We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AAA MAZZZZZ ING !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“AAA MAZZZZZ ING !!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel, and was every bit as good as we remember it, hence our return.

We flew with Thomson and the flights were on time, but standard. The transfer was quick and painless, but I would suggest if there were 4 of you take a taxi as this would be cheaper than the bus transfer.

Reception was brilliant for check in, very polite, friendly, could not have been more helpful. As we were a large party travelling together I had emailed the hotel to request rooms on the quiet side and close together, this request had been accommodated and also our room upgraded to a suite, really fabulous room. To add to this on arrival back to our room on first day, we had a welcome back letter and a rose for the ladies, lovely touch, thank you.

The rooms as stated were lovely and kept spotless by the maids who worked so hard, we didn't just have towel swans, we had swans with sunglasses!. Made us smile. Also very honest, one of our party had misplaced money, they dropped it and simply couldn't find it, on return to room next day, the money was on the table waiting for them. Always a friendly smile and a welcome when ever we saw them.

The pool was lovely, we did stay the side with the swim up bar so didn't participate in the main pool activities, but that was our choice. We didn't find the sunbeds crowded, have seen them so much worse and you could usually get a bed no problem. The pool area was very clean, and the poolside snack bar ideal for a light lunch. The staff were constantly cleaning and keeping the area tidy, hats off to them again.

The restaurant did get busy but you could always get a table, the choice of food was excellent, I suppose you could say it got a bit 'samey' but in fairness, when you had such a huge selection what else could they provide you with? There was something for everyone and even in our large party, everyone still found something to eat and enjoy. The long trousers rule was enforced and we did see a few gentlemen get a bit upset about this but I don't understand why, it was quite clear this was the case from the booking reference, in the travel guide and on trip advisor. We ate in the Asian restaurant and all loved it, really nice change, then tried the Canarian restaurant and loved that too, really, don't hesitate, make sure you book them. We really couldn't decide which was our favourite

The bar area was again spotless, and because of the self service the bar was always quite, if you thing the cocktails are too sweet or not strong enough, just ask them to top up with spirit, its not a problem.

While there one of our party was taken ill. Reception could not have done more, they rang around, found the assistance we needed, wrote the address down for us, so when they called a taxi all we had to do was hand the paper to the taxi driver, you really could not ask more.

Really, if you want a good quality, friendly, well placed, spotlessly clean hotel just book it. Please don't let the negative reports put you off. We will be returning again at some point, its a gem

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,453
    1,211
    489
    121
    71
See reviews for
973
1,854
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (994)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Second time at this wonderful hotel and it did not disappoint. We had a room near to the smaller pool and it was spotless and comfrotable. We enjoyed the walk through the gardens to the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner and used the snack bar at lunch time.

We had dinner at all three themed retaurants which were all excellent, the Oriental restaurant being our favourite. Drinks of all sorts were available throughout the day and the bar staff were most efficient! Indeed, all the staff wre very hard working, polite and friendly.

The hotel paid particular attention to the no shorts rule at dinner time and this did cause some guests grief and there were some heated arguments at the restaurant door but the rule was imposed. There should not have been any probelms becasue the no shorts rule at dinner is clearly stated in all the hotel paperwork and online.

For us, it was a comfortable, relaxing holiday in a well run and appointed hotel and we would definetly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doonlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadgwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Four star accommodation but two star food, drink and facilities.

We arrived about midday, were banded up by a very pleasant lady in reception who suggested we get a drink and/or bite to eat by the pool and come back later to see if our rooms were ready. This we obediently did and after about an hour we returned and got the keys to our rooms....

Our room was a junior suite (no extra cost) and a delight. A large bathroom, with a full sized bath, shower, two sinks and wc. The bedroom area contained a large double bed, plenty of wardrobes and drawer space, side cabinets, air conditioning, ceiling fan and balcony. The living area was again beautifully furnished, settee, chair, coffee table, sideboards, TV, fridge and another well appointed balcony plus ac and fan. All that was missing, in my view, was a kettle (which we did eventually pay extra for), an iron and a decent hair dryer. I decided against washing my hair all week as I think I'd still be there now trying to get it dry. My son and his friends room was a twin, perfectly adequate although considerably smaller than our room.
Towels and sheets were changed daily, if that's what you requested, and dusted, polished and swept like a magic fairy had been in.

Sounds good so far.....

This hotel is big, and I mean big, far too big in my opinion....

We went to dinner at about 7pm on the first evening and upon entering the main dining room my mind went back to my one and only visit to Butlins in Minehead in 1966. A sea of tables, a cacophony of noise, of bright lights, all it needed was Red Coats directing you to a table. In hindsight that might have been a good thing, alas, no you had to find your own table, if you could. We did eventually and sat exhausted for a few minutes until we were advised by a "waiter" (who only served water and cleared and reset tables) that it was all self service, including the drinks. Great, I stupidly thought, no more waiting for my wine glass to be filled by the often far to infrequent waiters that usually adorn all inclusive resorts. How wrong can you be. Believe me I'm no connoisseur of wine, my average tipple is an £8 bottle of Tesco plonk, but I have never, ever, in the thirty odd years I've been drinking tasted such awful, watered down, insipid, disgusting stuff that they have the audacity to call wine. That was the first and last time I tried it. And just so you know I tried all three, the white, the rose and the red and they were all equally disgusting. So on to the food......the salad bar is very good with a plethora of different salads, there's soup and many different breads, a vast selection of vegetables and meat dishes, pasta, paella, desserts and cheese and biscuits. Sounds good and it wasn't bad but for a four star hotel (and please note gentlemen long trousers are a must in the evening at all the restaurants) it just didn't cut the mustard. breakfast and lunch are served either in this main restaurant or by the pool and follow much the same pattern. The Mexican was slightly better in as much as it was more like a restaurant than a school dinner canteen and although there was only a smattering of Mexican food the whole experience was better. My favourite was the Asian, and credit where credits due, it was one of the best Chinese meals I've eaten for a long time, and the waiters were attentive and got your drinks. We had no trouble booking these in advance, we didn't try the Canarian but JSYK it's actually the same restaurant as the Mexican but they open on different days.

On the plus side re drinks - tea, coffee, soft drinks, wine (if you can call it that) lager and water are available self service at all times. There is also a bar for other drinks, cocktails, spirits etc. and Cava which wasn't bad although it was annoying to keep having to come out of the restaurants to fill up each time! The spirits though Ae watered down - such a shame and it's so very obvious.

The main pool was again like a Butlins - bingo calling, aerobics, water polo (all very loud and in your face) and sun beds so close together that you could read your neighbours book, let alone their mind. We went to the beach which was a stones throw away and hired sun beds and umbrella for €6 per person per day. A quieter similar sized pool could be found in the other part of the hotel but still suffered from too many people and sun bed proximity not conducive to claustrophobics.

We played tennis most days, no complaints there, the courts were fine and I've hired worse racquets.

Also on the plus side - the staff, they all tried really hard to please, particularly the entertainment crew and reception staff, always smiling and happy to go that extra mile to help, can't fault them.

What really lets this place down is the penny pinching owners who despite the Riu reputation have decided to maximise shareholder profit over customer quality and water down all the drinks, squeeze people in, and produce second hand quality food rather than maintain a reputation as a good quality four star establishment.

Sorry but you won't be seeing me again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank CornishJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently stayed for two weeks at this ClubHotel. Usually, as frequent RIU hotels visitors, we are used to the Half Board 'Palace' version of their offering. This was the first encounter with the ClubHotel 'All Inclusive' offering.

In the first instance we would recommend this hotel. Right from the very start of our experience, the staff were exceptional, pleasant and always have a morning, afternoon, evening or general greeting given with a warm smile. Check in very simple. Special mention must be made to the room maids. They are an exceptional team and the rooms are always spotlessly clean, often with a greeting when you return to the room of a towel sculpture or bed spread - the Swan is great. On arrival we found our mattress so very hard (which is standard for spanish hotels) so just ask for a mattress topper if you are uncomfortable - so much better and no trouble for the team to sort for you.

We were located in the quite side of the massive hotel (the old Palace side) which was our preference anyway. The walk between the two blocks really isn't too much trouble. Just a general tip would be for any people with walking difficulties or disabilities, ensure that you email the hotel in advance to request a room in the main hotel side even if the noise levels are higher.

Sporting activities and other general activities during the day are great and children are very well catered for. The Entertainment team are great at motivating people. We did find one of the team to be way over the top with 'campness' and sometimes went a bit too far with the suggestive content whilst children were around - fun for the first couple of days - but too much after that.

A big PLUS for this hotel is the evening entertainment (with the same team who run the day activities). For an amateur entertainment programme every day was truly an eye-opener. Lots of laughs and smiles, great content and a breath of fresh air. The little short guy was so funny - a Norman Wisdom in the making. This side of the ClubHotel experience is SO VERY MUCH BETTER than the 'Palace' RIU offering which is mega poor.

Food was generally good even if a bit similar on most days. The main buffet restaurant was often packed but manageable, and all nationalities generally got on well without the usual pushy and rude problems from certain nations. We also experienced the Mexican and Asian restaurants and generally good, making a very nice change from the buffet side. Didn't do the Canarian restaurant as we have done this elsewhere and fish etc is not our thing. You MUST book well in advance at the reception for the days you wish to go to the speciality restaurants however.

The 'all inclusive' nature of the drinks ws also very good. Plenty of soft drinks, coffee, wine and a 'not too strong' beer on tap plus very generous measures of alcohol from the bar (vermouth four times the standard measure of the UK at least). The cocktails were popular but MEGA sweet so not for us. There is one major problem with this hotel however on the all inclusive nature of the drinks. if you are based in the noisier 'reception' side of the hotel you can get drinks very late and very early. If you are in the quiet side of the hotel you are left to the free bottles of water you get from reception. They do really need at least a soft drinks machine/coffee machine on level two of the quiet side (in the old Palace reception area) so guests over there are not short changed.

The Director of the hotel plus his team had to deal with some very stupid 'Brits and Irish' during our visit with regard to the standard RIU policy of LONG TROUSERS for men for the evening meal in the restaurants. Half way through our stay they tried to enforce this policy with some strength and some stupid people really did kick off and demonstrated some very immature attitudes. Being frequent RIU visitors this is very much a standard requirement and whilst in another country, just respect the requirement (it was also highlighted in the room's book of conditions of the hotel and also on our Thomson paperwork so there was no justification for complaints and tantrams). The only thing we will say about the whole policy is that whilst the long trousers policy is fine with us, maybe the management should also look at some of the ladies dress. A few of the idiotic complainers started to get their lady partners to turn up in shorter than shorts to prove a point. For balance maybe have a policy for the ladies too. But hey, it was actually a laugh as these people tried to prove a point but failed miserably and should be truly ashamed of themselves and most of the ladies were too large for the very short shorts anyway so just looked plain stupid.

Check out was simple. Our advice would be NOT to extend the room for an additional 45 Euros if you have a late flight back. Just try and extend your room check out time to 1pm Free of Charge and then book a Courtesy Room for a shower and freshen up a couple of hours before your transfer to the airport. Book this Courtesy Room at least two days before departure. You then do not have to find any more money.

One major dislike - the sun beds around the two pool areas are way too close together. Cattle herded would be an apt description and once again you get the mindless idiots laying towels out at 6 in the morning to get their chosen location. RIU enforce your own poilicies please (as with the long trousers) and stop the towel booking. We would not join in for the early morning 'must have that sun bed at all costs' attitude of some guests and nationalities so went to the lovely beach just over the road from the back gate and had space and time to relax.

This is a very good hotel with plenty to do, plenty of food and drink and very nice staff. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. We possibly will not go back however to Lanzarote for a while as we have now seen the whole island in the two weeks and done all the sights so not much else to do. Laying by a pool all day is for some but not for us. GO FOR IT THOUGH you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you have no walking difficulties or disabilities definitely get a room in the quieter side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank creativeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our third visit to this Hotel, and we continue to be impressed with the high quality and friendliness of the staff.

The Hotel rooms are of a traditional design with high quality fittings and furnishing. The only improvement which could be made would be the inclusion of tea making facilities. The maid service is of a high quality along with the general high standard of cleanliness.

Bar service is speedy efficient with a good selection of AI drinks.

The main restaurant is busy, but you can always find a table. Tables are relaid after use with a change of table cloth on all occasions. In common with most AI hotels some of the meat cuts tend to be the cheaper variety, although in most parts acceptable. Food variety tends to be good.

All in all a Hotel I would recommend and would be happy to return to. ,

Room Tip: This is a large hotel with a long walk to rooms situated in the old Palace Hotel, if this is a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we have just returned from a weeks holiday on the 7th oct I emailed them a week or so before to ask for a low level room and extra pillows we were given what we asked for and got room 163 which was very spacious and lovely we enjoyed the food and the staff were very nice and polite my only thing I would of liked was a tea tray to make an early morning cuppa but should have took my travel kettle really but apart from that I cannot fault this hotel lovely cocktails and good watchable entertainment very clean also

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieq00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a one week stay, a group of 6 of us. Check in at the hotel was easy, we were sent straight to the restaurant as we had arrived late and they didn't want us to miss dinner. Food was lovely and a good selection, usual Riu standard. We were pleased to find the self service drinks, beer, wine and soft drinks, which meant the bar was usually quiet and you were served quickly. Highly recommend the cava. Service was excellent, as previous reviews state, the staff work very hard and are always smiling. We loved the daily aqua gym, not like other hotels, it was very entertaining and always came away laughing; Especially when Pepe took the class! We stayed on the old side and we were very pleased with our sea view and huge balcony. We didn't use the bridge, we found the garden route quicker, but we're talking a couple of minutes walk not miles like other people have said. There is plenty to do outside the resort, bars and shops within walking distance. Tried both the Asian and Mexican restaurants, both very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Twinkle071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#8 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,531 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#22 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing