We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hipotels La Geria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hipotels La Geria
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
st.helens
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We booked this hotel for 6 days over the New Year period, after being informed by travel republic two weeks before departure that we had been over booked at our other apartments. It was therefore a bit of a rushed booking and we were a bit apprehensive about the hotel, but now wish we had spent our entire 18 days here.

Reception were helpful and spoke good English.
Rooms were spotless with maid service every day towels can be cleaned everyday if you wished so.
Food was excellent with chefs cooking food in front of you; lots of choice and very tasty. Drinks included in the all inclusive were not branded, but a good choice was available, as well as ice creams for most of the day.
Waiter service was excellent; as soon as a glass was empty it would be refilled. A special mention must go out to Jesus the head waiter in the restaurant who worked particularly hard, but always had time for a quick joke.

News Years eve gala dinner was excellent from start with the cocktails and canapés, with a New Years wish from the manager of the hotel, which was a nice touch. Then there was the a la carte evening meal including a bottle of wine and champagne right through to the Elvis impersonator. There were party bags, traditional Spanish countdown with grapes, then a flamenco show at 01.30am and morning soup at 2.00am.
Eri was a great entertainment person, trying his best to get everyone involved in the daily activities such as archery, French bowls, rifle shooting, darts, pool, and more, full of energy all day long, but i guess that is what you get when you “Love your job, but hate your boss”.
Nightly entertainment was acts brought in from outside, which were good such as a Donna Summer impersonator and acrobats, with music and games to follow with Eri.
The hotel was in a perfect position, just over the road from the beach, close to bars and shops, but a good half an hour walk into Puerto del Carmen, for more lively night life.
One downfall of the hotel is the amount of palm trees around the pool meaning that many sun beds would end up being shaded, which was quite annoying.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker_jue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    571
    159
    43
    17
See reviews for
394
932
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the various reviews and were not disappointed! We stay at 4 plus star hotels mostly now because we want an extra bit of luxury and this did not fail to deliver.

The room, although basic, was perfectly acceptable, as was the bathroom and the maid service (all who were very friendly). Who needs television, i don't go on holiday to watch Corrie or Emerdale! We are always happy to have Sky News to break the silence and stay in touch with reality during our break. (Pictures of snow drenched England always makes me smile in the Lanzarote heat!)

The food was wonderful, you would have to be VERY fussy to be unable to find something you like. Fresh fruit, vegetables, joints of meat, fish and more.
The dessert table always groaned under the weight of the choices available! The fried eggs in the morning always tasted good because they are cooked for you as you want them!

The pool area was plenty big enough to always be able to find sunbeds at most times of the day. There can be a lot of shade at times with the palm trees, but may be a blessing to some, not everyone wants to frazzle all day! It was always clean and mostly very quiet!

Erri, the animation guy, is an absolute natural! Very friendly and made a point of remembering peoples names. Not easy in a hotel this size where the clientele changes daily! He was also available in the evening while the entertainment was on. This was also very good, much better than the usual rubbish that tour the hotels, no wild animals or bird/reptile shows in sight!

Lovely and quite during the day with plenty of walking scope, it took us 1 hour and 10 minutes to take a slow stroll to the Old Town on New Years Eve. Then it took us five minutes and 7 euros to get home after the fireworks which were quite spectacular again this year.

I would recommend this to everyone and anyone that just wants a lovely relaxing break, regardless of what age or nationality you are. Everyone can say good morning in their language and everyone else will understand them!

Don't listen to critics if all you want is a lovely relaxing time, I know we will be back next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anngeraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We arrived on Christmas Eve and found all the staff warm and friendly. The room we were in was a bit old fashioned and small, but clean and adequate. The location was ideal and there was enough to do in the hotel. Erri (animation) was excellent and the entertainment was very good especially the magician and the Elvis impersonator. The guests in the hotel were very friendly and I enjoyed the mix of nationalities, lots of german and spanish people. The best thing about the hotel was the food and the staff. The only thing that was disappointing was the very cold pool! The festive Celebrations were excellent and the hotel manager participated fully wich is always very encouraging. I would happily return to this hotel but I think it needs a bit of a "facelift" to be rated 4*.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from this hotel. Don't be put off by being in Puerto Del Carmen. It is at the airport end not down amongst the strip. Yes you do see planes taking off and coming in across the sea, but you are not under the flight path.There are not that many anyway.The hotel is directly onto a clean empty beach, with a lifeguard and is sandy for swimming and sun bathing (no rocks) The hotel is really clean, the staff are attentive,and if you are AI they serve you with drinks, coffees, teas (cup and saucer and jug of milk) at your table. The buffet food is excellent and the freshly cooked meat and fish is really good. Lots of fresh fruit. The rooms are spotless and the beds ,although firm, are better than most. The reception staff speak excellent english, and nothing is too much trouble. I asked to change rooms and was given a top floor sea view.Yes the guests are mainly older people but I do not go on holiday for a noisy, fun filled week.I will definitely go again. Taxi from the airport is 11 euros. Bus to the harbour end of Carmen 1euro.15c. You can walk for miles along the sea footpath, even to Arrecife if you wish.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

as always i am amused at the different views people have of the same hotel..here are mine.
cold pool..all pools in the canaries are refreshingly cool because of the warm climate,locals laugh at people from cold countries(ie britain) moaning about the pool being too cold.
over 50s..the la geria is perfectly geared up for children, its a mystery to me why there are so few there but its certainly not like a darby and joan club!
food..the desserts are the best ive ever come across,food in general good.
rooms..someone said you have to pay for a remote..you dont you can turn over yourself if you wish although hiring a remote is common practice in spain and other countries.
clientele..90 % german
overall..worth a visit whatever your age

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trev1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Single parents struggle to find decent hotels that dont charge for 2 adults or charge giddy amounts in single supplements. But you can book this hotel (as a hotel only) via Thomsons and just pay for 1 adult & 1 child so very very reasonable compared to all others. Booked it 1st then read the reviews and so wasnt really looking forward to it, turned out to be 1 of these best holidays I have ever had. Hotel is lovely, food fantastic, they have KIDS Club which they dont advertise because it really depends on how many kids there are a to what activities they do, but they treated my little fella like their own, kept him entertained from morning til nite (I got to read 2 books - a 1st)They have a MINI DISCO 6 nights a week too which again they dont advertise! Not sure why or maybe its only during school holidays. They have entertainment 6 nights a week which is watchable for both adults & kids. However I would say its NOT for teenagers/twenty odd year olds as its a bit too far from the main nightlife. But excellent for Single parents so good I just booked again for 2 weeks in August. Cant wait !!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Just got back from a weeks half board staying the first week in November. The hotel is in and ideal position for all the 3 resorts.The furthest being Carmen which was about 25 minutes walk.The hotel is very laid back and efficintly run. Everything was very clean , inside and out by the pool. Food at breakfast and dinners was very good ,hot and good standard. Yes , the clientele are mainly over 40's but the resort itself is not for the younger generation.......in fact it was just perfect with a distinct lack of children !!!
Parts of the interior of the hotel do need attention with lots of patched up paintwork in corridors and balconys' but around the pool was very well kept.
Overall , I would call this hotel a basic 4 star and would not really call it a plush hotel or something really special. I would have been a bit upset if I had paid a lot of of money for it. We booked thro Travel Republic who did a price match with a rubbish web site that we never heard of.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,733 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
738 reviews
12.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.3 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels La Geria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels La Geria

Property: Hipotels La Geria
Address: Calle Jupiter 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels La Geria 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hipotels La Geria Hotel is located in b>Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote, and has 242 comfortable and spacious rooms distributed in four floors. It is ideal for your family holidays in Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hipotels La Geria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Geria Hotel
Hipotels La Geria Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing