We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas
Ranked #21 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Las Gaviotas provides good accomodation. It is regularly cleaned and the all inclusive option meant access to a good variety of food. My mother has mobility problems, but a walk in shower and close proximity to the restaurant and the beach meant that enjoyment was had for all. Las Gaviotas provided good value for money and a great location for activities. Bike riding, segway tour, small shopping centres, restaurants, bus tour collection all in close proximity. The only issue we had was being close to the pool table (block 3 room 9). Fine if people play quietly, but unfortunately, we had spanish children with no respect or volume control to their voices till 11:00 in the evening banging their cues on the metal gazebo poles. Pot luck you could say - we only had this for 3 evenings. Still returned feeling relaxed and happy.

Room Tip: Recommend a superior room in blocks 1-4. Ensure you have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank a2hlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

Las Gaviotas was a great part of the resort to stay in.

The bungalows were cleaned everyday, the towels and sheets changed as well. Everything under the "campus" of Las Gaviotas was clean and well tended, with a lot of effort put into the pool and poolside areas.
The food was of a very good standard, with plenty of variety throughout the week, all freshly cooked, sometimes right in front of you on the grill.
All meals had salads, hot and cold vegetarian options and a range of hot food, which included local food. Desserts were always good.
The best part of staying here was the staff.
We were met on reception by Deborah who was just superb on the first day and whenever we needed her after that. Then Felix took us and our bags to our bungalow for the week. And it just kept coming. Maria in the restaurant in particular stood out for amazing attention to detail and service, particularly to children.
We were a little worried before travelling as we had seen some pretty negative recent reviews on trip adviser, but either those people were expecting far too much or there's been a change in management, because it just didn't resemble the comments made previously.

I'd go back to Las Gaviotas.

Room Tip: A superior bungalow puts you closer to the restaurant and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TanakaHobbitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just got back on Sunday and would return tomorrow if we could! Travelled with hubby,daughter and 19mth old grandson.Upgraded to a bungalow with air con on arrival,was clean and spacious and it was lovely to sit out on the patio and enjoy the sun.We were in Block 3 room 12,and it was close to the restaurant( we were all inclusive) and the kiddies pool.The food choice was very good and tasty.The restaurant staff were lovely and friendly,nothing was too much trouble. Area around is great for walking and cycling,and our grandson loved watching the planes coming in to land.All in all a great holiday we will be back!!!!!!

Room Tip: Block 3 is near to restaurant, handy if you are all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PGSPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here July 6th-13th All Inclusive, arrived late evening but we were able to have our evening meal before checking in to room. When arriving at room (Block 3 room 14) there was no drinking water in fridge so chased back to restaurant , where bar is located, (shuts at 10.30 pm)!!! only to be told you have to either buy bottled water or take a plastic cup filled with water from the water machine, I explained we had just arrived, was wearing the AI bracelet & have never had to buy water at AI hotels before, because he wanted to close he gave me 2 small bottles to see us through till morning. Strange to me as you could have spirits, beer, wine, soft drinks etc but no free bottled water which makes no sense at all.
Other than that had a brill time, nice friendly staff, food good, & great location for some R&R.
Bungalow very clean & met some lovely fellow guests, especially Sharron, Annabell & her friend
Zahra who were a great laugh. Definately would return.

Room Tip: Block 8 is a distance from restaurant, would be a nuisance if AI as couldn't find a wc near bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank westhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We have just got back. On arrival we were upgrade or room as my daughter is disabled the bungalow was lovely, right next to restaurant which the food was amazing, I can't believe people have said their is not enough variety I can't image what other food could be available, and all of it cooked beautifully. The pool was lovely and clean with safely barriers around which meant it was very safe for little ones. The room was cleaned almost every day and the one day it was not cleaned they still changed the towels. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The facilities are fantastically close to shops beach and amenities. I loved the fact having a little one that everyone had their own garden with loungers so of an evening when little one was in bed we could still lounge. We had a very early flight back and the staff even made us a lovely pack lunch the night before we left. Their is no entertainment on site but the shops are close and they have some so not a problem. The snack bar was a bit far away from where we stayed but to be honest we were so full from the meals we did not need snack. Plus all of the free drinks I.e coke and Fanta was the real deal not watered down stuff. Great place will definatly return x x

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Me, my Partner and our 4 yr old Daughter stayed here from 3-10th July 2014. We dont expect too much and so was not dissapointed with our stay.

Our room was very standard and had apparently had a recent refurb, the floor was dirty upon our arrival and I had to clean this with a broom that was provided. The beds were VERY uncomfortable.

However, we really enjoyed our stay here, we wanted a peaceful holiday with local bars and restaurants and this is all there. One bar we liked in particular was Sin Nombre which was run by a local called Marco. VERY lovely bloke who really went out of his way to make us feel welcome and our Daughter was well looked after by him. Me and my Partner ordered a cocktail and he still jazzed up her glass of orange to make her feel like she was joining in, he also treated her to a sweet on every visit... we didnt have to ask for anything.

We stayed self catering and so made use of some restaurants. The one we returned to was called Sam Maguire's, AMAZING food! the BEST steak I have ever had! Slow service but well worth the wait. Starters and mains both lovely, cant say the same for dessert though. The same people returned on other nights as well as us and not at all overpriced compared to surrounding bars.

We also ate at a chinese in there, I can not remember the name but it is also located in the shopping complex on the edge. Again this was lovely.

We had breakfast almost everyday at a cafe who advertised English Breakfasts for 2.95!... again really nice!!

We stayed in block 8, room 19 and this seemed to be the pool to be at also in block 8. Met some really lovely people and children played lovely together.

Overall, basic holiday but well worth getting away for a quiet one here!

Would not recommend spending your money on the Aqua Park though, wasnt the best! There is a newer one called Aqua Lava which may be better for younger children.

We visited Playa Blanca which didnt have much other than a nice white beach, a bus costs 2.70 from Matagorda to here.. single though, so a cheaper day out to visit a different beach. Nice beach in Puerto Del Carmen also along with shops and bars.

The holiday overall way very peaceful and well worth a visit to get away! Would return again but fingers crossed for a better mattress!

Room Tip: Rooms seemed to be nicer in a block called Green Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived at Las Gaviotas and asked for an upgrade to an apartment with air con, this was done with no problem at all. The reception staff especially Inma are very helpful. Our apartment was perfect, near to the pool and restaurant. The furnishings were ok, a few Cockroaches about but we found out that if we left the light on in the kitchen at night they didn't come out! We were All Inclusive and the food was fine, always plenty and of course more if you really wanted it. The restaurant staff were very nice, always cheerful and helpful. Overall our stay was perfect, relaxing and trouble free just what we needed. Would defiantly go back and would defiantly recommend Las Gaviotas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Pjay185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos THe Morromar
Apartamentos THe Morromar
#38 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas

Address: Calle Mato 1 | Urbanizacion Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $82 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas has a unique location so that you can enjoy to the maximum your vacations of relax and leisure. Located in the tourist center of Puerto del Carmen, the three-star-resort is in front of Matagorda, a long family beach of golden sand and perfect for walking as well as the practice of water sports. The resort is just a few minutes away from the capital Arrecife, the airport of Lanzarote and a great golf course. Just a few meters away you´ll find the promenade Avenida de las Playas, which communicates with Puerto del Carmen and is ideal for taking a pleasant stroll, do sports or simply enjoy watching people come and go. Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas causes surprise due to its wide open spaces as well as its architecture – typical from Lanzarote in white and green colors. It has 134 completely independent apartments divided in seven sectors with their own pool. Four of the seven pools are heatable and three of them count with an enabled space for children. The resort also disposes of a restaurant-buffet and a snack bar. In common areas you can get free wifi connection. In Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas we put everything at your disposal for you to enjoy this experience in a welcoming ambience. Lanzarote, known as “the volcano island”, is pure geology, full of spectacular aquatic and moon-like landscapes. It is the land of contrasts: the white houses, the volcanic red and the turquoise crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic. It is land of works of art-nature, delicate and merged with the landscape. Lanzarote is pure harmony between the man and nature. In Lanzarote you will find the Parque Nacional de Timanfaya (Timanfaya National Park): truly a spectacle declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, it is the island of the eternal spring. The appealing and surprising spots will fascinate and captivate you. Lanzarote is the ideal place for the practice of water sports. The unique climate, the optimum water temperatures and trade winds make of Lanzarote one of the best spots worldwide for surfing and windsurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Las Gaviotas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing