We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,753)
Filter reviews
1,753 results
Traveler rating
1,195
439
102
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,195
439
102
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board old town steep hill pool area breakfast and dinner lovely hotel purple turtle whole complex plenty of choice great holiday air con bus stop remote control pool towels place is spotless reception staff room was spotless
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,753 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 of us stayed 7 nights, ground floor room near pool. Room of good standard, 1 bedroom with sofa bed in lounge. Clean and modern decor, has a kitchen area which is fully equipped. Good sized bathroom with walk in shower. ( Warning the shower attachment lifts out ,but is very high up. During our stay , a lady reached up to pull it out, slipped and was badly hurt falling on ceramic shower base. It’s about a foot higher than it should be)
Room has TV ( limited English channels) and small terrace with table and chairs.

You can hire pool towels , air con and safe. Cost 55eu of which we got 40eu back

Complex is on 3 levels, reception/bar/ dining on level 1 then ramp or stairs to level 2 which has rooms and sun terrace with large 4 poster bed style sunloungers, then stairs/ramp to level 3 with rooms, pool and pool bar.

Half board , breakfast was very good, huge choice of hot and cold, chef on hand to cook omelettes to order. Interestingly there was Cava and vodka on offer ! Evening meal very average, no better than canteen food. Wide choice, average quality and very much same every day. Staff on hand to take wine/ drink orders.

Bar , only used it at happy hour 4-30 to 5-30 At pool bar , 9-10 at main bar. 3-50 eu for 2 pints.Main bar had entertainment, very much club style singers etc.

Pool was good, large, never got too crowded although despite notices , lots of towels left on loungers. There is a fitness suite near pool.

Staff friendly and efficient.

Bus stop nearby, no 3 to Arricefe and other parts of PDC, 12 to Teguise Market.

Major minus is that this complex is at top of a steep hill. Would be a nightmare for a wheelchair user and they’d need to taxi up from sea front 2-40 eu or get bus 1-40 eu. Also tough on us able bodied souls climbing up in 29 degrees. There is a slightly gentler, longer route via biosfera and another really steep incline to the port.( This was a real effort on way back)

Overall had a good stay but not likely to return

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hairy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arteta A, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Deasr Hairy_Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at the Gloria Izaro Club Hotel.
In regards to your stay I would like to sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations.
I will highlight your comments with all our staff as we take all feedback very seriously and take each comment on board to ensure continued improvements.

Kindest regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 7 days on B&B rate in May 2019. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was perfect for couples/friends with a balcony over looking the pool area (room 727). It was clean with up to date decoration and furnishings with comfortable beds. The whole hotel and outside areas were spotless. There are stairs/ramps to all different levels and there is also a lift, a stair lift and a mechanical chair positioned by the swimming pool to allow guests with mobility difficulties to be lowered/lifted from the pool. Small pool for children was very popular.

The breakfast was more than sufficient with a wide range of choice available. Very good coffee machines.

Check out is 12pm and only if your room is available after that time you can pay 20 euros to keep it until leaving for the airport. Alternatively they provide a free courtesy room for guests which has to be reserved at reception.

Location is quiet as hotel is higher up away from the main old town area/harbour. There are plenty of taxis available round the corner and there is a bus stop just outside on the main road.

All of the staff were polite and efficient. I would not hesitate to return or to recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Apartments on ground floor levels can lack privacy as people walk past all day and during the evening. Bedroom a little small.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lisaband411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arteta A, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear lisaband411,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share such a complimentary review of our building.
I'm extremely thrilled to read how you enjoyed your stay. It is especially pleasing to know that you were so satisfied with the service from our team. They never shy away from going the extra mile to ensure guest satisfaction and I will be sure to forward your compliments to them.
We hope to welcome you back to the Gloria Izaro Club Hotel in the very near future.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me explain. Since booking the G/I we have been to 2 adult only hotels, neither of which allowed ball games or floats into the pool and cost little more than the G/I and have realised that this type of hotel is to our preference.
Nevertheless we went to the G/I with an open mind and there are a lot of things that we liked such as our room ( 521) the pool area with comfy sunbeds. the food ( except for the greasy fatty bacon and the ice cream which fluctuated from mushy to rock hard )and the majority of the staff. It is also handy for the harbour and a good supermarket and the bus stop are just around the corner
The members of staff that annoyed us were our maid who asked us abruptly if we wanted our room servicing or not when she barged into the room and found us still there one morning and 2 of the chefs. One was just plain miserable , an older guy with a bit of a goatee beard and a younger clean shaven guy who is also miserable but also questioned why I wanted 3 pieces of hake one night. Yes you did read this correctly.Do not confuse these 2 guys with Pitu he was the opposite and a really helpful friendly guy.
I think that the catering dept must have double standards because they would deny me an extra piece of hake yet every morning people are guzzling cava like it is going out of fashion. You need to get your priorities right.
We would normally dismiss the above negatives but the pool area and dining room experience are the main reason that we would not return to this hotel. The pool area starts off nice and quiet then gets progressively louder and louder with large groups taking over the pool, blocking the steps into the pool,using balls floats radios, smoking and basically making a decent swim impossible.
As for the dining room , my daughters dog has got better table manners than some of the clientele of this hotel.One day we watched a woman fill her plate with a full english breakfast then proceed to eat half of it with her fingers before she sat down.
The problem with this hotel is that there are not enough rules and regulations or decent standards and anything seems to go and people think that they can do exactly what they want without being challenged.
Would not return

Room tip: If you like to mingle with other people ask for a ground floor terrace
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ILoveBeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arteta A, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ILoveBeagles,

Thank you for letting us know your opinion.

We will look carefully at your comment about our chefs to solve the incident.

Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful week in Puerto Del Carmen based in the Izaro Club Hotel. The hotel has every amenity and our apartment was clean and modern and had a lovely big balcony with a view over the pool to the sea beyond. All the staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. A 10 minute walk takes you down to the old town. Highly recommended

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BrianDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arteta A, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear BrianDiv,

Thanks for the splendid review!
It's fantastic you had such an excellent experience with us and that our team took such great care of you. We want you to feel right at home as soon as you walk through our doors! Our team will love to hear they made such a wonderful impression on you.
We look forward to hosting you again soon so we can share another amazing experience with you.

Have a beautiful day!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Once again amazing place to stay the staff can't do enough for you from start to finish just outstanding they really make you feel welcome you can see they really work hard and go out of their way to help everyone thks for everything ye did for us will definitely be back soon

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 798johnnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arteta A, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 798johnnyd,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us with a special mention to the staff.
Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Kindest Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews