We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, but mediocre accomodation”
Review of Club Valena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Valena
Ranked #40 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2007

we stayed in club valena in matagorda in summer 2007. great location, quiet and the local beach is blue flag. The local shopping centre is low key and has a good variety of bars and restaurants and there are two supermarkets. The Spar is large and ideal for anybody self catering. So far so good!
Club Valena itself is not so good. Though another couple we spoke to were happy, we found the interiors dated and not very clean, and it looked like it could do with a goodSpring clean. We had a problem with cockroaches (seems to be particularly bad on the ground floor) and we had trouble sleeping because of the heat, though we did get fans. The pool area is okay, though there is enough to keep the kids occupied, but the pool was very cold.

Will definitely return to Matagorda, but we'll book somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank butterflygirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2007

Our first visit to Lanzarote with 4 kids was an absolute pleasure. The complex is well run, clean and friendly. The apartments are big and cleaned well every 2 days. The kitchen facilities are basic with no grill or oven but eating out is not expensive. The pool bar is the best we have come across in europe bar none. Open day and night with entertainment and bbqs etc. it was family run and had a great fun athmosphere.
The best compliment I can give it is that we are going back next year.
Highly Recommended.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank brewser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

this has been my second time here. and to tell ya the truth 2 different experiences. last year was good but god the staff were so ignorant there was never food at the bar and when u did want anything they were to lazy even to get it ....slamin things around made that obv. but this year was brill staff are so sound and will do anything for ya ......... the boys are very entertaining and make good cocktails, bbq nights are brill and the food was great. so cheers.. will see ya soon .

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chatsnflaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Stayed here for a week in June, it was our 1st sun holiday .Family friendly complex and fairly quite at night .Apartments basic but enough room. Sofa bed only for small children. Nearest supermarket about 5mins away and beach about 10mins walk. Fairly windy at times especially our first day and would need cardigan at night. Poolside bar food lovely and enjoyed the BBQs(Wed and Sat) my children loved the game of bingo. Apartments not cleaned everyday and felt they should have been as there was 6 of us.

Would stay nearer beach if going again.

Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
1  Thank PHILMON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

I stayed at the Valena twice in April and would highly recommend it. The apartments are spacious and clean and the staff on reception very friendly.

The pool bar has been taken over recently and I cannot praise it enough. Paul, Adam, Ann, and John are friendly and helpful.

The food is good and they do a bbq at least once a week if there are enough guests at the complex. It is also very good value compared to other bars on the island.

The MyTravel reps are really nice and extremely helpful too.

I'm already planning my next trip and I wouldn't stay anywhere else now.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lauramarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

First holiday in Lanzarote. On a budget with two children! Friendly staff at check in desk on arrival. Room adequate, clean, matress on sofa bed, springs stuck in your back, but beds OK.
Pool never over busy, one complaint from holiday makers was lack of sun loungers, but on our last day at least forty new ones arrived - typical!
Knew about aircraft noise, but didn't find it annoying, in fact spent some time standing under the flight path just watching aircraft land.
All amenities close by, with lovely evening walks along the promenade.
Grounds kept tidy.
Will visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2007

Stayed there for a couple of weeks in April 2007. Complex is basic, but very clean and tidy. Reception was always open, which I thought was really useful as well. Pool and poolside was clean, but I have to the say the pool was a bit cold, but then it was April, so cant expect too much. The pool bar had just been taken over by a English family. Food was bar snacks mainly, but you just have to try the pizzas. There were two BBQ's a week, all i can say, what value for money. Excellent. As mush as you can eat for 9.50 euros

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank Johnthebarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,246 reviews
2.8 mi away
Morana Apartments
Morana Apartments
#45 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Lanzarote
Nautilus Lanzarote
#5 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
896 reviews
8.9 mi away
Celeste Apartments
Celeste Apartments
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
894 reviews
2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Valena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Valena

Address: Calle Malva 25 | Puerto del Carmen, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Class:2 star — Club Valena 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Valena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Valena Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Valena Hotel Matagorda
Club Valena Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing