We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotel room quite good, clean and tidy, quite recently refurbished. All in food not up to much, get what you pay for i expect. Although if you do buy food e.g. By the pool, its actually ok. Staff friendly and helpful..ohh and if your over 60 you will fit in well..i am not, and it felt like an old folks home to us.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fixit4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in the first week of December at the Izaro and the place is gorgeous.

A taxi from the airport was about €15 so don't get ripped off on transfers.

The hotel was quiet when we were there so no competition for poolside sunbeds, I could see this being a potential issue in the high season but the balconies and verandas are massive and you have the beach as well.

Great self catering facilities although I believe they are half board only now (which is a shame as I am going to be island hopping in June and would have stayed again self-catering).

The rooms are large with a seperate balcony and veranda (in some), a seperate bedroom and a living/dining area. The location is up a hill and a good ten minute walk into the main strip but I don't see that as a negative.

Hotel in general is very modern, very clean (the cleaners are out all day every day, the place is seriously spotless). I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant so can't review that.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, pool bar a little on the dear side but that's to be expected, didn't get any moans from brining drinks from our room by the pool but this may be season related.

I would rate this hotel highly and Puerto del carmen is a lot more interesting than Costa Teguise where I have stayed before. If you want to ask me questions then just message me on here.

Room Tip: Choose one of the 5xx rooms. These over look the pool and get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sieuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

As others have said these apartments are lovely.

We have just returned from a 4 night break and cannot fault it. We were lucky enough to book before the hotel moved to half-board with Easyjet Holidays - I can understand why the hotel have done this as the facilities are excellent, but we personally prefer self-catering and going out to eat in the evenings.

Our apartment was 598 - right at the back of the complex - we had asked for a quiet room with a sea view, and this is what we received. However, if we were to return I would definitely request a room overlooking the pool, as these are more central.

We were very lucky with the weather, as although not scorching it was warm enough to sunbathe, and not too hot for a lovely stroll along the strip each morning, before stopping at the Purple Turtle for a spot of lunch. Highly recommended.

We didn't eat or drink at the complex so can't comment. We were going to stop in the bar one evening before going out, but it was empty which was a shame.

To summarise, we would recommend these apartments, and on leaving were asked to complete a short questionnaire where we suggested it would be nice to have the option of SC or HB. Staff at the Izaro were extremely friendly and helpful and their English was excellent.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bugalug12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed a week at the Izaro. We booked a 2 bed apt which was lovely. On arrival check in was quick and the lady on reception was friendly and helpful. Our apt was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. We had two large bedrooms, one with twin beds and one double. Plenty of wardrobe space and shelves in bedroom. The only thing missing in the bedroom would be a mirror.
The kitchen was nice and well equipped with kettle, toaster, hob, microwave and fridge. Dining table with 4 chairs, nice bathroom with walk in shower and some toiletries provided also shoe shine and comb. Lounger two sofas, table and cupboard with flat screen tv on.
The whole complex in all public areas was clean with people making sure it stayed that way. The pool bar and bar we comfortable and relaxing and all staff friendly and helpful. Plenty of sunloungers round pool and cushions provided. Both the big pool and children's were heated.
Free wifi available in your apt and in public areas.
The maid was good, but she did not sweep up that well and mop the floors good enough, after she had gone there was still hair and dirty marks particularly on bathroom floor.
We had a fab stay at the Izaro and would return if the prices don't increase too much and if you can stay SC as now it seems to be HB on a lot of sites.

Room Tip: 729 second floor 2 bed apt overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank difah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have just returned from a one week stay at the lovely and spotlessly clean Izaro apartments. Our apartment was 2 bedroom on the ground floor directly opposite the pool, room 602. It was very spacious and modern with everything required including toiletries and plenty of towels. One of the bedrooms had a massive queen sized bed and the other had twin beds. Both had plenty of wardrobe space.
Despite a terrible week of weather we made the most of our time and thanks to a heated pool the boys were able to enjoy a swim, the pool was kept immaculately clean with comfortable and plentiful sun loungers.
We were half board as we booked on the izaro website direct, we couldnt book self catering on their website (we hadn't been able to book a 2 bedroom on the usual sites e.g travel republic where we could have had the self catering option)
The reason this review doesn't get a 5 rating is purely down to the food served in the evening, it was very repetitive and cold. If you got in early at 6.30pm it was fine but if you left it much later it would be cool. On a positive note there was the option to have meat or fish cooked fresh and hot but there could be a wait for that option. Breakfast was great with the option of having fresh eggs cooked to your preference with lovely fresh bread, fruit and other cooked options.
The animation entertainer Anna was lovely and great with the kids, my boys enjoyed the rifle shooting, just as we were leaving their was a sangria making demonstration. Overall this is a great apartment and I would definately recommend, it's location is great and the hill really isn't a problem.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Harbourlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 weeks did not have any problems at all The staff were extremely helpful Rooms cleaned and towels changed every other day Bins were emptied every day. We were self-catering so can't comment on the food.There are only showers missed the bath. There is SPAR shop near the junction of the LZ 2 and a LIDL at Arrecife if you hire a car we usually hire from Plus car. We spent most nights at the Purple Turtle reasonable priced mostly 7 to 8 euros a meal plus drinks and they did have specials on. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs but near the pool with a balcony for privacy Family had another room near poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank veritasBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have spent the past two weeks at the Izaro Club Apartments (and are still here and I write this). We are staying in room 534 a one bedroom apartment with a lovely view over looking the complex and the sea. We have loved our time here:

* Pros: The apartment is well equipped, clean and comfortable. The view from the apartment is beautiful. The price/quality is excellent (you get more than what you pay for here). The cleaning is excellent, they even wash your dishes. We are here on self-catering basis, but they offer dinner at 12 euro p.p. including the first drink, and we have eaten here a few times. While the food is a bit repititious, it is excellent quality and price/quality is very good. The people at the reception (sorry, didn't get their names) are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Anna, the Hungarian entertainment person is so kind and friendly. She took great care of our 4 year old during the daily mini-club event. We also enjoyed our bingo nights and other events. Geri B, the woman who sings twice per week is so much fun!

* What could be improved: The wifi in the room is weak and available only in the living room and balcony. I can not get wifi at all in the bedroom. There could be warmer water in the children's pool or a play area for kids. Shade (like an umbrella) on the balconies would make the balcony more accessible during the mid-day sun.

I was very worried about the "hill" everyone mentions in the reviews. I was expecting Mt. Everest or something. I have a bad knee and as mentioned we have a 4 year old. Neither of us had much problem. Yes, there is a hill coming back from the harbor. But if you want to stay near the harbor (and it is very lovely here) I have not seen a nicer apartment complex anywhere else nearby. The hill has the advantage of offering a great view, we are on top of everything. But it was really not so bad to walk it. It is gradual and really not so steep. Once at the apartment complex, you have a choice of a lower room (probably no or little view) or an upper room (more steps to climb). I do notice a wheelchair lift for the lower flats,

Overall, we were more than satisfied with both the facilities and the team.

Room Tip: As has often been mentioned, the upper rooms (we are in 534) have a beautiful view of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
3 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,267 reviews
3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,923 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Izaro Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Izaro Club Hotel

Address: Calle Salinas 9, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $109 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Izaro Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel was renovated in 2013, the village-style apartment complex with its white-washed architecture, is situated in the south of Lanzarote in the town of Puerto Del Carmen. Gloria Izaro Club Hotel is one of our smaller owned hotels; nevertheless it has astonishing sea views, top quality buffet and plenty of facilities to suit your needs. All of your dreams are within reach as there is an efficient 24 hour taxi service at reception or you could choose to use the public bus stop which is 300 meters away. The closest beach is Playa Chica which is 800 meters away. The closest shopping centre is Biosfera which is 800 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gloria Izaro Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing