We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good first holiday abroad with our 2 year old.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good first holiday abroad with our 2 year old.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have just spent a very pleasant week at Costa Sal with our 2 year old, I e-mailed them before arrival to request a high floor in a quiet location and that is what we got. We were in room 124 and I would recommend it as the view was super. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, even the pool guy and Nicki in the bar was very kind to our little fella. We ate in the bar once and had take out once both were nice but a bit pricey compared to places in town. At this time of year Matagorda is pretty quiet so it is worth walking or taking the bus along to puerto del carmen where there is lots of choice and it is cheaper, 2.50 for a full English! The beach is lovely (nicer than Puerto del Carmen) we were on it most mornings by 9. The pool was nice but cold especially when there was no sun as it is heated with solar panels. The apartments are really big and spacious, we moved the beds into the lounge so that our toddler could sleep in the bedroom in his travel cot and there was still lots of room. There was a large flat screen with lots of UK channels, we were even able to watch tbe xfactor final, the sofa and arm chair were comfortable also. The shower room was lovely with a great walk in shower. We felt the kitchen utensils were very limited for a speriour apartment as we did actually need to cook quite a lot. The maid service was a bit random, they often came late in the day when were wanting to make food for our youngster and it very much depended on which maid it was as to how thorough the clean was. The complex was spotless though and there seemed to be lots of maintenance staff. It was very windy when we were there and the apartment door rattle terribly which did keep us awake, I know it sounds like a little thing but lots of the apartments had new doors and I couldn't help feeling that ours needed up dating too. It is a 5 minute walk to the beach, less if you cut through the Lanzarote Sol Hotel.
We were a bit unlucky with the weather and there wasn't much for our toddler to do when the pool and beach were not an option bu other than that I was pretty impressed with Costa Sal and thought it represented good value compared to other Spanish Apartments I have stayed in. All in all I would not hesitate to recommend Costa Sal for couples and families a like. Thank you for a lovely week.

Room Tip: 1st floor gets you a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    436
    79
    20
    8
See reviews for
828
811
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited Lanzarote for the first time in November and were so happy we choose Costa Sal apartments.We will definitely return. The staff were excellent, so down to earth and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for organising the delicious Birthday cake! Spotless and well maintained, we cannot recommend highly enough! Carol and Julian from Devon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenoritaCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week staying at Costa Sal. We were in room 122 which was lovely, huge lounge area and well equipped kitchen even though I only used it for making coffee. Balcony looked out over the pool area and we watched the planes coming in across the sea from there. The bathroom was very large with a great shower and full bath, there is also a hairdryer supplied so ladies don't have to worry about packing one. The bedroom was a good size, but a little more drawer space would have been nice, we were not lucky enough to have a double bed just 2 singles pushed together, I much prefer double but cant have everything, would have been nice though.

The rooms were cleaned spotless, and the whole complex area was a credit to the gardener. We didn't use the pools but the looked lovely and felt warm when I dipped my hand in.

We were on half board and I can say that the food was lovely and always hot, with a good choice, we could have had off the al a carte menu but we didn't find the need to. Breakfasts were combination of cold and hot buffet and most days we had the lovely singing waitress I think she was called Fiona, other days we had Mandy she was also lovely and on our departure day went off and found out if our flight was on time... Big thank you also to all the staff in the restaurant in the evenings, you were all lovely.

Thank you all for making our holiday special.
We will be back again some time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_garter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We loved our week at Costa Sal. We had a beautiful apartment, spotlessly clean, comfortable and safe. The gardens and pool are immaculately maintained. The staff everywhere on the complex were friendly and very professional. The food at the onsite restaurant couldn´t be faulted. We usually like to eat out and explore dining places when on holiday, but we ate here 5 out of 7 nights, it was so good. The entire property was spotlessly clean. Have booked already for January. Can´t wait to come back. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kthorny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

My friend and I spent the most fabulous week here from 14/11/13. Room 301 was absolutely so lovely and in the best location! We are going back on 16/1/14 and staying in a bungalow so can't wait. Best place we have stayed in lanzarote after 8 holidays on the island. Special thanks go to Sandra and Matt for looking after us at the terrace restaurant - no request was turned down - we felt cherished and are looking forward to seeing them again soon. Kath and Teresa.

Room Tip: Ground floor room 301 could not be faulted for privacy with easy access to pool. Sun when you wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here for one week at the beginning of December, it was a last minute booking and only cost us £420 for two of us flying from our local airport. It was a package but we did not include transfers as we knew a taxi from the airport was roughly €10. For this bargain price we did not know what to expect but were told we had a superior apartment. When we arrived (40 minutes exactly after the plane touched down) we were informed that we had been upgraded to a suite (thanks Geraldine, much appreciated!) It was Suite 10, above the reception/bar area and it was perfect. Very spacious, huge bed (not two pushed together), lovely bathroom with a bath with shower over and very nice living room with leather sofa and flat screen TV. Also a lovely little balcony with views of the pool and over the whole of Matagorda to the sea. We enjoyed watching the planes coming and going and the noise didn't bother us at all as we live near an airport anyway so are used to it.
The whole complex was spotless (a man goes around every day tidying it up, planting the borders, sweeping, washing floors etc). If you walk past the pool and down some steps there is a gate which takes you to a path which leads to the shops and restaurants in a small complex. We walked for miles, it is a lovely flat promenade, we went to watch the planes landing on the runway and also walked in the other direction to Puerto del Carmen and the old town (where the best restaurants were, in our opinion). We also got a bus from outside the complex to Playa Honda and also tried to get one to Arrecife but 4 turned up in a period of an hour and they were all full so we ended up sharing a taxi with four other people at the bus stop which worked out at €2 each.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the maid did a great job of cleaning the room. There is a little bar where you can have meals and also two restaurants which had the same menus. The beer was very good. However, the bar next to the pool was not open during our stay, perhaps it closes for the winter.
We will definitely return for a winter break - just hope we get a room as nice as the suite we had this time, it really made the holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Absolutely loved it here gorgeous spacious clean room. Pool looked lovely didn't get chance to use it though. Food was nice. The area is fab short walk to beach and shops and restaurants. So laid back and relaxed. The airport is close so U do hear the planes but this didnt bother us at all. The staff are really friendly. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moseyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,261 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
12.9 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#8 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sal Villas and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Villas and Suites

Property: Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Costa Sal Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Villas and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Sal Villas and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote
Costa Sal Lanzarote
Costa Sal Villas And Suites Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing