We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time having the cold pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aparthotel Costa Mar
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Waste of time having the cold pool”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week after Christmas. Nice big 2 bedroom apartment we had. Maybe a bit old fashioned but lots of space and came with everything we needed for our stay. Apartments are situated in a quiet spot but still close to everything you could need. There was a joke of a show on New Year's Eve! And the freezing cold pool remained empty pretty much anytime we went pass it. The kids would of spent all day here if it had of been heated.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank EbhL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    191
    129
    54
    23
See reviews for
183
177
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Have been meaning to review this hotel since our trip year last. My Family (hubby, 2 young kids & I) stayed for a week in May '13. My mother and father in law also travelled and stayed in the adjoining apartment. Everyone loved it and I really mean that. The accommodation was fantastic - not so modern, but so, so nice. The biggest apartment we have ever stayed in on a sun holiday bar none. When we arrived we were upgraded (without asking) to a 2 bedroom apartment as our in-laws were with us and we could be next door to them. My kids call it our house in Lanzarote!! Everything about the accommodation was huge - when considering holiday self catering accommodation. We even had a big drying room in the apartment - which was great. My mother in law was thrilled that we had a tea pot!! Honestly, the small touches in this place were well appreciated. The location was fantastic - beach was across the road, Spar shop across the street, an Irish bar and a couple of restaurants on site. A bus stop and taxi rank right outside the complex. The nights were so quiet - sleep was never a problem. The staff were just great....from being glorified tour guides, to bar tenders, to children's entertainers they did it all brilliantly. Anyway , long story short, have just booked our return visit for this summer and can't wait!!

Room Tip: First Floor, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SN35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very good quality/price ratio with excellent staff. The room and pentry ascetic, but clean and quiet enough. The beds were bad. Good location with big grocery store nearby. Lot of parking lots. 1w wifi pretty expensive but free connection in the lobby. Not very powerful showers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have just returned from a two week self catering holiday to Costa Mar Hotel, with my family and baby. The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and the cleaning was of a good service. The grounds of the hotel and swimming pool area were well kept and clean but the facilties provided in the apartment were sorry, tired and in need of some attendance.

Whilst I was aware it was a 3 star official rating, I did not expect to have some many issues with the accomodation. The following were of disappoinment:
The bedroom doors didnt shut properly,
the toilet kept flushing for a long time,
there was no aircon,
The kitchen facilties were very basic, with a very slow cooker and no microwave
The sofa was just a lump of foam with a blanket wrapped around it,
There was no high chair available for my baby
The cot mattress was very thin,
The curtains were more like rags and didnt block out the sunlight,
The swimming pool was unheated so we could not take our baby swimming,
The restaurant was more like a canteen with everbody fighting to get a table and you were left to lay your own table, serve your own food and drinks and collect cutlery,
I am not a fussy eater, but the food was very bland and flavourless,
The washing machine was 4 euros for one wash and the dryer another 4 euros,
The was no evening entertainment or any activities at the hotel.

The town is a lovely little holiday resort, but I would not recommend staying at Costa Mar, especially with a baby.

Room Tip: we were told all rooms are the same?? As we walked around this was cleary not th case as some had hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R0asted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here 5/11/2013 for 2 weeks s/catering.Very lucky as me and my wife had 2 bed apt,very spacious but could do with up dating really.no air con,so very warm at night.The area is very flat with bus stops very near and very cheap.staff nice and helpful.Very pleasant area and ideal for walking as very flat.hire bikes to get around on cycle paths.Apartments 5 minutes from airport taxi costs 10 euro.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickey11982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just returned from a self catering week in Costa Mar block D, some positives. Apartment large, quiet part of town. Clean but no amount of cleaning will revive worn out stuff. Friendly helpful staff.

Negatives, apt's very old & neglected, I'm sure they were good 30 years ago, but today they have been milked dry. Tired dreary and shabby,a scary cooker that we did not attempt to use, Rusty fridge, creaky doors. No microwave. No a/c or fan, TV pathetic little tiny boxy portable set with a total of two english news channels.... Yes I know that Lanzarote is not about watching english tv channels but it would be nice to have the option of an evening with the remote all the same. My advice is don't go to Costa Mar Aparthotel, its sad, try somewhere else.

Room Tip: A & B block have beach views, don't believe the glowing reviews here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oasisvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed for one week on b&b .Found the apartment to be spacious and clean.Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.The beach is only across the road and the town is about 30 mins walk.Pool was nice with good chairs to lie out on.Found breakfast to be very good with plenty of choice .The only faulty i had with the apartment is the showers had no power in them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto Carmen
Hotel Puerto Carmen
#58 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
721 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#35 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
527 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#33 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Costa Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Costa Mar

Property: Aparthotel Costa Mar
Address: Playa de los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Costa Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable, family apartment hotel complex is surrounded by gardens and is situated a few paces from the the white sandy beach of Pocillos.This is an excellent location from which to enjoy holidays in the sun and on the beach. You can complement your activities with the full entertainment program for adults and children. The fully-equipped apartments have one or two bedrooms and boast sea views. This is a place particularly suited to families in search of spaciousness, tranquility and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aparthotel Costa Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Costa Mar Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Mar Lanzarote
Partner Costa Mar
Aparthotel Costa Mar Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing