overall. Fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gillfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hotel Riu Olivina, a wonderful hotel for a relaxing break. The hotel itself was very clean, all round, very comfortable bedrooms and a bonus of a safe in the room at no extra charge, staff extremely friendly and helpful and the meals excellent, not a vast choice but what was served was very good. Two good pools and an abundance of sunbeds and seating areas, along with a pleasant garden area and small play area for younger holidaymakers. The hotel being AI worked very well in that there was never a queue at the bar, soft drinks, beers and wines were all self service at the side of the bar along with tea and coffee. The hotel is situated only a few miles away from the airport, yet a quiet suberb of Puerto Del Carman. Only 10 minutes from the beach and a lovely promenade area which is ideal for a stroll after breakfast. All in all, excellent value for money, for a relaxing holiday break. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,784 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,952 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relaxia Olivina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relaxia Olivina

Address: Calle Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Olé Olivina Lanzarote)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $151 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relaxia Olivina 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relaxia Olivina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Relaxia Olivina Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing