We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright, clean and a great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hipotels La Geria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hipotels La Geria
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bright, clean and a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Booked it as a last minute so really had no idea of the area. Great location with the quieter area but within 5 minutes walk to Puerto del Carmen one way, or a wander the other direction takes you along the perimeter fence of the airport onto the relaxed village of playa Honda.
Food always fresh and plentiful. The pool bar itself is extremely small so could see there being a long wait if the hotel was busy.
The spa is excellent. Fantastic chocolate wrap and massage.
Directly across from a spotless beach or short walk either way to more small clean beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MicheleH1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manageress Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your accurate description on our services and facilities. We are very happy to read you enjoyed our food and your experience and hope your comments encourage many more guests to visit us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards from all the Team at the Hotel Hipotels La Geria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    526
    143
    38
    17
See reviews for
344
835
61
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked this as a last minute trip - Thomson and the airport services were very supportive of my limited mobility.

The hotel staff were fantastic, and the buffet breakfasts superb - I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the years; now a coeliac - I'm usually limited on choice - not this time - the range of fruits, yoghurts, cooked items, eggs presented in every format imaginable - and for the bread and pastry eaters - you could be forgiven for thinking you were in heaven - without question the best buffet breakfast ever - we had Bed and Breakfast, but you can also have half board or all inclusive - we only ate one evening in the hotel, but their Asian buffet (Predominantly chinese) had something for everyone

DISABILITIES

The Hotel is "technically" disabled friendly - it has a ramp at the main entrance - however, this is the 2nd floor of the hotel.

Although there are lifts, they are small, and because of the different ways they open, they are not user friendly for mobility scooters.

In fairness, the staff couldn't have been more helpful - directing us to the staff lift - but this also caused problems.and really didn't offer a practical solution.

The twin rooms are small with spacious balconies - there is no additional charge for the air conditioning, but it isn't particularly effective - we reported a problem on arrival (around 10pm on a Sunday night - maintenance were with us within minutes)

There is wi-fi available in the rooms at a charge of 20 Euros per week - again this was very temperamental - they also have a free service available in main reception.

The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms had baths and showers and were well stocked with accessories - there was adequate clothes storage space with hangers and a small safe - available at a charge of 17 Euros weekly (incl refundable deposit)

------------------------------------

The room had a small effective fridge for keeping drinks and two seats inside and two outside 0 to get my scooter into the room, we had to remove the surface that would normally be used for suitcases,

----------------------------------------

The pool was lovely with many sunbeds and static umbrellas - although the pool was a little on the cool side until later in the day.

Drinks by hotel standards were quite reasonably priced and there was entertainment on each night.

The room keys also opened the gate at the front of the hotel taking you directly onto the promenade which stretches from Matagorda to Puerto del Carmen.


===================================================

LOCATION
There are several commercial complexes within easy walking (or in my case riding) distance - there is plenty of parking on the hotel grounds.

It claims to be in Playa de Los Pocillos or Puerto del Carmen dependent on who you speak to - it is actually situated on the Matagorda side of PdLP - so quite a distance into Puerto del Carmen - it is walkable / ridable (loads of places hire bikes out) and of course manageable by mobility scooter - but don't forget to plaster on the sun-cream even if you think it is cloudy or not too hot.

As we had a late flight, we were able to book a late checkout for 20 Euros

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel before travelling if you are disabled - you MUST be on 1st (technically the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manageress Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your time writing such a detailed review on your stay and experience with us. We appreciate it very much as well as your improvement comments of those we take note.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon back,
very best regards from all the Team at the Hotel Hipotels La Geria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Overall a good experience, the staff are really friendly and professional.
The rooms we stayed in was a little bit outdated but had a big balcony with a sea view. The pool area was tidy and not too busy! Good selection at breakfast.

The only disadvantage is the WIFI - it is not free in the room, only in the lobby. Really, in this era free WIFI is a must!

Probably not the best spot for very young people looking to party, the hotel is in a very quiet location and most of the visitors are older couples, seniors, or families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Little_Pufflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manageress Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your time and your comments made.
We are glad to read you enjoyed your holidays with us and hope being able to welcome you back.
Best regards from all the Team at the Hotel Hipotels La Geria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Everything about this hotel is excellent, its in a great location, is easily accessible from the airport and is extremely clean and is probably one of the best breakfasts that we have ever had at a Spanish hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manageress Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your time letting other guests know about your experience with us. We hope it encourages many more to visit us.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
best regards from all the Team at the Hotel Hipotels La Geria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at La Geria on All Inclusive in the first week of July. Travelled as a solo female traveller and emailed ahead to request a room on a higher floor. Arrived to a warm welcome and was given a room on top floor (there are only 4) overlooking the pool.
Hotel is extremely clean throughout but there are area which could be modernised, on the whole however I was happy with my choice.
Fine getting a Sun lounger around pool as long as you are down by 9.30-10, happily the hotel don't allow people to reserve seats before 9 but you still get the usual towels on beds throughout the day.
The hotel is across the road from beach where there are plenty of loungers for 8 euros each but beware it can be quite windy!!
Staff were pleasant and friendly but it can get a bit manic in the restaurant at peak times. The food was good with various choices although having stayed at neighbouring Riu Paraiso Hotel not up to their high standards. Good bars are just 2 minute walk and lots of restaurants. Pocillos has a much calmer atmosphere than Puerto Del Carmen which is just a flat and straight 20 minute walk.
Evening entertainment at hotel seemed to be aimed more at the many Spanish guests but I can't comment too much as didn't catch many shows preferring to spend evenings outside hotel.
WIFI in room will set you back 20 euros and I found it unreliable. Many of nearby bars offer free WiFi.
I would stay here again but not AI as feel there is plenty of choice to eat out locally and works out much cheaper than the extra I paid for AI.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank scottie2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manageress Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your time writing a review on your experience with us.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and would come back.
Looking forward to it,
best regards from all the Team at the Hotel Hipotels La Geria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel La Geria for 9 nights. The hotel & rooms are very clean. Reception staff are friendly & helpful! Pool was nice & 'refreshing'. There were alot of sunbeds reserved early morning with towels but we still always found spare sunbeds. The snacks round the pool were average (pastries, pizza, fruit, chicken salad, sandwiches). The service at the pool bar was slow & usually a queue. The breakfast was great there was lots to choose from (cereals, porridge, fruit, fry up, yoghurts, pastries, toast...) The lunch was also good. Dinner was quite repetitive & bland so did go out for evening meals in the end. The air con in our room was not very good so slept with the balcony doors open every night. The rooms are very comfortable & bathrooms nice but I do think they probably all need regrouting and sealing, & bigger shower doors are needed as the shower is so powerful the water goes everywhere. The beach is opposite and looks lovely. There are a few quiet bars 5 minute walk away; the lively bars and restaurants are about a 30/40 minute walk along the beach or 5 minutes in taxi. We suggest Cafe La Ola for steak. I do agree with some previous reviews, the hotel is definitely more so german orientated & they are catered for more so than anyone else; we did feel that we were overlooked. For example, we ordered drinks at bar but were told to sit down as they serve us - we did so but no one came so had to go up again. From then on we were not once served at our table however others were. The 1st time we was served was when we were seated with german guests watching germany play in world cup!!! Maybe a coincidence? Evening entertainment was ok some nights but again more so catered for German & Spanish guests. Wifi is available at reception, depending on your phone you can get it by the pool & I was lucky enough to still be connected in my room as we were near the pool. We had to pay for the use of the safe (€2 a day) which was a shame & there was no kettle in room. You have to phone reception to get a iron & board brought to your room so would suggest ironing all clothes in 1 go rather than phoning each time you need it.

Our suggestions for the hotel are:-
- upgrade air con
- self service of at least soft drinks and hot drinks during day
- more english channels on tv
- free wifi available all over hotel
- free use of safe
- Kettle & tea/coffee in rooms
- more bar staff in eveing
- Refresh bathrooms

Overall we had a good time at Hotel La Geria and would stay again if in the area but only B&B.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMissH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manageress Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your time letting us know your experience with us. We are very happy to read you enjoyed the services offered.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon back,
best regards from all the Team at the Hotel Hipotels Natura Palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Wonderful hotel, located opposite the beach which runs for three miles. Excellent food and staff. This is our seventh visit to La Geria, and each time it just gets better. The pool area is very spaceous and it has lots of sun loungers. All in all I would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manageress Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your time and your nice words towards our staff and services. We are really happy to hear you enjoy so much every visit you do and look forward to welcoming you soon back again.
Very best regards from all the Team at the Hotel Hipotels La Geria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.2 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#6 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels La Geria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels La Geria

Property: Hipotels La Geria
Address: Calle Jupiter 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels La Geria 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hipotels La Geria Hotel is located in b>Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote, and has 242 comfortable and spacious rooms distributed in four floors. It is ideal for your family holidays in Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hipotels La Geria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Geria Hotel
Hipotels La Geria Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing