We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aparthotel Costa Mar
Reviewed August 18, 2011

A very easy going holiday with two 8 year old boys who loved the pool and reception area with computers. The apartment was spacious and the large balcony overlooking the pool and sea lent was perfect. The complex had the feel of a luxurious English campsite; self-contained and good natured. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The local food, we ate mainly at SolyMar, was very reasonable. The Aqua-Park at Costa Teguise was great fun - we took a taxi there for 24 euros. I would totally recommend this for an easy, enjoyable family break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ness007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 535 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Ok if you are reading this then you have already decided on a cheap holiday so lets cut to the chase. You simply want the best your money (or lack off) can get. The % of write ups are positive and rightly so. This is a good 3 star aparthotel with fair size and clean rooms with a nice pool idea in the best location without being in the thick of Puerto del Carman(PDC) which is only a 10 min walk so go ahead and book it. Naturally it has it's limitations. The buffet is poor or average and not great for kids. You soon get tired of it and over 10 nights we spent 4 at restaurants. The 'anticca triatorria' just past the Hotel Antonio going towards PDC on the left is amazing and we ventured there more than once. 'Universo' was also a hit with the kids. The best beach is Playa Chica in PDC towards the port and take with snokel because the fish are as good as i saw in Aussie. Best day was hiring a car and going up to the green caves and Jamos de Agua and coming back via the main town of arrecife where the girls loved jumping off the port draw bridge next to the castle with all the other kids. Worst day, aquapark by a mile. Nowhere close to Aqualand or Wetnwild. Health and safety nightmare, a real DIY bombsite and dodgy water leading to mouth ulcers and ear ache. A rip off costing over £100 by the end of the day. Honestly, treat the kids to paragliding or something, still cheaper! Try and get block A, B or I for nice views of the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darylleerobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Avoid this place at all cost, I wouldn't go back even if it was offered for free.
The staff are extremely rude and ignorance. it is no surprising that hardly any English speaking people were staying their other than Germans and Spanish. without making any accusations we somehow didn't feel welcomed because they understood English but always answered in Spanish !!. I now realize that the staff there are not axpecting ttheir business to survive for long before it goes bust.
Although we were on half board bases we sometimes gave the food a miss and ate out instead of having the same repeated food at the restaurant, we are not wealthy or fussy people and didn't expect a five star service as you may see our reviews of other hotels, but this place was exceptionally below any standard of service. they simply didn't care less, some of the food looked like a left-over from the days before. the table cloth were so filthy that it sticks to our skin like glue, they have never been washed , instead they rub a cloth vigorously over the table cloth until any sign of food and stain had disappeared. you may witness this for yourselves if you still decide to go.
On our last day we checked out at 12 PM as stated in the instructions and wait for our transfer at 8:00 pm , so we hang a round the pool bar then had our last dinner at the restaurant paid our bill for the drinks and took our luggage out on the street waiting for the transfer coach to take us back to the airport, about 40 minutes after leaving the restorant a waiter came out on the street and start asking for money , we couldn't understand what he was on about so we asked to see the hotel manager and complain as to what should we pay and why, the manager was rude loud and very blunt in his reply " Our rules are that guest check out at 12 PM and from then on you are no longer a guest at our hotel, you either pay or I will call the police ". we had never been so insulted in our life, I tried to explain that we were intitled to our free dinner since we had had 7 breakfasts and 6 dinners but he was so rude and making a seen that our little children started to cry and the couch was already waiting on us outside the hotel by then, I felt we not only been humiliated but also had no choices but to pay the bill or miss the caoch , all what a decent hotel manager had to do was to explain the rules and our confusion in a quiet mature and professional way but instead they were like thugs robbing a defenseless mother toddler , they were shouting and hostile threatening to call police since they knew the coach was already waiting to pick us up to the airport.
We have never been so embarrassed in our life , and the children are still dramatized by it. a Very regratfull episode over small amount of money I know , but principles has to be maintained.

On another occasion the Cleaner rang the bell at 8:30 in the morning and opened the door with her keys because we were not up yet, she barged-in and start cleaning before I was even out of bed, I had to run to the balcony and the kids had to cut short their bathroom for the cleaner to do her job.
the bath shower never stopped dripping and the bathroom seal was patchy pealed off turned to all kind of mauld colours , window and door locks were not functioning and the views from the balcony was the saddest of all, over looking a derelict shopping Centre which looked like a hideous council estate. only five front shops are still struggling to stay open ( Spar - car rental - a small pub and two restaurant ) but the rest of fifty odd shoppes have closed down gathering dust , almost like a shopping grave yard.
The way this hotel is run gave me the impression that they will be going down very soon too because they didn't really care whether or not you are pleased provided they have your money.
I was mostly impressed by beach views at the time of the booking, but only after we arrived we realized why the beach is completely deserted because of the constant sand storms no one can actually use the beach for more than five minutes before giving up and move to the many other beautiful beaches a few miles away , no wander that whole area is like a ghost town and people regret the location minutes after arriving.
We really are struggling to find anything nice to say about this place, perhaps the view from the top apartments which are over looking the deserted beach above and beyond the derelict shopping Centre !!. but our apartment was on the fist floor looking at an empty blocks of dusty bankrupted shops.
Don't ruin your holiday, find a different more pleasant place to stay because Lanzarote has a lot to offer so don't use this hotel to spoil a nice holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunnympe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We travelled 20th May 2011 for 10 days, self catering. We were placed in the 'E' block (the central block) , our room took us a couple of minutes to find as it some of them you have to go around to the back of the building to find, but after that we got our barings. I would suggest getting a sea view if possible (we did request this through 'onthebeach' but dont know whether it was that or just luck?)

Room
Nice, cleaned 4 out 7 days (i think) but this was plenty. Small kicthen within the living room with everything you would need. TV (this only had spanish and german channels, but not really a problem , dont want to be watching TV on holiday anyway!) Best bit of the room was our balcony (room E45) large with two sun beds with a gorgeous view of the sea. Very private when we were there so managed to spend most of our time sunbathing.

Pool
Always many free sunbeds and good music playing. The pool was very cold but good for dipping in to when it got very hot. We did stay in May so during the hotter months the pool may warm up a bit but im not sure, it was pretty freezing.

Didnt use the resuarant at all, nor the pool bar, but it always looked quite busy, but i dont really have any idea what it was like sorry!

A large 'Spar' shop pretty much next to the accomodation which was brilliant for food, drinks and alcohol was very good value in there.

About a 15/20 minute walk into 'town' which may sound quite far but its all flat and pretty easy so i wouldnt think its a problem. Some really great restaurants in town, would definitely recommend the italian (really cant remember what it is called, but its on the right hand side of the street, yellow signs!) it does look a bit pricey but the food is lovely.

For people wanting to go out clubbing in the town its probably the cheapest place ive ever been for drinks, maybe not out right but the amount of shots and ' 2 4 1' drinks you get it soon adds up to a lot for your money. On the other hand if you want to avoid the 'party scene' you can easily just stay at the other end of town and its nice and quiet.

All in all great holiday, hotel is great value for money, would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing and bargain time in the sun.

Room Tip: Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tessa_marie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Describe the service you experienced:

Friendly and gracious staff at reception and during service, no complaints at all.

Tell us how you liked the room:

Our two bed apartment in block C was spacious and clean, although there were a few ants...... this did not sour what is a perfectly acceptable apartment for the price we paid.
Kettles, Air coolers are optional extras at reasonable prices per day/week. The kitchen is small but we only used the fridge/freezer.

Talk about the location & amenities:

The beach is a 5minute picturesque walk, with a small half derelict shopping complex adjacent and a Spar supermarket. Facing the seafront is a pub called SalyMar, this comes highly recommended, their food and service are excellent! On the beach itself you can hire sun recliners and fixed umbrellas for 5 and 10 euros per day. A 10 minute walk in either direction along the seafront reveals many pleasant pubs/shops, particularly 'The Guiness Tavern' on Av de las Playas, which is family/baby freindly!

Say what you liked best & least:

The weather, location and beach are the highlights. The buffet food is 'ok', but don't expect miracles. You will also have to pay for drinks with your dinner.

If you use the complex pool then put your towel on a sun lounger otherwise you won't get a spot - it's that popular.

There is a company called 'Excursion Centre', selling trips to Teguise Market and Fuerteventura aqua park, these were expensive and not good value. The market has a pub to the left as the coach approaches, avoid!!!, they charge 4 euros per beer, and they state when questioned it's the 'tourist price'. The Aqua park is small and you have to pay for inflatable rubber rings + umbrellas on arrival, should you choose those of course. Food and drink is ok.

,On the reception at Aparthotel are leafleats to an Aqua Park in Tequise which we should have gone to instead but we didn't see this until the day we left, unfortunately. There is a daily program of entertainment provided but we didn't use this, instead opting for the cheap booze and our terrace/beach view.

It should be noted that we searched for a baby(11month old) friendly package and this catered for our needs perfectly. There was a cot on arrival, high chairs in restaurant are not great but useable. Buses are accessible for Bugies, but these have to be folded and stored underneath the bus. We are looking to return to the same complex this year should we find another good price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJC10212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

we stayed here from 10th June for 2 weeks

the room they gave us was F14 on the ground floor of F block near pool we did not like as everyone walking past looking in so in half hour of being there we asked to be moved and was give E41 top floor of E block and was much better in morning we woke up to a fantastic view from our balcony looking down on pool area and fab sea views

we stayed self catering and supermarket was just outside main entrance to apartments and had loads of special offers on like 5 litres water for 1.06€
but we did eat out a lot loads of places to eat and have very good offers

room did not have kettle but had toaster we used saucepan to boil water for tea/coffee

we did a couple of tours grand tour which was a all day tour over whole island price 45€ including lunch it included the timanfaya national park and the other tour we did was the market at teguise whick was good not busy but we were warned that July / Aug that market gets very busy and you cant move around much and beware of pickpockets too

weather was very hot hitting 40 and was like you breathing in hot air
good tip take can of the air cooling spray

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daz8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We have stayed in Costa Mar for two weeks with HB.
The hotel is not new, but very clean with friendly staff. The location is excellent also for people with self-catering option as “Spar” supermarket and other shops are just in a front, as well as restaurants and pubs near by. Car/bike rental is also available. It is a quiet place as is a bit off the centre. The main part of the town could be reached very easy –bus takes you there in a minute or you can have a very nice promenade walk which I recommend.
Most of the rooms have sea views and nice beach is just ahead. Although, if you prefer the swimming pool there are two of them available and you can see them from your room. Water is very cold (much colder then the ocean one in May) as some of it is replaced with fresh one every day.

I cannot complain about the food as it was a good choice of meat and fish every day. You had also choice of salads and fresh veggies with very good dressings. Deserts were ok but I should not comment on this I am not really a fan of sweets anyway. In general food was OK especially if you take into account the price you pay for the accommodation.

The only annoying thing is smoking people everywhere. There are 183 rooms in the hotel and none of them is for non smokers. Maybe smoking is forbidden in the room but you cannot keep your balcony opened without getting stink into your room. I also don’t understand why the smoking is permitted in the swimming area. There are a lot of children in this complex, as it is really family friendly one but the cigarettes stink is just everywhere.
In general we had very good experience with this place. Just I hope they will do something about smoking there so I could return and have great time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mumakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,377 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto Carmen
Hotel Puerto Carmen
#63 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,962 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#25 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
962 reviews
1 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Costa Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Costa Mar

Address: Playa de los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $53 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Costa Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable, family apartment hotel complex is surrounded by gardens and is situated a few paces from the the white sandy beach of Pocillos.This is an excellent location from which to enjoy holidays in the sun and on the beach. You can complement your activities with the full entertainment program for adults and children. The fully-equipped apartments have one or two bedrooms and boast sea views. This is a place particularly suited to families in search of spaciousness, tranquility and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel Costa Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Costa Mar Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Mar Lanzarote
Partner Costa Mar
Aparthotel Costa Mar Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing