We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Riu. We flew with Thompsons but booked with Thomas Cook.
On arrival at Lanzarote airport we were directed to the coaches for our quick transfer. I was surprised how far you had to walk and drag your cases to get to the coaches. I really think this is a big problem for the elderly and they should be told how far it is. We were lucky that on the Thomas Cook coach there was only about 10 of us so within a few mins we were off, but I think it could take some time if your coach is busy and you could be waiting for people to make there way up the long slope!
A taxi might be a better choice for some.
The transfer took about 10 mins with just one stop on the way.
Having stayed in Rius before but in the Carribean I was expecting high standards but have to say there was a difference in standards but still very good for the Canaries.
On checkin the receptionist was very polite, quick and gave us all the information needed. It was nice not to be told you had to pay for the safe and towels etc. Here it is all included which should be the same in all hotels!
I did e mail beforehand and requested a room in the club side and also booked the Asian restaurant for that evening as it was my husbands birthday. Both were honoured and even a "happy birthday " from the receptionist. Our room was on the top floor, floor 3 and with pool and sea view. The room was very clean with a fridge and good bathroom. You had the sun in the mornings on this side but if you prefer to sit on the balcony late afternoon then odd numbered rooms would be whats needed for the sun. We did hear noise from below where the pool tables are late at night but not too much of a problem but if you prefer to be in a very quiet area then I would suggest you ask for the palace side of the complex. The Riu is actually 2 hotels, Palace and club which they have combined and during the evenings both hotels use the club sides facilities. This to me is where the problems begin. Its only about 3 mins stroll over the bridge to each side of the hotels so not too much of a problem but if walking is a problem request the club side to be near all the main things. Its only a few mins walk through the gardens to each side and is a nice change to visit both. Both offer different qualities.
During the day both hotels have their own pools. The activities are all done in the club side. The palace pool has the swim up bar and own snack bar in a very nice area. The gym and spa is in the palace side. Both have a shop but for a paper that is only in the palace side.
But in the evenings all guests have to use the clubs buffet restaurant and there is 3 themed restaurants. The buffet restaurant can get far too busy and many tables are too close. Also you do not get served any drinks other than water from the staff. This just causes too many people walking around getting their own drinks and then getting the food. The layout is not the best and certain areas of the restaurant means a long walk to the desserts. Also I do not think you should have to get your own cutlery at breakfast and spoons at night. Very odd.
The food is good but not the best we have had in the canaries. The chefs who are cooking the food fresh seem to have too much to take care of and cant seem to keep up with the demand.
There was always something different to eat and you will never go hungry. The Asian and Mexican restaurants were excellent and made a nice change from the rush in the buffet. They are all buffet style too and the food is constantly being cooked and was very good. The restaurants were nice but needed some back ground music and different lighting to give it some ambience.
At lunch times you had the choice of a snack bar in each hotel and the main buffet restaurant.
All had such good choice and the ability to walk into the main restaurant and to eat outside is a popular choice. Once again though the man cooking in the snack bar did get a little behind and at times there was a wait until he caught up with the demand. I really think they could do with 2 cooking at these stations.
The drinks were self service for soft, beer etc with a bar for spirits and cocktails. Plenty of cava there in big ice buckets which was a popular choice. There was no premium brand drinks and no option to pay any extra for these.
The barman worked hard to clear your tables and take away glasses but you could not get waiter service anywhere which I think is a poor point in a 4 star hotel.
If your looking for a hotel where there is something going on all day for adults and children then this is the hotel for you. I have never been to hotel with such a hard working animation team. They were so friendly, fun and so hard working. The children of all ages were entertained in there own age group club and adult activities were well organised. The shows at night that the animation team put on were so good and more enjoyable then the pro shows we saw. Do think the entertainment room needs a good re furb and better seating.
Unfortunately because of the lay out of the hotel the bar area in the evenings can get very cold. Very open areas but they do use patio heaters. People were wrapped up in coats etc which seemed strange as the weather was so hot during the day.
To sum up this hotel, every member of staff from reception to the gardeners were so friendly and courteous. The hotel was spotless and well kept. The food and drink was very good. The entertainment and facilities were excellent. The hotel is in a nice position in Pocillos and good flat areas for walkers, runners and cyclists. To the right was PDC and the the left Matagordo which was lovely. The beaches were very good along the whole strip. We did have a look in all the big hotels along the whole front and have to say that the Riu was far superior to all of them towards PDC and had made a good choice.
Would return again if the price was right and it was out of school holidays.

Room Tip: Palace side for quiet, club for convienience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tjgfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,896 - 1,902 of 3,659 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just back from spending a week at the Riu Paraiso , the hotel itself is very nice, we were a bit early for check in so went for a drink and about half an hour later our room was ready.
The room we had was in what i think was an older building, which you had to croos a bridge to get to. This bridge is all wooden planks and could be a bit slippy ,nearly fell a couple of times myself, it's also quite a long walk depending where your room is located.
The room itself was clean but i found it really dated for a 4* resort of this calibre,The only problem i had was the hairdryer, it looked like it came from the 80's and took ages for my hair to dry, we never had a great view but the sun was in our balcony,which was big, all day.
Being an all inclusive resort meal times were very busy and food quite repetitive, the food was good and quite a good choice. We tried the Asian and Mexican restaurants and were quite disappointed especially the Asian which i read on hear was a must visit, but i found the meals very bland and not very tasty, tried chicken curry,sweet and sour pork which the meat was quite tough,and the curry, well no curry taste at all.The Mexican i found a bit better and tastier but again meat was quite tough.
The pool area's are good with plenty of beds and could get them no matter what time we went down, the only thing, and this is a personal thing, i like music at a pool and there was none so made it pretty boring for us but as i said it's a personal thing.
Never really went to entertainment at night, as it is set out like a theatre and not individual tables,just rows of seats with a table at one end, so some nights could'nt get a seat so just gave up.
At 11 o'clock the disco opens which was quite good to go, all different kinds of music and we had a few laughs in there and it's still part of your AI.
All in all we had a good first trip to Lanzarote and would go back, this hotel,well maybe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scoobydoo22167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Only ten minutes from the airport and therefore a transfer by taxi will not cost the earth and you will avoid the trek to the transfer park and gain a good hour on your holiday. A warm, friendly and efficient greeting and booking in process by reception staff. In the room and unpacked in minutes. A large reception area with plenty of seating and free wifi if you have your own equipment. We had a top floor room overlooking well maintained gardens and a view to the beach. Rooms spotlessly clean and spacious for two persons. Large bath with shower, small fridge, tv, free safe. Beds a little hard but ok. An extremely large complex that appears to be two complexes joined together. We spent most of the days near to the pool located furthest away from the main hotel area. Appeared to have more room to turn your sunned around. Free towel service. Food not the best and detracted me away from giving the hotel a higher rating. Plenty of food available all day but for some reason I could not warm to the lack of flavour. The cakes looked amazing but with little flavour. If you like fish then this is the place to go, unfortunately I do not. I booked the Asian restaurant at an early stage and the food was excellent and prepared by Chinese chefs. Hired pedal cycles from a cycle shop located a few hundred yards from the complex and had a great day out using the maze of cycle lanes. Cost 25 euros for two bikes for the day. Only a couple of cloudy days, the others were hot. Entertainment was reasonable, probably better than normal. All staff were polite and friendly. All bars were efficiently staffed and therefore waiting times was low. The cocktails and spirits were of a reasonable quality. Would I return. Yes. Rob and Jan

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank ferriby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel from 21.03.13 to 28.03.13.
I found the Hotel to be good value when ordered through Thompsons but more expensive when I tried to book direct with the Hotel and find my own flights.
The room was spacious enough for 2 with a good view over the pool and towards the sea.
The food was all good but falls just short of excellent because I have stayed at other hotels with more menu choices. We went to the 'OLD TOWN' on one night and paid for a 'fish platter' in one of the many restaurants there. But both wished we had stayed at the Hotel instead ,not only because we were 'all inclusive', but because the food was better there.
As mentioned in other reviews, the beds in the rooms are very hard. On top of that the pool sun beds are the most uncomfortable that I have encountered. So after maybe not sleeping to well overnight, don't expect to be able to 'catch up' round the pool. To expand on that, the head end on the sun beds neither goes fully upright or fully flat and cushions are not provided either. There were always plenty available though.
The location was fairly perfect with just a 10 minute walk to the start of Puerto Del Carmens' main strip.
There is a free wi-fi.
As for entertainment, we did not enjoy the evening shows. Also the place could do with another Bar, one with decent seats. Currently the pool overflow bar doubles as the night time bar but with patio heaters turned on to keep you warm in the exposed areas.
Over all though I am happy to recommend this Hotel to people looking for a good value sun holiday.

Room Tip: Send an E-mail in advance detailing your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quizereus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from the hotel on Sunday, we stayed here for a week. we checked into the hotel and after check in we were offered large bottles of water, you can get these from reception at anytime free of charge. We walked to our room which was across the bridge to the other side (keeping in mind that this use to be two hotel which is now one hotel) got to the room, large space in the room. fantastic pool view and we had the sun most of the day until it went down at night. room 3368. First impressions off the room i was a bit taken back because the room had carpet in it, not all rooms have carpets tiles in other rooms. there is two different pool areas, one pool with no entertainment at it and the other one had the daily animations programme. after the first day we got use to the walk to and from the room. (top tip if you have walking difficulties ensure that an email is sent to the hotel as its quite a bit to walk from one end to the other end. Drinks and food service was amazing in the hotel, yet again we could not fault the food, plenty to offer during the day and also at night, with the hotel you can book into the 3 restaurants free of charge, Reception staff advise you when you arrive, we only booked the day before for the Asain Restaurant, very nice meal we had the other two were Mexican and Spanish, The staff at the hotel never let us down fantastic service from RIU standards, Bar staff always chatting away to you, Entertainment team work very hard during the day and the shows at night were fantastic, however if you want a front seat for the show at night your going to have to get in early to the show lounge. Different performances every night. Location it will take you around 5 to 10 minutes to walk into Puerto Del Carmen, where you have many bars restaurants and shops, the hotel does have a back gate and you cross the road you have the beach front. if you like watching planes then you will see plenty flying over the sea on a daily basis, but if you want to be up and close then walk along the beach front towards the airport and you can watch them all day. Busy day Thursday and Sunday. Overall holiday was fantastic and could not fault the hotel in any way or form, this was the first time at the hotel and would go back again. Always use RIU hotels as you know there service all round is going to be best. Reception staff are very friendly and always happy to help, you want to get a taxi them will do this for you and also change money.

Room Tip: we had room 3368 nice view overlooking the pool and you get the sun here until it goes down, normall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed for a week in March, when we arrived the hotel looked clean and tidy. We had to wait 20 minutes to check in so had a look round the hotel. When we got to the room we was discovered that the beds where 2 singles rather than a double bed, the single beds where hard and looked like camp beds. We contacted reception to be told we could only have a double bed if we was in a suite. As we wasn't we made do but the beds we so uncomfortable we both had back and neck ache after 4 days only to be told you could have a mattress topper!
The food was average at best lots of fried food in the snack bar so avoid if you can. The restaurant which has very funny opening hours breakfast from 8.00 until 10.30 only. And then 13.00 until 15.00 then dinner 18.30 until 21.30. You have people sitting so close to you that you can see the whites of their eyes on the table next to you, best thing is to take a bag with you and put it on the table next to you then you have a bit of privacy for your meals.
You go to the pool and then they decide to start cleaning whilst you are trying to sunbathe, surely this could be done early in the morning before everyone wants to start using the pool. Also if you want a clean towel get there early as they run out by 11.00 in the morning and you cannot get another towel until the next day at 09.00 and closes at 12.30.
Entertainment was not very good we watched the show Grease and left after 10 minutes it was so shocking!!

It's not 4star as they say!

Good luck if you book!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gilesy0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Quite simply if you have children take them to see Martin in The Kids Club, they will be mesmerised by his fun attitude. He should be snapped up and put on the television and give Mr Tumble/Justin a run for his money. I have a 5yr old girl and a 2yr old boy, my little girl can be quite shy but she ran into the kids club every day, my little boy was too young to attend but Martin still made time for him and made sure he got a certificate as martin's "special friend" v sweet. Everything else was great but Martin really stood out, infact I tried to book again for the Easter break as my daughter still talks about him, sadly it was booked up!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,862 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,593 reviews
12.0 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $181 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing