We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveler rating
589
456
204
105
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
589
456
204
105
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior bungalow block room shopping centre self catering relaxing holiday drying area pool bar air con minute walk sea front bars and restaurants these apartments remote control sun loungers a stones throw close to the airport washing up liquid
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

Went here with my wife and 2 children we booked a superior room, we was hoping for one on the front with a sea view but we got put in block 8 room 2. When i questioned the reception staff i ended up speaking to the manager and she explained that the rooms on the front would not have big enough for 4 of us and to be fair they were right they had our interests at heart with us having kids they put us next to the kids pool which kept my 2 very happy and also the pool bar which was manned by the lifeguard/bar man/cook he was excellent and very friendly.
The hotel is huge and spread out, all shops and restaurants are very close by and reasonably priced.
The room was a good size and had everything we needed for self-catering the only disappointing thing is that they were superior rooms but not a superior standard our patio door had to be padlocked and the bathroom was in poor condition ie broken tiles and mold around the window.
All in all it was very relaxing and the rooms are a work in progress I was lead to believe. Also if anyone books a superior room email/phone them to request a sea view room I was told by the reception staff. I would return here but I would book a 2 bedroom bungalow and request a refurbished room.
Also the maids are friendly and do a good job but outside our terrace on the gravel it was full of cigarette dimps which I had to clean away (we don't smoke).

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank martin321977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BungalowsLasGaviotas, Director General at Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment, they always help us to improve our service and for others to know more about the complex.

I am very pleased to know that you are happy with the service from our staff, even though you were dissapointed in the location of your Bungalow.
Nevertheless it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back in the Hotel and if you need information or help with your next reservation please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Rafael Pérez Blanco
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. Bungalow overlooking pool with plenty of storage and basic cooking facilites. Spacious rooms and english tv channels if that is what you want. Very quiet and close to supermarket. We were in block 2.
Some of the blocks were quite far away from the sea and the shops. The rooms were very clean and the linen changed on a regular basis. We understand that the self catering option may not continue so that is something that should be checked before booking. We had a really good stay. Thank you to the management and staff.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lynette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BungalowsLasGaviotas, Director General at Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking a minute to share your experience on Tripadvisor
Your comments helps us to improve our services and for other customers to get to know the complex.
I am very pleased to know that you are happy with the facilities and the service from our staff.

I hope we can welcome you back in a future.

Best regards,
Rafael Pérez Blanco
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Stayed here in January and was well pleased. Appartments were well equipped, clean and in a good location with most of what you need, nearby. If you like walking you can go along the front all the way to Puerto Del Carmen, if not the bus stop is not too far off and taxis are reasonable. Lots of good pubs and restaurants and good value. Would go back and quite easily recommend a stay here. I was in block 8 bungalows.

Date of stay: January 2017
3  Thank fredmh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BungalowsLasGaviotas, Director General at Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking some time to share your experience on Tripadvisor, I hope your comments will be useful for our future clients.
I am very pleased to know that you are happy with the facilities and the area of Matagorda.

I hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Rafael Pérez Blanco
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

Firstly we have been here before and booked to return on the back of what was an excellent stay.

Upon arrival we were promptly checked in by a friendly lady who spoke very good English, she allocated us room 3 in block 6 which is one of the further out blocks and as such we were driven there from reception to avoid getting lost. Block 6 is a small block with around a half dozen bungalows aligned behind a small pool.

The bungalows are perfectly appointed, there's a comfortable small living area with sofa, kitchenette with fridge, hob, kettle and microwave. There's a good sized bathroom with bath, shower and bidet along with toiletries. An outside yard for hanging your washing and there are some sunbeds and a table and chair set on each terrace.

One thing that did hit us as we opened the door was the smell of paint, it seemed to have been recently overhauled and the fumes were initially intolerable, it did eventually become bearable after having all the doors and windows open for a few hours but it was still a kick in the face everytime you opened the door.

Also, this was the first time we've been to Lanzarote in January and whilst the days weren't particularly cold the temperature did drop at night and the bungalows got very cold indeed to the point we used a small heater we found in the wardrobe.

First night everything was great, the next morning however we heard every move of the people in the adjacent bungalow who were leaving, for a concrete bungalow the walls are seemingly paper thin and any noise resonates throughout. Once that had subsided we were then awoken at 0830 by maintenance in bungalow 4. It started as drilling, scraping and slowly escalated to banging of furniture and hammer drilling into the structure of the bungalow - the noise was loud to the point we couldn't hear each other speak.

We raised this with reception and it was the same lady that checked us in, she knew immediately what we were complaining about and almost shrugged it off saying they need to do continuous refurbishment otherwise things get old really quick - which is fair enough but we could have been warned it would be happening, in any previous hotel/complex I've stayed in if they're doing work they'll not sell adjacent rooms as a courtesy to the guests. Anyway, she said she'd ask the workmen if they could temporarily relocate to another area to give us some peace. Initially, this did work, it got quiet. Then a man with a hammer drill climbed on the roof and the noise was louder than ever. This time a call to reception from the room with the drilling drowning us both out got the message across and we were promptly offered a new room which we accepted, room 23 in block 7. This room was pretty much the same although slightly better laid out. Unfortunately the toilet flush was broken on arrival but we fixed that ourselves. This room did overlook a road but it wasn't particularly busy and we actually preferred the ability to sit people watching.

The place doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't but it's unacceptable to be expected to grin and bare building work because they need to do it sometime.

For us, it's perfectly located and I'm sure we'll be back but probably not in low season when there is a likelihood of works happening.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bjones1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BungalowsLasGaviotas, Gerente at Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that you were bothered with our work on upgrading during your stay with us. You should have been changed the very moment you first contacted reception. Due to a misunderstanding in between departments we believed there was not much work left on the Bungalows in question that would cause mayor discomfort for our other guests. I sincerely apologize for this.
Please do contact us again if you would like to visit us in a future and I'll see if there is anything I could do to compensate for the troubles.

Best regards,
Rafael Pérez Blanco
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2017

We have stayed in these apartments before and had a fantastic time, hence booking again. The apartments are a good size with all the amenities you could want in a good location.

We were initially put in block 6 which is one of the far out blocks, still close enough to all the amenities but quite cut off from the rest of the complex. We were completely self catering so it didn't bother us at all.

Fast forward to Monday morning and at around 8:30am we were awoken quite abruptly by what sounded like furniture being thrown around the room next door... this within a few hours had turned into hammering and drilling that was so loud we couldn't hear each other speak. We decided to be British about it and just hope that the noise would soon come to an end, we however had a look into the apartment where the drilling and hammering was taking place on our way out and it became clear that it was undergoing a full scale refurbishment.

We went to reception to complain and they were immediately aware of what the problem was before we'd even finished explaining; why were we not at the very least told when we checked in the day before that this work would be taking place? We received an apology and it was explained that being such a big complex they had to carry out work on an ongoing basis etc etc. We understand that, what we don't understand is how it can be acceptable to place guests so close to where there would be noise and disruption. Anyway, we were advised that maintenance would be instructed to move to a different area to carry on work, so we decided to go out for a few hours to give them a chance to move.

We came back and the work was still going on, this time however I phoned reception from the room whilst the drilling was going on, after another call to maintenance we were finally offered a different apartment. This was in block 7 and we actually preferred the location. The apartment was slightly differently laid out but appointed to the same standard and was thereabouts the same size.

It really is a shame that the noise incident happened otherwise we wouldn't have a single thing to complain to about. Being forewarned about what to expect would have gone a long way as a point of courtesy. If you know it's happening, tell your paying guests.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kdhurst380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews