We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful. Will never return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awful. Will never return.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a RIU class member and on arrival at the check in desk we were told to leave our passports and come back in 20mins to be checked in as there was a tour operator party of 6 who had just arrived behind us. My partner explained we were not with the group and had booked directly with the hotel and expected to be checked in. When we asked to speak to the manager he was rude and offered us jobs if we could do his job better. Disgusting attitude!!!

The food in the hotel is atrocious. It was warm at best. Even if you go in as soon as the restaurant opens. We sometimes had fish/meat that was not even cooked all the way through. The food was repetitive in the main restaurant so we tried the themed restaurants which were not dissimilar and due to the volume of people were no longer relaxing option. The cutlery and glasses were stained and dirty both in the restaurant and at the pool bar and as a result my partner was ill for 2 days with an upset tummy. After this, we ate out for the rest of our stay.

The rooms are very basic and dated but clean. Noise travels a lot through this hotel if you stay in the main building.

We would not return to this hotel or any other RIU hotel if this is how we are treated.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Sian1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,503
    1,244
    505
    124
    75
See reviews for
1,004
1,913
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is given an extra boost by the staff. They cheerfully carry out the work of the hotel and are very happy to serve guests. Sufficient numbers of people are available to keep the public areas clean and tidy at all times. Room cleaning is a similar story.

We enjoyed the food in the hotel and liked the main restaurant although busy. The fish is very fresh and salads worth trying. Fruit is plentiful and healthy eating is possible if desired. A very good choice is available whatever type of meal.

The Asian restaurant is well worth visiting. the Chinese style food is delicious and the above mentioned comments on staff apply.

Evenings at the hotel are less good as the public seating is mostly under open canopies (see Photo). This was quite cold some evenings and warm clothing is necessary. I did not enjoy some of the entertainment which was very much based on mime and visual effects due to the multilingual nature of the audience. Never the less the singing duos were good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Recently arrived home after a week at this hotel spent with friends. Nice hotel with very friendly and efficient staff, who all worked really hard to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Celebrated my birthday whilst there and a bottle of 'bubbly' was in our room on the day and I received a telephone call from the manager wishing me a happy birthday. A very nice touch of customer relations which was very much appreciated. We found the food to be of good quality and nicely presented if a little repetative throughout the week, but this was not a major critic ism. We found two problems which did disappoint.
1. We were given rooms which were across 'the bridge'. We found this a long distance to walk every time we left our room for meals etc and most certainly a very long walk during the bad weather we experienced over our lest two days of our stay. If reception staff tell you your rooms are ' just across the bridge' ask for a room in the main section of the hotel. The hotel is obviously an amalgamation of two hotels which does not work properly. My only suggestion would be that the walkway should be completely enclosed although that would do nothing to reduce the distance you have to walk for meals etc. Perhaps a moving walkway would help!
2. The openness of the lounge area during the evening was particularly uncomfortable. After the entertainment in the show lounge during the evening we tried a few times to sit in the lounge area only to find it extremely cold and windy, with the front being open in a number of places. I,m sure the cold wind is a welcome relief in the height of summer but i,m afraid that during February it is not a pleasant experience. I appreciate heaters have been placed in a few places but unless you were 'on top' of one of these you did not feel the their effect. Surely there must be a way to close off the open areas during such times which would make the evening much more enjoyable. Folding doors or even canvas curtains which could be pulled down and secured during inclement weather the then opened during the hot summer weather. I, and many other guests found this aspect the most serious and disappointing during our stay. A great shame as this could be a wonderful place for holidays.

Room Tip: DON,T ACCEPT A ROOM " ACROSS THE BRIDGE" ask for a room in the main section of this two p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have visited many Riu Hotels and they have always been excellent and on our arrival here, we were once again, very pleased with our choice. The hotel was in a perfect location, was spotlessly clean, our room had a sea view, the pools were good, especially the more quiet area where you could always find a sunbed and the entertainment in the evenings was very good, especially the in-house team who worked very hard to ensure that everyone had a good time. The restaurant served excellent breakfasts with lots to choose from, the food in the snack bars needed to be kept a lot warmer but what was best of all was the speciality restaurants which we ate in on 4 of our 7 nights. The Oriental one was good but the food served in the Mexican and Canarian restaurants was absolutely superb and we never had a problem booking a table. So was this the perfect holiday? well yes until the weather changed and it became cold, windy and wet. Our lovely room then became very damp and we woke up in the mornings to water vapour covering the inside of the doors. The towels that we used the night before for showering were still damp, our clothes were damp and the bed ;linen felt very cold and slightly damp when we went to bed. We did not put the heating on because neither of us can sleep in a warm room and when we put the air con on in the hope that it would remove some of the moisture from the room, it did not work on cold, only on warm, so this was not an option. The weather remained like this until our departure and on the last day, I flew home with the beginning of a dreadful cold and am now quite ill and feel in need of another holiday. It is a sad ending to what could have been a wonderful holiday but I did have a chat with reception and I appreciate the fact that this weather is not normal and there is little that the hotel can do about it. If we could afford it, we would come back again very soon when the weather improves but we cannot and so must save up for a while and come back maybe later this year or if not then definitely next year because this is a very well run hotel with so much to offer and all the staff we met were just so friendly and helpful. streaming down the i

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was the second time we had been to the RIU Paraiso after three years. We stayed from 6th to 13th February and returned because it was good the first time and were not disappointed this time. It is great value for money and the staff are really helpful and genuinely pleasant. The main buffet has a huge choice and is mass catering but there was always something of interest and crowds can be voided by going to dinner after eight. The two pools are great as one is quiet and the other more family orientated. We would particulalrly recommend the massage at teh Wellness Centre whih was fantastic and the only criticism would be thta the coffee from the machines was not good though the breakfast pots were fine. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sun on the balcony in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a week at this hotel from 9-16 February. We went with our two children aged 23 months and 7 months. For parents travelling with infants it is worth booking an extra seat on the flight to guarantee that you can sit together. With an infant on both of our laps we had to sit in different rows due to oxygen mask numbers in each row. We booked the extra seat for the return flight allowing us a row between the four of us.

Anyway, the hotel was great. We emailed the hotel in advance to request the 2 bedroom family room as this was not a pre-book able option. On check in, we were given our requested room at a cost of 30 euros extra per night. We also requested a late check out which cost 45 euros. With two young children it was well worth paying the extra.

The room lay out was a living area/lounge/dining table with two bedrooms off it. The bathroom consisted of a bath with shower, a stand alone shower and double sink, all very new and modern. The travel cots were in our room on arrival and both had a soft baby mattress and clean linen. We were concerned and took our own mattress and linen but did not need it as the Riu provided all of this. There was a fridge in the room and all the extras such as kettle and microwave were available to hire from reception. We hired a kettle at a cost of 8 euros for the week with a 10 euro deposit.

The hotel reception provided bottles of mineral water free of charge and we asked for four each morning to make our baby bottles up and sterilise our other bottles.

The room was spotless and cleaned each day although the TV is very limited to English channels (sky and BBC news). There was a secure safe and aircon in both bedrooms. Both bedrooms had blackout blinds so perfect to catch an afternoon nap.

The food was great but it is worth pre-booking evening meals at the Chinese, Canarian and Mexican restaurants just to vary it up. These offer sittings at 6pm and 8pm. High chairs were plentiful around the restaurants and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Drinks were available all day. Soft drinks were Coca Cola products and main brands. There were various fruit juices, teas,coffees plus various wines, lager and alcohol.

The hotel is very large and has two main pool areas. The two baby pools were heated and the main pool we used was not too cold. The hotel provided pool towels which can be replaced when needed and returned at the end of the trip, so no need to pack beach towels.

The location was great for us. The gate exit to the main road was straight opposite the beach with a nice playground for the children to play on.

There is a supermarket close to the hotel that sells everything you need; we bought all of our baby food from the local Spar. There is a nice walk towards the port which is approx 5km away. As you get towards the centre of Puerto Del Carmen, there are lots of shops, bars and restaurants.

Taxis were readily available and a cheap way to get around; reception will happily book one if you need to get around.

There are car hire shops along "the strip" and we made a last minute booking. All was needed were both parts of my licence. Car seats were available free of charge but they were very basic.

All in all, a great hotel, great food and drinks and very friendly staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Ibbz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel offers great value and service which isnt always easy to come by on the all inclusive offers. I would agree with earlier reviewers that the restaraunt is very busy and tables are too close together however we booked the theme restaraunts 4 of our 7 nights and they were excellent and not fully booked. The Asian restaraunt was particulary good. The room was fine and all areas kept very clean. Alcohol was readily available on tap without queing and was of reasonable quality. Service from the reeption staff was excellent although restaraunt staff not always so keen to please they were on the whole fine. I would recommend this hotel for value and overall service and we only paid £600 each to fly from a local airport with First Choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#21 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
512 reviews
8.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing