We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for families. Great location near the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a week at this hotel from 9-16 February. We went with our two children aged 23 months and 7 months. For parents travelling with infants it is worth booking an extra seat on the flight to guarantee that you can sit together. With an infant on both of our laps we had to sit in different rows due to oxygen mask numbers in each row. We booked the extra seat for the return flight allowing us a row between the four of us.

Anyway, the hotel was great. We emailed the hotel in advance to request the 2 bedroom family room as this was not a pre-book able option. On check in, we were given our requested room at a cost of 30 euros extra per night. We also requested a late check out which cost 45 euros. With two young children it was well worth paying the extra.

The room lay out was a living area/lounge/dining table with two bedrooms off it. The bathroom consisted of a bath with shower, a stand alone shower and double sink, all very new and modern. The travel cots were in our room on arrival and both had a soft baby mattress and clean linen. We were concerned and took our own mattress and linen but did not need it as the Riu provided all of this. There was a fridge in the room and all the extras such as kettle and microwave were available to hire from reception. We hired a kettle at a cost of 8 euros for the week with a 10 euro deposit.

The hotel reception provided bottles of mineral water free of charge and we asked for four each morning to make our baby bottles up and sterilise our other bottles.

The room was spotless and cleaned each day although the TV is very limited to English channels (sky and BBC news). There was a secure safe and aircon in both bedrooms. Both bedrooms had blackout blinds so perfect to catch an afternoon nap.

The food was great but it is worth pre-booking evening meals at the Chinese, Canarian and Mexican restaurants just to vary it up. These offer sittings at 6pm and 8pm. High chairs were plentiful around the restaurants and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Drinks were available all day. Soft drinks were Coca Cola products and main brands. There were various fruit juices, teas,coffees plus various wines, lager and alcohol.

The hotel is very large and has two main pool areas. The two baby pools were heated and the main pool we used was not too cold. The hotel provided pool towels which can be replaced when needed and returned at the end of the trip, so no need to pack beach towels.

The location was great for us. The gate exit to the main road was straight opposite the beach with a nice playground for the children to play on.

There is a supermarket close to the hotel that sells everything you need; we bought all of our baby food from the local Spar. There is a nice walk towards the port which is approx 5km away. As you get towards the centre of Puerto Del Carmen, there are lots of shops, bars and restaurants.

Taxis were readily available and a cheap way to get around; reception will happily book one if you need to get around.

There are car hire shops along "the strip" and we made a last minute booking. All was needed were both parts of my licence. Car seats were available free of charge but they were very basic.

All in all, a great hotel, great food and drinks and very friendly staff.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
8  Thank Ibbz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 3,774 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel offers great value and service which isnt always easy to come by on the all inclusive offers. I would agree with earlier reviewers that the restaraunt is very busy and tables are too close together however we booked the theme restaraunts 4 of our 7 nights and they were excellent and not fully booked. The Asian restaraunt was particulary good. The room was fine and all areas kept very clean. Alcohol was readily available on tap without queing and was of reasonable quality. Service from the reeption staff was excellent although restaraunt staff not always so keen to please they were on the whole fine. I would recommend this hotel for value and overall service and we only paid £600 each to fly from a local airport with First Choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was a wonderful holiday for the price. The staff were brilliant and wonderfully supportive. Mind you, being a qualified Spanish interpretator might have helped. We would both like to say this was a great holiday for £700 per person for 2 weeks

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank readersFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Club Hotel Riu Paraiso from 9th to 16th Febuary through First Choice on an all inclusive package holiday. We are a couple in our early 30's.

Short Review
Positives - Excellent Hotel, rooms, service, restraunts and food - great area in Lanzarote

Negatives - The vegetarian food from the buffet and all 3 restaurants was a bit unimaginitive. The position of the hotel being a bit around the coast from Puerto del Carmen town centre means that the swimming pool / sun lounger area catches a bit more of the prevailing wind. (To us these were very small negatives and no where near enough to remove a star.)

Long Review
We were really impressed with the hotel from the minute we turned up to the minute we left. We arrived around 8.30pm after a short 10 min transfer from the Airport (We were first drop off the bus) and after a quick check in we were shown down to the restaraunt for Dinner.
Puerto del Carmen is a great area to stay where you can get a range of trips booked, from visiting fire mountain, water sports, camel safaris or seeing some of the scenic natural sights of lanzarote on a tour.
Weather while we were there was mostly hot and sunny - we were thrilled to be sunbathing in February.
The bar served a nice range of drinks, there was always enough staff on and the coco loco cocktails were particularly tasty.
The entertainment team worked tirelessly to make people happy and were a welcome sight every day.
2 of the 4 pools were heated and offered active swim on one side of the hotel or a quiet zone on the other.
Activities provided included keep fit, aqua aerobics, shooting range, table tennis, tennis, bingo etc. There was never a dull moment.
The snorkelling in the area was some of the best we've experienced though you needed a wetsuit at this time of year.
We had an amazing holiday and couldn't recommend the hotel and its staff any more highly.
Reception were always helpful with advice, information and reservations - they phoned up activities we were interested in and helped us book outside events.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The balcony was nice for relaxing. We stayed in the main part of the hotel which suited us perfectly.
As long as you planned a little ahead there was no problem booking the speciality restaurants which were excellent. The food was good quality with a lot of variety - check out the soups - they were always fresh and interesting. The sushi at the asian was great and the canarian restaurant seafood was also good.
Rabbit stew and beef bourgignon were also a favourite for me, whilst my partner did struggle a little being vegetarian. There was however an excellent salad bar and always some vegetables.
Would recommend to others of all ages. A+

Room Tip: We liked being in the main part of the hotel near the restaurants. Ask for a room with a 3 digit nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Euan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We weighed up the good and not so good after our stay over the past week. The hotel is in a great position near the beach and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. I can't agree with some comments that the food is great; it's par for the course for mass catering. The main dining room is an extremely unpleasant place to be - it reminded me of Times Square in the rush hour. We avoided it most evenings by using the themed restaurants where the food was only marginally better, but the atmosphere was calm and peaceful.Our beds were the hardest and most uncomfortable we have ever encountered. There is nowhere "cosy" to shelter when the weather is bad - we had a couple of windy days and the place was decidedly chilly, especially the open air bar and snack area. We hired a car from an inexpensive and highly efficient premises 150 metres down the hill from the hotel - definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side where the bar and restaurants are have a definite advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was meant to be a my birthday treat but our experience of staying in the Club Hotel Rui Paraiso has been by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had!!!

Our alarmbells started ringing as soon as we arrived at the airport as there was no-one waiting for us and inform us where to go so we had to make our own long way to the transfer bus which we eventually found by asking a complete stranger....Then once on the bus (after having waited for at least three quarters of an hour) eventually the repp, called Henry, appeared at the last minute telling us that he had lost lots of his information leaflets on the way to the bus due to the strong gale force winds! This seemed such a lame excuse and the result was that we ended up with no information about the hotel at all.....

Once at the hotel things went from bad to worse as no-one at reception seemed prepared for the arrival of a large group of people! In fact, they appeared completely overwhelmed and disorganised and told us to leave our luggage in the entrance hall, have a meal, come back in an hour or so and then they would have the room allocation ready...what a start of the holiday I had been looking forward to for such a long time.......

Eventually, when we came back, we were allocated a room on the ground floor right next to the reps area where constant noise throughout the night from loud customers staggering in drunk completely prevented us from sleeping...

To top it all I got food poisoning the next day due to the lousy restaurant food which tasted overcooked, was luke warm in temperature and clearly lacked any kind of basic standard of hygiene. After a sleepness night the next morning it became clear to us that we did not want to stay in this dire place any longer so we called in the so-called "help" of the two local reps Laura and Henry.

What a joke they proved to be! They seemed to be more interested in selling day trips to their numerous customers than they did in our understandable reasons for concern and both Laura and Henry did not have the remotest clue in how to deal with any problems or complaints!

When asked to be referred us to the Thomson Area Rep on the island to discuss a possible transfer to a better hotel they initially refused to disclose the name of the rep. Eventually, after a lot of hassle Henry let us speak to him but it equally proved to be to no avail... The TAR's handling of the probelm was another good example of incompetence and someone sufffering from the so called "closing ranks syndrome"....

In the end we were completely left in limbo and had to arrange everything ourselves as well as fork out a lot of own hard earned cash to enable the transfer to take place!!!

This hotel needs to be avoided at all cost

Room Tip: Don't go there if you want value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mimilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here in Jan/ Feb for 11 nights and were highly delighted with the service and friendliness of all the staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. Any problems were soon sorted e.g extra pillow brought and TV re-tuned.
Our room was in the main block on floor 2, ideally situated for the bar, theatre and restaurant and very quiet. It was spacious, comfortable and appeared to have been recently re-furbished and had the welcome addition of a free safe and fridge. The bathroom was huge with a powerful shower.
Food at the hotel was excellent, plentiful, well cooked with staff always replenishing the dishes. However the restaurant was always busy with tables very close together, fine if people were friendly at the next one, not so good if they weren't. The Asian, Canarian/Mexican restaurants were more spacious with tables spread out.
All the hotel was very clean and tidy with beautiful gardens, the swimming pools were clean and surrounding areas kept tidy with hundreds of sunbeds and parasols. There was only one bar in the main building downstairs, although you never had to wait long for a drink. This was open with screens, so could be cold at night, we took our drinks into the theatre to be warmer. Entertainment was very good with the animation team working very hard and putting on some excellent shows.
Overall an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block are nearer to the restaurants, bar and theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppyday39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,966 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $168 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing