We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been 4 star if bird's were kept out of the Restaurant and food improved.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beatriz Playa & Spa
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Bicester
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Would have been 4 star if bird's were kept out of the Restaurant and food improved.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have recently stayed at The Beatriz Playa and Spa and if the hotel could sort out a couple of issues it could be a fab place.
We flew in Easyjet and flew out Monarch and couldn't fault both flights, going home there was a slight delay due to Portuguese airstrike so awaited permission to fly over Morocco and Madrid.
We landed at around 10.25am and was in our room 1 hour later, got a taxi to the hotel around 13 Euros but was cheaper going home around 8 Euros?? say no more.
The front of the hotel was nothing to look at but once inside the reception was lovely, our receptionist was Erica who was great, most helpful and check in was quick and we were given our room with in 5 mins of checking in room 3063. I had previously phoned and emailed to ask for a room on the top floor in the center of the hotel overlooking the sea and good plane spotting view and that was what we got so Thank you Beatriz playa. Be prepared to pay out on arrival for Safe 3 Euro a day, Fridge was also 3 euro per day but worked out cheaper if it was stocked, we also had pool towels which we thought were changed everyday but worked out that you only had 2 changes but you do get your deposit returned.
Our room was of good size 2 double beds pushed together, his and her's sinks in the bathroom and a nice lounge area down a couple of steps, our towels were changed daily and sheets a couple of times during our 12 night stay.
Now for the downside which sadly let the hotel down, We stayed AI so were able to try all Restaurants and sittings. We have both stayed in 3 and 4 star hotels and feel the food was of 3 star standard especially the lunch time buffet in the main restaurant which was made up of pretty much what we had the night before, the choice was so limited and was just a tiny section of the main buffet and no show cooking at lunch which is rare in a 4 Star hotel. One day there were around 200 Spanish guests arrived and it was like a tea and bun fight the buffet was demolished in seconds so we walked out. Breakfasts weren't too bad although it would have been nice to have freshly cooked omelets on the egg station instead of rubber pancakes everyday and a good traditional sausage would have been nice instead of hot dogs everyday. The evening buffet was very samey too.
We tried The Burger Beatriz which is only open Friday-Sunday 12pm-4pm and found the burger rolls to fall apart where they were stale, such a shame as the chips were lovely, we also felt there needed to be a system where you are given a number when you order as it was a free for all and people were grabbing each others orders resulting in people walking out.
We also tried the Italian Restaurant La Piazza which was our favorite it was fab, pizzas, pastas and lovely puddings it was a shame it was only open Friday-Sunday 7pm-9.30pm.
We also gave the Oriental Bamboo restaurant a go it was only open Monday and Tuesday nights 7pm-9.30pm i really liked it the sushi was was lovely, but my husband wasn't so impressed as he felt there wasn't many meat options, would have been nice to see some Beef in blackbean sauce or chicken with mushrooms which i did agree with. The decor was fab and you felt really special eating in there.
The main problem with the main restaurant was due to the eating areas being open plan it was difficult to keep the birds out as they are nesting in the trees around that area and the outside dining area of the main birds were landing on tables etc.. the main restaurant doors were open for obvious reasons and the birds were flying in/out and were sat in the rolls, paella etc.. and birds mess was dropping all around. After a few days I was taken bad with flu like symptoms and had difficult breathing i have asthma, spent 24 hours in bed asleep for most of it, so a Dr was called which cost 120 euros and i was given antibiotics our excess on our insurance was £75 so decided not to go through it so it made it an expensive time. Such a shame as it made us quite wary of the birds just in case that was the cause of it.
We did try the show bar most nights and liked the Beatles tribute act and the flamenco show, we have seen the parrot show on the other islands but was nice to see it again, the animation staff worked hard to entertain and the trio singers were ok and good at getting people up dancing and we loved the singers in the piano bar shame you had to buy a drink to go in there, we had to sit outside to enjoy their lovely show maybe put them on the main stage they are wasted behind a wooden fence. All staff at the hotel worked hard from reception, restaurant, cleaners, bar staff through to our maids who did a fab job in cleaning our room. This hotel could be fab if the main restaurant problems were looked into regarding the choice of food and keeping the birds out of the food.
We loved Lanzarote and did manage see most of the island its a magical place.

Room Tip: Try room 3063 for a central position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidNLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa with the community of TripAdvisor. I am glad that you like the hotel and its facilities in general. On behalf of all the members of staff I would like to thank you for the very friendly remark about their attitude and the quality of their service. Sorry that the main restaurant couldn’t fully meet your expectations. By the way, you can get freshly prepared omelets for breakfast on the egg, you just have to ask the cook. I am delighted to hear that you liked the Italian and the Oriental restaurant. We are very aware of the bird problem and try to do everything within the legal framework to solve the problem. We hope to welcome you again as our guests in the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa.

Best regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    927
    644
    317
    248
See reviews for
1,098
1,211
51
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at the hotel as we write this review. We arrived at Beatriz Playa with another family expecting a lovely four star hotel based on our friends experience from last year. We and they have been very bitterly disappinted. Although bar staff are lovely and friendly there are not enough to cater for a hotel of this size. We queued for half an hour to get drinks in the evening. We also started to queue in the burger bar and after 15 minutes of not moving with only one staff member on we just gave up. The pool bar hasn't even been opened since we arrived. The pool area is disgusting with cigarette butts and spilt drinks all around. Breakfast is like a cattle market with areas only being opened when people were literally standing on top of each other. My son's bed was covered in ants and the sheet remained on the balcony for two days even after we complained. It is very obvious that management have made cutbacks at the expense of their guests satisfaction and therefore neither of us will be back. We spoke to several other repeat guests who are of the same opinion. Last year our friends came and had complimentary towel changes, tea and coffee facilties, these are now paid extras. We holiday in Lanzarote several times a year and usually stay in hotels we have visited before but based on our experience of this hotel, the filthy pool area, the poor service and the obvious decline in standards we will not be revisiting the Beatrix.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

macclesfield
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

first the fly in the ointment,birds landing on the food in the restaurants,not enough facillities for number of guests,1,300 guests and only 450 sun beds,queued 20 minutes one night for a drink.plenty of bar staff but nobody to collect and wash up glasses,so extra staff from behind bar had to do it.now the good bits,ideal for wheelchair users so many lifts never waited once for one,every where was well ramped for wheelchair access.great staff and the food loverly,entertainment good apart from resident trio who were dire.would go back at a quieter time maybe.thanks to ellen the thomas cook rep for her help,and thanks to hotel for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: dont really know as we were in a special needs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yesnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you could enjoy your holiday in the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa and that you liked the food that we offer. Special thanks for mentioning the friendliness of our staff. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa for another relaxing holiday. Please don’t hesitate to contact me in advance for any special wishes.

Best regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just arrived home from a holiday at this hotel. Hotel has been rated a 4 Star, which I am struggling with......
Room I would rate 7/10, we had a really good located room, fruit and a bottle of cava on arrival (nice touch), however furniture was old, had graffiti scored into the sofa and a cigarette burn in the bed cover, otherwise clean and tidy.
Food I am going to rate as 5/10, we stayed under half board basis, breakfast was good with an excellent variety for all guests. Dinner was however poor, same old every evening with a change of hot meat/fish choice.... So much salad!! ( you have to buy water if you want a glass with your evening meal, even though its from a dispenser)
Pool area, I heard that there are 420 sun beds and during our stay there were over 1000 guests, it is clearly marked that sun beds are not to be reserved, however no one policed this and many guests went without beds. The pool area is noisy and grubby, the pool itself was cleaned everyday, but during our week the sunned area was not hosed down once, leaving spilt drinks and plastic cups everywhere (including in the pool), I'm therefore going to give the pool area 5/10.
Additional extras to be warned of, if you want a kettle it will cost you something like 2.50 euro a day. A safe will cost you around 24 euro a week. A fridge will cost you around 24 euro a week. We didn't use the pool towel service but were told that it was 15 euro deposit per person a week plus 1 euro every time you wanted a clean towel... So if you are on a budget beware!
Overall location (matagorda) beautiful, enough shops to browse, enough restaurants and bars and most are very reasonably priced - try Sirocco it's fab!!

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room, one side of the hotel overlooks the airport runway, unless you are a pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

I am sorry that the Hotel couldn’t meet your requirements but I think that you may have chosen the wrong hotel for your needs.

Best regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time all inclusive and will definitly be returning. it is situated in a nice quiet area close to the beach and shops bars and restaurants. five minutes to airport in the taxi and noise from the planes not an issue. the food is nice and plentiful but can be a bit repetitive. yes there are birds around because it is open air but unfortunately some guests encourage them by feeding them. pool area nice and plenty of sun loungers available. rooms are nice but need updating, beds comfortable. the spa is fantastic and is worth visiting. ATM at reception. found all the staff very friendly and helpful. all in all ticked all the boxes for me and looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3076 with pool/sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimilashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa I would like to thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you like the hotel, its facilities like the SPA and the surroundings. It’s always good to learn that our guests enjoyed their stay and that we could fulfill their expectations. We are really looking forward to welcome you again for another relaxing holiday. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch in advance to reserve a room or for any other wishes.

Best regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a lovely stay, hotel spotlessly clean, pools excellent and great location, went to the spa which was the best I've been to, the food can be a bit repetitive but was all well cooked, stayed in room 3023 which had lovely views of the pool and the beach.
Can't wait to get back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonnyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa and that you were happy with all the facilities and our service. I am sure that your review will encourage other travelers to stay in the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa too. It will be great pleasure to welcome you again over here. Please don’t forget to email me in advance for a room reservation or any other wishes

Best regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have just got back from spending a week here.Was in room 2051,maid service very good,not a good view from balcony.Birds fly around the restaurant and peck at the displayed food"terrible".on one occasion i had gone to get some breakfast when i came back my coffee etc and table and chair had been moved to accomodate a Spanish family,I was not happy and complained,nothing was done,not even a sorry!!..Spa treatment that i had was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa with the community of TripAdvisor. I am really glad that you liked the SPA and could enjoy your treatment. Thanks for the nice comment about the maid service. We are aware of the bird problem and try to do everything within the legal framework to solve the problem. Thank you for letting us know about the attitude of the staff in the restaurant concerning your complaint, we’ll take that into account.

Best regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
9.4 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#20 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,547 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,852 reviews
7.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beatriz Playa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beatriz Playa & Spa

Property: Beatriz Playa & Spa
Address: Urb. Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beatriz Playa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beatriz Playa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beatriz Playa And Spa
Beatriz Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Beatriz Playa Lanzarote
Beatriz Playa & Spa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing