We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My friend and I spent the most fabulous week here from 14/11/13. Room 301 was absolutely so lovely and in the best location! We are going back on 16/1/14 and staying in a bungalow so can't wait. Best place we have stayed in lanzarote after 8 holidays on the island. Special thanks go to Sandra and Matt for looking after us at the terrace restaurant - no request was turned down - we felt cherished and are looking forward to seeing them again soon. Kath and Teresa.

Room Tip: Ground floor room 301 could not be faulted for privacy with easy access to pool. Sun when you wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,609 - 1,615 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here for one week at the beginning of December, it was a last minute booking and only cost us £420 for two of us flying from our local airport. It was a package but we did not include transfers as we knew a taxi from the airport was roughly €10. For this bargain price we did not know what to expect but were told we had a superior apartment. When we arrived (40 minutes exactly after the plane touched down) we were informed that we had been upgraded to a suite (thanks Geraldine, much appreciated!) It was Suite 10, above the reception/bar area and it was perfect. Very spacious, huge bed (not two pushed together), lovely bathroom with a bath with shower over and very nice living room with leather sofa and flat screen TV. Also a lovely little balcony with views of the pool and over the whole of Matagorda to the sea. We enjoyed watching the planes coming and going and the noise didn't bother us at all as we live near an airport anyway so are used to it.
The whole complex was spotless (a man goes around every day tidying it up, planting the borders, sweeping, washing floors etc). If you walk past the pool and down some steps there is a gate which takes you to a path which leads to the shops and restaurants in a small complex. We walked for miles, it is a lovely flat promenade, we went to watch the planes landing on the runway and also walked in the other direction to Puerto del Carmen and the old town (where the best restaurants were, in our opinion). We also got a bus from outside the complex to Playa Honda and also tried to get one to Arrecife but 4 turned up in a period of an hour and they were all full so we ended up sharing a taxi with four other people at the bus stop which worked out at €2 each.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the maid did a great job of cleaning the room. There is a little bar where you can have meals and also two restaurants which had the same menus. The beer was very good. However, the bar next to the pool was not open during our stay, perhaps it closes for the winter.
We will definitely return for a winter break - just hope we get a room as nice as the suite we had this time, it really made the holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Absolutely loved it here gorgeous spacious clean room. Pool looked lovely didn't get chance to use it though. Food was nice. The area is fab short walk to beach and shops and restaurants. So laid back and relaxed. The airport is close so U do hear the planes but this didnt bother us at all. The staff are really friendly. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moseyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Having been to Lanzarote on a number of previous winter sun holidays on this occasion we decided to stay in Matagorda; a location we had visited on previous visits and thought would suit our requirements for a relaxing break.

We booked one week from 28 November at the Costa Sal Apartments through Thomson and requested a superior apartment with views of sea and pool. A holiday for 2 adults for £600 in total seemed to good to be true and we were expecting nothing too special. Well we were blown away by the whole Costa Sal experience from arrival, the reception staff were welcoming informative and made us feel very at ease. Our room was to be ready in 1 hour (at 3pm as stated in the brochure) so we were directed to the bar/snack/restaurant and found two seats on the sun terrace where the waitress Sandra welcomed us and took our order for beers and pizzas. The ambience and views were idyllic and we could see customers around the pool were relaxed and enjoying their holiday's.

The receptionist informed us our room was ready and we made our way through the very well kept secure grounds withy well planted borders to our apartment (Some have many steps so worth asking for easy access villas/apartments if any of the party have mobility issues).

The apartment was spacious with a good sized double bedroom (two singles pushed together) and large wardrobes and shelving space. The bathroom was large with a large bath, shower over and toilet, bidet and basin. The tiling was clean and modern.

The lounge and kitchen was open planned with all the necessary self-catering equipment (set up for 3 people) and in the lounge leather chairs, flat screen tv and access to a large balcony. Decoration was contemporary with wooden floors. The balcony overlooked the pool with sea views over the roof of the lower properties. A patio table with 4 seats and a clothes airier were on the balcony.

The upper pool area had a large sea water pool and children's pool with numerous sunbeds available with some shade under fixed shades or from the various trees. Gardens around the pool area were as mentioned very well kept. A lower level pool (chlorine) was set amongst more small villas.

The complex has good access with all areas accessible by slopes/ramps, a number of guests had wheelchairs and buggies and seemed very happy with access.

The restaurant serves snacks all day from breakfast to dinner and in the evening 7pm onwards a wider menu with specials each night is available. The food was high quality and well presented. A good wine selection is available with good value house wine at 10 euro a bottle. The bar had a great range of spirits, cocktails and beers/cider.

The staff at Costa Sal make the who experience a great experience, from reception through to grounds staff everyone had time to acknowledge you and smile. Staff in the restaurant were very helpful, accommodating and friendly with notable individuals of Nicky and Rita but all very professional, quick and efficient.

The quality of food at Costa Sal meant we ate in most nights, a half-board option directly with the hotel is available bookable for 3 days upwards, which may be worth considering when you arrive.

A perfect winter sun complex for couples or families with young children. Although there is one play area the garden layout is not conducive to teenagers who want to let off steam.

Matagorda is a very relaxed haven (30 minutes walk away from the busy Puerto Del Carmen), with good beaches, pedestrianized areas and promenades, long walks along the shoreline to Arrecife. A good selection of restaurants, bars, bike hire, souvenir shops and supermarkets are available.

The close proximity to the flight path and airport does mean airplane noise is a given however also provides much interest and is not constant especially overnight when flights stop.

Room Tip: Large villas are a short walk from the pool areas, whereas apartments and small villas are around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coastwatcher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Came here for one week from 28th November and it was super. When we arrived at Costa Sal we were informed that we would be staying in a superior 2 bedroom apartment, bonus! We'd booked through Thomson, a one bed superior apt and emailed the hotel requesting for a high view. The receptionist was lovely, I thought she was giving the usual chat about how great our apt was.. But no, it was spectacular and with a view over the whole of Matagorda seafront! Our apt was very well equipped, especially for self catering, fully equipped kitchen with oven, full sized fridge/freezer (basically everything you'd have at home.) hair dryer in bathroom. Tv had bbc1 and 2, itv, itv2, itv4 channel 4 and E4, as well as all the usual (not that we watched much.) Can't comment on the restaurant or bar as we went out every night! All in all it's a 10/10, only slight negative is the wifi that we'd paid for for 1 day(3euro) kept forgetting devices, had to log in and re enter passwords/logins every 5 mins.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sparkly_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've been to Costa Sal many times over the years. It's really a great place to get away to if you fancy some winter sunshine and not keen on flying too long distances. The apartments are great - the new one with the jacuzzi is super - really should have a 5 star rating. One of the pools is big enough to do serious swimming in if you are too lazy to walk down to the beach ( 5 minutes away). I didn't try the tennis courts this time but they always seem very well kept. Zest the retaurnat is super - you can't go wrong. The BBQ is excellent value for money. If you fancy eating in, the supermarket in the complex has all the basics. All the staff speak English - in fact its their mother tongue for most of them so it makes things easier. As for the resident massage therapist - very good. Overall I'd highly recommend this - either for family or group of friends or even just solo if you want to get away from it all for a few days. Difficult to beat in terms of value for money and total relaxation!

Room Tip: If you want to treat yourself go for the super upgraded rooms with the jacuzzi. Or if that's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlovingdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just back from a relaxing weeks break at Costa Sal.
We found the complex very clean and tidy, our room was at the front near reception, the only negative we found was that when the afternoon sun came round it was cool on our balcony which was facing the pool but warm in the bedroom, which was ashame as we enjoy spending time on the balcony.
The whole complex is very English/Irish orientated and it didn't seem like we were away from home until we went to the sea front in Matargorda and actually heard people speaking in Spanish, Italian etc.
All staff from reception-bar-cleaners were very friendly and always aimed to please.
We ate out most evenings as we found the a la carte restaurant rather basic but decent when we did visit.
The on site supermarket is very pricey........€5.95 for 4 litres of milk is extremely high.
We didn't use the pools but both looked very clean as too were all the surroundings, we saw people tending the outdoor areas daily.
We had a superior apartment which was very nice but unfortunately had a shower rather than bath/shower combo.
The apartment was well equipped and the tv had a good selection of English channels.
All in all, if you like being somewhere with lots of English speaking guests and employees..........this is the place to go.
Lovely sea views too! Thanks Costa Sal.......really enjoyed our time with you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Darceysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,737 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
595 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,737 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
472 reviews
13.0 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sal Villas and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Villas and Suites

Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Costa Sal Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $95 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Villas and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Costa Sal Villas and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote
Costa Sal Lanzarote
Costa Sal Villas And Suites Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing