We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos THe Morromar
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived back today of a week stay with 2 young adult children (21 and 23) we are mid and late 40. We had a great time at this Hotel/Apartments. We arrived late afternoon and were greated with a big smile and very good english/german and spanish speaking staff. Our room was spacious and clean. We felt welcome right away.After a quick look around we found everything and nothing was to much for the staff, so helpful and friendly. As the first few days were a bit chilly due to weather we hired a car no trouble to reception. A phone call later we had a pick up to the hire car place and 10 min later we had a car of our choice. We went to the national park/ vulcanos and how great did that turn out to be. The next day we went to turguise not costa de turquoise it has a fab market on a sunday. Then we went to a very good surfing beach on the west coast recomend it. We dont surf by the way. Get a car as the trips can turn out very expencive for a family. The roads are not too busy either. The promenade was only 3 min walk away and its gorgeous. Well kept and very clean with really good exercise facilities just beside the walk by the sea.The beaches are beautiful and not to busy at this time a year. If you dont want to walk into Puerto del Carmen there is always a Taxi at the cost of around €3/4. The boys went out a few nights and found the bars very cheap and welcoming to any nationalty. Drinks and food is very cheap over there. Back to the hotel: we had a great stay and a fab welcome meeting with cocktails and Paella. The Staff is fantastic and the management is outstanding. Xmas dinner was made very special and even my boys were very impressed. My boys and us would go back at any time. I would say the 800 rooms are the best. Gracias mucho we had a great feliz navidad and hope you all have a feliz ano nuevo xxx

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandraandwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Family,

Thank you very much for publishing your impressions about your holidays with us!
We are really glad to read you nice comments and to know you enjoyed christmas time in our complex.
We will be looking forward to welcome you in a near future.
We remain at your disposal,
Wishing you the best.
Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,596)
There are newer reviews for Apartamentos THe Morromar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

Overall very worth the money. Massive variety of food including themed evening meals. Food is not always piping hot, but always warm. you only have 2-3 hours a day when there is no food/snacks on (4pm-6:30pm). Staff are excellent, might have to repeat your drinks order a couple of times but they get there in the end. Very friendly. Entertainment staff make the hotel, kept spirits up, getting everyone whos willing involved. Even going the extra mile to produce a cabaret show. Activities run throughout the day except on their days off (thursday and sunday). They deserve a lot more credit than they are getting!
Plenty of christmas decorations were up, and christmas music has been playing throughout our stay.
Location is good, less than 10 minute walk to the beach and shopping centres, with more shopping centres just a further walk down the beach. And a taxi rank right outside the hotel. Rooms are very clean and constantly made up, bigger than expected, however could have used more drawers as not enough storage space for 3 of us. Good kitchen but didn't need to use it much as we were all inclusive. Excellent hair dryer, powerful shower however did run out of hot water on a few occasions.
Pools are cold, even with one of them being 'heated' but plently of sun loungers to go around!
Evening entertainment is okay at times, but could be improved on. Even if it's just leaving the disco lights on till 11/12 and having the music a bit louder.
Don't expect 5 stars when you are only paying for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dannimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Family,

Thank you for taking your time on publishing your impressions about your actual stay in THe Morromar.
Me and my team are really glad to read that you are enjoying your stay and this Christmas days with us. We were very worried after reading your initial comment but as the days go by I think you have changed up your mind.
I do hope you enjoy every minute and if there is anything we can help you with, please let us know.
Wishing you the best,
Kind Regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We are here now with 4 kids 12-11-4-3 years. The hotel is very clean. Rooms are good, food great. But all inclusive snacks are absolutely rubbish, just nothing there but a bit of cake at the bar, not very good for hungry kids,we asked for something like a sandwich and the best they could offer was fruit. So we have kids starving.also all the hotels we've stayed in and never known evening entertainment so poor. After dinner last night (Sunday) there was no entertainment and when I mean none there was nothing except very mellow orchestra music playing in the back ground quietly, this really lets the hotel down.we go away about 3-4 times a year and this has to be the worst. We're not expecting much but we'd like something for the children, last few days we've been in our room by 8pm cus so boring. We are staying in room 729, so now lovely view..if u looking for a bit of evening entertainment for the family then this is defo not the place to go. There's nothing.. Staff are average, haven't witnessed the over friendly staff like some reviews have said, but they are hard working, we are just trying to find some where to spend evenings for Xmas Eve and Xmas night.. Would we come again...NO.. Only because of the hotel entertainment and all inclusive only being meals and very weak alcohol . This hotel really needs to step up it's entertainment which I really don't think it will, I think it's there way of making sure everyone is in there rooms early.. We are really disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brislew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Clean but very dated and tired. This place is no more than a two star. Food is cold - after saying so was told there was a microwave to warm it up! It had often just come from the kitchen and goodness knows why you want to eat carrots onion rings and wedges at breakfast. In defence the breakfast was edible but the lunches and evening meals where brought out and left under Luke warm lights..not good. .the restaurant - more like a canteen - and entertainment area are all in one large hall - more line a school hall that is cordoned off. The entertained lasts each evening for three quartz of an hour - the magician was good but all others were well below standard - especially the young lad dressed as a lady boy miming and dancing around the audience - not entertainment. The only pool activity we saw were guests trying to throw a ball into a child's bucket with reps supervising! This place is kept clean but not for the faint hearted. We came back today 19th dec there was no Christmas spirit or many decorations we didn't hear one Christmas Carol played - those that are staying for Christmas won't get much festive spirit.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunchofwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to publish your impressions about your recent stay in THe Morromar.
We are very sorry to read some of your comments. About the foods temperature, this is measured in a regular basis and we have hot dishes available. I will keep checking this issue just in case.
Regarding your comments about the Christmas decoration and ambience, well obviously in the Canary Islands this time of the year feels completely different, good weather, sitting by the pool and enjoying this period with another mood, that is why people come here. Anyway we have special christmas dinner, live music and many other activities.
Wishing you a Merry Christmas.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

enjoyed our winter break, we were allocated room 603 an upstairs room next to the restaurant and when we opened the door the smell of tobacco was really strong went to reception and within ten minutes a cleaner appeared and sprayed the whole appartment, never really bothered us after that, rooms are basic but they have put new flat screen tv's and we had a hair drier fitted the first week. food was good and there was plenty of it, cleaners kept the place spotless and the gardens were kept nice, the manageress was also very approachable and regularily walked round the complex asking if you were enjoying ourselfs. would definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pensioners2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are all very glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us!
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be pleased to transmit them. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.
Wishing you the best,
Kind Regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night break at the Morromar. We could not fault anything. Lovely apartment, very good choice of delicious food (my friend is vegetarian and found lots of lovely food). Taxis just outside and excellent bus service a short walk away. Staff were very pleasant and helpful in all departments. We booked all inclusive for the first time ever and did the right thing as we went out and about but were back for lunch. Long meal times which made planning the day very easy. Came home feeling energized and very happy and all for a very reasonable cost. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to publish your impressions about our complex.
We are glad to read your comments and to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be a pleasure for me and my team to welcome you back in a near future.
Wishing you the best,
Kind Regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks break at morromar feeling relaxed & refreshed. We wanted a cheap & cheerful break before Christmas & that's what we got. Morromar is a lovely complex, well maintained & modern in the public areas. Rooms were fairly basic but just as we had expected, very well equipped in the kitchen area athough we didn't use much as we were all inclusive. Cleaners were in every day barr one I think & were lovely & friendly. Food was way better than we had expected, I'm fussy & vegetarian but always managed to get something, fresh salad & bread every day too. Sweets weren't that good but fair. Enjoyed plenty of wine with our meals too. Only really went to the bar one night as the entertainment not really out cup of tea but to be fair there are quiter areas that you can tuck yourself away from it. The location is excellent if you like going on walks or even to hire bikes, we walked on average 6-10 miles a day, 3 miles each way to puerto del carmen or about an hours walk in the other direction where you can walk all the way around the airport & into the town there. Also there is a small selection of shops/bars in matagorda where the hotel is located. Pools looked lovely but we never made it in them due to all the walking. Also there is a gym & beauty salon in the hotel, we didn't know this until we went or we would probably have taken more money with us for treats. All in all excellent value, really friendly staff & good food, would be happy to return again. P.s only discovered the cocktails on our last night, highly recommend the mojitos ;)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ag840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for publishing your impressions about your stay in THe Morromar.
We are very glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us, thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be pleased to transmit them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.8 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
599 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#37 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyde Park Lane
Hyde Park Lane
#21 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
774 reviews
3.2 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#77 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#18 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos THe Morromar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos THe Morromar

Address: Calle Mato, 13 | Urbanizacion Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Morromar Apartamentos)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $87 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos THe Morromar 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax vacations in dreamy surroundings. Apartamentos THe Morromar is a modern three-star-complex offering you an incredible experience in the island of the volcanoes, Lanzarote. Apartamentos THe Morromar is located a few kilometers from the capital, Arrecife, and just five minutes walking from the Playa de Matagorda, a familiar beach of golden sand to go for a pleasant stroll. Lanzarote is also the ideal place for the practice of water sports thanks to its optimum climatological conditions. The complex, inspired in its design by the typical architecture of Lanzarote, features a total of 221 spacious and luminous apartments distributed over independent buildings. Furthermore, it disposes of two pools, a restaurant-buffet, a pool-bar, a lobby-bar, several multifunctional sport courts and a gym. Apartamentos THe Morromar offers entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxation activities for all family members to enjoy an incredible experience in unique surroundings. Dear guests, we are working on the optimization of our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. Herewith, we inform you that our secondary pool will be closed due to refurbishment works. The expected closing dates will from 17.04.17 till 30.06.17. We put at the disposal of all our clients the main pool, which includes the children´s pool. We apologize for the inconveniences. Apartamentos THe Morromar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos THe Morromar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Melia Matagorda
Sol Morromar Lanzarote
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Matagorda
Apartamentos THe Morromar Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing