We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We visit Lanzarote at least three times a year , and have done so for the past four years, we have stayed in various hotels/apartments in order to experience different locations on the island. Prior to making final decision on where to stay we rely on reviews, particularly Trip Advisor, and on reading reviews on Izaro, we decided to make a booking. On arrival at Izaro, we were checked in by a male member of staff, who informed us we were in room 512. On seeing the apartment, my husband and I were very disappointed. I booked our accommodation through booking.com and had requested PRIVATE, upper sea view room. I am well aware that requests are not always met, but we were allocated a ground floor apartment with connecting door, seriously bad sound proofing, and a small area described as a terrace. I immediately returned to Reception, which left a lot to be desired, given the small space and queue forming outside to speak to Receptionist. I spoke to same member of staff who had checked us in to enquire if there was any other apartment's available as we were not happy with room we had been allocated. I have to say I was very disappointed in reaction of member of staff, he was not interested in anything we had to say, he talked over us, and repeatedly told us adjoining rooms are there for families, we were visiting as a couple and not a family. We got no satisfaction at all and had to remain in room 512, thankfully we were only there for the week. I found the room dull, a table lamp would help in living area, also no shelving/hooks in bathroom, which was very inconvenient. Wi-fi was dismal, practically non existent, location not suitable for those with walking difficulties. I would say that I could not fault cleanliness of complex.

Room Tip: Do not choose 512
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    305
    71
    10
    3
See reviews for
314
610
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cotswolds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Really good value spacious apartment in modern, clean and comfortable facilities. Our room had a lovely view, the prize after the hike up the steps! Sun all day, good in January but must be baking in the summer!
Buffet breakfast was lovely, evening meal we had once was adequate, nice starters and bread, deserts and cheese. Main course not so good and let down by over cooked vegetables.
We found the bar area in evening not very cosy and live music was much too loud for us (we are seniors). Take your own films or other entertainment as TV other than news was not English.
Pool area very pleasant and sun beds comfy.
Puerto del carmen quite touristy and no nice arty or trendy shops, even the Biosfera centre mostly cheap tacky stuff. The main beach Playa Grande clean and pleasant but backed by loads of cheap bars and restaurants all the same all the way a long.
The walk along the cliff top to puerto Calero (about 40 mins) was nice and lovely restaurants at the harbour there.
We had a car and enjoyed visiting other places. We went to Arrecife on the bus. Found this disappointing not a lot there and a hassle to get on a bus to get home. They didn't seem to run to time and a large queue had built up!
We found a lovely restaurant overlooking the harbour and one in the old town area both excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank joan063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at these apartments for five nights just before Christmas on a self catering basis. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. The receptionist staff were very welcoming and helpful.
The walk up to our apartment through the complex was lovely.
The apartment itself was huge, very well laid out, with brand new booking utensils and most things you would need for a self catering stay. We also had two balconies. The main one overlooked the pool, with a view of the mountains/volcanoes and the sea. We couldn't have been happier with our choice.
The pool was really clean and felt gorgeous to swim in. The sun loungers were really comfortable. The pool bar offered a nice choice of bar snacks, ice creams and drinks. The apartments are a very short walk to the resort and the beach so the location was ideal.
The holiday overall was brilliant. We explored the island by car which I would recommend. A trip up to the national park is a must. The bus tour around the park was awesome as it is like nowhere I have seen before, with all the dried up lava it's as close as you can get to being on the moon. We also visited a stunning beach, which was down the longest dirt track but well worth the drive. We also visited the zoo, which had some very entertaining parrot and birds of prey shows.
The beach in peurto del Carmen is stunning as it has a backdrop of the mountains. There are some great walks you can do within the resort especially the coastal one that starts at the harbour. The bars and restaurants offer excellent value for money so it's great if you want a cheaper holiday in the sun.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank LauraB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the New year and we had no complaints whats so ever. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Our room was by the pool and excellent.The breakfast was very nice and great value for money. We did not eat in the evening but heard the food was lovely. There are lots of great restaurants in the area. Great Mexican restaurant around the corner from the hotel and very cheap with lovely food. In the town 5 minutes from the hotel another great restaurant called Cascadas. Another great restaurant was down facing the Farriones called Tropicano we eat hear twice. Hotel staff very friendly and nice and all the beds by the pool have lovely cushions on them. Also the pool bar has fab sofas for eating there or if you just want to read.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

stayed here on 29th dec for a week ,these apartments are the best ive stayed in in lanzarote, spotless clean pool area ,apartment was cleaned every day, very friendly reception staff, asked for a higher room and got one nr pool with loveley view of sea and fuerteventura, all kitchen equipment looked new, loved the bathroom with walk in shower,great location 5 min walk downhill to bars of the old town,supermarket 5 min walk away ,nice restaurant think it was mexican 2 mins away also purple turtle and spenders was good for food all a few mins away,will stay here aghain without doubt next time i come to lanzarote,only minus as was said before was apartment a little chilly at night but couldnt grumble as day temps were great for time of year,thanks for a great time izaro club see you soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff at this hotel were all very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The main restaurant food was often quite cool unless you chose food cooked by the chef doing show cooking. Fresh omelettes, eggs at breakfast was available, cooked fresh on request. Also the evening meal main dish could be cooked specifically to your liking - there was usually a choice of 1 freshly cooked fish (squid, tuna, salmon, hake) or 1 freshly cooked meat (Turkey, pork, duck, chicken). The soup was not usually hot, the sweet choice was limited and there was often just one cheese for the cheese and biscuit selection. There was always a lovely salad starter choice and always lots of bread and fruit available. The pool bar staff always cooked good basic hot and cold food choices to order. The apartments were basic and beds/pillows not very comfortable. When the maids cleaned the room, fresh toiletries (shampoo and shower gel) were supplied but toilet roll was on short supply unless you kept asking them to leave an extra 1. The apartment floors were cleaned but dark hair was often left on the floor from the mops after they were cleaned. The tv just had 3 English speaking channels - these were all news channels - although we did find a good radio station which played British music. The sofas weren't very comfy but the pool loungers all had lovely mattresses so if you didn't sleep we'll at night you could always snooze at the poolside during the day. The pool area was kept spotless. We stayed in room 603, it was a great located room- although there was no privacy unless you kept the curtains closed- which we did. The room was ground floor and right next to the poo,with its own little patio area which we used to put a couple of the lovely sun loungers on. The apartments all had their own 4 seater patio set. The downside: it was a very very very long walk up a big big big hill from the promenade to our hotel. Not good after a few drinks. Not good in the baking hot sun. Not good late at night after you have had a lovely long day chilling. Taxis were only 4/5 euros from the promenade to the hotel, but my husband likes walking and doesn't drink alcohol (I do quite enjoy walking, but not up very very long hils when it's very very hot after I have had a couple of glasses of wine). I would suggest if you don't LOVE walking up very long steep hills in lovely high temperatures the location of this hotel IS NOT SUITABLE FOR YOU- unless you are willing to use taxis. If you wear high heels again this is not for you- unless you use taxis. Super hotel but would be loads better if on main promenade and not located up a long long steep hill. There are many hills you have to go up and down to get to the promenade- it's about 1.5 miles to the promenade which is fine going down in the morning. As the location was not what I expected, on arrival I had to buy so new flat walking sandals which i probably won't wear again which cost me nearly £60

Room Tip: Room 603 was right next to the pool. We thought it was a great located room. You did however have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at the Izaro over New Year and had a fabulous time. Sure, the location at the top of a hill may be a little tricky for the less mobile but it was perfect for us and provided us with exercise to walk off the great meals we had at some lovely restaurants in the town! There are a couple of supermarkets down the hill and also a few watering holes along the way, including the very welcoming Purple Turtle.

I had requested a first floor room but on arrival the complex was fully booked and we were allocated a ground floor room away from the pool. However, Barbara advised that she would have a nicer room available in a couple of days if we wanted to swap. As we were settled and had some lovely neighbours we decided to stay where we were but we probably didn't have one of the better rooms in the complex. hence my reason to mark it down slightly. It appeared to be above the generators and was quite noisy in the living room and when sitting outside. It was also quite a dark apartment (brighter light bulbs needed), didn't have a window in the bathroom and could have done with a full length mirror somewhere but these are really minor points as the rest of the complex more than made up for these little niggles and to be fair we did have the option to move. Just try and avoid room
806!

It has been said by many others but the staff really do make this complex and deserve a mention. Without exception, they really are most friendly, helpful and cheerful team and a credit to the Gloria Palace Hotel Group. Just a couple of mentions ..... the guy in the pool area kept it absolutely spotless and never stopped cleaning and helping people move beds etc. The pool bar staff were charming and the housekeeping staff never stopped smiling. Barbara and the other staff in reception were always helpful with big smiles. Lovely people!

We stayed self catering which suited us as we like to eat out but comments from other guests about the dinners were a little mixed (although all said the breakfasts were lovely).

I was a little reluctant to leave a positive review as selfishly I'd like to keep this place a secret! All being well, we hope to return again for next New Year - and I never go anywhere twice!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jillyw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
3.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#14 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#5 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Izaro Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Izaro Club Hotel

Property: Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
Address: Calle Salinas 9, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Izaro Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel was renovated in 2013, the village-style apartment complex with its white-washed architecture, is situated in the south of Lanzarote in the town of Puerto Del Carmen. Gloria Izaro Club Hotel is one of our smaller owned hotels; nevertheless it has astonishing sea views, top quality buffet and plenty of facilities to suit your needs. All of your dreams are within reach as there is an efficient 24 hour taxi service at reception or you could choose to use the public bus stop which is 300 meters away. The closest beach is Playa Chica which is 800 meters away. The closest shopping centre is Biosfera which is 800 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Izaro Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing