We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday!”
Review of Hotel Floresta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Floresta
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great family holiday!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I travelled to the Hotel Floresta with my husband and two daughters aged 15 and 13 in august. We had read some amazing reviews before we set off and it's fair to say we weren't disappointed!

Our 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and so clean! Even though we were away from the main pool this was never a problem as we always got a good sunbed spot! Also the beds were comfy and the shower was powerful!

The restaurant wasn't the biggest we've been to however we always managed to get a table. The themed nights were fantastic especially the Chinese and Italian! The food was always varied and my girls loved the orange ice cream! The snacks at the pool bar were really good, you couldn't go hungry!

The bar service was fantastic and even though busy at times, you never had to queue more than a few minuets. The drinks available were varied and there were also slushes!

At first we we hesitant at the idea of a salt water pool but we soon realised we had nothing to worry about! The pool was so refreshing and cooling after sunbathing and a great size! We aren't fans of the beach but there were sunbeds you could hire.

The only thing about this hotel is we would say the Internet access was overpriced however the are plenty of bars that offer you free wifi!

It was only a 20 minute walk into peuto del carmen which my girls managed fine even though they aren't fans of walking! Once you get there, there is an amazing variety of shops and plenty of bars and restaurants for you to visit! The shops are fairly cheap too.

Overall we had such an enjoyable experience at hotel floresta I would most definitely return! I would recommend this hotel for anyone, family's or couples, there is something for you all to enjoy! Another advantage is its only 10 minutes away from the airport! Ideal!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Gillian C:
We are delighted that you spent a great family holiday in Floresta.
You wrote very positively about the fantastic theme nights in the restaurant and the good snacks at the pool bar. It seems that you enjoyed the pool too and the walks into Puerto del Carmen.
We hope to be able to welcome you again one day.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    503
    198
    26
    21
See reviews for
705
398
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tamworth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

just spent a week here, what a lovely place, from the moment we arrived nothing seemed to much trouble, at check in we were given all the information we would need, checking whether we needed the safety deposit box ,plus some extras like getting two bottles of water every day for the room and when and where you could collect it. The room was very clean and tidy, it was spacious, seating area/extra bed, TV and air con but not sure how effective this would be at the height of the summer , well equipped kitchen area, hob microwave oven,fridge,no kettle though but a saucepan works well, both bedrooms were of good size and lots of hangers in wardrobe, ceiling fans, the bathroom had a nice touch the maid had placed flower petals and sweets round the sink, looked lovely, plenty of big towels which is always a bonus, a few negative points, one bedside light was broken and not working, it never did get fixed, also you would get some unpleasant smells in the bathroom during the night, the view from the room wasn't fantastic, we were on the ground for and our terrace overlooked the road and spar shop . The whole complex was very clean, while sitting by the pool all you saw all day were staff cleaning and tidying, there was no shortage of sun beds, a few of the prime spots were taken quiet early, but I never spotted people out at dawn placing towels etc. The pool was a little chilly and was salt water bear this in mind if you jump in, shock to the system but refreshing. The children's entertainment was lacking the two girls running it looked like they would rather be anywhere else but there! the evening entertainment was varied, from very good to I need to get out of here, only on one night did I have to get up and walk away, the room can get very stuffy and hot keep away from the left side seating the lighting in the wall will cook you, At the pool/cocktail bar there was never a large queue to get served and the staff were all smiles, one chap John always had a beaming smile and went the extra mile to help, as my one daughter was a little grumpy he would always bring her a cocktail to try and cheer her up, fetch a new bottle of ketchup if she found it empty, the snack food was ok,very little delay from ordering to munching but sometimes not getting what you ordered, but no big deal. Now for my grip, in the restaurant I think the staff need to police the seating, it is a free for all and some guests seem to think it is fine for a couple to sit at a table placed for five/six people and as there are not many large tables we spent 50% of our time sitting on separate tables, the staff seem to struggle to clear tables and many times we had to grab somebody to clear the tables before we could eat, the other moan is drinks in the restaurant if you are not a/I a waiter is at the table taking drink orders and serving you, but as an a/I guest you had to queue at the bar several minutes before being able to eat, also the chefs seem to struggle to keep up with demand for fresh cooked food, more so at breakfast, that's the downside, on a plus the food quality was very good and varied, most nights were themed and the kids always went up for seconds a good sign.
I must say it is one the better hotels we have stayed in and the quality is way above the three star rating it has, access to all areas is very good and would suit people with walking difficulties, in fact the whole area is very clean and well maintained. We would recommend the floresta to anybody and I think we would return again for a late break

Room Tip: ask for a poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bennmark0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Bennmark0:
First of all we want to thank for for sharing your holiday experience. You wrote you had a lovely time and we hope you enjoyed your time. You mentioned the good check-in, the spacious and clean apartments and the good food. Unfortunately you said you had to queue for drinks. During the high season and full ocupation this might happen sometimes but the staff is always trying to attend everybody as quick as possible.Furhtermore you commented on the good quality of the food. We want to thank you as well for your opinion that our hotel is way above the three star rating.
We hope that we can welcome you again one day.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just got back from Floresta, would recommend for couples, families and older groups. The staff were all great, although preference was given to any German person both at reception and in bars, as they queue jump. Plenty of sunbeds and plenty of space in the evening at the bar area, despite the hotel being full and it being school half term. A big thankyou to the room cleaners, they were great. Food quality and choice was great.

Room Tip: Any room, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithnTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello KeithnTina:
It seems that you have enjoyed your stay in Floresta a lot. You mentioned the friendliness of the staff and the great cleaning service. On thing we would like to mention is that we don't make a difference between nationalities; we have a lot of english, irish, german, dutch, finnish, norwegian, spaish .... guests and we don't think we favour on to the other.
We hope you had a great time.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in October and enjoyed our experience. Very family oriented and safe. Clean well appointed apartments and friendly staff. One small thing though....We had an infant with buggy and would have preferred a ground floor apartment as it was hard to drag the buggy up and down the steps every day. I suppose we could have asked for a change ourselves but we liked that the apartment was in a quiet part of the complex so we stayed put. All in all a great family holiday destination!

Room Tip: Choose a Ground floor apartment with small babies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marycontrary121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Marycontrary121:
We are very happy that you had a great holiday experience. You mentioned the friendliness of the staff and the clean apartments. Usually from experience we try to give families with babies ground floor apartments but sometimes if we don't get a request in advance it depends on availability the day of arrival. But surely you could have asked for a change at reception and it would have been made possible.
We hope you had a good time.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just had two weeks at Floresta from 6th October. Apartment was very spacious with two ring hob,microwave & pots & pans. There was no kettle so we boiled water in the coffee maker which was just as good. We went all inclusive & the food & drinks available were very good. The staff were friendly although they did tend to favour the German guests when you queued for drinks.We were a long way from reception & a critism would be it is a struggle with heavy cases,the hotel should provide a trolley or a porter service as I would imagine the older guests would struggle. Bit noisy round the pool at times but bearable.

Room Tip: We had a room in the 1300 to 1500 blocks,nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micraman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Micraman43:
We hope that you have spent some nice holicdays in Floresta and enjoyed your time very much. You especially mentioned the spacious apartments ,the friendly staff and the good food. It is true that we don't have a porter service but if we have guests that need help with their luggage they can always ask at reception and we will always try to organize help.
We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Requested a quiet area as light sleepers. We got a lovely spot just 2 min walk from reception and 1 min from pool but away from the busy pool nearest reception. Lovely and quiet.
Apartment spacious clean bed comfortable. Kitchen area average with the bare minimum for self catering. No kettle or oven just a micro wave, this was the only average thing about the apartment.
Housekeeping very good, the only days they are not in is mon and fri .
If you have children or poor mobility request a ground floor.

Staff helpful when asked about anything.
The hotel/apartments could provide an information pack in the apartment , no information about complex in the apartment so we ate out and they lost any business from us.
Spar shop just out side complex.
Beautiful beach just across the road.
Lots of place to eat and drink.
20 min leisurely walk into the heart of Puerto del Carmen .
Hire bikes great way to get around.
Bus stop outside hotel , 40 mins to playa Blanca €5.40 return go for day out.
Old Town good for social life.

Place to eat , New world Chinese. La Ola cafe lovely place to chill, Paddy,s Paradise fabulous freshly cooked Irish break fast, and Irish stew to die for.

Room Tip: Apartment 1530 top floor only for able bodied people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Robert 52 12:
Thanks for sharing your experience about your stay in Floresta. We are very happy that you mentioned the cleanliness of the apartments and the complex and the friendliness of the staff as very positive. You mentioned the lack of an infopack in the room. On arrival we hand out a map of the complex with quite some info about the hotel and excursions and furthermore we have and info channel on TV.
We hope you had a great time here and might come back soon.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of October. We were half board in a one bedroom apartment, so we had our breakfast and evening meal included.

Room: Our room was spotless and very spacious for the two of us. Rooms are cleaned 5 times a week and the housekeepers do a brilliant job. There is a microwave, 2 hobs, a fridge freezer and plenty of cups, plates, pans etc. A hair dryer is provided in the bathroom, although I still used my own as I never find hotel hair dryers dry my hair very quickly. We emailed the hotel prior to our arrival and asked for a second floor room over looking the quieter pool, I would defo recommend doing this as you don't have noisy people above you early on a morning and it's alot more peaceful if you are travelling as a couple as the kids tend to play in the bigger pool at the other side of the complex.

Hotel: Very well looked after, always spotless and NO COCKROACHES! Just a few friendly cats. They have a luggage storage room if you're flight home is after check out (12pm), and you can also book a slot to use a shower before heading to the airport which is great if you want to spend your last day sun bathing. There is free wifi in the reception, which works fine if you use it at quieter times. There are also 2 computers which charge 1 euro for 10 mins. We never had a problem getting a sunbed by the pools, in fact there were always spare sunbeds stacked up.
There are two supermarkets right opposite the hotel which were very useful.

Location: Beautiful beach just outside the hotel, and the sea is quite warm once you get used to it. about a 20 min casual walk down the beach into puerto del carmen, or there is a taxi rank and a bus stop just outside the hotel. Lanzarote is quite small so doesn't take long to get anywhere on the Island. For any excursions I'd recommend using 'last minute' about a 2 min walk from the hotel, they are cheaper than using reps or booking at the hotel.

Excursions: We went to Rancho texas Park, which is a zoo with a mini waterpark. They do a great bird show, parrot show and sea lion show.
We did the 'short south tour' up the volcano, defo recommend this one if you just want to see the volcano and come back down rather than spending the full day school trip style! We got to ride the camels at the base of the volcano, then got to visit the top of the volcano where you see a few demonstrations to show how hot it is up there, and finally on the way back down you get to go for wine tasting. We were back at the hotel by 1:30pm for lunch.
Teguise Market is worth a visit, it is massive with a few good bargains and only costs 4 euro to get there and back.
Would defo recommend the glass bottom boat! What a great day we had! They take you to papagyeo beach where you get to jump off onto a bananna boat, kayaks and go snorkelling, which was fantastic as there is loads of fish there. The glass bottom part was a great way for any kids that didn't want to snorkel to see the fish. You get lunch included and free san miguel and sangria all day :-)
One trip I would defo NOT recommend was the boat trip to the island of la graciosa. It is not what they make it out to be at all. They say it has the most beautiful beaches in the canaries.... well unless you want a load of sharp rocks in between you and the sea and loads of cactus plants in the sand I really wouldn't waste your money. It took us two ours to get there and it just seemed we spent our day in a very run down small town.

Staff: All the staff in the hotel are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you with anything.

Food: We had no problems with the food, and I'm a fussy vegetarian! Breakfast there is a variety of cereals, fruit, eggs, cooked breakfast, pastries and randomly chips? Juices, and tea and coffee and plenty more.
Can't comment on lunch as we never used the hotel for it. But evening meal was pretty varied most nights, soup, chips, rice, pasta, fish, meats and salads. They also do themed nights a few nights a week like mexican, italian and chinese. Plenty of cakes, jellies, and fruits for desert. I would recommend going down early as it can start to get quite busy, but they are really good at keeping everything replenished.

We had a brilliant holiday and if I were to return to Lanzarote I would stay here again. I don't think it will be too long before they are given their 4 star :-)

Room Tip: second floor room, facing quiet pool if travelling as a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xcolleenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello xcolleenx:
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Floresta. You wrote very positively about almost all our services - the spotlessly clean apartments, the friendly staff, the good food even for a vegetarian. It seems that you saw quite a lot of the island as well.
We are very happy that in your opinion we deserve a 4th star.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,676 reviews
2.7 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#75 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Floresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floresta

Property: Hotel Floresta
Address: Calle Mercurio 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Floresta 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Floresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floresta Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Floresta Apartments Puerto Del Carmen
Floresta Lanzarote
Floresta Apartments Lanzarote
Hotel Floresta Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing