We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of any negatives for this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Can't think of any negatives for this hotel!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Where to start?! This hotel has everything. Lovely pools, super hard-working staff, activities and entertainment galore, across the road from a stunning beach, all inclusive food and drink etc!

Just returned from a week there (stayed end of July/beginning of Aug) and had a lovely time. The majority of the guests are families but we were two young ladies in our 20s and there weren't many others like us, didn't matter though! Guests are mainly English and German with some Spanish and French among others.

The hotel from what I understand used to be two separate complexes that have now been merged into one. We were fortunate enough to have a room in the main building close to reception and all the restaurants and we didn't email in advance or request anything specific. We wandered over to the other building (it's not far!!) and found it to be very nice but as far as I could work out there are no restaurants on that side so it's just bedrooms and two pools so at night it was really quiet as it was away from all the entertainment. It does have a swim up pool bar though!!

In the main building, rooms are large and very comfy although the beds are a little hard. Rooms have a free safe and fridge, a few toiletries, bath and shower, tv and a good sized balcony. Also plenty of decent coat hangers, not the ones that you can't take out of the wardrobe properly!! Reception give you a big bottle of water per person on check in and you can ask for more whenever you want.

The pools are very pleasant. Don't bother taking towels as they have a towel system and you can exchange your used towels for fresh ones every morning. You can take them to the beach too.

The beach is across the road, it is beautiful!! Also strangely quiet considering it is peak season! (in fact we found the whole area almost like a ghost town although the hotel was full - it seems the increase of All Inclusive is to blame). The sea is warm and shallow for a long way, soft sand underfoot and fun waves - great for kids - felt very safe. The sunbeds are back too!

There is a constant breeze, sometimes gales! You have to tuck your towels into your sunbeds or they'll be in the pool! Plenty of sunbeds although if you want a particular spot I'd advise you to be out around 8am to reserve them. Maintenance staff work so hard and were always cleaning around the pool and terraces. In fact all the staff were incredible, from the restaurant and bar staff to the animation team and reception.

Food is delicious, SO much choice. It's AI, don't expect it to be michelin starred but it's tasty and although the selection was very similar each meal time there was always plenty of choice. I defy anyone to go hungry here and in fact a strict diet is probably what is needed when you get home! The main restaurant is huge so always noisy and busy but you can choose where you sit so you can escape to the edges if you want. There is also the Asian and Mexican/Canarian restaurants which you can reserve at reception for no extra cost. Make sure you go, they are even more delicious than the main restaurant and all of them are self-service buffets. You can help yourself to drinks at anytime - coke, fanta, sprite, water, wine, beer, tea and coffee and juice on tap, plus further alcoholic drinks available at the bar.

Entertainment team were brilliant, they have a really tough job working probably about 15 hours a day for little money but they always had endless energy and enthusiasm. They ran multiple activities in the daytime - aqua aerobics, rifle shooting, bingo, football, water polo, volleyball etc and then most nights they provided the show. We only saw one that wasn't great. The nightclub was a bit of a fail as nobody seemed to go!

There are a few shops and restaurants within walking distance but nightlife is limited, even in Puerto Del Carmen we found it to be quiet so not great for younger people.

I would say this is the perfect place for chilling out and if you don't feel the need to leave the complex or venture very far, but then there isn't a great deal to see on Lanzarote so you're not missing that much if you do stay on site. We visited the Aqua Park in Costa Teguise which was a fun day (I will do a separate review on this) but we didn't find there was much else to do which is why I wouldn't necessarily recommend this place to younger people or those who like things to do. However it is a stunning location - the beach is HUGE and unspoilt and the transfer from the airport takes about 15 mins so you can't complain. The harbour in the old town of Puerto Del Carmen is worth a visit for a bit more life. Overall a great week!!

Have a lovely time if you're going!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the 'main building' (the one by reception) and don't sleep with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BristolShortcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    1,273
    520
    129
    79
See reviews for
1,046
1,956
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was really nice and very clean. Only downside was the food. Very similar each night and day. The cocktails were very basic but overall would stay there agian. Staff were very helpful. Is a large hotel so can be quite a walk to the main activities if you are on the far side. Pool area very clean. Great holiday

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed 18/7/13-25/7/13

Travelled with Thomson/First Choice and due credit must go to the airport check-in staff as it's the fastest check-in we've ever experienced (both ways) and flights were trouble-free.

Sadly that's about all which was trouble-free.

The Thomson/FC rep at the airport took ages to find out what bus we were on and it was a long trek out to the edge of the bus park when we did find out. Spent another 30 minutes waiting for the rep to turn up before the driver could leave. They clearly couldn't cope that day.

Arrived at hotel around 1.5 hours after we'd collected baggage at airport to find that our rooms weren't ready. Told to go get a drink and come back in 30 minutes to find that only one room was ready, so we said we'd take that one now. This was the first trek across the bridge and immediately found the aircon switch was jammed and non-functional. Back to reception who sent over a maintenance guy to fix it. After another 30 minutes the other room was ready. By this time it had taken almost as long to get from the airport to the rooms as it had taken to fly from East Midlands!

Now this is a good point to address "the bridge". If you are located on the "old side" of the hotel then you'll be crossing this bridge a lot. From the main restaurant to the first room across the bridge is 200m each way. To our room it was 350m. I got so stunningly bored with this walk that I counted my paces once, so it's not exact :), but it works out at about 2km/day to get all meals from the main restaurant, which I feel is more than pushing the limits of acceptability.

Also, the bridge is pretty slippery when even lightly wet due to the gloss varnish used on the wooden planks. I bruised my toe badly when I slipped but flip-flops and me aren't usual anyway so I take partial blame for that.

One of the plus points of the walk (if you have to go that far) is the gorgeous old reception area, which sadly is unused for anything other than a few dilapidated coin-op computer units, and a (mainly Dutch) library which is really just a bookcase. The area is like an abandonded hotel at night, adding to the feeling of neglect and decline which sums up this entire hotel.

The rooms are dated to say the least (our TV came from the late 1980s). The beds roll across the floor. The bathroom has an unlit bath/shower built into a cubby-hole in the wall.

There is no active air extraction in the bathroom so shaving after a shower means wiping the mirror every 10 seconds or shaving blind. There is a passive air extraction system above the toilet, however ours fell off the wall and despite attempting to get it fixed, we left it stuck to the wall with sticky plasters (see photos), as every time you flushed the toilet it fell on your head. It never got fixed and the "manager" was only available for complaints in the evening when people want to eat/etc.

The balcony view was black volcanic gravel, peeling plaster and a large mobile phone mast (sadly not the right mast for any of our phones).

The hotel gym is OK, but a bit small for the number of guests, and can get busy in the early evening. It has one treadmill, which broke down on our third day and was still out of order when we left.

Now on to the food/drink.

The salads are decent and the selection of fruits at times is superb.

The "hot" food is appalling, whether it's from the snack bars or the main restaurant.

The chips are being cooked at too low a temperature, resulting in them absorbing obscene amounts of fat/oil, making them soggy and taste of nothing other than fat/oil. This wouldn't be such an issue if the menu from noon until night wasn't so dependent on chips, but it is. The burgers, sausages and especially pizza are made for German tastes so you may or may not be happy with that for daytime snacks.

The main restaurant/kitchen cannot cope with the number of guests at any time other than lunchtime, and sometimes not even then. The tables are separated by a tiny space and cutlery isn't set out for breakfast, or sometimes lunch. If you're lucky you may get a cloth napkin but don't bet on it.

The meat is all the cheapest cuts - in the case of the "chicken" I couldn't even identify the cut (and I was a chef), the same fried (belly/shoulder) pork will reappear night after night until SOMEONE eats it and nothing is even hot to the touch, never mind hot in your mouth. However for the full horror of the restaurant then you HAVE to take a look at the fried eggs at breakfast. They don't even bother cooking the egg white fully before putting it on an unheated plate, waiting for the next unsuspecting idiot to eat it.

If you served partially cooked food at these temperatures in the UK then you wouldn't just be closed down, you'd be prosecuted and rightly so.

The only time that you have a chance of anything hot is if you hurry through the main restaurant doors as they open at 6:30pm - and that is what a lot of people do.

Having said that my wife found no problems with the salad/cold meat/fish side of things and the Wednesday lunchtime poolside paella was done with decent ingredients and some skill, so the "chefs" clearly can cook properly when they want to/are permitted to.

There's also a good selection of cakes and ice cream for desserts.

It has to be said however that the food/menus are done with Germans in mind. An example is the huge variety of cold meats/breads at breakfast which then disappear at lunchtime because the staff think people only eat this in the morning and maybe at night. Most UK people I spoke to/heard would have loved the choice of that at lunchtime, rather than a straight choice between salad or saturated fat which is the current lunchtime menu.

The bars are mediocre at best - you obviously don't expect premium brands on an all-inclusive but the beer and wine are the cheapest possible (Cruzcampo beer is really bad).

I first worked in the hospitality industry as a galley boy (yes really) then commis and so on 30+ years ago so I normally make a point of ensuring various neglected staff departments get direct tips - like kitchen staff.

On this occasion the only people deserving a tip are housekeeping staff (maids/etc), and our thanks go to the maid who cleaned room 2292 and left us daily sculptures (swan/etc) made from our spare beach towel, they did make us smile. Not much else did in this hotel :(

By UK standards this is a two star hotel with pool facilities.

We won't be using a RIU hotel again based on our experiences. Other RIU hotels may be better but why take the chance?

Top tip, go somewhere else.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My partner and I travelled with Thomson holidays to this hotel for a week in July. The location of the hotel is really good, just across the road from the beach - the beach was very nice, however, there were no sunbeds for hire. The hotel itself was fabulous - everything from the staff to the food was top notch. We had no problems getting a sunbed in the morning - this being at about 8am. The drinks in the hotel are on a self service basis which was us was great - no queues - if you wanted a cocktail, there was a cocktail bar, but again this was great - no queues.

We e-mailed the hotel prior to travelling to request that we got a room in the main complex with a sea view and not in the older complex - the hotel is two hotels which has become one - we did have a look at the older hotel, and felt lucky that we were in the main one - the older hotel is quite old fashioned and dated, however, it's a lot quieter which will obviously suit some people - we were in room 323 which was on the top floor and perfect overlooking the pool and the sea. The room was cleaned everyday to a high standard, clean towels, etc. Towels are provided at the pool side which is great... The room had a fridge and a safe which was free of charge.

This was our first stay in a RIU hotel, and we both loved it - we would love to return next year, however, only if we could be guaranteed a room in the main complex.

Room Tip: E-mail the hotel in advance and request a room in the main complex... our request was granted..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark3461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice but the facilities are somewhat stretched in busy periods. Could do with another buffet restaurant and bar on the other side of the hotel.
Staff are very friendly and always helpful.
For a mid 20s couple there is not a lot to do in the area so would not visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCTEColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived early so could not check in but we were given our wrist bands so could use the facilities, so we had a spot of lunch and a walk around the complex, which was fab. When we did check in we were told that we were would be upgraded to a lovely suite, which had 2 bathrooms, living room and two balconies, what more could we ask for. Very very clean, housekeeping arrived every morning, changed towels etc, fabulous. The recliner sunbeds by the pool were always reseved in the morning, so my husband said if you can't beat them join them and went down every morning around 7am to reserve our sunbeds, and we went outside of peak season!!!, This used to be 2 hotels so there are two big pool areas which was fab, good job we had the room closest to the bar pool. Food!! We thought it was fantastic, breakfast, lunch and dinner was superb, fresh produce and a lot of choice, very nice. We also had one night in a themed restaurant, Mexican, which was fabulous, totally enjoyed. The staff were absolutely fantastic. The enterainment was brilliant, the team worked really hard and delivered every night, the visiting acts were also fabulous, however you had to get into the function room early to get a good seat because of the pillars in the room, we sussed this earlier in the week so got in earlier to save seats. Overall, our holiday was fantastic, no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice room in main building overlooking pool. We were close to reception and bar areas. food was good, but always a long queue and therefore not hot enough once we got it to our table.
Entertainment generally very good. Very clean hotel. Only downside was courtesy room. We had to wait for it, then there were no towels there. Because of the delay, we almost missed our transfer to the airport! Theme restaurants excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing