We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel Could make so much more of itself.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos THe Morromar
Ranked #36 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The hotel Could make so much more of itself.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I would just like to add that we are not over critical and the type of people that complain about everything in fact we are a young couple in our early 30's with quite low expectations although some points have to be raised regarding the hotel. We were invited to put these comments in the comments book in reception however this is a more accurate way of letting you know our experience and recommendations. Both my partner and I have previously worked as holiday reps in a number of locations around the world for a number of reputable companies and do feel this review is a true reflection from both our personal and professional experience. When we arrived we had a small child 3 years old with us and were given the keys to our apartment. Now the lay out of the apartment is that the little one would have to sleep on the sofa bed on the living area where there are tables tvs sharp edged furniture etc and we were in a seperate room. Personally we didn't feel comfortable leaving our 3 year old on his own even though the room was adjacent at 3 years old they have a tedancy to "mess around" he couldnt settle in the spacious room so we asked reception for a camp bed which they kindly agreed to set up in our room next to us.
The Food:
The food was at best very average, again most of the time the snacks by the pool for the children were barely warm and never hot and also not very well advertised as we only found this out on the last few days. Our young one struggled to find anything he like at the evening meal as beef stew and rice or other food such as fresh local fish etc don't get me wrong there was a few choices although repetitive but I would seriously suggest a little kids corner food counter with nuggets, chips, pizza, spaghetti, beans, that type of thing would be a massive success and has been very favourable in hotels we have worked in previously. In fact we ate out for about 4 of the seven nights despite being all inclusive due to our boy not wanting any food from the restaurant.
Entertainment:
Now I don't blame the entertainment staff at all they are great workers and are trying extremely hard to please the guests but with little support. I don't know whether this is due to cost etc but they are a credit to the hotel just a Shame that they are left on there own to entertain the guests which to be honest in the evening is bordering embarrassing. The games in the day are great and they are fantastic with the kids. However when you see a sign in reception saying tonight's entertainment is Latin American dancing you imagine a great show of dancing followed by maybe a bit of dancing from the guests but this isn't the case it's the reps put some costumes on and try to get people up dancing not really entertainment is it? There was a 70,s and 80,s disco sounds great you think? No DJ? And the same rep again comes out in fancy dress costume trying to get people dancing! This is a big problem in my experience as I was an entertainer in previous roles and this is just not good enough. Guests look forward to being entertained and a show or act of some type. Fine if there is no funds available for outside acts to come into the hotel and perform them more staff is needed and a leader with some direction of presentation is required to get some acts which people will enjoy. Every hotel That we have worked at have had outside acts perform once or twice a week in the hotel.
Location:
Bit far out from all the action for us 5 euros each way to puerto town which in old money is £10 return. We did this 5 times during our stay quite expensive. The port area is a must to visit fantastic location very busy and close to everything. You must try the Island Bar and Rory the singer is fantastic a great night went to his show twice even with the little one all welcome great live music can't leave lanzarote without visiting the island bar.
Beach close to hotel and nice sandy beach.
Reception: friendly staff helpful, although not all singing of the same page, not good customer service for one member of staff to say you can Definately have late check out and then another member of staff the following day say this is not possible untill the arrivals list is checked for availability. I appreciate this but training must be given to staff so they are all aware of the procedure we had to then argue our case as we were not flying till 7pm on our last day and standard check out was 12pm we did manage to stay in our room till 4pm at an extra cost of €15.
Finally we had a Pre booked taxi paid for at the time of booking our holiday. Reception told us not possible to have the taxi collect us from reception and we had to walk approx 50 metres around the corner to the rank. That's a first for us we never had our guests drag there cases to the taxi rank, they were always collected from the front door. Not to mention we had 3 large cases and a pram and a three year old child and noone offered to help us just told make your way to the taxi rank. Great. When we got to the rank the taxi did not come So I left my partner and the baby and the cases and pram and ran the 50 metres back to reception guess what? Taxi outside so I jumped in and we picked my partner and baby up. Another example of the reception desk staff not knowing what's going on with the most basic of tasks.
Overall: clean, most of the staff friendly, ok location defo too far out for young people wanting to party stay in the port area or town centre. Good for families, although if you like entertainment as an adult not the best I've seen by a long way. Food ok there are choices not great for children and to me good food on holiday is one of the most important things And the wine. So to just say there are some choices for me is not enough I want lovely food and enjoy each meal I didn't enjoy one of mine.
This hotel is so close to getting it right just not quite there. Food more varied choice, more options for children required and entertainment needs improvement then there onto a winner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluearmys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a thoughout comment.
We will try to take into consideration everything that you have suggested regarding the food or the entertainment. As to the reception staff, this was a misunderstanding and we will give our best to avoid such situations in the future!

We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    968
    536
    213
    119
See reviews for
973
949
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

hi stayed here 15th .22nd sep..very clean hotel room 409 lovley staff food was good only fault was to far away from Puerto del Carmen.entertiment was good for kids finished at 11pm.couples who enjoy nightlife not for them..first relaxing holiday ive every had .

Room Tip: take a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you have had a relaxing holiday.
As to our location, we consider it a plus to be in a more quiet area next to Puerto del Carmen. Nontheless, you can always go by taxi to the center, which would cost around 5,6 euros and take 5-10 minutes. Or by bus.

We hope to get the opportunity to host you again.
Thank you and best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The complex doesn't feel very secure and a lot of staff warned about break ins. There's no air con and the fans you can rent are not fit for purpose. Pools are nice but after 11pm there is nothing to do on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We hope you have had a good holiday.

As to the security, we always rather suggest to people to leave their valuables in the safe. Nonetheless, from 7 o´clock in the evening, there is only one entrance to the apartments for security reasons. Nonetheless, we will mark you comment.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed from 16/09/2013 for 10 nights could not fault the place rooms clean and tidy nice views over the pool and sea view 10 mins transfer from airport staff very nice entertainment every day and night Roberto gets everyone joining in 2 pools to use and plenty to choose from to eat one miserable bar maid (ana) 5 mins from town and a few mins walk to beach plenty to do rancho texas was good zoo excellent bird of prey show and also a water park good value for 19 euro for a full day out plenty of lively bars in town center and lots of shopping would go back there and recommend the hotel to any one we stayed in room 810 maid service 5 from 7 all round great time.

Room Tip: higer floors nicer views and can leave patio doors and windows open for wind to blow through to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you have had a good holidays with us and we would love to host you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent a week at the Morromar from 2/9/13 on an all inclusive basis and had a great time.Went with hubby and two adult daughters aged 20 and 22.Good start with a warm welcome from Thomas in reception,quick check in and within a few minutes we were unpacking.Had previously requested 2 upper apartments and rooms 433 and 434 were ideal,sea views from both and large south facing balconies.The apartments are in need of a little tlc but are clean and spacious with kitchen facilities and large bedrooms.
The hotel grounds are attractive and well kept,the dining room well laid out and the bar area is spacious.Food was good,both breakfast and evening meals,enjoyed the variety.Drinks are self service in the restaurant with red ,rose,white wine and lager on tap not forgetting coke,sprite and fanta.Drinks at the pool bar are local brands ,perfectly good if a little weak.
Our two daughters enjoyed the pool area with entertainment provided by Roberto(brilliant guy)and the chart music played at the bar.They both participated in the many activities and enjoyed the sangria and paella demonstrations.
We didn't watch the evening entertainment but if you have small kids you may enjoy it.Varied from bingo, a parrot show ,singers etc.
Staff throughout the hotel were extremely polite and helpful but felt some guests let the side down by littering the pool area with paper plates and drinks cups. Plenty of bins so no need.
The hotel is situated in Matagorda,a ten minute stroll takes you to the beach and promenade which is very flat for walking and cycling.There are a variety of restaurants,bars and shops along the front including a well priced spar and chemist.Good area for a relaxing holiday and I would recommend the Morromar Hotel for a good value All Inclusive holiday and would love to return

Room Tip: Upper rooms 433 and 434 have sea views and south facing balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us with Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed our rooms, our food and your holiday in general!

We would be happy to host you again!

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived Sept 10th and were dropped off at the rear of the hotel by a minibus driver with no rep. We had no idea where to go and was only directed to reception by a fellow guest!!.
On being allocated a room we were given room 415 which was upstairs opposite reception. Our first impression of the room was good, clean and honest, no air con or fan though. We settled in and that was that, until dinner time, the food was not good, well, that's not stricktly true, if you like fish or sea food, then I would imagine it's great, but as neither me or my partner like this, it was not good, it reminded me of school dinners. And I didn't much care for those.
The evening, we went to the bar and was greeted but one staff member on the bar. And a mist strange odour emitting from the bar area, reminiscent of wet dog.
We bedded down for the night and were awoken a few hours later by revellers returning from a night out coming through reception. And other late night arrivals.
The next day we went go the top pool, where it was teeming with children, which I thought odd as the school term had begun, and foolishly we thought that the children would be at school! Anyway, we sucked it up and made the best of it.
Being tired from lack of sleep the previous night we decided to have a siesta, but, no. Apparently, outside our bedroom by reception is the only place that WiFi works, which incidentally you have to pay for.
The next day we asked to be relocated, and to be fair the staff were great and mist helpful. Not the same can be said for the Thomson rep, who forgot to meet and greet us. Anyway, we were moved to room 434. Which was far better, and with a lovely view.
I have no other complaints about the accommodation, as it was fair, clean and had a free to use tv in the lounge area, which I utilised to learn Arabic.
The walk from the hotel to PDC us about an hour or so away, which we walked a few times, and is a great place. The promenade near the hotel was great, probably one of the best I have seen in many a year. And the Irish bars and restaurants were excellent.
The food is the thing that really lets this place down though, go and stay there by all mean, but go self catering.
All in all, we would happily return to this part of the island, but not to the Morromar Appartments, and would rent a private villa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pricey158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you have had a good holiday with us, in the other room.

As to the food, it is always difficult to satisfy all palates. Nonetheless, we do offer various meet and vegetarian dishes also.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4asweetrose
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

my partner and I had a superb two week holiday at the Morromar from 8 to 22nd September.
We really enjoyed it despite me slipping over and spending some time on crutches
All of the staff were the the nicest people you could meet it seems unfair to mention individuals but frank & Thomas on reception were great and Roberto xus and co worked so hard continually.
Our apartment was spotless due to the lovely maids.
Manuella the manager held a little cocktail party to introduce herself to guests personally which was a lovely gesture. She was so helpful in every way and did some favours for some guests that
I have never known from a manager before.
The location is very quiet which suited us fine,but might not suit everyone.
We enjoyed the variety of food very much congratulations to the chef !!
Full marks to everyone at the Morromar
By the way Manuella we noticed the English flag was flying upside (the broad white band should be at the top of the pole)
Regards Glenys Ashworth room 412

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4asweetrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs. Ashworth!

Thank you very much for your comment! I am very glad that you have had a good holiday with us and I will pass you comment to our staff with pleasure!

As to the flag, we will look that right away.

We hope to host you again!

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#32 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
3.2 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#74 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
#79 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beatriz Playa & Spa
Beatriz Playa & Spa
#41 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos The Las Gaviotas
Apartamentos The Las Gaviotas
#18 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos THe Morromar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos THe Morromar

Property: Apartamentos THe Morromar
Address: Calle Mato, 13 | Urbanizacion Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Morromar Apartamentos)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos THe Morromar 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax vacations in dreamy surroundings. Apartamentos THe Morromar is a modern three-star-complex offering you an incredible experience in the island of the volcanoes, Lanzarote. Apartamentos THe Morromar is located a few kilometers from the capital, Arrecife, and just five minutes walking from the Playa de Matagorda, a familiar beach of golden sand to go for a pleasant stroll. Lanzarote is also the ideal place for the practice of water sports thanks to its optimum climatological conditions. The complex, inspired in its design by the typical architecture of Lanzarote, features a total of 221 spacious and luminous apartments distributed over independent buildings. Furthermore, it disposes of two pools, a restaurant-buffet, a pool-bar, a lobby-bar, several multifunctional sport courts and a gym. Apartamentos THe Morromar offers entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxation activities for all family members to enjoy an incredible experience in unique surroundings. Dear guests, we are working on the optimization of our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. Herewith, we inform you that our secondary pool will be closed due to refurbishment works. The expected closing dates will from 17.04.17 till 30.06.17. We put at the disposal of all our clients the main pool, which includes the children´s pool. We apologize for the inconveniences. Apartamentos THe Morromar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos THe Morromar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Melia Matagorda
Sol Morromar Lanzarote
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Matagorda
Apartamentos THe Morromar Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing