We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 60 which was in the gardens near shuffleboard and pétanque. 5 minutes to main hotel when you had worked out the short cuts. Yards from the beach gate. Nice room but could do with some touching up, furniture a little rickety and bathroom needed a coat of paint. Travelled with one child who's bed was in the lounge hence had separate bedroom which is what we wanted. Terrace area to sit out as we were ground floor, one room above had balcony. Very private and not noisy. Food was varied and plentiful, lovely fresh fruits, salads and juices, dessert choice very good, meats not to my taste. Children's choice a little repetitive but effort was made. Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner (choice of 2 additional restaurants one Asian and one Chinese which you could use with pre-booking, we did not so couldn't comment) all buffet style. Drinks throughout day were a godsend, fruit cocktails and the coffee machine firm favourites, and as much bottled water as you wanted was a nice touch (fridge in room to keep cold). Kids club was a must for us for some peaceful time and for our son to do a variety of activities. Our son who is 7 was reluctant at first but special thanks to Martin who within 2 minutes had our child dressed as an Indian and fully engaged for the full 2 weeks! The best way to describe Martin is a multilingual modern day Pied Piper. He had a super nature with everyone children and adults alike and gave us 3.5 hours child free per day, so thank you. We did not go to any evening shows and only got as far as mini disco so cannot comment. The adult entertainment team were busy and activities well attended however they were not pushy and left the disinterested alone. We sunbathed by the kids pool and never had a problem getting a sunbed however the larger pool behind was always busy and very cramped. We visited the beach a couple of times, it was clean and not busy. The staff worked tirelessly every day cleaning up the pool areas. They did decide to cut back the palm trees half way through our break which closed some areas for a short time and was a little messy. One minor thing I would mention is there are no pool side toilets so you have to either visit the the hotel or go back to your room, not always good when children don't give that much notice! Lovely place great for a family break, short transfer, would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    1,245
    505
    124
    75
See reviews for
1,005
1,915
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,021)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We holidayed here with Thomson Holidays in July. We were in a suite not in the main part of the Hotel and this meant a walk across the inter connecting bridge but it is not really a problem that some previous views have made it out to be. The suite was spacious and clean with 2 balconies.The Hotel is located in its own grounds opposite the beach. It consists of 2 large hotel buildings and various villas/apartments dotted around the lovely gardens. There are 2 swimming pools each with there own dining facilities. Plenty of unreserved sunbeds (no problem getting one throughout the day) The main restaurant although a little cramped served a vast variety of meals. There are outdoor tables available and these are more spaced out so we made good use of these during our stay. There is also an Asian and a Mexican restaurant that you can book for a change. Loved the Asian but not so keen on the Mexican (a bit disorganised).
The all inclusive package meant there were endless supplies of alcohol, soft drinks and tea/coffee to be consumed. You just helped yourself to everything apart from spirits which were available from the bar.
Entertainment throughout the day and evening is provided by a very hardworking Animation team made up of talented youngsters from around the world. They all spoke in at least 5 languages fluently.
All the staff were really helpful and a pleasure to speak to, nothing was too much to ask. Bottled water is provided from reception and clean towels can be obtained from around the pool.
Looking forward to more Riu hospitality in the future

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SLLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We expected more from a Riu hotel. Food was fine, rooms were good, but service could have been better. Could have given Lanzerote a miss, but the swim up bar sold it. However, the service at the swim up bar was lacking due to there being only one bar staff who kept wandering off to get supplies, etc. At times for up to 20 mins! The swimming pool was very cold, so after braving the chilly dip it was a bit unforgiveable to be kept waiting.
Entertainment was out of this world - as in totally alien, with the usual dreadful choreography and pitiful miming to backing tracks. The Germans loved it, though.
All inclusive menu was quite varied, though the theme restaurants were also buffet service, which was a disappointment, as such restaurants in hotel complexes should offer an alternative to the buffet system. Authenticity of the Chinese, Mexican and 'International' cuisine was also questionable.
Staff in the main bar were friendly and there was little waiting for drinks. You also had a wine and beer tap to help yourself which was a boost. Great coffee from the machine, too.
Good choice for breakfast and there was always a table available.
Not a bad holiday, not a bad location - a 15 minute walk into town, though buses tended to contradict the timetable. But I've stayed at hotels just as good for less.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrizzlyBear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

just returned from 2 weeks at the riu paraiso and thoroughly enjoyed it! we were a group of 8, 2 family's with 4x 16-18 year olds, we booked this holiday through Thomas cook as we have always done and the hotel and staff didn't disappoint.we were greeted at the airport by Sophie!
who during the holiday was the bubbliest person i think i have ever meet! 1 of the travel advisor's from the hotel who work direct for Thomas cook and she guided us to our coach, after a quick 10 minutes we were at the hotel and driving pass the other hotels we were impressed with the first impression! after checking in we were invited to have lunch while our rooms and paperwork were being organised and soon were in our room.
as 2 family's we asked to be together in 4 rooms and the hotel staff were great and sorted everything out.(i would email ahead if you have any preference just to ensure)
we were in the furthest part of the complex which is 2 large hotels joined together.this is less than a 2-3 minute walk from the dining area or large pool.
after a good explore we decided to use the smaller pool with the pool bar as our base as there is a buffet style dinner which has food up to 6.00 being salad,s burgers, ice creams etc.
the larger pool in the main area is where the entertainment is and music.the children used that side and made new friends and again drinks and food all day are readily available during the day.
dinner is from 6.30 pm and if you book quick enough (1 visit per week)on the reception desk you can have either a Mexican or Asian meal in either restaurant or go into the international where there is something for everybody.
drinks are readily available everywhere and after Pedro and maria and the pool introduced us to baileys and chocolate milk (i know it sounds daft but after about 6 it,s not)we had at least 20 people from different country's all drinking the new found cocktail.
dean the other Thomas cook rep introduced himself to us at the welcome meeting which was only 15 minutes long and explained all about the island,excursions and answered any questions we had.
During the holiday either dean or Sophie would be based by the reception desk and was happy to help us in any way. all the teenagers would gather in the reception as that's where the wi-fi signal is located and soon become friends with both of them and when we left they ensured that they had photo,s with the pair of them.it felt like we were getting a special service from them both but i know its there job but they were that good i would go on my next holiday from their recommendations alone if it meant they were there as our reps, i know my kids would love to see them again.
the holiday offered loads to do and we also went to the market on a Sunday, the national park(volcano) and buggy's (although not sold through Thomas cook its a bit expensive but if you haven't done it before worth a go) i also went scuba diving which is right out the gate and about 15 minutes walk (sea side) is lanzarote diving.the owners are English and is run by a husband and wife couple (Scott) and was a really good set up. they are a full padi dive centre and have more than enough equipment, i took my 16 year old son on a discover dive and he loved it,and i had full confidence with Scott and Alice.
if you want to hire bikes go out the side gate and turn right and 2 minutes is a cycle shop which we hired 2 bikes for the day with helmets and padlocks for 30 euro,s. these were good quality mountain bikes.

overall the holiday was one of the best i have been on, the hotel manager and staff were great and the food and drinks were plentiful.the hotel and pool couldn't have been cleaned any more and the fact that we booked with Thomas cook we were collected to and from the airport and looked after so well by Sophie and dean made all the difference.
i know Thomas cook didn't have the whole hotel but when you see the other reps who didn,t have a base at the hotel but just a folder in a rack for your reference you know the service level we received from them both.

all i can do now is to sit and look out my office window while its raining thinking of the reps and their Malibu,s (dean) lucky sod.

Room Tip: 2205 -2209 are on the older side and quiet but there may be a bit of noise from foot traffic on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We are currently on holiday here and having a great time. The hotel is very clean, the food is good and there is entertainment every night. The bar staff are very pleasant and friendly. There are beer and wine taps where you help yourself as well as soft drinks which free up the bar to make cocktails. There are two pools as well as two kids pools. Also lots of activities you can take part in during the day. Would recommend. It's only a 5 min walk down to puerto del carmen where the main strip is.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Rambost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed between the 24th and 31st July. When booking in you get 3 keys, your hotel room door key, your safe key, the use of which comes as standard and a key for the hotels back gate which gives you access to the main road and beach. The rooms are spotlessly cleaned, although we pulled probably the worst room, 415 which had no balcony view other then the back of another block of rooms. Never really stayed in the room so that did not effect us.

Food was fantastic, be it in the main restaurant or the themed ones. Never had a problem finding a table and as soon as you sit down the staff are up to you offering coffee in the morning or water for the other meals. Plates are cleared away by the staff as soon as you finish them.

The tapped beer is Amstel and there are always iced buckets containing bottles of Cava in the bars, with plenty of cocktails for the adults and 'mocktails' for the kids to choose from.

We could never get wi-fi over 0.5meg download speed and when the wi-fi vending machine broke down, the staff gave out free access to another network, so you could always stay in touch etc.

There were no staff tip jars anywhere and speaking to the reps, apparently the company frown on tipping! If you leave anything for the maid, it should be left in an envelope addressed to her, and in the restaurants it just needs to be done discreetly.

The evening entertainment, was generally as you would expect from an animation team, 100% effort, but slightly less for quality. The outside acts that came in were the Beijing Jugglers and African Footprints, both of which were fantastic.

All in all a great hotel and I would not hessitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E3Locks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked in for five nights, having visited before. The service and entertainment were as good as we had come to expect. The food in the main buffet restaurant is good as is that in the two specialist restaurants. The room was quiet and blissfully cool with the aircon on and the maid kept it very clean. The little touches that impress are the room safe and bottled water, both included in the room price. We are booked to return.

Room Tip: We tend to go for rooms on the higher floors that are not facing the pools but as long as you are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#21 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
513 reviews
8.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing