We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good apartments for the price”
Review of Atlantis Las Lomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantis Las Lomas
Ranked #33 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good apartments for the price”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Myself, my husband and our two children aged 10 and 6 stayed here for 1 week at the end of may. We paid €207 self catering and for this price, I could not fault the place. Our 1 bed apartment overlooked the main pool as you go through reception, you can hear the music from the bar in the rooms but it's ends around 11.30 so this did not bother us but for some families with younger children it might.
You have to pay €5 deposit for the remote control for the television which you will get back when you return it. The apartment was clean, as was the pool area. I did not eat at the pool bar so can not comment.
The hill up to the apartments did not bother us but Might be a problem for some!
Eating out did not cost us over €60 and this included 2 starters 3 main courses 1 child's main course drinks and bottle of wine, the only bad meal we got was in the new oriental world by the beach, the 4 main courses were terrible. All in all the atlantis las lomas were in an ideal location for both old and new town and we will return

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blondie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    370
    165
    53
    58
See reviews for
292
325
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We have just regurned from a week stay at the Atlantis Las Lomas and would certainly recommend. I was somewhat 'dubious' about staying here after reading some of the reviews so thought I'd best submit one.
The apartments are located at the top of a steep hill which leads down towards the beach - however, you can go right out of the front door and avoid the incline if you wish. We didn't as although steep - it is manageable. M 9 and 8 year olds RAN up it!

We stayed in the 'las lomas' part of the complex, in a 2 bedroom apartment which overlooked one of the smaller pools. It was well furnished with 2 twin rooms (both of a really good size) which included double fitted wardrobes, drawers, bedside tables. The main bedroom had a window that looked out over the balcony and the 2nd looked over the rest of the complex. I also slept really well! The beds are firm but my back is shot to pieces!

The lounge had a 3 seater sofa (with bed under), 2 lounge chairs, dresser, mirror etc and again, was very generous in size.

Kithen area had enough pots n pans, plates etc and a fridge that froze water solid if you set it on 5! - very handy for the kids icepops! I liked the half moon window in the kitchen which housed the dining table. Finally, the bathroom (again larger than most) had a bath / shower/ loo and sink which were kept clean and supplied with plenty of towels which were changed regularly.

THe patio seater 4, overlooked the pool (handy for watching kids) and a large fold out airer for drying towels etc.

The pools (we found 4) were all clean, deep enough to swim in and had enough sunbeds (although the accom wasnt full) 2 of the pools had large childrens areas (50cm) which my children loved. You were also welcome to use inflatables in the pools which I found refreshing when compared to some other resorts!

Maintenance men were constantly 'touching up' areas of paint and the resort had a very relaxing feel to it. Daniel the entetainment man worked tirelesly to engage children and adults in the games, however, it wasn't 'full on' and you could easily aviod participating!

The negatives that I list are minor - yes some of the paintwork / plugs in the apartments aren't straight or need a little tidying up - but you have to look for it. The shower wasnt great, there are a number of steps within the apartment (72 to my room!) but as it was fairly quiet you didnt mind. For half the week my children had a pool to themselves and I think every apartment has a pool view.

We didn't use the bar much as we preferred to go out - however, we did stop for the clown show (Daniel again!) which was fun, relaxed and not particularly 'polished' - this just made it more fun really!

I'd recomment this apartment if you want sun but not the full on 8-midnight entertainment. The location is great, lots of loverly restaurants down the hiill (and a few rubbish ones!) but you'll find them out - oh, and sunset beach on the front do a great quiz everynight and have jenga, connect 4 etc for the kids!

I'll try to upload some photos but wanted to review the complex as I feel it hasnt had a fair rating. At the end of the day its 2star but I certainly feel that it was worth the money and I'd use it again :-)

No wifi / printer but there are pay to use internet ready terminals in the foyer

Parking was available outside on the road - we had a car all week and never had a problem

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Vickie_1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We arrived here on Wed 18th May, a family of 2 adults and 3 kids we had booked a 2 bedroomed apartment on a room only basis that was up towards the back of the complex. The apartment was spacious, clean and had everything we needed for our 9 night stay, cleaning was regular and we had no complaints with anything in the apartment. I think the rooms could probably do with a bit of updating but for what we paid we got pretty much what we expected and if we had wanted high end luxury then we could have paid a LOT more and got that! Only downside I think were the hard mattresses that the kids slept fine on but we found them not so comfy.

We found the ramps that ran up the side of the complex really handy for pushing the phil and teds double buggy back up to the room after a night our and the big hill is really not much of an issue even with 2 kids in the pram. Although if you have a side by side double buggy it may be more tricky.

We ate out every night except for one and visited the main strip (where all the food seems to be much of a muchness), the old town, Biosfera centre, the chinese buffet at the bottom of the hill and McDonalds once or twice. The price of meals is generally not too expensive ( although McDonalds is mega expensive compared to the UK), but the restaurants really sting you on the cost of soft drinks which are just as much if not pricier than beer!

The kids loved playing in the spotless pools and lounging about although the weather was not so great while we were there being very cloudy most of the time and even raining once or twice. Special mention must go to the legend that is Daniel who seems to work from dawn til dusk keeping everyone entertained with games for the kids during the day and in the bar area at night, especially his clown show and his crazy bingo lol.

A few nights before we were due to come home 4 noisy lads moved into the apartment below who came home at 4 - 5 am each morning then crashed about and shouted for a couple of hours before dropping off to sleep. This spoiled it a bit for me, I did complain one night and reception came up very quickly to shut them up but really once you have been woken up you are awake so I think they should have been housed in a block with other young lads as they seemed to think that they were on an 18-30 holiday in family complex.

We also found out that because we are a family of 5 this required 2 taxis each way to and from the airport which obviously doubled our transfer costs so maybe if we go again we will hire a car ourselves. I could have understood this rule if the taxis provided infant car seats therefore making it impossible for more than 4 passengers to be taken in a car but they did not provide these so we could have all easily fitted in a taxi.

All in all we did enjoy our holiday here considering it was a what I considered to be quite cheap and may return here at some point in the future.

ps we also made use of the free wireless internet around the bottom pool area you just need to ask at the bar for the password.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holidaylover074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Arrived at the hotel early evening no problems there apart from the taxi driver didnt know where the hotel was. We entered our room to find it smelled terrible of damp & the wardrobe smelled of urine not a good start. It was nearly dark so couldnt really take in much around us but when we woke in the morning we saw the full extent of the damage caused to the apartment with the damp, the walls had been painted over to hide the problem but we both could see the extent of the damp my husband touched the skirting boards lightly but his fingers went straight through as the wood was absolutely rotten. The pool areas were ok but there were no umbrellas to shade from the sun so when it got too hot we had to go back to our smelly room to get out of the sun. Cardiac hill is what it is an extremely steep hill not for the faint hearted!!!! My husband has had a heart bypass a few years ago so it was quite scary for him we ended up having to get taxis back to the hotel every night. Puerto Del Carmen is ok but i wouldnt go again. You will ask why we didnt complain to the hotel we did and we got our room bleached but a few hours later the smell of the damp & urine was back & the beds were damp too i never slept a wink while i was there so consequently we got the 1st available flight out of there we came back on the Wednesday but we should have been coming home on the Sunday. The furniture in the room was green & horrible with doors that had been broken off & obviously not replaced & the dining table & the arms of the settee had been written on probably by kids quote "Shaz woz ere 2010" "Kim 4 Barny 4 eva" Not very nice when you having your tea & toast at the table for breakfast.....We were going to ask to change rooms but as we saw so many people changing their apartments we thought that none of them can have been any better or they wouldnt be asking for a change of room!!!!So dont waste your money...................

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank sixpence2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

100oscar
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

these apartments are very basic and the first block round the pool at the bottom are in the process of being refurbsihed. the pool is large and very nice kids pool also big and they are cleaned most days. beds and pull ouit beds not very good at all. food and drinks good and reasonable. these apartments are just before you get into the old town which is nice and has a variety of restaurants overlooking the sea.

if you come out of apartments and down cardiac hill turn left this is the main strip all along the front and it is long but a nice walk and some nice restaurants.
not much for families to do once had meals so we had early nights every night bit boring really.
probably wouldnt go back and definately not to these apartments. maybe they will be bit better when they have all been refurbished

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mililly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Atlantis and Las Lomas are actually two separate groups of apartments operated from the same reception area.

Atlantis is the main area. This is where we were originally accommodated. It has a large bar with entertainment several nights per week. Drink prices are very reasonable with some special offers. It also has an outside bar and pool table. It has a large pool and kiddies pool. Be careful though...the main pool starts at 1.2m and drops rapidly to 1.8m. This, I felt, was unnecessarily deep, even for me at 6' tall. There was no lifeguard.

We booked through ALPHAROOMS. We paid extra for a pool view but got an apartment looking out onto the side of another apartment. When we complained we were told that pool views were not guaranteed and to take it up with ALPHAROOMS.

I notice that ALPHAROOMS have now withdrawn the option of 'pool view'.

We asked for ground floor...which we were given...but we had to climb two flights of steps to get to it???

The apartment itself was grubby with paint flaking off door frames and windows. We had a kettle but couldn't use it because the two-pin plug was too big for the two-pin sockets. The toilet bowl was not secured to the floor (good for concentrating the mind, I suppose) and the shower broke the first time we used it. There were rust marks around the bath but at least the complimentary cockroach was well dead.

We asked to be moved and were originally told that all apartments were full so we said we would leave. However when we asked for a refund we were told to take it up with ALPHAROOMS. Miraculously though they then discovered they had one apartment vacant but it was in the Las Lomas section, which we accepted.

Las Lomas is completely different from Atlantis. It is set in small blocks of approx 20 apartments each. Each block with its own pool. It was very quiet with a small play area for the kids and although there was no kiddies pool I would recommend it for young families and older couples. These apartments seemed more modern and larger than Atlantis. Both sets of apartments have a television but it costs €3 per day to watch it. It's €15 per week for a parasol. Parasols could only be used on the apartment terrace or balcony but you were not allowed bring sunbeds over to your terrace so lying in the shade was a no no.

In summary, even though we won't stay here again I would cautiously recommend the Las Lomas section.

They have their own website www.atlantislaslomas.com so if you are booking, book direct. AVOID ALPHAROOMS AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hornyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

no complaints about this place enjoyed our stay,staff pleasent ,clean enough just what I expect from a value priced apartment complex would recomend it if you get a good price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkayLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#75 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Panorama
Apartamentos Panorama
#25 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
910 reviews
0.8 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Las Lomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Las Lomas

Property: Atlantis Las Lomas
Address: Calle Tinguaton 7, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantis Las Lomas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantis Las Lomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Las Lomas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Atlantis Las Lomas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing