We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Apartments in Matagorda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Patricia and I enjoyed a bril 9 days at Costa Sal, as we have done several times over the past
5 years. Geraldine McFadden was such a great hostess as always and Greg at the bar so friendly when you get to know him too. Our accommodation was second to none as we were
very surprised to be given an up-grade on arrival. We know the run of the place and enjoyed the Tuesday night BBQ, great value and the best of food. The pool is fab and the surrounding gardens are beautiful and kept so well by the staff. We will always try to get accommodation at Costa Sal but have only once been disappointed when they were booked out. We were so disappointed last November when we were not so well treated at a Hotel/Apt between Costa Sal and the beach last November. Well done to all the management and staff at Costa Sal for making us feel so welcome, you're the best in Lanzarotte.

Michael Ahern

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were not disappointed this time and we had room for you.
I will pass your comments on to Greg who is one of our newer recruits and he will be thrilled to have got a mention.
We hope you continue to come back to us and if you need any help with your booking in the future, please e mail me direct geraldine.mcfadden@gmail.com.
Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,622 - 1,628 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just back from a fantastic weeks break at the costa sal, the apartment was very spacious and spotlessly clean and to top it off had a beautiful sea view, the staff where very friendly and welcoming and a special mention to Matt in the bar who we thought gave fantastic friendly service.
We will be back !!!!!
Many thanks Andy & Kathryn,

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank andymilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Delighted to read your lovely review and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Costa Sal.
I will pass your kind comments on to the lovely Matt, who is always so friendly and a joy to work with.
We hope you wont leave it too long to come back and visit us, and thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Myself and my sister stayed here for a week the start of March. We had a lovely stay and staff were very accommodating. A special mention to Geraldine McFadden who was extremely helpful. These apartments are very centrally located on the beach and centre in 5 minutes. I will definitely be returning to Matagorda again and would stay im Costa Sal.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therese-Nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and all the Team at Costa Sal are delighted you found us all accommodating. I am glad that I was extremely helpful and we all try to go the extra mile for our guests.
What better endorsement than to say you will be back to stay with us. We hope to see you in the very near future and thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have just returned from a great week at Costa Sal. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, the apt that we stayed was immaculatly clean as was the whole complex. The fixed price Sunday roast with entertainment from a great drag artist team of performers was second to none and should be a must for anyone looking for an exelant value for money fun night out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

What a great heading and what a lovely review.
Thank you for taking the time to write it, and pass such lovely comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the complex.
Delighted you enjoyed the Sunday night entertainment. it has proven to be the hit of this winter, and really is hilarious and good fun. And the Sunday Roasts are so popular that if people don't book they tend to have to wait for a table.
So glad you had a good holiday and we hope you will come back again so. And of course spread the word about Costa Sal.
Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I've just returned from 10 days in Costa Sal apartments in Matagorda. It was most enjoyable and I agree wholeheartedly with all the comments about helpful staff and cleanliness. We had a standard apartment. We were happy with it although if possible, I would recommend having a superior one. They looked really attractive inside.
The little supermarket onsite is extremely useful in that it means that you don't have to carry heavy items like milk or water up the hill. It has quite a good range of products.
The weather was very windy when we were there - practically gale force winds most days. We went into Puerto Del Carmen a good deal and it is my impression that it is not as exposed as Matagorda and that wind was not such a problem there. We took both taxis and buses to go into Puerto Del Carmen. Reception ordered taxis very willingly and they arrived almost immediately. Buses were frequently extremely packed and uncomfortable, although very cheap. The bus -stop is very conveniently located. Taxis were also very well-priced - about 6 euros each way. It is possible that some holiday-makers may feel a little "cut-off" by being in Matagorda rather than Puerto Del Carmen - it is worth bearing this in mind when choosing accommodation. However, on the plus side, Matagorda is just about 5 minutes by taxi from the airport, although the airport does not give any problems by being so close.
Costa Sal is an enormous complex - based on the small typically Canarian layout of two storeys surrounding a pool. Initially it can be quite difficult to find your way around but it is well laid-out with several exit gates. In terms of value, the price is extremely competitive.(I understand that the complex is embarking on an extensive revamping in the coming months in anticipation of an upgrade from 3 to 4 stars. I hope that it will be possible for prices to remain competitive). Breakfast was more than adequate although a more extended layout and choice would be good.
A few small suggestions - which must be taken in the context of the reasonable cost: 1. Could some cushions be provided in standard apartments in order to ensure comfort while sitting on very wide sofa. 2. Could the breakfast fruit salad have a little more variety - it's mostly apple. 3. One of our mattress protectors was very plastic and noisy and wrinkled badly under the sheet which made it uncomfortable - perhaps that could be replaced.
Overall, Costa Sal is run smoothly, unobtrusively and efficiently. Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GabyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

From all the team at Costa Sal we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your first visit to us, and hope this will be the first of many.
It is good to read that you agree with other reviewers about the helpful staff and the cleanliness. Both of which we pride ourselves on, and it is always nice to get recognition for this,.
This last month or 6 weeks was probably the worst we have ever known in Lanzarote, and as you experienced , the wind was particularly strong.
I am delighted to say that the last 5 days the wind has disappeared and we now have our lovely 25 degrees during the day temperatures back.
As I have said on previous comments, the lower pool area is very sheltered for these windy days. The upper area is very open, and is great for cooling down on the hotter days.
Just to say to those of you reading this review. there is also 2 areas with bars and restaurants close to Costa Sal. One which is the Matagorda Commercial Centre. The other one is the whole strip along the Hotel Jameos Playa.
And as you point out, on site we also have the supermarket and a bar and restaurant that are open all day and we have entertainment 6 days of the week.

A map is also given out to everyone on arrival, and if you have any problems finding your way around, all you need to do is ask at reception.
And as you so rightly point out, we are now almost at the point of getting 4 stars,. We will endeavour to keep our prices very competitive.

I would welcome your suggestions on any additions to the breakfast buffet, as we have taken people suggestions on board and for 6.50Euro we think this will offer any of our guests excellent value . There are 4 choices of Cereal.2 Choices of dried fruits.-. A fresh fruit salad. Yogurt. Cold hams, salamis, cheeses, tomatoes , cucumbers.
Various types of bread rolls baked freshly every morning ( both brown and white)
Sliced white and brown bread.
Freshly baked Croissants.
Bacon, Sausages, Fried and boiled eggs. Fried potatoes. Scrambles egg. Beans. Cooked tomatoes.
Choice of juices .
Freshly brewed coffee ( made from ground coffee beans) Or tea made on the spot for you and brought to your table.
All the above is a help yourself buffet.
If you have any more suggestions, we would be delighted to hear them ( we only added the beans a month or so ago on another guests suggestion, so we do listen!)
M y e mail address is geraldine.mcfadden@gmail.com .

I will pass your comments on to housekeeping about the cushions and mattress protectors and see if we can also find some solution. Thank you for your comments.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share it with our future guests,. and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just back from a two week stay at the Costa Sal apartments. We stayed in S4 studio and we were very happy with our room and although it was only a studio it still had a little balcony. The room itself has everything you need though having only two knives and forks was a little strange. The only slight down side to the apartment was that it overlooks the childrens play area which although we had no problem with it could i imagine be a little troublesome in the height of the season. The resort itself was very very clean and the staff where always very polite and helpful. We took advantage of the HB 3 day option and while the food was always well presented and the staff were always more than helpful the actual food was ok rather than exceptional.

We booked Matagorda as we are not party animals and thought that the quiet resort would suit us more than PDC. However it is rather too quiet and the walk into PDC is just too far. It takes Appox 45 minutes to walk to the begining of PDC and perhaps another 45 to get right into the centre so if you are not a walker id suggest going to PDC.

Whilst we were there it was also VERY VERY windy and this made it very cold at night needing to wrap up when going out. We were told by people that had been going there for 20 yrs that it was the windiest they had know it.

As for places to eat we did not find anywhere we would call amazing but we did have a couple of nice meals in Sam Maguires in Matagorda. We also ate in Sirroccos which whilst not great for an evening meal the Pizza and toasted sandwiches in the afternoon where cheap and tasty. We also ate in the ENJOY chinese in PDC and have to say it was one of the nicest chinese we have ever had abroad and we try chinese everywhere we go and find very few are any good on which note please avoid the chinese in Matagorda not very good at all.

We also had the Lunch in Bollywood which was very nice but then we tried it at night and it just wasnt as nice as the lunch. Fazzis Indian was also ok but again not outstanding. Well overall we enjoyed our holiday. The apartments were very nice but just too quiet In Matagorda. Hope you find this helpful.

One thing to note with regard to the hotel is that there is no WIFI at all unless you pay 18 euros a week or 30 for two weeks. Whilst I can understand having to pay for wifi in your room to have no internet access in reception in this day and age i think is a little ridiculous and something i think the hotel should seriously think about changing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is my 3rd year in a row staying at Costa Sal. It is just as excellent as previously. Spotless property with beautiful well-maintained grounds. Food is excellent and good value. The staff are wonderful throughout the complex. Cleaning is of a very high standard. I love my superior room with really comfortable bed. There appears to be a large amount of upgrading the basic rooms going on. I saw lots of new quality leather sofas, white goods, pictures and lamps going into the apartments. Also lots of old style sunbeds were piled into a skip suggesting they will be replaced with the newer style that dont require hiring a mattress. The Reception area is having a major overhaul. It is being moved across the way and it will be nice to see it next year. I love Costa Sal and intend to return at least once every year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,997 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
680 reviews
2 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,817 reviews
3 mi away
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
#6 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,371 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sal Villas and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Villas and Suites

Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Costa Sal Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Villas and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Costa Sal Villas and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote
Costa Sal Lanzarote
Costa Sal Villas And Suites Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing