We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Xmas Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lanzarote Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing Xmas Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just returned from a weeks all inclusive break over Christmas. Hotel rooms very good, modern, and extremely clean. We had 2 single beds, which were quite hard, and the pillows not great...but they never are!! Rooms comes with safe, tea making facilities, fridge (V useful) &tv (only small) with 4 x English speaking channels, We had a large, walk in shower, which was excellent, there was also a hairdryer provided.
The view from our room wasn't too bad Room 1249), bit of a sea view, but directly in front of us was door to another room, not idea-however, we did get some sun on the balconyl! We asked if there was a chance to change the room, which they showed us another the day after we arrived which had a better view, more private, however, this was over the garden to the back of the hotel, and we didn't think it would get any sun-also it would have costed more, so we stayed where we were. Overall we were happy with the room, but it would have been better on a higher floor.
The staff are all very friendly, and always try to help if possible.
This is not a large hotel, even though it is called a village, and is based in Playa De Los Poccilos. We had never been here, and it was only a 10-15min walk in Playa Del Carmen, however, there were a small amount of shops, supermarket & restaurants closer. If youre stopping here-I would say it is best to be either AI of Half Board, unless you don't mind walking. However, the walking here is pretty good-its quite flat, and is a nice area. The beach directly opposite the hotel is huge & lovely.
The entertainment & choice of food I would say is the only thing that lets this hotel down. There is only 1 restaurant, which is buffet style. We never had trouble finding something to eat, but I would think a 4* hotel, would have had at least 1 other choice for eating. With there only being 1 restaurant this did get a little busy at times, and we were part of a group of 8, so sometimes we were unable to all eat together (however, where the staff could help, they did). We were there for xmas day-and the hotel really tried to make it special. They festively dressed all the tables, and had candles etc on each one. The food, again, was buffet on xmas day-but with a good choice, freshly carved turkey, whole salmon, huge fresh prawns etc. The only let down was the lack of veg-a minor grumble.
The entertainment, I would say was pretty poor. There is only 1 room to watch the entertainment, which subsequently gets very full quite early. There is the usual kids mini disco, then the main entertainment. This wasn't very good-we watched 1, then didn't bother again. If you want a quite holiday, this is a good place, as the bar shuts at 12.00pm, and pretty much everyone disappears by then (if they even last that long). At one point, our group of 8 at 11.30 were almost the last ones in the bar!!
The pool area is lovely, with a good secure barrier around the pool (would stop anyone accidently falling in!). There is a also a jacuzzie, (which was heated), so this was the only thing we used, however, we did see some brave souls in the pool. There are plenty of beds (although not the comfiest!!), which a good choice of areas to put them in, either close to the pool, or in smaller,more secluded areas.
We could have stopped in the Riu next door, but this would have costed another £100 each for the week, I don't think if it would have been worth the extra, we were more that happy with our choice. Would we go again - yes, definately, if the price is right. This is a good hotel, not in a really busy location, but within easy access of plenty to do if required.
Towels are provided, for a deposit, and changed twice weekly.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2011Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salvador m, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Lanzarote Village, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear clients.
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your Christmas holiday, and for taking time in writing a long and detailed review. The few minor faults you mention has been brought to knowledge of the management, and will be discussed for future changes. We are glad you enjoyed it here, and that you would like to come back. We would be delighted to see you here again.

Kind regards,
the Lanzarote Village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    582
    218
    50
    18
See reviews for
486
670
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just returned (29/12/13) from a weeks all inclusive at Lanzarote Village Hotel booked with First Choice.Can't fault the accommodation rooms really spacious and clean with good sea views. Staff very friendly. This was a very expensive Xmas holiday but sadly was let down by the food. Whilst there was plenty of it is was quantity rather than quality. I have to say it was bland and tasteless and some of the cakes were very dry. We are seasoned travellers having travelled the globe but this has to have been some of the worst food we have had, We do not expect or even want British Food when abroad but we would like to taste it. Some of the fish was undercooked and this was reported to the First Choice rep. There was also a problem with the cappuccino from the coffee machine in the dining room it tasted like hot chocolate. This was reported to the waiters but the problem was not rectified. We also told the First Choice rep who had also tried the coffee and confirmed that it tasted more like chocolate. The sangria seemed to be watered down certainly not as good as that served outside the hotel or bought in the supermarkets having said that it was ok as a refreshing "soft drink". No proper sausages with the breakfast always frankfurters and the bacon was very streaky. If you stay at this property do so on a room only basis and eat in any of the really good restaurants in the resort.

Room Tip: Higher floor for better view 1379 has views of beach mountains and good for plane spotting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calloway11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salvador m, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Lanzarote Village, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear clients.
Thank you for participating on the Tripadvisor with your opinion.The management has been notified about your comment on the food, and will study to make some changes.
We do get a lot of positive feedback on the food, stated here in earlier reviews, but obviously this is also a matter of taste. We hope that you otherwise enjoyed your holiday here on Lanzarote.

Kind regards,
the Lanzarote Village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This was my third visit to Lanzarote. All 3 were 4 Star Hotels.
Location:
The hotel is not actually in Puerto Del Carmen but in Playa De Los Pocillos. I've already stayed here so I went for this particular hotel. Problem was, the Riu was only a few minutes away from the 'main strip' of shops and restaurants. This hotel was 15 minutes away and was from the START of the strip. It proved a major problem for me as I like my shops. It proved a BIG negative on my holiday.

Rooms: the rooms are very pleasant. Two single beds, couch, TV, bathroom and balcony. Maids kept the room immaculate. There is a fridge and tea-making facilities too. Ample storage space and safe if required.
The bathroom was clean but it does not have a walk-in shower. It's a bath with shower attached. There is a hair dryer provided.
My negatives. The view was awful. Our balcony looked onto a tennis court and apartments. We had asked for a pool view. When we enquirer about upgrading to a sea view there was only the suite left at an extra €20 a day. I saw rooms that looked onto the view snd they looked wonderful, especially when our own balcony barely had minutes of sunshine. The view DOES make a difference. I found my bed uncomfortable and would wake up with a bad back every morning although my friend found no fault.
The TV provided was too far and too small to watch from the bed. There are enough English-speaking channels but I found it hard to watch even with my contacts in. However, better to have a good TV than none at all.
To summarise our room, the poor view ruined it for us.

Entertainment:
Daytime - was there any? I didn't see anything happening. Well apart from once when the aqua gym was on. In my previous hotels, the entertainment team were always around, speaking to you and enticing you to try games. I think they had darts and shuffleboard. The other hotels had archery, shooting, boules, swimming lessons etc. I really enjoy daytime activities so again we were hugely disappointed.

Evening: Much better! The bar was always busy but seats always available. There was live music, flamenco dancing and such likes as birds of prey. There was a kiddie disco every evening before the adult show started at 9.30pm.

Food: The food was good but repetitive. It catered for mainly British and German guests. You could eat inside the restaurant or just outside. Waiters and waitresses were very friendly and attentive.

Pool area: Never really used it but looked the part. There's a child's pool, main pool and a popular jacuzzi. Towels were provided. There is a pool bar which serves food and drink. Very friendly barista as they all were in the hotel.
We preferred to go to the beach across the road. €6 for each sun lounger. Unlike other beaches, the loungers were protected by windbreakers and I didn't feel cold at all after swimming in the ocean.

Reception: Did their job but would have been nice to see them smile and say hello. There is a wi-fi area which can get busy. I paid €19 to be able to use wifi in my room.

Games Room: Half the games there were switched off and the rather hidden away room looked like it needed some freshening up.

If you cannot handle the long walk to the start of the strip and then continue, I'd advise getting the bus in. We made the mistake of getting a taxi in and back. It took half our spending money away! Try the tours but do not book with the hotel or Rep as the costs are way more expensive than booking through one of the many shops that sold tours from the Teguise Market to snorkelling. We paid €4 each for the Market. The Hotel was charging €12.

There are plenty of good restaurants along the strip, with the best found in the Old Town down by the harbour. The place is a must-see for your holidays.

We went All Inclusive. Half Board is fine if you don't mind having to fill your fridge with drinks and miss out on sitting outside having a cool beer or a quick espresso.

Would I return? No. The poor view and unfortunate location put a dampener on our holiday.
Is it a good hotel? Yes, certainly. It's worth it's 4 Star Status. However, being honest, it just wasn't the hotel for us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fabi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salvador m, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Lanzarote Village, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear clients.
Thank you for taking time in writing a long and detailed review ! Just a few comments.
This area is called Playa de los Pocillos, which is a tranquil, residencial area, and we do belong to Puerto del Carmen, which is quite
extensive along the sea front. Most of the rooms have a walk-in shower, but there are a few with
bath tub with shower. It is possible to request a room with shower only. The hotel is divided in different room categories and price classes. The most economic rooms do not have the best view. The best views are in the sea view category. We understand that you did not like the location of your room or the hotel, but hope that you otherwise did enjoy your holiday.

Kind regards,
the Lanzarote Village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Some aspects of this hotel are superb whilst others are really poor.
On the plus side the breakfast is wonderful, with pleasant staff and an abundance of choice, the gentleman bartender is extremely attentive and friendly and the pool deck and exterior areas are spotless. The reception staff are able to arrange taxis which arrive very promptly and can cater for large numbers and are extremely good value for getting around the local area. We have yet to take a trip that exceeds €5 and there are usually between 3 and 6 of us. There is a fridge in the bedroom, which is useful, and a small, private seating area outside the room.
On the negative side the bedlinen has holes in, there are ants in the room, the noise from other rooms is disturbing, and the pool is only open from 10am til 6pm which means that, because we are here to do winter training for a sport, by the time we get back to the hotel and would like to relax the pool is closed. The television won't work and we've had an issue with the wifi that we purchased but could not rectify it because we were unable to communicate the issue to the lady on reception.

Overall the hotel is good but if you're going to stay here ask for a bedroom that has nothing above it. That way you shouldn't have any disturbances

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salvador m, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Lanzarote Village, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear client.
Thank you for writing your opinion. We will study the few negative points you mention, in order to arrange for future changes. Regarding the pool being closed at 6 pm, this is due to winter season
as at 6 pm it is getting dark.We do not have the pool open during night time.
We are glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay, and would like to welcome you back some other time.

Kind regards,
the Lanzarote Village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rybnik, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Positive point: Good choice of food, cleanliness, room cleaning every day, free wather delivered to the room, fridge on the room, friendly staff.
Negative point: poor of sea view from the hotel, not good quality of white wine - undrinkable unfortunately, we have to buy wine in market - mavlasia is very goof wine (spar market have a few sort of malvasia wine in good prise). Not friendly person in hotel car rental servis, still talking over the phone. Very poor quality acces to Wifi in lobby (for free) in my opinion intentionally decrease of quality. The www pages opening over an hours. Charged wifi access working very good. Very noise sewer system, we have a room on ground floor, everyday morning we wekaup with shower neighbour from first floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salvador m, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Lanzarote Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear client.
We appreciate that you have taken time in writing a review. The things you point out as negative will be discussed with the managment. We are otherwise glad that you found the food, the cleanliness, the staff to your satisfaction. Thank you for booking our hotel, and welcome back another time.

Kind regards,
the Lanzarote Village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

5th December to 12th December 2013
Been to the same area before so knew the location of the village hotel and that's why we chose to go there.
Smaller than some hotels but comfortable and clean, tea and coffee making facility and a beautiful bathroom ..Room cleaned everyday and we were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the beach. Balcony was very small with only enough room for 2 chairs and a small table. This however was made up for by the view and the fact it had full sun all day..
Hotel has a good gym which I made use of and a nice reception area with friendly staff.. Evening entertainment not really my taste but well attended each evening..people seemed to be enjoying themselves.
All inclusive drinks really good and as in other reviews the food was not always as hot as it could have been. A microwave is provided so meals can be heated if required..
Only comment I would make is the restaurant is a bit basic, a bit
" staff canteen " even with Christmas decorations it did not make me feel that I wanted to " dress" for dinner..
Smart casual is defiantly the order of the day here..
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, good value and good location .. All in all a nice relaxing week away . Thanks to all of the staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hassanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salvador m, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Lanzarote Village, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear client.
Thank you for staying with us, and for writing your opinion.All the reviews are for us very important,
and will always be carefully discussed by the management. We are glad you liked it here,hope you enjoyed your holiday on Lanzarote, and would consider coming back some other time.

Kind regards,
the Lanzarote Village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just got back on 8th December after a lovely week staying at this hotel half board. We reviewed this hotel on trip advisor and also went to see it in May this year before we booked.
RCEPTION
Reception staff checked us in quickly and were pleasant even though she was being harassed by another guest (not English) who wasn't willing to wait until she has dealt with us.
ROOM
I requested a high room as we have had bad experiences with terrace/low floor rooms elsewhere in the past.... We were given a room with a terrace facing the pool.... However, it was a great room, clean and well maintained, there was no sun on our terrace but the pool was 3 steps down so this was fine, the down side for me was it had no bath, just a walk in shower, again this turned out fine as it worked well. Beds are more on the hard side.

Rooms cleaned everyday, maid was lovely and helpful. Rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and use of a small fridge which again is great. We were really close to pool/restaurant but had no problem with noise. Very spacious room.

We asked beforehand to have a late checkout until 5pm, we were told they couldn't look at this until the day of checkout.... On the day of checkout they said they couldn't give us that room as the guests who had booked for that day hadn't indicated what time they would arrive.... A tip would be to let hotel know your time of arrival this would help other guests wishing to stay on and the hotel could mange this better..... We did pay to have another room which was on a high floor overlooking the pool, the balcony was small and shaded but the rest of the room was again very clean and spacious.
I do agree the rooms are spread out like a rabbit warren, the pictures give impression all in one block, not so..... Some room balcony's face a wall or are overlooked from above as they edge out.
FOOD
We didn't go All Inclusive on this holiday on purpose, due to a lot of the reviews about the food, we thought if they were wrong we would upgrade whilst there.
They weren't wrong! ......There is indeed broccoli, peas, carrots, cooked leeks etc on the hot breakfast side..... They do seem to cater for other nationality's more than English. I have been to other four star hotels in the area which have far more choice for both breakfast and evening meals. The good thing about the food is, what there is, is, HOT. The worst selection of sweets I have come across, very limited and repetitive. Still the staff again are fabulous, no waiting for a drink or clean table.

So, good, clean, spacious rooms.
Helpful Staff throughout the hotel.
Entertainment - we could take or leave it.
Food- more 3 star but always HOT
Location - great in quieter area but not to far away from bars and restaurants and beach right across the road.
We went for a rest and this is what we got. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out and some have no view (face walls) or are overlooked from balcony's above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trayn0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salvador m, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Lanzarote Village, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear client.
Thank you for booking Lanzarote Village, and also for your time in writing a long and detailed review. All the reviews are good help to us in future changes or reorganization. Just a few comments from our side. We do have a lot of rooms with only shower. It is always possible to request either shower or bath, which will always be considered, even if not guaranteed.
Regarding the vegetables on the breakfast buffet. This is not directed to any specific nationalities,
but more towards vegeterians. There are a lot of other food to choose for breakfast, sausages, bacon ,egg, either cooked,scrabled , fried or omelets , pancakes, various cereals, yoghurt,ham, cheese, fruit etc. etc.
We hope you otherwise enjoyed your holiday, and that you would consider returning here an other time.

Kind regards,
the Lanzarote Village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
0.3 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#21 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lanzarote Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lanzarote Village

Property: Hotel Lanzarote Village
Address: Calle Suiza 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lanzarote Village 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Lanzarote Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzarote Village Hotel
Hotel Lanzarote Village Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing