We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Booked a week here with the girlfriend for our first holiday together. We weren't disappointed! Firstly the staff are fantastic, they can never do enough for you! We found the buffet food to be fine. Yes it can be a bit samey but what do you expect when they have to cater for so many different people! We highly recommend the Mexican and Asian restaurants but do book early as they get booked up quickly. The room was excellent, I emailed the hotel before and asked if we could have a sea view and an upgraded room if they were available as we were celebrating our anniversary. Not only did they give us a great room but also a complimentary bottle of champagne! The hotel was very clean and loads to do! We were by the quieter pool which was good as it had a bar in! Ignore comments about the bridge - it's absolutely fine!

The entertainment was quite funny and they put a lot of effort into it!

To top off an amazing holiday the girlfriend decided to leave her cherished teddy bear behind. I phoned the hotel when we were back and they found it and even posted it back free of charge even when I offered to pay they refused! I highly recommend this holiday! You will have a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drumdude666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,612)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,716 - 1,722 of 3,612 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this resort. I traveled with family including teenage children.
We thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We stayed in the newer part of the Hotel and found the rooms very nice, nothing fancy but was exactly all that was needed, spacious, clean and tidy.
We spent every day at the quieter pool with the swim up bar, this was lovely. Always very clean and the swim up bar was perfect. We did not find the walk between the 2 hotels a problem at all. It takes all of a few minutes. I would say the walk via the gardens is definately more pleasant than the bridge not to mention quicker. If anything we liked the walk as it was a chance to walk off all the food and alcohol !
The food was very good a wide selection and always very tasty. The buffet was very busy during peak times but we were happier to wait until 8.30 ish at night and then it was fine. I'm astounded that others have commented regarding the variety as we found this to be very good and I cant really imagine what else they could offer !! We went to all 3 restaurants and again found them all very nice.
The entertainment staff work extremely hard and there are activities all day should you want them. We preferred the quieter pool away from this but we did partake int he Riffle shooting and Salsa dancing with was enjoyable.
All the staff were very friendly and always happy to help.
All in all we loved it and if you are looking for a reasonably priced holiday that has everything from just laying around the pool or playing sports, dancing, shooting, water aerobics and numerous other activities I would most definately recommend this.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet lazy holiday the old part of the hotel is ideal and the pool is much quieter. If...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindsayKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay here at the Riu hotel. Travelled from 29th August and landed home at 4am Monday the 9th September as a couple.

You don't need transfers from the airport it's only 10 minutes in a taxi and 12 euros. So much easier than travelling on a coach and dropping off everyone which takes too long when you just want get to your hotel.

Our first impressions were really good, we pulled up in a taxi and a lovely man came rushing to our side and collected our suitcases off us. Check in was really quick and easy. We were issued our keys ect and off we went. The gentleman brought our suitcases to our room within 10 minutes.
We had a bottle of champayne waiting in our room with a note to wish us happy anniversary.
Well the view from our balcony was just what we wanted. A fabulous sea view. Better than any pool view. If you want a fab view than ask for number 355 by emailing the hotel prior to your holiday.

The room was lovely and very clean. It was cleaned every day whilst we were there. The beds well not so good. Didn't have much sleep for the 10 nights we were there. These are one of the things that let the hotel down.

Food was really good. The Mexican and Canarian restaurants were also very good. The drink were also very good. Cava served all day. The cocktails were also a let down. Pre mixed full of sugar and not much alcohol.

The entertainment we didn't see much off and looked more for children.

The pools were great. Warm enough for us. Plenty if sun beds, never had a problem getting one.

This was our first stay in a riu and considering its a 4 star there are some little errors that need addressing. Cocktails, beds, bad hair dryers, and couldn't keep your room longer at check out. Making your last day if a late flight a very long one.

If your looking for a quiet hotel and holiday this is not for you. Lots of children, even out of school holidays.

We loved our holiday and this is a good hotel. But the next hotel will be adults only. Far too many children.

Lanzarote is beautiful and this was our second stay here. But will be our last. More places to visit.
Playa blanca is stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for room 355 if you want a great view. And it's a lovely quiet room. No noise at all to keep...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sknightblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Overall I thought it was ok, for the price we paid I would of expected more. Nothing special really. Staff were nice an friendly, mexican was nice, canarian not so nice, asian was ok. Mealtimes very overcrowded and tables very close together main restaurant was not great to be honest the choice wasn't amazing (just my opinion). Cocktails were pre mixed and to be honest didnt taste like there was any alcohol in them, we were drinking quite a lot throughout the day and we were not affected in the slightest. Not that I wanted to get blind drunk but merry maybe. I felt the alcohol was watered down. Lanzarote is lovely though, wouldn't stay here again as we like to try different hotels.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main hotel, we emailed in advance and requested it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa221987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at Club Hotel Riu Parasio from 29th August- 5th September 2013 as a young couple. It was a fantastic holiday. Upon arrival in Lanzarote the transfer was only about 10 minutes to the hotel. You then que at reception hand in passport and go for a meal so they can organise everyones details. Our room was located in the quieter side of the hotel- across the wooden bridge. This bridge really isnt very long at all, cant beleive that people are making such a fuss about it on here. It is much quieter in this side of the hotel as it is away from the resturants and entertainment. I much prefered it and even emailed the hotel before we went away to request this side of the hotel. The room as very nice, two single beds instead of a double and not very comfy but bearable. Room did look a bit dated but it was perfectly fine. Air conditioning worked well, fridge was of a fair size, balcony was lovely and the bathroom was good.

Food- spoilt for choice! Breakfast- bread, rolls, pancakes, omeletes, bacon, scrambled and fried eggs, cereals, fruits, ham, cheese, salad, smoothies, cakes, biscuits.
Lunch- Bread, salad, cheese, ham, chips, burgers, pasta, pizza, vegetables, potatos, deserts. There is also lunch/snacks avaiable in pool bar at quieter side of hotel, this is lovely if you are over this side of hotel at time.
Dinner- Vegetables, chicken, beef, potatos, chips, salad, bread. All in so many forms and choices. Deserts were impressive, ice cream, cakes, tarts all very yummy!
We also went to the mexican and asian resturant on site we booked these the first day of being there to avoid them booking up. The mexican was better i think but i do prefer that sort of food. Lovely choice again here, and all resturant staff were very helpful and cheerful.

The pools- We didnt use the pool on the main side of hotel as we were so close to the quieter pool with the swim up bar. Never had any trouble getting 2 sunbeds next to each other, swim up bar was great when there was someone serving. Lovely clean pool area, lots of quite sun bathing spots if you prefer to read or sleep. Theres about 4 or 5 cats we saw at the hotel, they are very cute and a few will lay on sunbeds.

Area- Puerto Del carmen is a short bus ride away from the costa mar bus stop just outside the back gate of hotel on left. 2.70 euros for 2 people each way. If you get off at the biosphere shopping centre about 10 minute journey away, then do all the shops from there and walk back in direction of hotel then you will have done the whole strip in around an hour. Good shops, cheap selling many holiday seuvioners. Beach is lovely along the front here aswell, windy and the sand gets everywhere. We took a snorkel and bread rolls from breakfast into the sea and saw tons of fish which was lovely. we went in two resturants down at carmen, which were Catinas mexican, and Wok asian buffett. Both absoultely lovely!

Excrusions- We booked all these through Thompson, due to thier good reputation with excrusions. We done a sumbarine safari which was good, but im not so good with enclosed spaces. Saw plenty of fish and ship wrecks. We done the Costa Teguise Sunday morning market- good plenty of stalls where you can barter prices. Costa Teguise water park- fun day out plenty of slides to do to keep you busy all day, many life gaurds. Dinner El Diablo- Dinner on top of the valcanos, where it is cooked from the heat of the valcano. We saw many experiments from the heat of the valcano also. Amazing picture oppertunity up here, defiantly go on the evening form of this trip. Only downside was as the resturant is glass, it gets so heated from the sun all day which makes it near enough un bearable to eat your dinner in there without being Boiling! Catlanza Boat trip- We done the premium version where children are not allowed on board. Its a good day out, lunch and un limited drinks included. The boat stops for a while allowing you to use thier jet ski, snorkel, swim in the sea. Bit crowded on board, maybe they should not take as many at a time as i felt i couldnt move around as much as i wanted too. apart from that the crew are so funny and will help with anything!

All staff we met at hotel- recpetion, bar, restuarnt, cleaners and gardeners are all very polite and always say ola as you pass. Makes all the difference. Hotel is so clean they are always cleaning everywhere.
Tip: Fags and alchohol are so cheap in Puerto del carmen- buy these here and pack i suitcase to bring home insetad of customs. Take Lilos to use in pool.

Id defiantly go again, lovely hotel and holiday!

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet the email hotel before hand requesting older side of hotel across bridge.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here from 29.08.2013 to 04.09.2013, booked with Thomsons at the cheapest price the holiday was ever shown at and I was grateful for that. The price soared to over £800 after I booked it and I am afraid that if I hadn't have paid just over £500, I would have been asking for a refund.

The hotel is very over-crowded at meal times and in the evening as it is two hotels which have been made into one with three blocks of rooms but all of the entertainment and restaurants are in the newer block of the hotel. It was very difficult to get a seat outside in the evenings due to the fact that the older block of the hotel was deserted which is a shame as there is plenty of room for another bar in the disused reception area of the older block.

Food was very repetative - VERY in fact...the same starters were out on four consecutive meal times (2 lunch, 2 dinner sittings). The staff are lovely - apart from one who is very rude, but I do not think it appropriate to name people in a review but I would love to as he is so very, very rude to guests.

The cleaners in this hotel are fantastic and leave the place spotless.

All-in-all, the weather was fantastic and Lanzarote itself is beautiful and we will go back but not to this hotel. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank windsor988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Have just come back from a week at the Riu Paraiso. Am only really writing the review to mention the booking in system as it was a little unusual. We arrived and spoke to Natascha on reception, who was incredibly lovely and helpful. However, she took our passports and asked us to go downstairs to the restuarant. She said have some lunch and come back in a while and she would have sorted out our room. I thought it a bit odd and a lot of the people who arrived with us got an instantly bad impression of the hotel as they assumed the rooms were not ready. I think the hotel were trying to be helpful to save us hanging about in a queue, but it just seemed to unsettle everyone.
As for the rest of the hotel, there are two pools, one is by the main restuarant is really busy and noisy. There is another that can be accessed via a bridge or by walking through the grounds and is much quieter. There is a small conservatory that doubles as a pool bar. Food is ok, but terribly repetitive. There are burgers, hot dogs, chips, pasta, pizza and salad. Since I generally try to avoid burgers and hot dogs after 2 or 3 days it was a bit boring. Main restaurant a bit more varied and staff helpful and polite, but not overly so. You get the impression that they are there to do a job (which is fine), but no one really seemed to be going out of their way to make extra effort.
I will agree with everyone else that the place is spotless, we are usually up quite early and saw the army of cleaners furiously mopping and dusting before most people were about.
I would normally bother to mention the entertainment team, but one of the lads, possibly the senior one, is brilliant. I don't have any kids, but it was obvious even to me that he had everyone of them eating out of his hand. He did really look to be enjoying himself, taking a real interest and trying really hard to entertain the children. It would be great if we all loved our jobs that much!
So in summary, it was ok for a week, especially as the weather was fantastic, but I won't be rushing back. Mainly due to the hotel as it doesn't compare well to some other Rius I have stayed at. Partly as well due to the airport, possibly the most badly organised place I have ever had the misfortune to go to!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juliebedford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,808 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,714 reviews
12.0 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $178 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing