We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Too many guests”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The previous comments from Angela perfectly sum up this hotel. It is like a cattle market especially at meal times and breakfast even worse. But they still manage to never run short of food, always topped up. Yes the tables are far too close to the point that the person next to us made a comment upon our choice of food, as we both had the same meal! Problem I thought not, they were foreign and then spent the meal laughing at us, how I stopped myself from throwing it over him I will not know! And then for badness we choose the same sweet desert. Not everyone is friendly and found the Hotel lacking any atmosphere. The food is good and plentiful , choose the fish and carvery for fresh, the veg is miserable overcooked and seems frozen. But the staff very helpful and one day I asked for gravy and it appeared. The sweets very repetitive, but lots of fruit and cheese. Found the white wine very hard to drink also the fizzy water, but there is plenty of shorts on hand if you like them. The entertainment is ok but the seating in there terrible, just needed the pop corn and you could have been in the pictures! Also needed to wear a coat to sit in the bar freezing the heaters useless, and they cannot wait to switch them off at 12.00.

Had a upgrade room so in the old Hotel lots of wasted space there a lovely area but not serviced shame, as would have used it as most nights we played cards and it was warm. Quite a walk to have meals glad I bought my flat shoes on the ,"'stairway to heaven" as it was rather slippy. Our room was lovely the difference being that they are larger, carpeted throughout and two very comfortable armchairs and comfortable beds. Only two or three English stations on a large flat screen tele, no wifi in room. Pool area very nice and managed a swim very clean and tidy gardens. Quite location with walks either way out of Hotel. Would not return too big for me over 1500 guests when full.

Room Tip: Old part for a peacefully location, but be prepared to walk for meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyxxxPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,503
    1,244
    505
    124
    75
See reviews for
1,004
1,913
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The rooms are small compared to many others we have stayed in. The decor is dated and the towels could do with renewing as they are looking old.
The buffet restaurant is not big enough to accommodate the number of guests staying in the hotel. It resembles a cattle market and the seating is so close together that you can hold hands with the people on the next table.
However the speciality restaurants are a different story altogether. The staff are attentive and friendly and the ambience is relaxed as you would expect which is entirely in contrary to the buffet restaurant. The food quality is good throughout.
The staff are all friendly and helpful throughout the hotel.
The hotel is clean throughout.
There is no free WiFi available and in this 4 star hotel one would expect it. To purchase it is expensive.
The drinks list is also limited compared to other all inclusive hotels on the island.
Not what I would expect from a Riu hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask to say in the "extended section" of the hotel. In the furthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one week with my family on January. With the price that we paid for the trip (flights included so it is difficult to guess the exact hotel price), I have to say that the quality of our stay was a very positive surprise!

We arrived two hours before the official check-in time which was at 2 PM, but we were offered a room immediately and we also got to enjoy the all inclusive service with food and drinks already at noon.

The hotel itself is basically split into three areas:

1. Main building with hotel rooms, restaurants, some events and other programme, bars open until midnight, pools and children's area
2. Another building with hotel rooms, a bar open until 6 PM and pools
3. Family rooms between the two buildings

Our room was called a "family room" and it had two bedrooms, a large bathroom with bathtube and two sinks, and a separate living room area with sofa, some chairs, kitchen table, small CRT TV and a fridge. Outside of the door, there was a terrace with chairs and table. The baby bed for our 1.5 years old son was awaiting in the room when we arrived.

The room would have been perfect without one major weakness: the two double beds, one in each bedroom, were both lousy. They were almost too small for two normal sized people to fit into and mattress quality was close to unacceptable: hard, bumpy and shaky. But this really is pretty much the only thing to complain about.

We asked for a family room which is as close to the main building restaurants and bars as possible and also got one. However, our baby monitor did not reach the restaurant area and we had to stay late evenings in our room. Though picking the drinks from the bar 200 meters away was not too big effort. The furthest family rooms were quite far away from the main building so this is something that you might want to consider when booking a room.

The food was very good, though I would have appreciated a little more variance between different days. There were plenty of choices to pick with. The fish dishes were always really good. The two theme restaurants (Asian, Mexican/Canarian) were also on the same level and provided some variety for the dinners.

The bar offered good enough beer and decent red wine. In my opinion, white wine and rose wine were unfortunately below the decent level. The bar had a nice selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks which were also all included without additional charges.

The service everywhere was exceptional even without tipping! Staff were friendly, fast and helpful. It was especially noticeable in the restaurants. The children got special attention and staff made their best to keep them happy.

I was not so much into the entertainment, but it was also in a good level. There was daily all kinds of activity for the children older than 4 and in every evening, the kids got to play, sing and dance in the theater before the adults' entertainment started. The adults' shows were mostly enjoyed by older people, however, on the last evening the "Crazy Show" got even myself laughing.

The checkout from the rooms is at 11 AM, but if I understood it right, the all inclusive service for the guests continues until midnight.

I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for families. You could not expect better value than what you will get here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaakko-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My Wife and I arrived in early December 2013. I had paid extra for a (superior room). Don't waste your money. Upon arrival we handed in our passports to the reception and directed to the restaurant. This was at 1.30 pm and could not beleive our eyes when we saw the wonderful food. After a quite brilliant experience we were shown where our room was located. Could not beleive just how far away it was, a solid 8 mins walk if not more away. Have never ever stayed in a hotel so BIG. Thank goodness I paid a porter to take the luggage for us. Just what we need after a four hour flight. When inside the room we inspected the layout. the view of the pool was obstructed by a large palm tree. Just caught the corner of the pool. Is that what you call with a pool view? Then when it came to flush the toilet, IT DID NOT FLUSH. Was the room inspected properly before we arrived. Simple answer NO. A call to reception brought the ported back. He could not work it so he got hold of the hotel plumer. He too could not fix so said he had to fit a complete new flush system. By the time it was sorted it was around one hour so we could not empty the luggage incase we got moved. Wish we got moved. Upon empting the cases two drawer handles came off and half the others wer well loose. The wall which forms the shower and next to the bed was completely damp with flaking paint and plaster caused by poor sealing. The bath come shower was super small and very dark. My Wife hated it.Did report to reception and reps Thompson but nothing was done. The room was 3368. We were there for only a week so we put up with it. That was two star but the rest of the hotel four star plus. The main restaurant was brilliant and the staff so friendly, nothing was too much. Quality food and service. Nightly entertainment well all I will say is they tried. The seats in there were no better than sitting on the wall. If you wanted a good view you had to get in there early. If you arrived just before the shows you mostly had no view at all because of great pillars everywhere. We would go early and take it in turns to get up and walk around the bar area to get the circulation going again. Sound system very average.Reception were good and the cleaners lovely. Everyone so friendly. I would not bother going on coah tours as really not much to see and not worth the money. Hire a car as roads pretty empty mostly. Visit the Music Hall Tavern just 10 mins up the road or two mins in a cheap taxi. Fantastic shows and pay the little extra for the free bar. Hotel a short distance from the airport with plenty of bars near by. Go all inclusive. I really think I was robbed of the extra money for a room so average.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money on a so called Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colinmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We arrived late and were offered food but there was only some cold salad and pasta so I went to bed hungry. When we checked into our room my heart sank as it was dank and underwhelming- I imagine the room allocation may have had something to do with me and my boyfriend both being 21 and so they may have imagined that I would not complain....unbeknownst to them I am both well traveled and the daughter of a travel agent...After complaining at reception, we were generously upgraded to a beautiful room for which we were most grateful for.

The hotel was very busy when we visited, despite it not being peak season, and it was felt in certain areas; the restaurants were very crowded (although this did not impact on food availability as it was cooked freshly in front of you and regularly replenished), and sunbed availability was not always great.

Food was fantastic and I really cannot understand the complaints regarding it within people's reviews; there was always choice, variation and show cooking available. The BBQ Pork ribs deserve their own special mention...

Drinks at the various bars were always of an excellent standard, and the local spirits were much better than what I expected. We decided to visit the disco one evening, and it was actually great fun.

The surrounding areas are worth a visit for more bars, shops and restaurants. There are amenities available both to the left and the right of the hotel, so you will not get bored.

Overall, the hotel is clean and modern (unless you get put in our original room.....!), the staff aren't overly personable but are polite enough so mustn't grumble. The holiday was good value for money and whilst I wouldn't go back, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: From what I could gather, the rooms across the long walkway are the ones you want to aim for- they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I arrived at this hotel with my husband on the 26.12.13 for the new year and would thoroughly recommend it,we had a fantastic and most enjoyable time. What are people complaining about with regard to this hotel. So what if your room is not in the main block and you have to walk from one block to the other, if you can walk what is wrong with walking.
There is plenty of food and variation in the restaurant, although I do agree the tables are set very close to one another, the specialist restaurants are excellent. My husband suffers with coeliac disease, he can't eat any food which contains wheat and gluten, all I can say that all the restaurant staff were most helpful and even cooked meals for him, do not always get this in all hotels as we experienced in another 4 star hotel! I would advice everyone to try the specialist restaurants.
Our room was both comfortable and clean, we had a high room facing the pool and we had sun from 10.00 am until sunset.
I do agree with the comments made about there only being the one bar open in the evenings, the seating area around this bar was cold, although there were heaters supplied, people crowded around them, as there were not enough supplied, could do with having another bar in the reception area or enclosing part of the downstairs seating area
The entertainment team seemed to be on duty from about 10.00am until late evening and tried their very best , the theatre was not large enough to hold everyone, could do with making this larger.
All in all would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room overlooking any of the pools. If you require a quiet room ask for a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wolverhampton2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family and I stayed here for a week from 2 January 2014. The hotel was perfect for a week in the sun and to relax and do nothing. The food was very good with something to surely please everyone. There was the usual ridiculous rule for men having to wear long trousers in the restaurant for dinner. There was always plenty of food available. The only night we went to one of the themed restaurants was to go to the Mexican. It wasn't up to much and we preferred the buffet!
The all inclusive bar was good with prompt service. There was also self service beer and wine on tap, so take a larger plastic tumbler with you for the poolside if you prefer a large beer.
The entertainment or animacion team were very good, hard working and very entertaining at night, The visiting 'professional' acts weren't up to much.
The rooms were very comfortable and the housekeeping was excellent. The maids were there to tidy the room whatever time we left the room. The hotel and grounds were spotlessly clean and we'd certainly be happy to return to this hotel.
There is no free wi-fi at all in the hotel, not even in any of the public areas. You can buy half an hour for 1 Euro or 20 Euros for the week.
The hotel is in a good location with Puerto del Carmen a 10 or 15 minute walk away and the beach is straight across the road only 2 minutes away from the rear gate of the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergeantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#21 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
512 reviews
8.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing