We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Nautilus Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nautilus Lanzarote
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have recently stayed at the bungalows and we found them to a good clean standard with all you need for a relaxing stay ,my husband is disabled and uses a wheelchair the complex is completely geared up for this type of customer , the grounds are great with some nice art and sculptures around with a low level unobtrusive layout the staff are friendly and helpful and the whole complex is immaculately clean , the access a bility of the stairs into the pool or the hydraulic hoist adds so much needed independence to people who may need it , we both indulged in a massage during our stay which was lovely and relaxing,the resort of matagorda is perfect for getting about whatever your range of mobility , ramps are sometimes a little steep but almost everywhere is accessible and you have the beauty of the long , flat promenade which is great to be able to stretch my legs as well as easy to push the wheelchair on , all in all because of all the positives we shall more than likely return as we are assured of a great complex and a nice resort that is accessible and therefore able to be enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfieldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear guest,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. After reforming works the complex is more accessible for wheelchair users (reception area, lift, ramps and extra service for excursion or equipment etc..)
Nautilus Lanzarote as got the certification of Accessibility and Adaptability in the category of Adapted. Art is relevant here 490 piece of art, so you can enjoy the beauty of felling to be in an open museum. Is nice to her that you liked the pool area with hydraulic hoist, the staff works every day to offer you the best facilities.Matagorda area is very quiet, relaxing and peaceful, and the beach promenade is just 50metres from Nautilus Lanzarote .
We hope to see you soon in Nautilus Lanzarote ,a million of thanks from all the staff.
Best regards,
Leda Giordano-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    169
    38
    17
    6
See reviews for
314
373
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband, two year old son and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Bungalows Nautilus in Matagorda, Lanzarote. It was our second time staying there and we can't say enough about the place. Clean, quiet, well maintained, close to beach and amenities and staff all very friendly. The bungalows are cleaned fairly regularly with fresh linen and clean towels changed most days. There is a supermarket onsite which is a bit expensive but cheaper ones are not far. There are a couple of old computers if you want to check your mail or surf the net but they are a bit ancient. In fairness though the complex has free Wifi and these days most people bring a laptop or have a smartphone so it's no big deal. We didn't have breakfast included this time but we did the last time and the food was reasonable and there was plenty of it. The pool is beautiful and the pool area too. Every morning the whole place is scrubbed and cleaned by what seemed like an army of people. There are a good number of very good restaurants in Matagorda itself but if you fancy heading of over to Puerto del Carmen, a cab ride will cost you around 5.00 euro. Check out an excellent Indian restaurant - can't remember the name - but it is a few metres down the street from the Bioshere Shopping Centre in PDC on the left hand side on the corner. Best Indian food I've ever had!! All around the Nautilus there is beautiful artwork and sculptures and each apartment has several original paintings which is a nice touch. There was not a whole lot of families there - a few - but mostly older couples and retired people. Still they do a small playground and some crazy golf for the older ones. We love and hope to return!

Room Tip: If you have children, ask for a pool side apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marycontrary121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoy again your holiday in Nautilus Lanzarote
The new services we have implemented as Wi-Fi and IP TV, with a large selection of channels are free us you know ,about the computers in the internet area we already speak with the company that provide them to Nautilus we hope to change them as soon .
We hope to surprise you with some new Artworks when you visit us again and for sure with a better internet point if possible.
Best regards from all the staff of Nautilus Lanzarote
Leda Giordano-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was our first holiday in Lanzarote and we went with My disabled father-in-law who has difficulty walking. We booked through Enable holidays and after reading trip adviser decided to go to Nautilus Bungalows. We were not disappointed. We had a two bedroomed, two bathroomed superior poolside bungalow - no 24. From arrival to departure, the hospitality and friendship of the staff (reception in particular) was exceptional. Our bungalow was modern, spacious and everything you could ask for. The poolside area was immaculately kept at all times and the complex itself was very quiet and peaceful. This is one of the best places we have stayed in the Canary Islands and we will definitely return and have already recommended it to many of our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK03LOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about us. We are very glad that you noticed our efforts to make our guests feel like at home, to come back in Nautilus Lanzarote you can contact us directly and we will be pleased to give you all the information you need for your accommodation, transport or other service that you may need .

All the Best for you and your family.
Leda Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have just arrived back from what can only be described as an excellent 10 night stay at the Nautilus apartments and we will be going back. The complex is very well cared for with the pool area being modern and the grounds lovely with pieces of art scattered around. Clearly the complex is also geared for people with mobility problems and those who were at the resort appeared to have no problems navigating around the site.

We booked a one bedroomed bungalow which was set back from the pool; I think all the two bedroomed ones lined the pool area. However it was just 30 seconds walk and we were at the pool and the bungalow was nice, sunny and very peaceful- but to be honest the whole complex had a relaxed and quiet feeling to it. The bungalows were nicely furnished and cleaned to a good standard six out of seven days. The kitchen area had more than enough and the living area had a table and a sofa that doubled up as a pull out bed. A good sized TV with a selection of channels but a couple more English for kids would have been nice. A safe could be hired for €2 a day. Rooms had an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. They requested guests use the shower gel provided free of charge as it was biodegradable and the waste water was then used to water the plants.

We found the reception staff to be helpful and all other staff at the complex from cleaning staff to the gardener friendly.

You do get some aircraft noise at the complex but this did not bother us really and no night flights take place at the airport.

Matagorda has really developed as a resort from the last time we visited with a nice promenade to walk on and a blue flag beach. The shopping centre has some nice places to eat including –La brisca with its great €2.95 breakfast, Timbanya and a super 3 course €10 dinner menu and finally the Suppuro Japanese restaurant which was outstanding on both occasions we visited. In the end we ate in and around the shopping complex all but one night preferring it to Puerto del Carmen. Overall we found prices very competitive including a beer for €1.50-2. The local spa shop was also good value.

We hired a car and once again and reserved it online months before with Cabrera medina who have always proved reliable, decent cars and no excess included.

Overall a great holiday and we will be returning to the Nautilus complex in the near future without hesitation- thanks Nautilus!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJohnsonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure when people leave their positive comments on Tripadvisor about us and the area of Matagorda .
We always try very hard to please all our guest and meet your expectations that is why we implemented different service as free Wi-Fi , IP TV, with a big selections of channels from English to Russian .
As you write the area of Matagorda improves all the service from restaurant to supermarket and you can find everything within five minutes from Nautilus Lanzarote ,as you guess ,all the two bedroomed are in the pool area apart 4 that are garden sight as the one bedroom , the cleaning service is 6x7 and the change of towel are 3 times a week .
We really hope to welcome you back in Lanzarote anytime .
All the best
Leda Giordano-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was our second holiday here in less than a year and once again we had such an amazing time and are already planning for next year. The reception refurbishment has made a great difference and your first impression when you walk in is of clean, tidy, airy and friendly faces to greet you after your flight. Everything was once again to such a high standard in terms of our bungalow, the grounds, the pool area etc, spotless. We met some lovely people and I think because Nautilus is ideal for people with mobility problems, there is an air of extra care and willingness to help both from the staff and fellow guests as well, I’ve never found that anywhere else before. We would have no hesitation in recommending Nautilus to people with or without mobility, it is truly a perfect location in everyway. I’ve also never come across a site that has so many outstanding reviews from other people. We can’t wait to see you again next year, thank you for making our holiday wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules007Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear guest,
Thanks a million for your nice words we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and wish to come back next year, that is our reward .
From May 1st until June 15th we will refurbish the last bit of Nautilus Lanzarote (for sure we will have to close for that period) now we are waiting to install Solar Panel as well ,to help the environment, as you know we are Art Accessibility and a Biosphere resort , trying to improve every day in services , safety and hospitality but with a global point of you, looking after the quality of life of our guests, the environment and the surroundings of the island .
We know that a Guests of Nautilus is our support to go on with our plans , because apart from what you can see in Nautilus about refurbishing , we use a part of our income to help different associations , from the association of the Protection of Animals and Plants "SARA" the Hospital of Ebomé-Kribi (HEK), in Camerún, and other association in Europe and in the island to give our contribute and every single guest is helping .
So again ,thanks a million to chose to come back again from all the staff.

All the best
Leda Giordano-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My hubby (who suffers from M.S and is in a electric wheelchair) stayed at the nautilus bungalows in September 2011, we have always struggled to find a holiday and accommodation where we can cope with my hubby's severe disabilities and at last we have finally found one, so much so that we have booked again for next year.
The complex is very clean and the staff are very helpful, nothing seems to much trouble for them. Just ask at the reception desk if you want a disabled taxi booking, taxi prices' are very reasonable (just check that it is not the taxi with flimsy ramps, if you have a heavy chair because the ramp fell away and my hubby nearly came a real cropper)
We hired a carer to help get the husband out of bed in the morning (his care package paid for that)
while I went swimming in the lovely large pool.
Electric beds, hoists etc can all be hired and will be ready and waiting in your room ( once again the cost of this can be claimed back from the council care allowance)
We did book with a disabled travel company, they were very good but you do pay allot extra for the privilege. This time I have booked directly with Nautilus bungalows and will arrange everything else myself. We did not realize that you can book addapted vehicles for trips out, just ask about this when you book your accommodation.
This resort of Matagorda has a lovely long traffic free prom (apart from bikes which are no problem) great for wheel chairs, just the usual problems such as dropped curbs in the wrong places, dropped curbs obstructed by vehicles and some times no dropped curbs at all, however no worse than you some times find in the u.k and you learn to cope and get around these difficulties. I do feel that making life easier for the disabled has and is being taken seriously in Lanzarote. If you take the walk way towards Playa Honda be prepared to dig out the wheelchair from sand drifts, passersby by are very helpful and a wheelchair foot plate makes a great spade. You can watch the planes come in right over head (very interesting,) the noise from the planes did not bother us during our stay, however the one that takes off at 07.30 did act as an alarm clock for me which wasn't a problem as I am an early riser any way.
Overall a great holiday (not without some problems but thats the nature of disability.) I would highly recommend the accommodation and resort to wheelchair users, the people of Lanzarote are very friendly and extremely helpful e.g the waiter in a bar in Puerto Del Carmen who hurriedly arranged a disabled taxi for us when my hubby felt ill.
A big thank you to all the staff at Nautilus Bungalows, looking forward to seeing you again in June 2012.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deborah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thanks for you for your opinion, really nice that you enjoyed your stay and you relax with your husband in Nautilus
As you wrote, Nautilus Lanzarote is a place for all ,with no barrier of better sad barrier-free, we received the title of Accessibility and Adaptability in the category of Adapted and we are really proud to say that Nautilus Lanzarote turns this way into the first tourist establishment into the Canary Islands that there shows this distinction with which there is guaranteed the practices of his facilities to persons with problems of limited mobility.
We are always in touch with companies that provide equipment so you can hire this items directly with us ,or there is also a company that makes tour ,throughout the island and as well transfer to the airport so you can always count with the staff of reception to reserve or ask for informations
Thanks as well for the kind words for the staff of Nautilus and thanks to explain so well to our commune friends of tripadvisor the surrounding of Matagorda .
See you next year in june ,all the best to you and your family .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have just returned from the nautilus and had a fantastic time. I had read the reviews before i went and thought they must be nice apartments but they were even better than i expected them to be. It was dark when we arrived and I was a bit apprehensive about finding the apartments but they were well numbered and the lighting around the bungalows were well lit. My husband is a full time wheelchair user and we had ordered a shower chair which was waiting in the room when we arrived, which is always a plus point.
The apartments were very spacious with enough space for turning etc. The kitchen area was adequate for our needs, making tea and toast and the odd sandwich but plenty of equipment if you wanted to cook.
The outside terrace was fabulous, plenty of space and the apartment we had got the sun from 9.30 in the morning till the sun went down at about 6.30. This meant you could use your terrace all day if you didnt want to go to the pool area. The terrace isnt completely private but as we had lovely neighbours it wasnt a problem.
The reception staff couldnt have been nicer, with plenty of advise. In particular i was asking about adapted taxis and the guy (couldnt remember his name) explained that he could order one for me. I was remarking about the cost of our booked taxi from the airport costing us £95 pounds and he said that in future if we book the apartment to email them and they would organise the transfer which would cost only 40 euros. This would have been a good saving.
All in all we had a fantastic time, met some lovely people and cant wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel, which was good if you wanted peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stocktonmackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordano, Director General at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Nautilus Lanzarote , we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We really appreciate you noticed that Nautilus Lanzarote is a suitable place for wheelchair user.
Next time, please let us know flight details and we will arrange your accessibly transfer, no waiting at the airport. Hope to see you soon again in Nautilus Lanzarote .
I take note as well that the staff in this case I take note that Ernesto give you to right advice about the transport for the transfer from the airport.
All the best to you and your husband , looking forward to see you soon .

Best Regards.
Leda Giordano Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,489 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,676 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Lanzarote

Property: Nautilus Lanzarote
Address: Calle Gramillo 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nautilus Lanzarote 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort includes single and double apartments (47 of them mobility-friendly). You will enjoy a qualified service in an exceptionally quiet environment, environmentally friendly and with original works of art present both in common areas and in every apartments. Two acclimatised swimming pools (one for small children, the other equipped with a water-powered lift for 120kg) and Breakfast and take away food are also at our clients' disposal. We also have a apartments known as "Casa del Artista", specifically adapted for the needs of artists that contribute to our varied collection of works of art. You can enjoy long walks or bike-rides in the avenue bordering the beaches, as well as all shopping and entertainment options offered by Puerto del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nautilus Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Bungalows Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Bungalows Lanzarote
Nautilus Resort Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing