We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely nothing to moan about”
Review of Las Costas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Costas
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at Las Costa s 6 times now , twice at new year, twice in the summer months and last year in October.
we found this hotel the year it was turned into a hotel as it used to be apartments, and not very good ones from what people say .i love that the staff remember us each year , and always take the time to ask us how we are and ask after family members who have been with us in the past. We like that its in a very quiet area and so beautiful,yet you aren't very far away from the bars and restaurants , and nightclubs if that's what you want .Once we realised how near to the airport the hotel was , we didn't book transfers as a taxi is no more than 10 euro's.
the food is of a wonderful quality, and as other reviewers have said catering more for the Germans and Spanish , but they are the majority visitors so you can understand that . Every night there are a selection of fresh meats and fish , they are cooked on request in front of you. even if we didn't like the main dishes we could have the fresh cooked meat or fish with veg and potatoes .
the rooms are all very comfortable and have everything you need . though has no tea or coffee making facilities that most hotels have . fresh towels and sheets every other day , and you can pay a returnable deposit to get towels for the pool , which you can change as often as needed .
Plenty of sunbeds that are monitored by staff to stop people putting towels on early .
i used the gym every day too and it was clean and well equipped and maintained n.
The whole place is so clean and well looked after , the staff work so hard and always with a smile , that makes a huge difference to my holiday as we all want to feel welcome .
I could go on for pages as I've been so many times . All i can say is if your looking for great value for money , with amazing quality and peace and quiet then las Costas is for you .
my only complaint and obviously it hasn't stopped me going is the entertainment which is terrible but we went out every night the last couple of times as its hardly changed in the 6 or so years we have been going . San Antonio has really good entertainment for anyone not wanting to go far, or the irish bars opposite have bands on a couple of nights a week.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same but many have little or no sun on the terraces , so if you want to sunbat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julielee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLasCostas, Director General at Las Costas, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Hotel Las Costas guests,

thank you very much for your comments you made at Tripadvisor.
It is nice to see, that even our repeating guests are taking the time to put down
the experiences they made at our hotel.
We are very happy that you have had several enjoyable holidays with us and that
our staff is making a big part of that.
We are sorry, that our entertainment is not what you are expecting and we are going
to improve the shows for the new summer season 2013.
We hope to see you back at the Las Costas in the near future .

Sunny regards from the entire LAS COSTAS TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 776 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Starting with the negative - rooms at Las Costas are very spacious although basic. Black wodden furniture was very Ikea, it was marked and worn and felt more like a standard apartment than a hotel room. Were bit dissapointed with outside area, again although very spacious, was more of an entrance area than a terrace/balcony. Bottle of sparkling wine in room on arrival was a nice touch and helped aleviate the initial disappointed with room for the first night before tried to sleep. After first two nights realised that walls are paper thin, could hear everything from both neighbours, were kept awake by snoring and it was not from our room but the neighbours!!! Could hear neighbours opening doors, turning on lights, using the bathroom, sleeping sounds and of course them talking and their TV. We have stayed in several hotels in Spain/Lanzarote and never came across such paper thin walls in a "hotel". View from terrace was also disappointing, could see the sea from the side at a stretch but main view was back of other room.

No wifi in room needs to be addressed by hotel asap. This is now a basic facility and merley offering free wifi in reception area is not sufficient for a 4 star hotel. If bars/restaurants in the town can provide free wifi surely 4 star hotel can upgrade rooms with this facility?

Positives - location is perfect, right on beach, near two supermarkets, bars and restaurants and a 10 min stroll to center of puerto del carmen or opposite direction to Matagorda. Area around hotel is nice and quiet.

Pool area is very nice, although pool is fresh water and can iritate due to salty taste/feel. Nice jacuzzi, sauna, games area and kids stuff. Lovely pool bar area and bar. Food in buffet, both breakfast and dinner, is plentiful, lots of choice and good quality. Option of gf breads and pasta. Plenty of main dishes to choose from and meat/fish cooked in front of us. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is a bit canteen style and not your romantic ambience but the quality of the food helps to set this aside. reception area is nice and modern and staff at reception again very helpful and friendly.

Visited spa for a massage and was happy with experience. Nice to have the option available. Hairdresser available but didnt avail of this service.

Overall, despite the neagtives with the room we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Las Costas and out of previous three visits to puerto del carmen, stay at Las Costas the best. However, unless they upgrade the soundproofing in rooms we wont return as need our sleep while on holidays.

Room Tip: Request room directly at front along beach/sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GoldfishDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLasCostas, Gerente at Las Costas, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam;
Firstly we would like to thank you to have choosen our hotel for your holidays in Lanzarote.
We have to say very very sorry for the inconvenient you found in our hotel. We do the best to make all our guest happy and satisfied, but we do not always get it. We would like to say something about your complaints:
About the view of the room, we do not know which category you reserved, but we have 3 differents categories, Sea view Room, Partial Sea view room, and Standard. You shuld have had an Standar room.
About the Wifi, we are working in that now, and in a few month we will have also in the rooms. Anyway now we have internet by cable in all rooms, allthough we also understand that this in not very modern and confortable.
About what you said of the noise in the room. "walls are paper thin", this is the first time we have a heard something about it; but anyway we apreciate your comment and we are going to investigate that.
Again we have to say you thank you for your coments. We apreciate then so much, because it will help us to make things better.
It is also great for us to see that , eccept for these three inconvenients, you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

thank you and we hope to welcome you back in our hotel again in the future.
kind regards,
Las Costas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

When we arrived it could not have started better,reception staff first class,in our room within 10 minutes.but what a disappointment.We paid for a superior room with a sea view,well we had it on tiptoes looking through the trees.i went back to reception but was informed the hotel was full and could not change for 3 days,which we did,but again this room was the same as the first room,agreed it had a sea view but in the shade all day,we then had a problem with a satellite dish on our roof which rattled and banged in the wind and kept us awake all night long,it was eventually rectified at the second attempt after two visits to reception.It had to all happen to us when I really tried for something special for my wife who has had a rough year and had recently had an operation.Food was very good,but why tea plates for breakfast,entertainment was very poor,we tried every night but ended up in the San Antonio next door where the entertainment was first class from 8pm till midnight,by the way this is hotel is mainly all Germans with a few Scandinavian visitors,I really never moan or complain but we feel we were let down quite a bit.

Room Tip: Ask for promenade room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidmanley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLasCostas, Gerente at Las Costas, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you to have chosen our hotel for your holidays in Lanzarote.
We are very sorry to hear from you that your are not very satisfied of your stay in our hotel.
We do our best and work hard to make all our customers an enyoyable, quiet and happy stay. Unfortunately that not always hapen and somenthing does not goes perfect.
We thanks and appreciate your comments; we are going to take them into account to correct our mistakes and continue to improve our services and our standard.
We will be very gratefull to welcome you back in our hotel again in the future.
Best regards.
The team of the hotel Las Costas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hi

Arrived at the Las Costas to be told they had upgraded the room free of charge, very much appreciated and landed with a Junior Suite with Sea View, very nice. The Hotel is lovely and looks better in real life than the pictures which dont do it justice. The common areas are spotelss and staff are very friendly. Food was excellent and a good choice, as there were many German guests I would say the food is more to their taste but that shouldnt detract from the quality. Entertainment was again tailored to the German clients but again was good. THe drink prices in the hotel are very reasonable as were the snack prices in the pool.

Overall an ecxellent stay in a very good hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at Las Costas from 11th January. Had booked a full sea view but after arriving in the dark, the following morning we realised it was only a sea glimpse as it was ground floor and a wall obstructed the view, although the room was enormous. After speaking to reception they were very helpful and said we could have a room with balcony the following day. That room was much cosier and couldn't fault it, except for rather uncomfortably hard pillows. Our balcony didn't get any sun and it was a bit windy whilst we were there, so we didn't use it as we would have done in the summer, but if you can get a balcony which does have some sun it is much better. The room was cleaned beautifully every day. There was a microwave which we managed to prepare tea or coffee in, as they don't provide tea/coffee facilities as in the UK. There is a supermarket directly opposite and a larger one a little further up the road, so all newspapers and any supplies you need are conveniently at hand. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The guests were mainly German or Scandinavian, hence the food tended to be to their tastes rather than British, but there was always something to our liking, as we'd booked half board. There were a few English channels on the TV, i.e. Sky News, ITV and a couple of movie channels, and as it was a bit chilly in the evenings in January, we were able to find something to watch. We didn't use the bar or entertainment, which had something advertised each evening, mainly because it didn't look as inviting as the rest of the hotel - probably because it was so dark, so can't comment on that. The bus stopped almost outside and buses went regularly up and down the coast. There are many, many restaurants and bars along the 'strip' which starts almost outside the hotel, if you've not booked in for evening meal. We walked on a few occasions from the hotel to Arricife, the capital, which is past the airport and took us about 2 and a half hours. There are cycle tracks everywhere and lots of hire shops, and very few hills. The cycle track goes all along the sea front and past the airport. All in all a very nice holiday and one of the cleanest hotels we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Balcony which gets sun in afternoon and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaStar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean relaxed hotel right on the beach and only a 10 minute walk to the main strip of bars and shops. Full of German holiday makers and the food is for their tastes only. We never ate dinner in the hotel which wasn't value for our money. Also the bar does not serve any beer other than San Miguel and no alcopops. Other than this it it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smurf36m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

excellent service in the restaurant with very good food. The room was large and the bed was good.
The ventilation worked as it should in the room. Helpful staff. Good cleaning. We did not use the
spa, so we don't know anything about it. The pool was 1,2 to 1,6 meter deep, so it also was
usefull for people that were not able to swim in deep water.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,865 reviews
0.2 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Costas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Costas

Address: Avenida Playas 88, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $145 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Costas 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Costas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Costas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Las Costas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing