We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good holiday”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently stayed for two weeks at this ClubHotel. Usually, as frequent RIU hotels visitors, we are used to the Half Board 'Palace' version of their offering. This was the first encounter with the ClubHotel 'All Inclusive' offering.

In the first instance we would recommend this hotel. Right from the very start of our experience, the staff were exceptional, pleasant and always have a morning, afternoon, evening or general greeting given with a warm smile. Check in very simple. Special mention must be made to the room maids. They are an exceptional team and the rooms are always spotlessly clean, often with a greeting when you return to the room of a towel sculpture or bed spread - the Swan is great. On arrival we found our mattress so very hard (which is standard for spanish hotels) so just ask for a mattress topper if you are uncomfortable - so much better and no trouble for the team to sort for you.

We were located in the quite side of the massive hotel (the old Palace side) which was our preference anyway. The walk between the two blocks really isn't too much trouble. Just a general tip would be for any people with walking difficulties or disabilities, ensure that you email the hotel in advance to request a room in the main hotel side even if the noise levels are higher.

Sporting activities and other general activities during the day are great and children are very well catered for. The Entertainment team are great at motivating people. We did find one of the team to be way over the top with 'campness' and sometimes went a bit too far with the suggestive content whilst children were around - fun for the first couple of days - but too much after that.

A big PLUS for this hotel is the evening entertainment (with the same team who run the day activities). For an amateur entertainment programme every day was truly an eye-opener. Lots of laughs and smiles, great content and a breath of fresh air. The little short guy was so funny - a Norman Wisdom in the making. This side of the ClubHotel experience is SO VERY MUCH BETTER than the 'Palace' RIU offering which is mega poor.

Food was generally good even if a bit similar on most days. The main buffet restaurant was often packed but manageable, and all nationalities generally got on well without the usual pushy and rude problems from certain nations. We also experienced the Mexican and Asian restaurants and generally good, making a very nice change from the buffet side. Didn't do the Canarian restaurant as we have done this elsewhere and fish etc is not our thing. You MUST book well in advance at the reception for the days you wish to go to the speciality restaurants however.

The 'all inclusive' nature of the drinks ws also very good. Plenty of soft drinks, coffee, wine and a 'not too strong' beer on tap plus very generous measures of alcohol from the bar (vermouth four times the standard measure of the UK at least). The cocktails were popular but MEGA sweet so not for us. There is one major problem with this hotel however on the all inclusive nature of the drinks. if you are based in the noisier 'reception' side of the hotel you can get drinks very late and very early. If you are in the quiet side of the hotel you are left to the free bottles of water you get from reception. They do really need at least a soft drinks machine/coffee machine on level two of the quiet side (in the old Palace reception area) so guests over there are not short changed.

The Director of the hotel plus his team had to deal with some very stupid 'Brits and Irish' during our visit with regard to the standard RIU policy of LONG TROUSERS for men for the evening meal in the restaurants. Half way through our stay they tried to enforce this policy with some strength and some stupid people really did kick off and demonstrated some very immature attitudes. Being frequent RIU visitors this is very much a standard requirement and whilst in another country, just respect the requirement (it was also highlighted in the room's book of conditions of the hotel and also on our Thomson paperwork so there was no justification for complaints and tantrams). The only thing we will say about the whole policy is that whilst the long trousers policy is fine with us, maybe the management should also look at some of the ladies dress. A few of the idiotic complainers started to get their lady partners to turn up in shorter than shorts to prove a point. For balance maybe have a policy for the ladies too. But hey, it was actually a laugh as these people tried to prove a point but failed miserably and should be truly ashamed of themselves and most of the ladies were too large for the very short shorts anyway so just looked plain stupid.

Check out was simple. Our advice would be NOT to extend the room for an additional 45 Euros if you have a late flight back. Just try and extend your room check out time to 1pm Free of Charge and then book a Courtesy Room for a shower and freshen up a couple of hours before your transfer to the airport. Book this Courtesy Room at least two days before departure. You then do not have to find any more money.

One major dislike - the sun beds around the two pool areas are way too close together. Cattle herded would be an apt description and once again you get the mindless idiots laying towels out at 6 in the morning to get their chosen location. RIU enforce your own poilicies please (as with the long trousers) and stop the towel booking. We would not join in for the early morning 'must have that sun bed at all costs' attitude of some guests and nationalities so went to the lovely beach just over the road from the back gate and had space and time to relax.

This is a very good hotel with plenty to do, plenty of food and drink and very nice staff. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. We possibly will not go back however to Lanzarote for a while as we have now seen the whole island in the two weeks and done all the sights so not much else to do. Laying by a pool all day is for some but not for us. GO FOR IT THOUGH you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you have no walking difficulties or disabilities definitely get a room in the quieter side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank creativeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    1,245
    505
    124
    75
See reviews for
1,006
1,918
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our third visit to this Hotel, and we continue to be impressed with the high quality and friendliness of the staff.

The Hotel rooms are of a traditional design with high quality fittings and furnishing. The only improvement which could be made would be the inclusion of tea making facilities. The maid service is of a high quality along with the general high standard of cleanliness.

Bar service is speedy efficient with a good selection of AI drinks.

The main restaurant is busy, but you can always find a table. Tables are relaid after use with a change of table cloth on all occasions. In common with most AI hotels some of the meat cuts tend to be the cheaper variety, although in most parts acceptable. Food variety tends to be good.

All in all a Hotel I would recommend and would be happy to return to. ,

Room Tip: This is a large hotel with a long walk to rooms situated in the old Palace Hotel, if this is a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we have just returned from a weeks holiday on the 7th oct I emailed them a week or so before to ask for a low level room and extra pillows we were given what we asked for and got room 163 which was very spacious and lovely we enjoyed the food and the staff were very nice and polite my only thing I would of liked was a tea tray to make an early morning cuppa but should have took my travel kettle really but apart from that I cannot fault this hotel lovely cocktails and good watchable entertainment very clean also

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieq00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a one week stay, a group of 6 of us. Check in at the hotel was easy, we were sent straight to the restaurant as we had arrived late and they didn't want us to miss dinner. Food was lovely and a good selection, usual Riu standard. We were pleased to find the self service drinks, beer, wine and soft drinks, which meant the bar was usually quiet and you were served quickly. Highly recommend the cava. Service was excellent, as previous reviews state, the staff work very hard and are always smiling. We loved the daily aqua gym, not like other hotels, it was very entertaining and always came away laughing; Especially when Pepe took the class! We stayed on the old side and we were very pleased with our sea view and huge balcony. We didn't use the bridge, we found the garden route quicker, but we're talking a couple of minutes walk not miles like other people have said. There is plenty to do outside the resort, bars and shops within walking distance. Tried both the Asian and Mexican restaurants, both very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Twinkle071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner spent 10 nights here in September. The hotel was clean and so was our room. We requested a high floor in the main building and these requests were granted. The food was good and staff friendly but the tables in the dining room are too close together and you feel you are sitting on the table next to you. Good location right on beach, and a 15 - 20 minute walk and there are plenty of bars/restaurants. Our main complaint is that on our last day we had a late flight but was told we could not have a late check out room, this meant we had no where to store our bags as the luggage room was full, so our luggage had to be left in the reception area. Also 30 minutes in a curtesy room is only just enough time for a couple to get sorted, I have no idea how a family would cope. Overall we had a lovely holiday and felt relaxed which is always our aim whilst away, but as others have stated it hasn't been as good as the previous platinum hotels I have been too and some sun beds were reserved and not used all day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is the third time in the past 6 years we have stayed here and would not hesitate to go back.
Checking in was well organised.We were given the key and walked over bridge to the old part.It takes aprox 5 min to walk over so anyone who finds it too far, could probably do with the exercise.You can also walk through the gardens.
We had a sea view which was nice.plenty space for clothes and spotlessly clean.Small fridge,you get bottled water at reception as often as you like.It is no hardship to get it and put in fridge yourself. I aways take my travel kettle and borrow the hotel's cups and little teapot for the week.
Plenty food to choose from so theres always something you like so you wont go hungry.

Went to the Asian twice but didnt fancy anything on the menu for the other two.
Wine,beer and branded soft drinks,help yourself to them.Go to bar for spirits and cocktails etc.
Our room was near the quiet pool which has a swim up bar.you had to wait sometimes on the bar person being there as they also colected glasses and more stock.

As a cat lover I was pleased to see abt 10 well fed cats.all in their own little area.One of them a ginger tom who was near the quite pool seemed to have a sore eye.I did mention at reception and they said they get checked every month or so.Hopefully it has been seen to.

Asked for extra pillows,they were there within the hour.All staff are friendy.

Walked into the old town took1hr 10min.Got a taxi back 4euro.
ltr of Smirnoff in plastic bottle 9-95euro...cheaper than duty free.
Entertainment was good,cried with laughter at some of it,the team do a great job.
Did go to the disco for a look one night,we were the only two in,then a few others came in.wasnt impressed with the choice of music so left.

First choice reps were always there if you needed help or advice.
A few selfish people at some of the hotel pickups on the way back to airport,didnt bother to tell rep they were getting a taxi.We had to go to three hotels where nobody was there.

I will go back to this hotel but not next year.Will try another RIU as I cannot fault them.

Room Tip: 1079 is near quiet pool and has a sea view.It is away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidMurron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Spent 11 nights here with my wife, and we have no complaints. Hotel was immaculate and clean, lots of greenery and staff cleaning all around. Room was spacious and modern, just lacked a kettle. Entertainment was OK, and booze was standard all inclusive fare. Food was OK, nice themed restaurants, and snack bars were really good during the day. Staff were very helpful... We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dava-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#21 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
516 reviews
8.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing