We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Holiday Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Holiday Overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our fourth visit to a Riu hotel and as usual standards were high, staff friendly and helpful and the animation team hardworking. Our room on the third floor of the main hotel was a bit small for 3 of us, but comfortable and always clean and for a change there was lots of space for all our clothes.

In general the food was good - always fresh, hot and plentiful but it did lack variety and it was pretty much the same lunchtime and evening and from night to night. Although the restaurant was always very busy you never had trouble finding a table. There are two other restaurants (booking required) - Asian (Chinese) and TexMex/Canarian - we tried both and were very good. Self service drinks were plentiful and bar service was good if you wanted a cocktail or a long drink.

We saw a couple of the evening shows which if you are not expecting too much you wont be disappointed. The animation team put on one called the Crazy Show which I must admit was hilarious.

There isn't much in Los Pocillos but Puerto del Carmen is only about 10 minutes walk away and worth a wander along the long stretch of shops.

Would definitely recommend getting a car and exploring as Lanzarote is a small island and very easy to get around. Timanfaya National Park, to see the volcanos, is definitely worth a visit but get there early as the queues build up quickly. If you like shopping try the Sunday market at Teguise which has endless stalls in its many winding streets. Also worth a visit is Rancho Texas which is a small Wild West style theme park. The parrot, sea lion and birds of prey shows are very good and there is a new splash park for the kids with a proper swimming pool and sunbeds. This is only a short distance from the hotel (about 15 mins walk) or a few Euros in a taxi.

Weather was very good - a bit cloudy a few days and chilly in the evenings but generally pleasantly warm during the day - around 25 degrees. The pool was freezing though - my daughter who is 9 usually spends all day in the pool but it was even too cold for her and she only went in once. There are loads of sunbeds and there was always plenty left even half way through the day - each side of the hotel has a pool and the annexe pool has a swim up bar.

Overall it was a good holiday.

Room Tip: E-mail hotel in advance with any special requests - they were able to meet all our requirements for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    1,214
    491
    121
    71
See reviews for
976
1,857
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean comfy rooms, beautifully maintained gardens & pool. Staff are attentive & a real asset. Although all inclusive buffet style restaurants the quality was very good & better than carribean equivalents.

We would recommend trying the Asian & Mexican restaurants much nicer than the oasis.

We travelled with two girls 15 & 17 & they found plenty of activities to keep themselves occupied!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manada64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely hotel. Outstanding food. Very good maid service. Good location. Very helpful reception staff. spotlessly clean in all areas. Heated pool a little chilly and bar staff could have been a little friendlier - hence the four stars and not five.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the time I saw this hotel in the brochure I fell in love with it and believe me I was not disappointed. Reception were helpful on arrival and thorugh my one week stay here. The hotel is the largest in Lanzarote and is divided into two blocks by a covered walkway - which I will not kid you is a good walk from one to the another. Tip go through the gardens it is not as boring. Food really good and cater for all tastes - Asian restaurant worth a visit as is the mexican if you like something hot.Shops come out of the back gate turn left local Spar about 5 mins - turn right 20mins walk to a variety of shops for all your nik naks etc (although the hotel does have a good shop and not too pricey) My tip again here is to buy your cigs for going home as they are a lot cheaper than duty free at airport.the beach is also across the road from the gate and is very clean and a nice kiddies playground as well. Rooms in hotel are spacious and pleant of hanging/drawer space. Another tip take your iron/ travel kettle/coffee/tea as you cannot get a cuppa till 8am, and I am not human till I get my morning coffee..so husband says. All in all this hotel was clean,quiet and is one that will definately see me back. Would highly recommend this one to my friends.......dont take my word for it - just have a look in the travel brochure.

Room Tip: if you like a sunny balcony then just ask...some of the rooms are quite in a shady area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NananneEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

28th March to 4th April
On arrival Riu Paraiso reception staff asked us to have a meal at restaurant to allow them time to check us in. After approx 30mins & a long walk over wooden bridge to our allocated room in other hotel complex we found our room clean but dated decor! and two single beds! or should i say camp beds! Not expected in a 4star and the price paid. 2nd we found & reported AC not working as weather was sunny and room very hot (just arrived from 0c in UK ) i was told maintenance would come round? still not working on our last day! Cost cutting I wonder?

Also found wifi in reception slow but working fine & free! as all our other visit to a Riu's have been But on day 4 we found wifi not working? Reception told me it was getting fixed? on day 5 everyone told no longer free but 5 euros for 24 hours? First Riu to charge for what other 4star hotels offer free ! wonder if this is rolling out in all Riu locations? like other travelers i I check if hotel has wifi before booking am ok with paying if known in advance!

Found food ok but tables to close! 100mm gap between couples (table for two?) *note* signs at each restaurant door have dress code? but some people just walked in from pool area tee shirts and shorts & where never stopped by staff or reminded of code? like other Riu's or other 4star hotels we have stopped in "what's this all about its just for one meal only not hard to change" found Asian & Mexican restaurants tables spaced right and worth the visits remember you must book up at reception its free but again dress code your told about is ignored by some? shame this brings down the Riu name and standards.

Otherwise this Riu hotels has good location next to long clean but windy beach with a walk or bus ride along the Av. las Playas to Puerto del Carmen area of more beaches, shops & bars etc.

Riu hotel Entertainment was good when animation team was involved ( hard working team 10am to 11pm 100% effort by all well done Riu on this team) but acts brought in not as good? * Note * "beyond swing" being worsted we have ever seen! early night advised!

Thompson rep Knowledge on island disappointing information booklets on trips Thompson offered there was none? Just booking form given? but info from Hotel reception we were told Lanzarote Uncovered a full day out was good and they are right"worth the Euros paid". Thompson holidays wants to standardize information given to customers (booklets with full information on all trips on offer and given at morning meeting on last holiday to Corfu ) we booked three trips Corfu but one Lanzarote "Thompson holidays loss £"

Would I go to Lanzarote again YES! to this Riu hotel NO! Had its good points but not up to other Riu Standards (was this due to cost cutting? Would we go with Thompson Holidays YES this maybe a one off?

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of March 2013. The service was excellent from all the staff from the cleaners to the waiters. The food was very nice and plentiful. Some have written that it didn't change but there is so much choice you couldn't fail to find something different every night. The drinks were self service so you could have as much as you wanted. There was Cava available from the bar and several shorts and cocktails. There were two very large swimming pools and ample sun beds for everyone. The entertainment wasn't up to much but it's not our scene.
The location is only a short walk from puerto del carmen so you can get anything you need.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstyt346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent a week at the ClubHotel Riu Paraiso. All we can say is that we had a wonderful holiday and could not fault the hotel, the staff, the food and the entertainment team. Our bedroom was at the first floor with views of the swimming pool and beach, the same level as the Reception, in the main hotel. All the staff were very polite and helpful, the food in both the buffet and speciality restaurants were varied, well cooked, hot and plentyful. The bedrooms were clean and spotless as were all the common areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a mattress topper and soft pillows as they were too firm for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#8 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#22 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing