We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for one week at the end of August. We emailed the hotel in advance asking for a room with a sea view at the 2-nd or 3-rd floor in the main building and that is what we got. We had a lovely room and the view was amazing. The pools are really nice, I loved the aqua gym the entertainment team organised everyday. Contrary on what I have seen in other reviews, you CAN always find sunbeds, you don't have to wake up at 6.30 am to occupy one. Yes, it probably won't be at the very edge of the pool, but there is place for everyone. We also went to the beach, the sand and the water are fantastic.
Very clean hotel, the staff is very nice, always willing to help.
The food is very good, I agree that the breakfast is a little repetitive, but you can find everything you like. The themed restaurants are fantastic, be sure to book them as you arrive.
The downsides were that it is more a family hotel than a couples resort. There is no music by the pool and you can literally hear everything your sunbed neighbors are talking about. The alcoholic cocktails are not so alcoholic, but the proper drinks are Ok. Also the furniture in the rooms is a little outdated, but otherwise comfortable.
I have to mention that the reception in the second building is so much more beautiful, is more sumptuous, even 5 stars worth, but too bad it's not used. The reception in the main building is just ''minimalistic'' and practical.

All in all, the downsides were not so important for us, we enjoyed our staying and we would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liana357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    1,245
    505
    124
    75
See reviews for
1,006
1,918
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have just arrived back from a 7 night stay in this hotel and having never stayed in a RIU before, we were very pleasantly surprised.

We flew with Thomson, flights on time, lots of reps at the airport to assist as well as we got a taxi to the airport instead of the coach.

We stayed in the Annexe part of the hotel which is a fair way from the main building but it does make for good exercise after pigging out at the all inclusive. I overheard people complaining about the walk from the main building of the hotel, to the annexe, but low and behold, its the fat ones that complain most, which in fact could do with the exercise.

We ate in the hotel every night, they had a very wide selection of food .... however ... it was very much the same every night. We can understand this as there was a great salad bar, lots of different meats, vegetables, chips, pizzas etc so we always found something that we liked.
We did encounter a problem on our first night and that is the LONG TROUSERS AT DINNER rule, to which I was wearing shorts and asked to put trousers on at the door. This wasn't explained to us, either by Thomson or the hotel when checking in, but asking Thomson about the matter, and them explaining it is in the T&C's in the brochure it is our own stupid fault for not reading them. Other people gave the reps there so much abuse for this which was unnecessary and outrageous. We didn't mind as all I have to say is, YOU WOULDNT BUY A CAR FOR 2000 POUNDS WITHOUT READING THE T&C'S SO WHY WOULD YOU NOT DO IT FOR A 2000 POUND HOLIDAY. ???

The Thomson reps both a male and a female, were always polite, chatty, helpful and gave us some great advise on a couple of excursions which we thoroughly enjoyed. The welcome presentation gave us all the information we needed.(Tip: remind people of long trousers or the common folk will complain)
We did a grand island tour which was fantastic and we got to practically see the whole island and great value for money. We also did a boat trip on a catamaran, the food was good and it was an all inclusive bar. We got to snorkel and a jet ski ride which I have never done before and also great value for money. The reps were a real credit to Thomson. We hope to see them again.

The Room we had was a little dated but all you really do is sleep in it so its not really a major issue. Hot running water, a fridge in which you can get unlimited water from reception to store in it and reasonably comfortable beds. (Not the same as back home but what do you expect in Spain?)

The Pools were clean, the reception staff very friendly, the entertainers very good (although some advice ... the one wearing children's/toddlers shorts needs to get a new uniform).

The only critisisms we do have is, although gents have to wear long trousers, women should wear decent attire aswell. Its ok for a man to be covered up but I don't want to eat my dinner sat next to a "woman" with more tyres than the Michelin man hanging over her seat and her bum on show.
There could also be an option to pay for branded spirits at the bar, the Spanish local stuff is like drinking the fuel out of a space shuttle.

We may not return to this hotel as we have seen all of Lanzarote now, but we will be holidaying with RIU and Thomson again.

Room Tip: Choose the main building if you don't like exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mada G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We two early retirees loved this hotel. The staff were always friendly, rooms and grounds were kept spotless and the AI regime intelligent and comprehensive. We requested beforehand, and received, a high floor room in the quieter wing of the hotel. This was large and well fitted out with plenty of storage space and for us, very comfortable hard beds. We were aware that mattress toppers were available. Free key safe was a bonus. Being a very large hotel, the restaurant was too, but the friendly staff were always on the ball, tables cleared rapidly and refreshed quickly when needed. The food choice was wide and replenishment constant. Opening hours were sensible both for show-goers and early diners with children, and those preferring to eat Spanish late. The change to AI for some means a loss of perceived service, such as being waited on at table. For us, however, it meant the chance to explore new tastes, new dishes and combinations not just from the Canaries but those provided for the wide range of nationalities we met. It wasn’t so hard to drag oneself to the bar corner to pour a glass of not too awful white wine or beer. It got better with practice. We were impressed with the Asian restaurant, both food and service were excellent. The pools were chilly but well used, no deposit towels changed on request. Snack bars at both pool sites opened earlier and closed later compared to most hotels we have been to. The animation team were as ever enthusiastic and talented, and the kids club popular. Plenty of beds and especially umbrellas. The main bar, theatre and outside seating area are located just outside the restaurant, so if you want a quiet night let the hotel know in advance. We had a late flight, but no hassle to stay on and use the facilities and the free courtesy room to shower and change. Exit the hotel by the back door and you find yourself on the amazing Pocillos beach, one of the largest sandy beaches I have seen. The sea was warmer than the pools. The bus stops to Arrecife and Puerto del Carmen are 50metres to the left…or 2000 to the right. You have been warned. All in all, Riu have made the transition to Spanish All Inclusive a great success. No wonder the hotel is full. We shall return.

Room Tip: Email hotel the hotel and they try hard to help. High floors are 2 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamnumber6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull, uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We came back from here just over 2 weeks ago after a fanastic 10nt family holiday... there is nothing I would want to fault.
We booked into a Suite for the three of us & were allocated 3317 which had two balconies - one overlooking one of the pools & the other the sea.
The room was spacious & cleaned by Dolores every day to a very high standard. It was plenty roomy for 2 adults & a child plus his pushchair.
The hotel has gate to leave from to access the beach across the road which can be accessed via zebra crossing, another bonus for a family as it meant we felt safe. The beach is HUGE!!! & very clean.
Their were two parks at the hotel but also another across the road. Spare buckets & spades had been left too so if you happen to be stuck or forget the toys you don't have to worry.
With 5 pools to choose from we had lots of amenities & alhtough my 3 year old didn't join in at the kids club, from what I saw they were always well takened care of & entertained.
The food was really good - we ate in the Mexican & Canaries speciality restaurant once & the Asian twice but the Asian was by far the most booked up. Literally nothing was too much trouble. In the Mexican restaurant the chef even came across to see that my son was happy with the choice of food which I thought was a specially nice touch.

Our other highlight was the mini disco from 8-9pm. A fantatic touch by Riu.
This hotel is ideal for everyone as there is so much room that you can find a quite corner if you want or the entertainment team are also on hand but never pushy.
We're going to Greece next year but I can say we definately will be returning in the next couple of years.

Room Tip: Room 3317 - Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of weeks on Business.
Nice clean modern hotel, very central to the hustle and bustle of KL.
The buffet is very good but can get boring after a couple of weeks.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Nice pool area but doesn’t catch much of the sun due to new buildings that have been built.
Firstly sorry for the late review.
Stayed here in August for 2 weeks and it was great.
Pool was busy as you would expect at this time of the year, there was spare sunbeds but could be difficult to find some space.
Usual thing up early to secure your spot, but never any trouble or arguments.
Pool area very clean, in fact the whole hotel was spotless.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment; it was clean but starting to look a bit dated, did ask prior to arriving for a double bed in the bedroom but when we arrived it was 2 singles. Reception told us that the apartments only have twin single beds but they can make then up as a double, this was done within 10 minutes of asking.
The food was good and a good selection, ok it’s not Michelin star but it is of a good standard for all inclusive.
The Asian restaurant was good but not very impressed with the Mexican.

The Animation team does a great job and you can see the dedication they have for their job.

The only thing I can fault about this hotel is evening entertainment is in the theater beside the bar, once the entertainment starts the hotel loses it atmosphere.
All of the staff are very friendly and never pass you without some kind of greeting.
The queue at the bar was never more than a couple of minutes. And the staff even remembered you order after a few days, (maybe I spent too much time at the bar)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely hotel , great rooms , very clean. Good location . Evening meal not great but breakfast and lunch always good. The Mexican and Asian restaurants were superb though. The only thing that spoilt it for us was the smoking. The tables outside were in a constant fog of smoke and it was impossible to sit outside at night if you wanted to breathe ! Also round the pools , inconsiderate people smoking all around the children's areas . This could easily be resolved , just have a none smoking area of sunbeds and outside tables. Every day we had to move sunbeds numerous times to avoid breathing in the stink and it spoilt the whole experience ! Just a bit of thought for the none smokers would have made all the difference .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoequeen97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week from 6th October. We chose this hotel mainly from the good reviews and the good reputation of riu hotels, we were not disappointed.
Having read various reviews about which side of the hotel is best we decided to take pot luck on where out room would be located. We ended up on the quieter side over the notorious bridge! Personally I would choose this side as it is much less crowded around the pool, the snack bar serves a good selection for lunch alongside a bar and a swim-up bar. Now about this bridge! it really is not as long as some people would have you believe and would only be a concern if you had serious mobility problems, you can also walk through the gardens to the main building.

Food and Drink - The food at this hotel is extremely good, very well cooked and presented and such a vast choice of dishes at every meal. I really find it hard to believe that anyone could find it repetitive there were different choices every night. Never had trouble finding a table and very clean was pleased to note that all table linen was changed between each person. The alcohol selection was very acceptable except the cocktails, not the best if you're used to freshly made. However the other drinks were fine, nice beer and the cava is lovely.

Room - Very clean and well equipped, nice large balcony. Bed was comfortable enough for me slept well every night asked for extra pillows first morning and they were on the bed when we returned after lunch. Cleaned thoroughly every day, fresh towels and bedding couldn't fault it and I am fussy about cleanliness and will complain if its not up to standard.

Location - Beach just over the road large and quite quiet. Shops and bars etc. few minutes walk away. Regular buses but cabs are cheap so we used them to visit the harbour and get to the main part of town.

Very nice relaxing weeks holiday. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#21 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
515 reviews
8.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing