We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday, two girls aged 5 & 11”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Excellent apartment, very spacious & cleaned every day, one or two teething problems with them just opening. on the down side the location is not as they describe, it a good 15 min walk to the beach & returning was hard work walking up the steep hill. Defo return great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TerryDownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have just returned from a week in the Izaro Club Hotel. On arrival we had a 20 minute wait to check in but this was made more relaxing by the complimentary glass of bubbly we were served. Having stayed in a sister property (GLORIA PALACE SAN AGUSTIN, GRAN CANARIA) last year i expected similar high standards in cleanliness and friendly helpfull staff and i can safely say we were not disappointed.

Although in its name it is classed as a hotel, the accommodation is made up of one and two bed apartments but services and facilities are of hotel standars. Everything in the apartment was new and clean and the living area was very spacious. There was a brand new large flat screen tv in the apartment but the only downside was that there were only two english language channels (both news stations) but in fairness you dont go away to the sun to watch telly. The cleaners came every day and each day provided clean fresh fluffy towels. Bed linen was changed regularly too. There was an excellent air conditioning unit operated by remote control. I also saw staff bringing irons and ironing boards to apartments that requested them.

The pool area was spotless and staff always around cleaning throughout the day. There were ample umbrellas and sun beds and always plenty free. The sun beds were very comfy too! Towels can be borrowed with a small deposit from reception for use at the pool but we just brought our own down. It is €15 to hire the safe in your apartment for a week plus a €10 deposit refunded on departure which gave great peace of mind. Although all windows and doors are pvc with good locks so the property felt very secure and given how windy lanzarote can be it was nice that neither doors or windows rattled. The apartments are located up a big hill. Dont let this put you off though as its only 2 minutes walk to the nearest supermarket bar and restaurants and about 5-10 mins max to bottom of hill and main old town. A taxi back will only cost you €3 if you cant face walking up the hill.

Overall a great holiday and i think i will visit these apartments again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just spent 11 days at the izaro,it was so very near perfect, the apartments are very spacious and very clean with kettle,cooker,toaster,micro wave, air con and flat screen tv all as standard,walk in shower.
The cleaners come in everyday with clean towels and keep the place absolutely spotless,all staff are very pleasent and very helpful ,all you have to do is ask and they will do their best for you.
This is a new complex so there is some work still ongoing but does not disturb the guests whatsoever.
We went halfboard and found the breakfast was great everyday but the evening meal (and this is the only fault i could find with the whole stay)was a little bit dissapointing,the food was put out at 6pm and kept heated all evening,some meat was cooked on request but most dishes were left in the servers. Sweets were quite limited and the ice cream looked as though it had defrosted and froze a couple of times.
The surrounding area is quite hilly and people with walking dissabilities could struggle.
But all in all we had a great time and would definately return.

And just a tip for those that go,there are 55 channels on the tv mainly in spannish and dutch but if you go into settings on the remote you can change the audio language to english

Room Tip: Rooms round the pool are great with plenty of sunbeds right outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank mmikey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

First off, some minor negatives...
The hotel is on a hill and although not horrendous, can be a bit of a trek in the mid-day sun and payments can be quite slippy.
Our room is at the top of the complex and if you are like me, then you may struggle to get your cases up the stairs, when you first arrive.
The final negative, is that the shower head is really high and doesn't have a riser to adjust, so it's impossible to take the shower head down unless you're over 5'8, subsequently the spray does go everywhere. However these are just minor niggles.

Now the positives...

The hotel is immaculately clean, all of the rooms are newly refurbished and the towels are changed every day (big plus point for me)! Our balcony is huge and gets a lovely breeze. When we first arrived, as we'd missed dinner we were left picnic boxes with a meal, fruit and water (very thoughtful).

With regards to food, it's nice but not a lot of choice. This might be due the fact it's September. However the food is cooked freshly, once you make your choice.

There are plenty of sun loungers available all day around the pool, so no need to reserve - brill! Again, this may be due to it being September.

Finally, the staff are very attentive, friendly and very helpful. On the whole, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. I'm really pleased with the Izaro and thanks to all of the accurate previous reviewers for helping us with this choice.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived back from a fabulous week at the Izaro Club. It was just me and my daughter and we felt very safe there. I must say the apartments and complex were kept so clean by a team of cleaners! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The earlier feedback must have been noted as David who organised the entertainment etc only played music for the hour of aquagym in the pool in the morning and he wasn't too in your face. We had a fabulous time and would definitely go back! My only recommendation wear shoes with good grips for the hills down to the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eog756321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to stay at the Izaro Club Apartments for one week Half Board from 11th to 18th August 2013.
These Apartments used to be private and have recently undergone a huge refit. Everything is new. In fact so new that they were still working away in the background finishing things off. This did not affect us though as the workmen were up on roofs and in non public areas.
The thing that stands out when you first arrive is how spotlessly clean everything is. The cleaners seem to be there from dusk till dawn and never stop. There wasn't a single bit of dirt anywhere. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels left every day.
The food was good with a huge variety. The only moan we had was some of the food would be left out to long and things like chips can go dry and cold. There is a good selection with meat cooked to order and fresh fish. Breakfast was the same every day with pastries, toast and yogurt.
All of the staff were so friendly and spoke good English. They were very helpful too.
We had a couple of little issues such as the air conditioning was not up and running when we arrived. The guys did get it working but it soon packed in again. I think this will be fixed as its just a work in progress. The resort is at the top of a steep hill so it takes quite an effort in the heat to walk up. However taxi's are very cheap even from down in the main resort.
The pool area was very nice however the pool isn't huge and can get quite busy. The same old problem occurs with selfish people getting up before its light to put a towel on a sun bed and then go out for the whole day. If you want to go around the pool you will see loads of sun beds with towels on them but no people. Unfortunately the only way to solve this issue is take the attitude that if you cant beat them you have to join them.
Finally the music around the pool was really annoying. For the whole week it was a 90's dance music cd with 10 tracks played from 10am till 6pm non stop on repeat. After the first day you could set your watch by the time and order of the paly list. There was an animation guy who would pop up each morning for a water exercise thing. To be honest although he was friendly he could have done with a few lessons before he tried to teach it.
On the whole this hotel complex is really good. To sum up its great for families, Its spotlessly clean, All very shiny and new with great staff and it is a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the high floor. From there you get sea views and a nice cool breeze on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from the IZARO CLUB, we cannot speak highly enough of the very kind and exceptional staff there, the apartments are very comfortable and immaculate, they are experiencing some teething problems as they have only reopened recently, but these are quickly sorted out. We were on half board basis and food could not be faulted, the hotel is situated up the hill from the Old Port, it is about ten minutes walking distance, we are retired but this was not a problem for us, however people with mobility issues may struggle.

Room Tip: We had to change rooms due to bathroom flooding,the rooms on pool level can be noisey we changed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank murphyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
3 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,245 reviews
3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,871 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
626 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Izaro Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Izaro Club Hotel

Address: Calle Salinas 9, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $100 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Izaro Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel was renovated in 2013, the village-style apartment complex with its white-washed architecture, is situated in the south of Lanzarote in the town of Puerto Del Carmen. Gloria Izaro Club Hotel is one of our smaller owned hotels; nevertheless it has astonishing sea views, top quality buffet and plenty of facilities to suit your needs. All of your dreams are within reach as there is an efficient 24 hour taxi service at reception or you could choose to use the public bus stop which is 300 meters away. The closest beach is Playa Chica which is 800 meters away. The closest shopping centre is Biosfera which is 800 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gloria Izaro Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing