We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back once more ..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Back once more ..”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited 07.03.13 for a week. Having been to the Paraiso last year, we were not expecting to come back, but we wanted to treat the kids to a week away. A hotel with plenty of activities, a good selection of food (for the faddy eaters!) and all inclusive were the main requirements, together with shops bars etc close by, and we knew we would get them at this hotel. On arrival, as we had stayed before we were given an upgrade, and a very nice room it was too. The other two rooms (kids are 30+) were also good. Everywhere very clean, staff always very friendly, entertainment variable, but sometimes excellent, food becomes monotonous, even with a wide choice available at all meals. Overall a good holiday and we all enjoyed it. Only disappointing aspect was the huge 1.5 hour queue to check-in at Lanzarote airport on our way home: my advice would be to get a taxi transfer, especially from Puerto Del Carmen - only ten minutes, and get there early.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FujairahFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    1,233
    496
    123
    74
See reviews for
990
1,891
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,009)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for one week, would have liked to stay longer.
Very friendly and attentive staff. Good choice of food and drinks. The food was fresh, served hot and kept topped up.
Our room was in the newer part of the hotel overlooking the pool. Good size room, kept clean and everything in working order.
Plenty of sun beds, although they are close together, not a problem when we went but could get crowded when busy.
The only negative point of the hotel is that the tables in the dinning room are very close together. A gap of about 10 inches separates some tables.
All in all a good hotel with good service. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dnm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lots of positive but some negatives.

We stayed the far side from reception across the bridge.

Room 4435 fourth floor
Double bed small but fitted everything in.
Very clean and cleaned immaculately all week. Definitely cleanest hotel I have been to.
Bathroom lots of space for smellies straightners etc. really clean
Balcony small but 2 chairs table lovely sea view

Generally

Huge place really more so if u r over the far side but I don't mind a walk.
Clean everywhere
Staff nice
Pools clean and some heated
Food is good for all inclusive but bit samey
All inclusive drinks I enjoyed cocktails cava fruit juices
Nice walk into piccolos
Longer walk to del carmen
Loads of places locally to have meal out.

Plenty of trips we only went to teguise market 4€ each return enjoyed a wander round.

Exchange was better out there than in uk

I felt holiday was overpriced I shopped around but was over £700 each it's not worth paying that much in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spanner141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 9 days in early March with friends. It was my 4th All Inclusive holiday and 3rd Riu experience. We normally book independently but this time booked through First Choice.

The hotel was huge and took a a little longer than normal to get used to, but we soon found our way around. On the sunny days we divided our time between the main pool complex and the quieter pool complex.

The main pool area was noisier with the entertainment team activities during the day and music at times through the speakers, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment and gave us something to watch from our sunbeds! These pools are closer to the main bar and restaurants and both were heated, although the smaller pool more so. The quieter pools on the other side of the hotel were a similar temperature but were frequented more by children. The swim up bar was a fun feature which opened on our last day (not sure if this was due to the capacity of the hotel or whether it was requested by guests). Both pool areas had plenty of sunbeds and even when the hotel was apparently full, there were plenty to be found. The quieter pool area has a snack bar which we ate in a few times and although the choice was limited, it was sufficient for lunch and saved the walk back to the other side.

We felt it a shame that the lounge area in the quieter side of the hotel wasn't used. The styling of this area was much nicer than the main reception area and the library was also located here, which I don't think many guests knew about (judging by the books and magazines left on staircases and sills). The shop on this side was also much bigger and better and the gym, although small, was seldom full and was well equipped.

We thought the food was superb and I wonder whether the other reviews from the same time period were from the same restaurants! The main restaurant had the usual vast selection that one would expect from a RIU and the quality was excellent. We had hot plates and very few queues despite the hotel being full. And yes, there was pork and fish available every day, but we also had beef, chicken, turkey, squid, parma ham, prawns, smoked salmon to name a few. Drinks were all as one would expect from an AI hotel - perfectly drinkable and the red wine particularly was better than in some previous hotels. I think some of the reviewers need to appreciate that a 4* all inclusive hotel is a different experience to a 4* conference hotel and one can't expect branded drinks and premium beers at the prices these holiday hotels charge.

We ate in the Asian themed restaurant twice and the Mexican once. The Asian was excellent, the Mexican was good but I can understand that it would not appeal to as many people. We would have loved to try the Canarian but it was only open for one day during our stay and was fully booked. I think this is very poor, given that the hotel is advertised as having 3 themed restaurants and they really should ensure that all of their clientele are given the opportunity to eat in each at least once a week.

One comment I would make to the hotel is please try to give your restaurants some ambience! Dimmed lighting, a tealight and background music would make such a difference, even if only to the smaller themed restaurants.

The bar, restaurants and theatre were all located in the same area, which made this appear crowded at times compared to other RIU's we have stayed in (Gran Canaria and Marrakech). The bar was open to the elements on one side and so on the days when we had heavy rain and driving wind, it was difficult to find a dry seat and everyone was huddled around the patio heaters. The seating areas in the other RIU hotels we have been to previously, have felt more comfortable and luxurious.

Onto the entertainment, we took part in some of the daytime activities (shooting, water polo) which were well attended and well run. The entertainment team really did work their socks off and even gave an impromptu dance performance one lunchtime in the bar! All of them were enthusiastic, friendly and personable and their dance routines on alternate evenings were excellent. The third party entertainment on the other evenings was OK and despite there always being a good turnout, we always found a seat after 9.30pm, albeit at the back. And from 11pm - 2am the nightclub offered the opportunity for more drinking or dancing in a convivial environment.

Finally, we did have a few gripes and whilst most of the staff could not be faulted, we did for the first time experience a night porter with attitude and a maid who didn't seem to do very much! We had to ask for soap and shampoo to be replenished and on our last day we were asked 3 times before 10.30am what time we would be vacating our room which to me, in the hospitality industry, is unforgivable. I did also feel that the food & entertainment area was a little dated and the ladies loos were always busy (plus only 1 hand drier for about 8 cubicles!).

All in all though a very good all round experience for the price and a hotel that really does offer something for everyone. Location by the way is excellent - fabulous beach across the road, nice areas for shopping or a stroll to the left or right along the prom and a bus stop right outside.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms did seem to suffer from a lousy position and we were lucky to be positioned on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becky170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYMINGTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

me and my family stayed here in march was extremly clean lots and lots of freindly staff my kids 4yrs and 18months loved every minute of it .the kids entertainment team were great make your kids feels special .the only nag i have is that i requested a room with a pool view .once i arrived they gave me a bunglow as thats what they give familys but there quite a walk from the main building to get food or drinks etc,i complained and they tried to move me but the other room avalible had a large step in which wouldnt have been safe for my 18month old so we ended up keeping the bunalow .it was lovely and peaceful but seems a long way out.if ur put in one i suggest you send your partner to have a good treck around as there are loads of short cuts we hadnt known about but hard to explain going across the bridge is the longest way but if ur not sure were your going you can easly get lost . but after a few days you know where it all is.Also the first choice meeting i thought was a little pointless didnt tell me the things i needed to no but you can ask questions if there at there desk.such theres a silver gat to the rear of the hotel you use the black keys on your bunch to get in and out this takes you to the beach theres a spar to your left which is a two minute walk,which they said it was ten mins,to your right is shops resterants gift shop but note all the chinese small shop most of the toys and stuff breaks easiy .theres and chinese resterant all u can eat down that way too.theres a small zoo walking distance or few minutes in a taxi cost 3euros to get there.Also you can get free water and milk from reception to take to your room which i was not told till last minute.And marti and marina are the best kids entertainers every there kids love them definetly recommend kids club for the younger ones.any age can go but have to be four years and over to stay on there own the give them medals and certificults .so overall good hol could only do a week though .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOPHIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've just returned from a week at the ClubHotel Riu Paraiso having stayed with Riu over Christmas in Cape Verde.We had a lovely quiet South facing room with a sea view. As with all large complexes it was a little walk to the restaurants but we knew that before we went. Great food, smiling staff and terrific facilities. Just a short walk into town if that kind of thing suits you but Puerto del Carmen isn't really or cup of tea (or pint of lager if you wish). First visit to Lanzarote and it certainly will not be our last.One word of caution: we stayed during school term time. There were plenty of pre school children about. I'm not sure how restful things would be with hoards of older children.Just a thought.All I can say is go there and try it for yourself. It was,incidentally, great value for money so we thought.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scotchtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last summer. It is actually two hotels together, sharing restaurants, pool and common areas.

Quite well located, close to the beach. In fact, just cross a small road to get to the beach, which is fairly quiet.

Within the hotel there are two pools, usually with enough people (at least in August). Sometimes it is even difficult to get sunbeds.

Three restaurants, with different type of cuisine: Asian, Mexican and Canary. Restaurant staff (and in all the hotel in general) very friendly and always attentive. The areas of the bars, restaurants and pool generally quite clean and care.

Our room was quite spacious, clean and overlooking the pool and sea.

An excellent all-inclusive.

Try to book restaurant on arrival. They are usually always full.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ad_Nick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#21 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing