We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing holiday. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
North Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing holiday. ”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this review while I laze at the pool using the hotels free wifi. We leave later today after a two week stay.
The complex and apartments are very well maintained. The pool is cleaned daily. The paths are swept and scrubbed on a regular basis. Everything is shipshape!
After many years of all inclusive holidays I fancied a change and a chance to eat in different restaurants every night. The location of the Barcarola apartments doesn't let you down. Restaurants and bars in abundance just a stones throw away. If like me you don't come on holiday to cook, make sure to budget accordingly. We've spent on average €80 a day on food/drink/Ice creams for a family of four.
Beaches are within a few minutes walk in either direction with the sea being very refreshing.
I emailed the hotel in advance to request an upper floor with a pool view. We given exactly that (H4) fantastic two bed room with two balconies.
The only thing which knocks a spot of is the lack of air conditioning. The windows are nearly as large as doors so let plenty of air in, but on windy nights they rattled and banged constantly keeping me awake until I gave in and closed them. I wouldn't have felt comfortable having them open at all on the ground floor.
Normal check out is 12 o'clock. We were charged €30 for a late check out. We leave at 5pm. I'm guessing the €30 would cover the full day if needed.
All in all a lovely relaxing holiday and we would happily return.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank everyonesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcarolaclub, Director General at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear everyonesmile,

thank you for taking your time during your holidays to write about our complex!!!

Reviews as your mean that we make our job as people expected. And that make all staff very happy !!!

Hope to see you and your family again in Barcarola !! Don´t hesitate to contact us if you have any special desire!!

kind regards

Celia Espino
Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    210
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
235
235
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed at the Barcarola for two weeks and had a great holiday. It really is a nice little place and is in a very good location in Puerto Del Carmen. The beach is only a stones throw away and is also lovely. The old town is about a 25 minute brisk walk.

Pros:
Location in PDC
Price of stay
Clean apartments
Size of apartments
Basic kids club + 'Otto' to keep kids busy
Various activities going on in day such as water polo and table tennis
Quieter pool in M block if you do not fancy the noise of the larger pool
Daily housekeeping

Cons:

Lack of sunbeds after mid day due to people reserving with towels
Wifi poor unless in pool/reception area
Karaoke/Howling from the pub 'The Venue' in block M was horrendous at times but seemed to stop around 1am.
We emailed on booking and also a week before arrival asking for a room not in ground floor. This was ignored. When I asked why, the receptionist said there were none available. As we saw in the two weeks there were and she was not telling the truth.

Outside the complex there are a wide range of places to eat and drink. If you make your way through a selection of the the top ten on trip advisor you wont go far wrong. One word of warning If you do eat out at night is to thoroughly check your bills !!! I would say on average every other night we found extras on our bill, not much but extras all the same, wrong drinks etc etc. When you bring it to their attention you get some cock and bull excuse, at the end of the day they are trying to rip you off!!!

Another tip is 'Last Minute Transfers'. We used them for two excursions and also our trip to and from the airport. Excellent reliable company with excellent prices!

Overall a lovely stay at the Barcerola. We would return for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcarolaclub, Director General at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Mike C,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Concerning your request about not ground floor apartment, sometimes when we are fully booked it is very difficult to arrange all wishes. Also in high seasons we try to control the sunbeds reservation. All our guest know that it is forbidden therefore this summer our staff removed towels from sunbeds.

Hope to get the opportunity in a near future to show our job.

Once again, we appreciate your kind comments on our resort and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards

Celia Espino
Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Apartment we're clean, staff pleasant , when we asked for a kettle we were not waiting too long. The kids club needs work, not much going on for the kids. Pool was very disappointing, cold and small. I would not list these apartments as no 5 in lanzorate.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marys0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcarolaclub, Director General at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Marys0001,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We will take into consideration your opinión about the kids club

Kind regards from Lanzarote

Celia Espino
Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Just got back from a week here at the Barcarola Appts and as a family we have to say we had a great time here.

The appts like people have said are very clean, well looked after by the maids and the grounds are immaculate.

The pool is great and just about the right size and Otto manages to get people involved if they want to with some of the activities.

The sun bed towel issue is here as per any other place which does lead to a culture of if you cant beat them join them attitude, but even if you don't do that you can usually get a place.

The only downsides if i can think of any are : Wifi (never got connected) but i think it's just wherever you are in the complex and that on a ground floor appt where you dont tend to leave doors and windows open the appts do get very hot; but they didn't spoil the holiday.

Would go back again may times to this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djpulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcarolaclub, Director General at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear djpulford,

thank you for taking your time to share your opinion about Barcarola.

We are working to improve the wifi signal and connection. Barcarola and other hotels in the surrounding are waiting to reach the fibra óptica to improve the connection. We hope in a near future that will be completed.

Hope to get the opportunity to see you soon

Kind regards

Celia Espino
Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Location is good, right inside town near by seaside and shops but you have to learn how to get to it if you are a driver because of one way system in town,you may go BIG round and round to find it, parking is a bit problem but you may always find some where near by, sat nave dose not work very well around island, staff very helpful and friendly, property dose need some modernisation but clean, Free VIFI it works by reception area.

Room Tip: Rooms are more or less the same, around swimming poll is more noisy, we chose d the one on east sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiminLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcarolaclub, Director General at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear SiminLondon,

thank you for taking your time to write in Tripadvisor your holidays in our complex.

Your opinión and experience can help other people to organise previouly their holiday if decide to rent a car.

Thank you for your comments concerning also our complex

Hope to see you again in a future

Kind regards from the sunny Lanzarote

Celia Espino
Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from a 10 night stay in the Barcarola! Fantastic apartment complex, super clean, nice apartments, wonderful staff and a fab pool! The apartments are of average size but they are spacious enough, with a small but nice kitchen, a dining table, a good TV, plenty of storage, a lovely patio/balcony, and couch come bed, lovely bathroom, excellent shower, fantastic wardrobe and beds that are comfortable enough! The apartments are cleaned daily, towels are changed daily if you wish for them to bed, bed sheets are changed every 3-4 days and sometimes more frequently! The cleaning staff are some of the nicest ladies I have ever come across, and are extremely dedicated to their work! The pool is a great size, although more than 6ft deep at one side! There is a substantial amount of sun loungers, but despite not being allowed to reserve them, by 10 o clock they are all gone and occupied by just towels most of the time, but that happens everywhere you go! The food in the bar/restaurant is fantastic and the waitresses are wonderful! There is also a playground for kids, and a pool table and table tennis! The complex is maintained extremely well, and is constantly being maintained daily! Wifi is good in places, but does not reach every room, but is very good in reception! There is a laundry service, fan rental and safe rental! Overall the whole place is amazing and the location is fab! Would highly recommend this complex and I would go back again without hesitation! Thank you everyone at the Barcarola!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauziemayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcarolaclub, Director General at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Lauziemayy ,

thank you very much for your nice review about Barcarola Club.

We are really happy you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

All the staff thanks you for your kind words and we hope to see you in a near future

We wish you a nice summer

Kind regards

Celia Espino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I booked a stay at these apartments for our 20th anniversary. A fortnight before departure I emailed the barcarola club to arrange flowers for my wife to be in our room on arrival. They agreed a price and i was happy at the prompt and helpful response, agreeing to pay on arrival. Less than 24 hrs before flying we had just finished packing and were three hours away from leaving for the airport hotel. We then received a call from our holiday company informing us that the Barcarola Club had just informed them that they were overbooked and had arranged a room in a tower block in Arrecife as an alternative. We were unable to even find this complex on the internet so had no choice but to cancel.

I have since contacted the Barcarola Club and they accept no responsibility for the overbooking, sadly this is a common practice amongst the travel industry with the customer always the loser. Customers should be aware that the Barcarola Club do not have a modern computerised booking system which shows available rooms so you know when you book the room exists and has not been sold to multiple people.

I booked the Barcarola Club on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews that said nice people, who care for their customers.

A fortnight ago I emailed them, and they took the flower order, i listed my date of arrival and my travel company. Their email to me today says they were already sold out. Would you not have expected them to attach my flower order to my booking details and at that point had the courtesy to tell me or my travel company they had no room for me. At least this would have allowed me a chance to rearrange or spared me having to tell my daughter, dressed and packed for her holiday, that it was off.

As I have said in the title care should be taken when booking here. They may be lovely apartments, and when you are there the staff may be nice to you, but if the holiday really matters to you and you are unable to easily alter your holiday dates perhaps their booking policies make them unsuitable for you.

I would certainly not recommend them to any father who does not want to make his daughter cry.

Trip advisor does not allow you to enter a review without giving a rating. I am sure you will all understand why I cannot call their conduct acceptable or excellent but as i have not seen the property terrible is also unfair. There is no box for disorganised.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcarolaclub, Director General at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Mr David P,

first I like to apologize for the whole circumstances. We like to see all our guests satisfied.

Unfortunatly we offer to arrange a special services to our clients and sometimes the reservations from tour operators are not received just in time. When we received your reservation through your tour operator, we had already a stop sale in our system an we informed the tour operator aswell two weeks earlier. Your Touroperato was informed about it before your reservation arrived. We couldnt accept yours and other reservations as well because we are fully booked. I understand that this information means nothing for the guest because the holidays are not how the guest expected.

We really like to see our guests satisfied and these situations are not what we want.
The last thing we like to see are unhappy guests. We really like to apologize again for the circumstance.

We would appreciate if you would be our guest any time so you can make your own opinion about our service and facilities.

I can totally understand your unhappyness about and when we read your commentary in TRIPADVISOR it was a shock for us aswell.

Yours sincerely

Celia Espino
Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.6 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,474 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
659 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
718 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Barcarola Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Barcarola Club

Property: Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Address: Avenida Playas 53, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Barcarola Club 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable complex of very well-equipped apartments in the centre of Puerto del Carmen,next to the beach and set in an oasis of native vegetation. The resort was refurbished in 2009 and it is the ideal place to rest and enjoy either a family holiday or individual holiday, and offers both peace and quiet and the usual attractions of the tourist area of Puerto Del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Barcarola Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Barcarola Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Barcarola Hotel
Hotel Apartamentos Barcarola
Apartamentos Barcarola Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing