We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olivina Lanzarote Sept 2012”
Review of Relaxia Olivina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relaxia Olivina
Ranked #29 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice Hotel, all areas were clean except the pool area which could have done with a bit more care. Rooms lovely spotlessly clean every day with a nice patio area on mine surrounded by flowers and greenery, very peaceful and quiet at all times. Food was of good quality but very repetertive over the 14 days. Hotel bar and restuarant staff were friendly and chatty, the entertainment was good in the evenings very professional acts, but in the daytime it was limited to darts, ping pong, water polo etc not really entertainment. The only reason I wouldnt return to this hotel would be a couple of safety aspects which I wasnt happy with, no toilets in the pool area so you had to walk through the whole hotel to the main reception for the loo :-( and there were no hand rails on the stair cases I had to go done 2 small flights of stairs (approx 16 stairs) to my room and found the stairs quiet dangerous. I have advised Thomson's of both of these issues but other than that a lovely resort and a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Head for the lower floor which is level with the pool area, rooms start with 10, example 1009, 1010...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beverley38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I have recently returned from a 10 night holiday at the RIU Olivina. Having read the reviews on here before we went, I had a couple of slight concerns, but I really shouldn't have. One of which was mosquitos and being bitten... We didn't see a single bug or mosquito in the whole time that we were there - let alone get bitten!

The hotel is in a fantastic location, just 2 minutes stroll from the beach and the main strip of Puerto del Carmen. Puerto del Carmen itself is also a prime spot in Lanzarote - just 10 minutes from the airport and central to Costa Teguise and Playa Blanca if you were to hire a car, which is what we did. We only hired it for two days and easily managed to see the whole of the island in this time.

The hotel itself is kept very clean and all staff were very welcoming and accommodating. A special mention should go to Luis and José in the restaurant, who did a fantastic job every day, never without a smile on their faces.

The hotel rooms are 4* and are very nice from what we saw when we used one to shower on our final day. However, we were in an apartment, which are 3* and have no air conditioning, which is my only gripe. Although they do have a large ceiling fan above the bed in the bedroom, which does keep you nice and cool at night. The apartments are very spacious though and always kept clean by the friendly maids, so I much preferred staying in one of these to a hotel room.

The hotel does have activities on during the day, but we didn't take part in any of these so can't comment. Also, despite not being the best, the evening entertainment was just fine in the background when enjoying an evening drink.

There are 3 pools, all of which always had plenty of spare sun loungers. We spent all of our time at the smallest apartment swimming pool across the road, which was very relaxing.

The food was great - especially the paella and mojo red sauce - and you would never go hungry. I really don't know what some of the moaners were expecting...

Excursions: I would highly recommend the 'Grand Tour', which allows you to see all the main attractions of the island in one day, including Timafaya National Park and Jameos del Agua. We also did a day trip to Fuerteventura, which is well worth the visit. We also took the car to the Cueva de los Verdes, which is a 7km underground tunnel created by lava flow - excellent!

My boyfriend and I are in our 20s and did feel like we were some of the youngest at the hotel, but this really wasn't a problem - a holiday is what you make it, after all!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room on a top floor and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sadie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week 16th to 23rd. We stayed at the riu paraiso in march so decided to come again and stayed in the olivina as it was the same hotel chain. On arrival everything was perfect check in was quick and friendly the resort is a lot smaller then the paraiso and was a lot more relaxed and laid back there was always plenty of sun beds no matter what time of day we went to the pool and it was kept clean and tidy, the rooms were spacious and cleaned everyday we were in room 1142 and ear plugs are a must for a decent night sleep unless you can sleep to the sound of plates glasses cutlery and staff talking, and slamming doors and moving furniture from the accompaning rooms, we could even hear next doors toilet flush on the plus side we did get to watch english channels on the flat screen tv. the entertainment was lacking in all aspects day and night there only seemed to be 2 members of the entertainment team working each day. The food was plentiful but was extremely repetitive and was the same day to day with the odd different flavour ice cream every now and then, they did have a BBQ one lunch time which was a welcome change although was still the same meats only cooked in a different way. Would I stay here again? Probably but would ask for an apartment instead and only if the paraiso was not available, if you are looking for entertainment, children's activitys and more food variety I would suggest the paraiso or for a more relaxed sun catching quiet break this is the place for you

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passportreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have just come back after 2weeks with 10 other friends. We had a great time. I would agree the hotel has mainly Spanish and Germans and also agree that the apartment rooms were very hot. Ask for an upstairs one. We had 309 and it was very hot at times. As others have said this did not spoil our enjoyment. The service at the bars was brilliant and much better than say the riu karamboa in cape verde. The staff in all areas were very cheerful and helpful. The apartment pool was quiet and we had the same beds every day for a fortnight. We had very warm weather and it was a welcome relief to go into the lovely pool to cool down. In general I thought the food was very good although in some cases repetitive and sometime the meat and fish needed cooking a little longer. BUT the salads were great and none of our group had a bad tummy. the hotel is in agood position and long walks along the coast were traffic free. We hired push bikes from BH and had a really good day riding in a mostly traffic free environment. A walk to Puerto Carmen is easy and there are plenty of places to eat and drink. The entertainment was not so good but as their were 12 of us it did not matter so much. Definitely would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collos58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I have just come back from the Olivina and i have nothing but praise for our whole experience. The staff were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble.We stayed in apartment 215 and we were only 50ft from one of the pools.Sunbeds were never a problem there were always plenty of empty ones throughout the entire day. The food was always hot and the choice was very good at all meals, with wine and beer on tap, with spirits and cocktails served at the bars.The hotel the rooms and the pools were all kept very clean and the gardens are beautiful. The location is a short stroll to the beach and shops and bars.Lanzarote is avery laid back island where we never felt under any kind of pressure from shop keepers or bar owners you were just made to feel welcome where ever you went. I would certainly return to Lanzarote and would recommend the Riu Olivina.

Room Tip: Apartments numbered in the 100s and 200s are very near to two of the pools and pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Have just stayed at this hotel for a week, was a lovely hotel and cannot fault the cleanliness or the excellent staff. Food was plentiful, though much the same everyday. The entertainment wasnt very good though, two evenings my friend and i watched tv in our room!! Seemed to be an older age group staying there - average age of 60-70, though there were a few younger people, so this is an excellent place to stay if you want a peaceful holiday, i would go definitely go back if the entertainment was better.

Room Tip: Choose a room and not an apartment if you would like air con, the apartments dont have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eloiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed first week in September in hotel (room 1018, which overlooked back of restaurant). Rooms very clean and maid service excellent. Food was mainly pork and veal, but always fresh and well cooked. There was always the option of pasta too, with many different sauces. You cant expect to go away and have all the food that you eat at home! Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice (beware the phantom coffee pots!). Spent most of time at apartment pools as much quieter. Entertainment hit and miss (and often lack of seating unless you camped out early) and went out every night to La Grupa bar (Marcos) just around corner. Half hour walk to main part of Puerto del Carmen (or 5 euro taxi), Went on 3 hour boat trip from port which was excellent. Never had a problem getting a sunbed and were never down there at crack of dawn. All in all a nice hotel, with good food and lots of choice and a relaxing holiday, with the option of the livlier Puerto del Carmen on your door step.

Room Tip: Room 1018 was lower ground and overlooked back of restaurant and at first we thought not good, but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank attrello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,640 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relaxia Olivina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relaxia Olivina

Address: Calle Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Olé Olivina Lanzarote)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $156 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relaxia Olivina 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relaxia Olivina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Relaxia Olivina Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing