We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent meal, Modesto was a great host”
Review of Sal y Pimienta

Sal y Pimienta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent meal, Modesto was a great host”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We went to enjoy the fresh catch of the day near the harbour and were not disappointed. My husband and I shared an "bocinegra" grilled a la plancha that was delicious and a plate of mejillones al escabeche starter. The dry white wine El Grifo Expecial was a little pricey, but was excellent and cold- perfect to accompany the meal. The owner Modesto and his waiters went out of their way to make us feel welcome and taken care of.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sernanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    173
    48
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, great view, friendly staff!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We came across this very friendly and popular place by chance last year and needed no encouragement to visit again. Excellent welcome, attentive service and great mixed Tapas plates in an elevated location overlooking the marina. A great place for a lazy lunch. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank minty98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal all week”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Of the 6 or 7 restaurants we visited in our weeks stay this was the only meal where 1. We were served by a waiter that clearly cared and enjoyed the service he gave and 2. The food was of a genuinely good standard.
I would confidently recommend the Tapas, which is what we had. Good value but more importantly very good quality.
Thank you for a very pleasant few hours with beautiful views and great service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deb290film
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hard to beat!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were revisiting the Harbour area after an absence of 12 years or so (that's the last time we were in Lanzarote!) and were taking a look at the Menu when one of the guys came over and spoke to us re Fish or Meat Dishes; as per the norm!

To be fair, he was not "pushy". When I explained that my Wife does not like Seafood Paella, though I do, and most Restaurants insist on "Min 2 Persons" he immediately responded with the fact that they would do Paella for one person. SOLD!!

The Seafood Paella was outstanding. My wife had Suckling Pig that evening; a "Special" that was also First Class.

We were so impressed with the quality of Food and Service that we ate there for the remaining two nights of our holiday.

Average cost per head (3 Course, sharing Starters of Garlic Bread & Garlic Prawns!) including Drinks was £25-£30 for us. House Dry White Wine was less than £10. Their Irish Coffee is also made properly; no "Squirty" Cream in this establishment!

Many thanks to Modesto (The Boss), Paco, Domingo, Polo, and "Hezeus" (spelled Jesus in Spanish!), for the quality of Food, Service and: entertainment!

Please, if you do choose Suckling Pig; do not ask Modesto for "Apple Sauce"!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harris_d447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Once again the restaurant staff were wonderful, especially the 'greeter' he always had a smile. The quality of the food remains some of the best in the area. The fresh fish is always fresh and there is a nice choice every evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal y Pimienta also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Sal y Pimienta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing