We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Los Tulipanes
oxon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastic as ever”
Reviewed January 12, 2010

love the place , 4th time now . from reception to cleaners , maintenance to the bar , all staff are very friendly and always willing to help . Danny and Aissa at the bar are the best entertainment on the island . regarding break ins , if you're sensible and don't leave your door open you won't have a problem ( you wouldn't leave your front door unlocked ! )
it's a great place to stay in an ideal location , not in the middle of the nightlife but not far away .
we had no problems at all and will be back again at least twice this year .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayabusaOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    129
    76
    39
    45
See reviews for
76
197
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Having just returned from a week at these apartments I wouldn't rush back. I went with a friend as I was looking for winter work so booked cheap hol but had been before and 2 star aparts normally pretty good here.

The 1st day one of the rooms had been broken into the night before!!! We stayed in room number 25........should be room number 666!!!!!! Hellish, no kettle, no toaster and very run down. The bedroom window backed onto the pool toilets, you could here everything, thats with window closed!!!!! Our toilet also got blocked not good!!! Having spent 3 days in that room decided enough was enough and asked to be moved. The receptiion staff were great no problem what so ever and were moved straight away. Couldn't help but feel this wasn't the first time someone had asked to be moved from the room from hell!!! Out new room far better, we also got kettle n toaster sorted, no problem when asked for these either.

There is 2 pools but there seems to be a recurring theme with the toilets/drainage as the area smelled of poo and covered n flies even though it looked clean!!! Fortuneatly we prefered the beach so lived there for the week. Spotless n fairly quiet. Only 5 min walk from apartments.

The resort is good with plenty bars n restaurants, weather great apart from one day so we went into old town which is about an hours walk or 10min in bus. I would go back to resort but not these apartments. A bit of a shame really as the staff were really nice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Los Tulipanes is a dive!!!!,
We went in the 1st week of october, Weather was fab but the accomadation was awful. I spent alot of money on this holiday and was expecting something completely different. The two pools are tiny. The apartment was small and cramped and there was a door in the middle of the apartment to next door. I have never seen anything like this or i would hope not too again. it was just lucky that the neighbours were quiet. I also requested an upstairs apartment but this never happened. The tv has about 8 channels only one is english and it is the disney channel. In fairness the maid was in daily and the sheets were changed everyday but the bedrooms are tiny as is the bathroom. There is hardly any hot water and if there is two of you then you need to be quick. The apartments are bloody ages from anything, you have about a 30minute walk to get to the main strip. Exhausting when the sun is burning. I really think this place is cheap and nasty.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Went to Los Tulipanes last November and had a great time.. got robbed on 5th night which was no fun,, but we still enjoyed our holiday..The people we met were great and everyone helped out when we had no money for a day or two...The bar was good fun..and we enjoyed the location...I will go back regardless of our robbery because we found Danny and the regulars there to be good people..The cleaners were very friendly..The apartment we had was next to the pool and bar ....kept clean and towels changed regularly..

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janniebeeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2009

After reading the many reviews on this hotel, I must admit I was fairly anxious in having a holiday here. Reports suggested that break in's were common, the hotel was filthy and Danny the barman, was behind the crime wave!! What a load of rubbish!!! Although I can comprehend that people were broken into in the past, all you need to use a bit of common sense, and this problem will cease to exist!!
In terms of security, all doors and windows have locks, just make sure you use them, even when you're sleeping! Opportunists would take any advantage given, so just be sensible, lock your stuff up, and don't leave windows or doors open. Just treat the place as you would your own home!
As for the cleanliness of the hotel, we never had any issues here either. Our appartment was cleaned 5 times a week, fresh towels 5 times a week. The only slight drawback was the floor was a little dirty, but this is mainly due to the greasiness of sun cream etc, but again, the floors were mopped down at least 3 times in the week.
The whole atmosphere of the appartments were unlike any other i've ever experienced on previous holidays. It is a very social place, and Danny is sure to get everyone mixing and talking, and most importantly, enjoying themselves!! We met some really lovely people out here, some of which visit upto 3 times a year, others who were newcomers like us. Everyone got on, had fun, and this really made our holiday, and we are sure to go back!!
In terms of value for money, you have to remember this place is a 2 star property, and to be fair, it was better than some of the 3 stars i've stayed at. It really is everything it states, it is in a convenient location(not on the main drag-but only a 10minute walk away), it costs about 3 euros to get home after a night out(I would recommend taxi's after dark) and there are plenty or restaurants and bars about. The beach is about a five minute walk away, fairly secluded and really nice.
The only bad thing about our whole trip is some bars on the strip try and rip you off. They state 'buy one get on free, free shots and champagne/cocktail', on many occasions the latter failed to appear. You can also buy 2 drinks for 10euros and then buy exactly the same drinks again from a different bar tender, and it cost you 12euros, fairly petty I know but these things all add up. The food and drinks at the hotel itself are very reasonable and of good quality.
To be fair, we really enjoyed our stay and will definately go back. We're both in our twenties and met people of all ages and walks of life, and everyone we met were having fun, relaxing and enjoying themselves!! Don't worry about all these horror stories, you'll be fine, just use common sense and don't make it easy for opportunists. We didn't, and we had absolutely no problems or concerns!!!
Neil and Kerry - Kent

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blinkinpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We had a brilliant !!! time at the Los Tulipanes for the 2nd holiday that we spent here, both times we have met great people and had a good laugh. I think that apartment complex's of this type are only as good as you make them. I've stayed in other apt's in Puerto Del Carmen and they are mostly alike. We made friends easily and got on well with the staff. There were no huge groups of rowdy people and no miserable ones either. The apartment for us, as on most of our holidays, is just a base, a place to sleep and get changed we ate most meals off the complex down in the town. If your ideal holiday is just to sit around the pool sunbathing all day and not go out much you might get a bit bored at Tulipanes.

Lanzarote is quite hilly and Tulipanes is at the top of the hill so if you don't do much walking or are travelling with people who can't tolerate much distance then maybe this complex is not for you, although a taxi from the main strip is about 3 euro's, from the airport about 10 euro's we have never taken the package holiday transfer its much easier to get a taxi. We walk quite a bit on holiday and like to have an explore of our surroundings. A stroll to the old town where the harbour is and the boat trips leave from takes about 40 minutes (pushing a buggy) but its a nice walk and you can stop for a drink or an ice lolly along the way :-)

The staff are friendly, the grounds are clean the pool area is cleaned daily and the apartment was cleaned most days, although we like to keep our room/apartment clean and tidy anyhow so Mrs mop didn't have much to do. There is a room for storing your luggage on the day of your departure as you need to vacate the room by 10am and the key is availible at reception. There is a shower block that you can use to get a shower if you have an evening flight and have maybe spent the day in the pool aor on the beach but if you make friends easily you will probably find someone who will let you use their room instead. ;-)

We have never had any issues with our say at the tulipanes there are 2 pools and a small bar also an on site shop in the reception. The "happy hour" at the bar is great and the bar staff will let you keep drinks in the tap until you are ready for them even if happy hour has ended by that time. The bar staff have always been friendly and organise pool matches and evening entertainment such as a BBQ and Karioke. The bar serves snacks such as pizza, sandwiches and toasties and ice lollys (great for the kids)

The furniture is standard with this type of apartments all over the world and is just what you need and it's what I would expect of a S/C complex of this kind.

Yes there were burgalaries whilst we were there but this is a problem on the whole island so I'd definatley lock the doors and windows and use the safe for a small deposit at reception. Overall a great time, would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

these apartments should be taken off every web site they are dirty the pool was filthy bed linen was ripped to shereds the fridge didnt work the reception was never open pool bar was dirty rooms got robbed every night and these apartments are not in a nice area at all . i cant beleive how these apartments are still standing cause the buildings are so dateted. and has for the cleaners well they was allways proping the bar up all day these apartments i stress is totaly discusting .

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hull05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.8 mi away
Los Pueblos Apartments
Los Pueblos Apartments
#61 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#32 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luz y Mar Apartments
Luz y Mar Apartments
#50 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#35 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vista Mar Apartments
Vista Mar Apartments
#36 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Francisco Park Holiday Apartments
San Francisco Park Holiday Apart...
#43 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Los Tulipanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Los Tulipanes

Property: Apartamentos Los Tulipanes
Address: Calle Finlandia 18, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Los Tulipanes 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Los Tulipanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Los Tulipanes Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Los Tulipanes Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing