We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beatriz Playa & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beatriz Playa & Spa
Ranked #41 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Ballycastle, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel, location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Reading other reviews on here it seems some people are very hard to please, hotel was nice and comfy, plenty of choices of restaurants and bars, food got a little monotonous after a while only as we were here 8 nights, the weather was fantastic for the time of year, end October into November. Beach and promenade right next to us, airport right beside us. Staff were friendly and always smiled the rooms were cleaned every day, kids loved the pools.
All round great value

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RConnolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    858
    589
    288
    221
See reviews for
963
1,130
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have just returned from here having stayed for two weeks the thing that always worries us when going all inclusive is the food however I can not praise the food and staff enough every meal time there were endless choices all fresh and more importantly hot usually it becomes repetitive but not in this hotel I don't think we every had the same choices twice, the oriental restaurant is worth a visit however we didn't rate the pizzeria. The staff were lovely they made us feel very welcome they were so polite and great with the kids, Patricia who looked after us in the restaurant will be missed by our boys. The hotel itself looks tired in places although it is kept very clean as were our rooms, most rooms have a sea view and it is literally on the beach with a lovely promenade to walk on great place to walk off the food !! Two pools one heated this time of year meant the kids could play in them all day, we made some lovely friends, the spa is also worth a visit it is really nice in there children under 14 are not permitted but it was nice to have a treatment and some time out when it was an overcast day. A ten minute walk along the beach will take you to some bars and restaurants if you fancy a change there are bikes to hire just outside the hotel on the beach if you wish to go off for a look further afield the cycle paths make it very safe for all ages to ride as no cars are permitted. The one thing that might worry you is the planes but rest assured the aren't that close or that noisy it's not like living next to Heathrow there are a few planes in the morning and the same again in the afternoon but not into the night, the kids liked walking up to the airport so they could stand under planes as they were landing great photos. We would definately go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up on top floors to avoid the singing in the evenings if you have kids that go to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Food very good at both breakfast and dinner although desserts were generally poor but ice creams excellent.

Hotel building is all pretty bleak concrete and inside there are too many black rocks making many communal areas dark with almost no flowering plants. Every balcony has light brown agaves planted but where was the bougainvillea to add colour?

For quiet rooms ask for 2nd & 3rd floor in the restaurant block facing sea & pool. Beware the other side as this faces directly onto the airport runway and the other block has the noise of the music area.

Safe & minibar at 3Euro/day each - however we did receive one free pass for the Spa.

Pool towels 15 Euro each deposit and 1 Euro each time you want to change a towel.

The area around the pool did not look as if it was ever swept during our stay with cigarette ends & plastic cups everywhere.

A short flat walk along the very nice promenade in front of the hotel takes you to a commercial area where the two restaurants on the front of it served excellent baguettes and pizzas as well as very welcome cold beers. There is a very useful supermarket here as well.

A little further on , turning right after the Sol hotel, leads you up to an island where you can pick up a bus to the very busy Puerto del Carmen or farther afield to quieter Puerto Blanca (2.30E each way).

We exchanged our pounds for a much better rate than in the UK at small exchange come alcohol shops about 10-15 mins along the promenade. (Don't buy bottles of spirits at the airport going out as they are much cheaper on the plane, if they have the stock, or just a little more at these places along the prom). Lots more shops here with a bank as well as further restaurants.

If you need to change & shower on your last day note that the hotel has courtesy showers. However they are located near the Spa and are very much in need of update plus there is nowhere to put your clothes during the shower and no security for them either.

Room Tip: For quiet rooms ask for 2nd & 3rd floor in the restaurant block facing sea & pool. Beware th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LewNottingham15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights in October 2013. The hotel room was big, space for 2 adults and 2 children with separate space in the room for the adults and kids, separated by two steps and a dwarf wall. The beds were comfortable. The room was clean.
We stayed on a B&B basis, the breakfast buffet was alright. There was a good selection of hot and cold foods.
The hotel could do with some TLC. There was chipped paint on the floor of the swimming pool. There was a ring of dirt at the water level around the pool. During our stay there was a storm and the rain came in the balcony doors. The outdoor area was tiled and this got very slippery when wet. There is a lot of outdoor areas in the hotel.
The hotel is on the sea front in a residential area with a few restaurants about a ten minute walk from the hotel. I would recommend car hire and there is parking in the hotel grounds. It should be noted that the hotel is close to the end of the runway of Lanzarote airport. Flights arrive and depart from about 07:00 to midnight. Aircraft noise can be a problem.

Room Tip: We were in room 2042 which is on the side of the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithdarcy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

All in all, the Beatriz is Ok, and you get what you pay for, its a big hotel, room fine, food good and staff very friendly, the total entertainment package is poor, especially during the day..... but if you use it as a base, its excellent, totally recommend you hire a car, visit Timinyfaya, Jameos del Aqua, Playa Carmen and all the other attractions/towns and its location becomes excellent.
Minor noise nuisance from the airport, but nothing at all to be concerned with, overall its a good hotel.

Room Tip: Book a car and get out and about, there is not enough to do within the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlI2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is our third time to visit the Beatriz Playa in Matagorda on an all inclusive basis.
It is in a very nice quiet location for middle aged and upwards.
Food was excellent service good , entertainment quality was poor enough based on previous years.
Very relaxing with good sea view promenade walks.
Repeat guests could expect a bottle of champagne in the room on arrival.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view get the afternoon sun which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

To start with the positive news: The hotel was cheap, only about 40 Euros per person per night for half-board during a week. Moreover, staff was friendly and due to its sheer size the hotel offers several services such as shops, evening entertainment and cafés which are quite convenient. On the other hand, the hotel does clearly not deserve its four stars. On arrival, we had to wait to 4 p.m. until our second room was available, breakfast and diner buffets are unimaginative and of a rather poor quality. Rooms are sparsely furnished with little storage space and cheaply decorated. The pool area is large, but the pools are not always clean. Free Internet in the hotel lobby and the common areas is a myth and the paid access in the rooms worked about once in twice. When it rained one day - which fortunately does not happen very often - water was dropping from the ceiling in certain parts of the common areas. Finally, the airport is a stone’s throw from the hotel which has made us experts in charter airlines but was less enjoyable at 7 a.m. when flight traffic takes off. All in all, there must be better places in Lanzarote to spend a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing North towards the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steinhilben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
9.4 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beatriz Playa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beatriz Playa & Spa

Property: Beatriz Playa & Spa
Address: Urb. Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beatriz Playa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Beatriz Playa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beatriz Playa And Spa
Beatriz Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Beatriz Playa Lanzarote
Beatriz Playa & Spa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing