We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two hotels of people in limited restaurant facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went here at end of May 2013 and expected it to be a large complex as it was two hotels combined into one. The pools were adequate for each hotel but we were based over a very long bridge and this part of the hotel had very limited facilities. There was only one very busy main restaurant as people from both hotels had to squeeze in and space was cramped. This meant the whole area was in a constant state of panic with people looking for tables and staff trying to clear things and make space. It was not relaxing at any meal to eat in this restaurant. The food is fine and there is a good variety and the staff are very efficient but is was like a very busy McDonalds. The two a la carte places were better because at least you had a table reserved but joining queues to get food was not expected at a relatively quiet part of the season. We went to the Mexican and had to queue for 15 mins to get to the food for main course - only to be told they had run out of meat so it would be another 20 mins or so - so we left and went to the main restaurant and jsut managed to squeeze in. This just an example of how busy the places are and sometimes it just gets out of control. Each hotel should really have its own facilities.
On the positive side the pools were clean and well maintained - as were all the gardens. The swim-up bar was nice and the staff were very friendly with their service so that was nice. It was easy to exit the hotel to get to the beach area and there were some nice walks to have in either direction with good views of the beach. However with the usual strong wind blowing there were very few people who actually went on the beach and were brave enough to swim in the sea.
Just 10 or 15 mins walk along the prom and there are some nice restaurants and bars if needed and all seemed very quiet all day long.
The rooms in the hotel are very dated and quite small - and the bathroom even smaller so fortunately we spent most time outside. The beds in the room were not very comfortable and the air-con wouldn't take the temp below 23 C so warm night if the patio door needed to be closed - as the strong wind made things difficult.
At 6pm each night all the facilities in our hotel section we were in closed - no bars for drinks or food available- even though there were some very nice rooms and space so this was very disappoining. We had to go over to the other hotel to even get a drink and most of the bar area was already taken up by people in that side of the hotel so again not very relaxing.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main part of the hotel as this is where all the facilities are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeGraham379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,911 - 1,917 of 3,774 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

boyfriend and I came here for our first holiday, were promptly seen to at reception and told we still had time to make dinner - perfect after a flight!
food was okay, not a huge vegetarian variety for myself but my boyfriend was happy to eat what was put infront of him, especially in the Mexican theme restaurant!
perfect location, right by the beach with plenty of shops and bars near by.
the 4 pools meant that we had plenty of space for lazing around if needed, perfect view since our room looked down onto one!

lovely stay, and would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty26607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

arrived late on 02/06/13 there were six of us in 2 rooms but only 5 beds told they could do nothing about it, so my daughter sleot with us. Went next day told them ihad wanted a family room wanted to charge me 36 euros per night extra and one wasnt available until middle of holiday. Didnt bother so my daughter slept with us for duration.
Worst to come was finding cockroaches in our rooms as we woke, my parents had 2 we had one about 2 to 3 inches long. Reported them to reception stated there was a problem on the island but not at hotel. I noted other rooms had same problem . That same day I saw a big roach calmly strolling through the snack area before it was leapt on by a member of staff and wisked away. On final day my mother found an insect cooked in the scrambled egg she had been eating, luckily it wasn't half an insect, though it still made her sick. I spoke with the rep who was as much use as a chocolate fireguard stating it was a worldwide problem. Clearly there is a problem at this hotel and it is no coincidence that our rooms were near to the restuarant.
A seperate issue is the pools if you have little kids be aware they drop off deeply quiet quickly and are 1.5 meteres deep at there shallowest so you need to keep a close watch on kids. The lifegaurd was none existant and was employed collecting glasses from the pool side. The entertainment at night was dire so i would recommend going out .

Room Tip: dont get one near restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 437mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are travelling with a tour operator forget the transfers and get a taxi outside the airport, it will cost you about £10 each way and take about 10 minutes.

Reception staff were fantastic, speedy and very friendly. Spoke several different languages. Especially Tania

Our room was in the second part of the hotel over looking the pool and had a great sea view. The rooms were dated but clean and had all the facilities required for an all inclusive holiday. Except tea and coffee facilities.

There were activities for all including riffle and pistol gun shooting, which take place everyday. We didn't see the evening entertainment but other people had been enjoying it during the week.

The hotel had two large pools and plenty of deck chairs. As with every holiday people insisted on reserving them with towels, this included luggage straps in some cases to hold them on. Made me laugh. Towels are provided during your stay.

The food was good, plenty of selection and the Mexican, Canarian and Asian made a nice change from the main restaurant. It is true what some other reviews say about the tables in the main restaurant being close together, we took advantage of this and made friends over breakfast and dinner.

All drinks were inclusive a a good selection of cocktails, but be aware they are not all alcoholic, however they will add shots to the non alcoholic ones..

The restaurants and bars outside the hotel are cheap. We were paying about £1.30 for a pint. The main shoppe and bars were about a 20 minute walk but plenty to do en route including crazy golf which cost about £2.50 for 18 holes.

FYI: towels are provided, safe in the room is free of charge with no deposit. Take high sun tan lotion factor as everyone seemed to burn faster than normal.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Welsh1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable two week stay at the hotel. It was an excellent location and suitable for the over 60's. Good selection of food and entertainment, it truly was all inclusive. We would highly recommend the Last Minute travel company, we suggest contacting Mark. We had a great trip to Fuertaventura and coach trip to Teguise. The trips were both excellent value for money and they were professional and well organised.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent would recommend to friends and family. Most definitely would go back. Very close to shops (spar)
Close to the beach via a gate.
Lots of entertainment and activities for everyone.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Very clean.
Mexican restaurant was excellent.
Food was good with lots to choose from but a lot of the same food every day.
Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at the Rui Paraiso with my wife for one week between the 25th and 1st of June.

Very nice hotel, apparently it's 2 hotels amalgamated in to 1 as of 2008 as we stayed in the annex (a walkway connects the two hotels & it's only a 2-3min walk from the annex to the reception / main pool area) which was nice and quiet at night being a few hundred metres from the main pool / entertainment area. Two hotels look very fresh interior & exterior-wise & spotless / clean. Location-wise it's great as the beach is right next to the resort & Puerto del Carmen is right up the road.

Quite a lot of young kids there though there's a Rui kids club in the hotel (similar to the old (?) Tiger club my parents used to dum...drop me in on holiday 20 years ago hahah) that keeps them well pre-occupied.

Not overly impressed paying for wifi at a 4* that only works in reception / pool area / lounge where the signal is a little erratic, though at least it's available should you wish to bring your smart phone, tablet or whatever.

Unfortunately it was fairly cloudy most of the week but can't fault Rui for that ;-) !

Upon request reception upgraded us from a room with 2 single beds to a double bed so a big plus immediately from us. Room comes with an easy to use free safe for storing valuables as well. Room cleaning / towel / bed sheet change offered daily as well as air con.

All staff we encountered very friendly always greeting us with a smile and a hello which is obviously pleasant.

Never a problem getting loungers by the pool even late in the morning though it isn't full season yet & the weather wasn't exactly optimal for sun bathing.

Food was of a decent quality - only complaint would be the chefs' struggle to mass cook sufficient quantities of meat / poultry / fish & cooked eggs in the morning (and yes sometimes it has been a bit under cooked) for the guests' & keep in mind the hotel wasn't even near max. capacity when we stayed. Staff waiting on the guests though fairly on the ball in providing you with an initial drink when you seat yourself at a table for your meal. You can acquire hot / cold food pretty much at any point during the day thanks to the snack bar with the usual burgers, rolls, fruit, chips, cold meats etc on offer.

Soft drinks, hot drinks, lager & wine self service which was excellent for mitigating queues at the bar (not that there really were any to be fair as bar staff worked diligently through out the evening, plus cocktails were pre-mixed to save time). Quite a reasonable AI drinks' package with the usual inclusion of local spirits, wines', lager & cocktails (plus soft and hot drinks).

If you exit the side gate at the main pool area and turn right you can walk towards Puerto Del Carmen which is host to a nice array of restaurants & bars (Bluebells bar is only 1'5km away with an excellent Indian restaurant adjacent to it, couple of nice evenings spent in the former :-)! ).

I'd definitely stay again, or rather come to Puerto del Carmen again & consider self catering as prices for restaurants / bars (2 Euros for a pint of Peroni or San Miguel or 8 Euros for a big cocktail jug in a lot of establishments) seem a lot more reasonable than a lot of other places I've been to.

Room Tip: Annex is good for quiet in the evenings as it's situated away from the main function room / loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GlasgowGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,966 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $168 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing