We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“club riu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“club riu”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

You would think being 4 star you would have free wi fi....plenty bars a 15min walk away has free wifi...also rooms need up grading..also ask to stay in the main building or you'll have a mile walk over a wooden bridge to walk every time you need anything..but the staff are really friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    1,273
    520
    129
    79
See reviews for
1,046
1,956
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
COVENTRY, ENGLAND
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Lanzarote and as soon as we stepped off the plane was nearly blown away by the strong wind and felt a bit chilly, and the rest of the week was overcast and not overly warm but that didn't stop us enjoying all the facilities at this lovely hotel. When we arrived at the hotel there was a queue at check in, our cases were put in a line in reception and whilst waiting there was a lady putting the AI wristbands on everyone, when we got to the desk we handed over our passports and told to go to the restaurant and return later to get our keys and 2 big bottles of water, and told if we wanted any more water it was available at reception we also were given stickers with our room number on to put on our cases which were delivered to us within a few minutes. When we go to our room which was in the main building it was a surprise as to how large, bright and airy it was. This hotel is massive but we stayed in the main building most of the time as that is where most of the facilities are. The restaurant gets very busy and sometimes seemed to take a while to find a table for 2 but once we found a table there was so much lovely food to choose from we didn't know where to start sometimes, but we always found something that we liked. The best thing about this hotel is the 3 themed restaurants that you can use during your stay, we tried all three and found them to be quiet and well run with the food out of this world. On my husbands 60th birthday he had a bottle of champaign left in the room and we booked the "Asian" restaurant on his special day and we had a lovely table waiting for us with another bottle of champaign which I must say went down a treat. The bar/snack bar area is large and open to the breeze but there are 2 areas that have a glass frontage and heaters that were a godsend as it gets cool in the evening. The staff all over this hotel could not do enough for you, always saying Hola....Buenos Dias which makes you feel at home. We had a problem with our bathroom light switch which was reported to reception and fixed within an hour, the next day we had a phone call to the room asking if the switch was ok, which it was and told if we had any other problems to let them know, a nice touch. Another great thing was the free safe which we didn't know about and was a great bonus as we have always had to pay extra at other hotels. There is a bolt to secure the patio doors and if you want to leave them open at night there are 3 bolt holes to enable you to lock the door whilst letting fresh air in. We loved this hotel that much we are planning going back in April to celebrate my 60th and really can't wait, well done Riu Paraiso :-)

Room Tip: from our experience email the hotel before you travel and ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BROWNIE1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We actually fell onto this hotel by luck, we were suppose to go to the Riu oliviana hotel just up the road but due to the fact they had no room they offered us this hotel upon arrival instead which we gladly accepted and transferred to, what luck!, we had a quick transfer between the two hotels which a taxi was funded by the first hotel. We checked in and went for a drink whilst waiting for our room to be ready, once we got the keys and information we headed to our room, now anyone who's been to this hotel knows how big it is and how easy it is to get lost, that's exactly what happened. I think we asked 3 different people before we found our room near the disco place. The hotel is easily accessible once you find your way around, we were in the centre of the two pools, close enough to reach the back gate to get the beach as well as walk to get food from the buffet. All staff were friendly and you never got nagged to take part in the entertainment which was nice. We had a bit of problem with our Thomson rep at first because of the hotel transfer and no communication between the reps, but we soon got sorted. I bought wi-if for the week which was good and didn't have to be in one area to use it, I could go in the lobby, the restaurant or by the pool and still be connected. The hotel is very modern and nice. There were three restaurants but just stuck to the buffet restaurant, oh my god what a selection of food! It's truly amazing, definitely a foodies paradise haha! There was also two main pools, we stuck to the main one nearest to the buffet restaurant and made friends with other English people over the week we stayed. We didn't book any excursions whilst in Lanzarote because there either wasn't enough to do or it was too expensive, however with me being a plane enthusiast and the airport being close we walked along the coast and beach to the airport to plane spot numerous times whilst there, best fun ever! We also tried on another day to reach the harbour but got a bit lost and to were the diving area was, miles off the harbour, so we turned back and went shopping with all the different shops there. The flight there and back were fine. Got a nice tan and also went to the Lanzarote music festival for free whilst there, which was good to look around and there was a few good acts on but most were awful british singers trying to make it out there in bars, so we just wandered along the beach :) overall it was a good relaxing holiday. Stayed there July 2013

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We paid £850 each to stay here for 1 week over New Year and were very disappointed that it was far from a quality 4* experience:

-The food is the biggest problem -- it is over processed, poor quality and you see the staff re-using/re-heating the greasy food over again. Nothing tastes of anything -- all bland and sterilised. Its just very like sub-standard canteen food. I have had contact with someone else from the hotel who also had food poisoning and we are both (independently) putting in complaints to Thomson.

-The atmosphere of this hotel is rushed, noisy, crowded and brash, particularly in the dining room as others have said here. There is nothing very relaxing about it...very little space by the pool and extremely noisy. Our room was in the main building, close to reception and we were constantly woken up through the night by people walking past, shouting and screaming kids. We tried to move rooms and were promised another quieter room the following day. When we went to reception the next day, the room was now not available so we had another bad night's sleep. Some relaxing holiday!

My mum became unwell because of the food and had a bad stomach upset and all in all we'd had enough of this hotel and complained to the Thomson reps who were utterly useless and overly stressed. They did nothing! We ended up sorting out our own transfer to another hotel (the Jameos Playa up the road which was SO much better, same star rating).

If you pay £500 or less for a week here and are not too fussy about food & whether you get ill plus you like a noisy, in-your-face hotel then you'll probably be alright. Otherwise don't waste your hard earned cash here!!

Tip: Whilst some rooms in the main building might be better others are very noisy -- like the ones near to reception. Take earplugs (along with food poisoning medication?)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thehotelinspector11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Absolutely fantastic holiday! The service was excellent and staff very helpful. We stayed in the quieter part of the hotel, our room was a very decent size and always spotlessly clean. The food was nice, it would obviously get a bit boring after few days but we had the themed restaurants booked every other day and were out to eat in Puerto del Carmen a couple of times. Some of the cocktails were pre-made but the hotel offers good selection of spirits (much better quality than any all inclusive hotel we've been to) and cava was a hit!
We only used the quiet swimming pool with the swim in bar and in all had very relaxing holiday, couldn't really find anything wrong. We even went to see the entertainment one night which we never do and we enjoyed it, it was really funny!
It was the best holiday we've been so far and my now husband to be proposed so I will always have beautiful memories from that place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Overcast most of week,but still have enjoyed our break.
Lovely hotel situated across the road from the beach with a short walk into puerto del Carmen. First impression was the size of the hotel but we quickly got our bearings and were able to work out where everything is. The hotel itself looks to be originally 2 hotels but has been combined to make a larger hotel, it has 3 main area's the main hotel which houses the restaurants and entertainment, another similar building that has a snack bar and some apartments between the 2 major buildings. We stayed in the area where the hotel restaurant is overlooking the pool and with a sea view, really nice room on the 3rd floor which became a sun trap in the afternoons.
Internet is available, would recommend paying €20 for a weeks unlimited access otherwise it's €1 for 30 minutes, signal is available as far as the pool in the main building but does not reach many rooms.
Entertainment is provided 5 or 6 nights per week by the resident team and vey enjoyable, there is a little guy in the team who I believe is the team leader and he had us in stitches, if you ' You tube' Riu Paraiso lanzarote, there are some short clips so you can see for yourself.
The food is plentiful and varied and if you don't want a full lunch there is pizza and garlic bread in the snack bar, they also have themed evenings, Asian, Mexican & Canarian nights, we tried all 3 and enjoyed them all, Every mealtime a manger greeted you and asked if everything was okay with the holiday which is a nice touch, at the table one mealtime we heard people complaining but I cannot understand why. I think some people look for petty things to complain about!
This was the first time we have stayed at a Riu hotel and Riu will be our first choice in the future. Would we come back to the same hotel again? Yes quite possibly but in a few years, would like to try Tenerife next year.

Room Tip: Room on floor 3 in main building for views and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daviesic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 20th to 30th Jan, we arrived after quick transfer and had a quick drink then we checked in, we were advised on here to email them before you go requesting a sea view, which was granted, so if you looking to book email them your requests before hand.

Meal times, there was plenty of food and choice, however some people were very pushy and had no manners, also a lot of them like to stare while your eating, very annoying, we advise to book the themed restaurants for a relaxed dinner as there is not so much panic and rushing like the main restaurant has and you don't have to fight for a table.

As for the Bar, it's in the wrong place, it's should be undercover as it did get very windy and chilly and most nights we had jumpers on, many people wearing winter coats. There is plenty of choice for drinks I think, and most of them are quite nice, the discotheque is a bit of a let down and an eye opener but it's ok to go if you want a giggle.

The entertainment team are great, not sure where they get their energy from, some of them are talented when they sing and not mime, as this was just dire night after night, the Africa aerobats were brilliant and fun to watch, as so were the Chinese aerobats too.

I noticed that a lot of people when on holiday have no manners as my partner and I were told off by another guest for talking while for a show to start, very pushy and impatient too, I'm sorry but I'm on my holiday not at school.

We did venture out of the hotel resort and went shopping, visited other bars, as many of them have free wi fi, we also came across last minute tours, and booked two tours with them which First Choice were charging the earth for, so look here if you want to book any trips as they are very helpful with reasonable prices too.

The staff are fantastic here, always saying hola, and can't do enough for you, esp. housekeeping they were great

All in all it's was a great holiday, we explored the island and the hotel resort and the resort it self, but we will choice some where else for our next holiday, but here is fine just for a week of exploring and relaxing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank razinsun85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing