We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time At Costa Sal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Great Time At Costa Sal”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I can only agree with what the other reviewers are saying. Costa Sal is a very nice place to stay. We got upgraded from a 1-bedroom to a 2 bedroom apartment. It was large, attractive and had very good appliances. Our balcony overlooked the swimming pool and we could see the ocean in the distance. We were very happy there. There were a couple of minor complaints. Rather than having a difficult discussion, I decided to send an email and notify the management of the problem. Geraldine, the customer service manager, gave me a call a few hours later and sorted everything out. Thanks Gerladine.

We were there on a self catering basis and only ate at the restaurant once. We really enjoyed it! Seemed much better than a typical hotel restaurant!

One thing is that the area seemed quite windy. We had stayed a few days near the old harbor and the area that the Costa Sal is in may be a bit windier than the area near the harbor. We think that the harbor area may be a bit more protected.

But all in all, we were very happy at the Costa Sal. The place is well kept up, the apartment was nice, the staff friendly and helpful and our minor complaints were solved upon request. What more can you ask?

Room Tip: Second floor over looking the pools for view. Caution, some rooms have poor internet reception, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it and share with the readers of this forum.
I was delighted that you sent a mail to us with your minor complaints and gave us the chance to sort these out for you. It is rather upsetting to sometimes read reviews where people complain about things they were not happy about, and if we had been aware, we could have rectified the problem. I am glad I was of help to you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The upper pool area of Costa Sal is as you say quite windy as it is very open.
The lower pool area is much more sheltered. This seems to work well however in summer and hotter times, as the breeze can cool you down.
But in winter months, on a particularly windy day, I would recommend the lower pool
.
I think as you were told when you were here, you hit on what I could only call an unusually cold spell for us. But your observation is a good one, and one I hope I have given a solution if our readers do happen upon a windy week.

Thank you from all the team for taking the time to write this review.
I hope Lanzarote was all you wished it would be, and that we will see you back again in the future to escape your very long cold winters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,495
    445
    81
    21
    8
See reviews for
857
837
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay. Weather was mixed so very glad of spacious and good apartment. We have stayed there before. It is a very quiet property very well kept and beautiful gardens. staff helpful, breakfast good and diningroom lovely and bright. TV reception wasnt great and eventhough the technician checked it out there wasent much improvement. also WIFI has to be paid for. i had a problem with that as it was available free in restaurants and bars else where. Overall its a very good place to stay. Bus service very handy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
From all of us at Costa Sal, thank you for taking the time to share your review with readers of this forum.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
I would just like to come back to you on the TV problem. The satellite dishes were moved a few weeks back and reception took some time to be restored. I am glad to say, all is back to normal now, and normal service has been resumed.
2 weeks ago, we also installed free wifi in the Bar and Restaurant, so this problem has now been resolved as well.
We hope you will come back for another visit to us soon, and that you will be happy to have great TV reception, and you can log on for free to wifi in the bar from now on.
Thanks again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

room,grounds etc very nice.no proper bar/pub,just an overflow dining area.food and drink good but the dearest in the area.staff friendly apart from the tall bald one,he spilt a glass of red wine over a chap at the bar then laughed,he also shut the super market and told people to leave because he "had to pop out".entertainment in the bar was grim ,seen better buskers on street corners.nice watching planes come into land but dont believe reviews when people say the noise from the aircraft is not loud,it is very loud when they land and brake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevediane43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Absolutely!! Had a great time here. Hotel quiet and clean. Tried Zest for breakfast and evening meal and was not disappointed. Service was great and always with a smile. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back..... soon.....

Room Tip: Room 101 was next to the restaurant so could be slightly noisy although we didn't find this a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnTony862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Feb 7th-28th
After very many years of travelling to Lanzarote, staying in Hotels and various Apartments throughout the Island, we finally came to the Costa Sal, on recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed.. From the friendly, helpful, smiling staff in Reception, Paulina, Amelia, Anna, Rosie (del Carmen) under their very lovely Manager Mercedes,( who incidently allocates all the rooms) to all the super staff in Zest, the complex Restaurant& Bar, ( just too many to mention here!) under their Manager Irene! Thank you one and all, you made our three weeks, inspite of mixed very windy weather, very enjoyable.
We stayed in Apt 112, a one bedded, Superior Apartment ,over looking the pool and sea, good sized balcony, but in need of attention!
It was bright, spacious with wooden floors throughout, good size bathroom, but not with a walk in shower, as Geraldine( Customer Relations Manager ) stated onTrip Advisor, that all Superior had, and would have been so so much easier for us!!
Kitchen was adequately equipped. But please ,please, provide some larger cups or mugs, and a few extra glasses for entertaining ?
Living area had modern settee, chairs and flat screen TV with an amazing number of Channels for an Apartment and Lanzarote, where Satellite pick up has always been poor! Two very comfortable beds and good wardrobe space, which housed a safe which was rentable.
Only real gripe was Wi Fi which you paid for, but was totally useless, in our Apartment anyway.
Most establishments do not charge for Wi Fi anyway.
Geraldine, please do give this some consideration?
We can highly recommend the Restaurant for all meals, and it was reasonably priced. But you do need to book, if you are board only as it is very popular, because the food is so nice. Try the fish and chips on a Friday night!
The complex was clean and well maintained, both inside and out, and the staff again so helpful and friendly.
Although a twenty minute walk to the old town of Puerto del Carmen, there is a bus stop, with a good bus service ,every twenty minutes, across the road from Costa Sal, and taxis just around the corner.
We can highly recommend Costa Sal, and hope to be back soon. xxxooo to you all

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DODIBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Returned on 6th March from a weeks stay at Costa Sal. Booked here after reading all the good reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. Complex is spotlessly clean with grounds very well maintained. Although there are steps everywhere there are also gentle slopes as well so you don't have to use the steps. My friend who I was travelling with has MS and had no trouble getting around the complex. We had a 2-bedroom villa which was very spacious with private terrace; only problem was that you couldn't see the view when sitting down because of the high wall. Restaurant is excellent. We had booked self-catering but after eating in the restaurant the night we arrived as it was too late to shop we decided to book the 3 days half-board option for 53.50 each. This was very good value for money as you can eat breakfast & dinner on different days if you wish. The buffet breakfast had a wide choice and you help yourself to as much as you want. The dinner menu was a restricted version of the main menu but you could opt for anything off the main menu or the specials and just pay the extra. The restaurant staff are the friendliest I have encountered on a holiday and nothing was too much trouble. We did not find the aircraft take-off noise intrusive and actually found it quite entertaining watching the planes come in. You can walk to both Arrecife and Puerto del Carmen quite easily along the prom. Would happily return to Costa Sal but hopefully when it's less windy (last week was apparently the strongest winds they have known for 14 years !)

Room Tip: Villa had private terrace area, very quiet but on windy corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 417carina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel if you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday.apartments are a good size and tvs have a usb slot if you want bring a memory stick for music and films.shops and bars in shopping complex are a 5 min walk and there is some amazing restaurants located along the beaches front which are reasonable.if you are feeling up to it you can walk into puerto del carmen n about 30 mins or you can get a taxi for 5 euro.i old recommend going to PDC old town for a night as they have some amazing restaurants and some good bars. Would defo recommend costa sal and will be booking up again

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GlasgowBhoy186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,402 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
705 reviews
12.9 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sal Villas and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Villas and Suites

Property: Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Costa Sal Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Villas and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Sal Villas and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote
Costa Sal Lanzarote
Costa Sal Villas And Suites Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing