We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great, that's why I keep going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've been to Costa Sal many times over the years. It's really a great place to get away to if you fancy some winter sunshine and not keen on flying too long distances. The apartments are great - the new one with the jacuzzi is super - really should have a 5 star rating. One of the pools is big enough to do serious swimming in if you are too lazy to walk down to the beach ( 5 minutes away). I didn't try the tennis courts this time but they always seem very well kept. Zest the retaurnat is super - you can't go wrong. The BBQ is excellent value for money. If you fancy eating in, the supermarket in the complex has all the basics. All the staff speak English - in fact its their mother tongue for most of them so it makes things easier. As for the resident massage therapist - very good. Overall I'd highly recommend this - either for family or group of friends or even just solo if you want to get away from it all for a few days. Difficult to beat in terms of value for money and total relaxation!

Room Tip: If you want to treat yourself go for the super upgraded rooms with the jacuzzi. Or if that's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlovingdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,612 - 1,618 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just back from a relaxing weeks break at Costa Sal.
We found the complex very clean and tidy, our room was at the front near reception, the only negative we found was that when the afternoon sun came round it was cool on our balcony which was facing the pool but warm in the bedroom, which was ashame as we enjoy spending time on the balcony.
The whole complex is very English/Irish orientated and it didn't seem like we were away from home until we went to the sea front in Matargorda and actually heard people speaking in Spanish, Italian etc.
All staff from reception-bar-cleaners were very friendly and always aimed to please.
We ate out most evenings as we found the a la carte restaurant rather basic but decent when we did visit.
The on site supermarket is very pricey........€5.95 for 4 litres of milk is extremely high.
We didn't use the pools but both looked very clean as too were all the surroundings, we saw people tending the outdoor areas daily.
We had a superior apartment which was very nice but unfortunately had a shower rather than bath/shower combo.
The apartment was well equipped and the tv had a good selection of English channels.
All in all, if you like being somewhere with lots of English speaking guests and employees..........this is the place to go.
Lovely sea views too! Thanks Costa Sal.......really enjoyed our time with you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Darceysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lovely, clean, spacious apartments. We had 2 near to reception and the dining room. Ideal for my sister and husband who have mobility problems. They both found the beds very hard but I found them ok.
Half board excellent value for money. Food plentiful and tasty. Local bus stops close by so ideal for getting around.
Great to unwind last thing at night by watching English television. We have stayed in places before where they say the TV is English but all you get is one fuzzy British channel. Not that we stayed in and watched TV-only last thing at night-too much to see and do.
Loved the times of the half board meals!!!!Meant we could get up quite late as breakfast did not end till 10.30 am and the evening dinner did not end till 9.30pm so no need to rush back if out and about. Staff really friendly and helpful. Complex itself beautifully kept and clean. Lovely flowers/plants. Did not use the pools but they, too were lovely and clean.
Asked for late check out till around 4pm.Reception unable to tell us if we could have late check out until the morning of our departure. We were given until 2pm, which was a great help. We just sat outside in the lovely sunshine between 2pm and 4pm until it was time to leave. Reception then kindly rang for a cab for us. Loved that the airport so close by and did not have to rely on Resorthoppa, who left us stranded in Majorca in May. All in all a lovely complex .Have already started to recommend to friends and family. Hope to return next year in May after sister has knee op.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 708Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I must say when we arrived reception was very helpful and competent but I think people(particularly elderly people) should be forwarned about about the amount of steps that have to be negotiated with luggage and as our bungalow was a good distance from reception I THINK WE SHOULD HAVE RECEIVED some assistance.however having said that the rest of our stay was quite good. the rooms were spotless.there was a pool outside the door and a handy little gate quite near us so you did'nt have to climb all the way to reception to go out they gave you the code for the gate to get back in.the food was o.k. we mostly dined out as there were plenty of places near by as was the beech.overall I would certainly use C OSTA SAL again.must add that all staff were wonderful and friendly.

Room Tip: if you have a lot of luggage ask for room near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here recently and I really struggled to find any flaws. We were lucky enough to have an apartment directly next to the swimming pool (which was a great size) and restaurant, which was tidy, spacious and had all the necessary facilities. Every morning the numerous staff were around cleaning and gardening which defiantly pays off in the cleanliness of the resort. The food in the restaurant was great value for money. We tried numerous meals and we had no complaints!
It's quite a walk to the main strip of restaurants and shops, but its a walk you should be happy to do with the sea and beach on one side of you.
Overall we had a great holiday here, but with the weather not as good as it could have been Costa Sal Apartments defiantly made the trip worth while! We highly recommend to anyone considering!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100Lou-Lou100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from our 6th visit in the last 4 years and what can I say - absolutely faultless! As many previous reviews have stated, the friendly staff really do make the difference. Each and every one of them go out of their way to make you feel welcome, valued and are so friendly and unobtrusive in their manner. The standard of accommodation/food/service/housekeeping/maintenance just keeps getting better and this is a business that is quite clearly focused on improving all of the time to become the number one apartment of choice for miles around. Less than 10 minutes in a taxi from the airport and on this particular visit, we landed at 5.10pm and were in the apartment, unpacked and ready to chill by 5.40pm - now that is convenient!! Keep up the good work Costa Sal - we will be back in June to start enjoying the benefits of a recently inherited timeshare fortnight.

Room Tip: All rooms are great value for money having now sampled all apart from the new hot tub bungalows....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just returned after 2 week stay on half board. Food was generally very good with large portions,there could have been more variety at breakfast. Staff were extremely helpful and efficent especially Mandy and Nicky. Stayed in superior appartment which was very spacious.I did have a couple of complaints,pool side towels were not supplied,and there was a lack of sushades around the pool area.Overall a good holiday.

Room Tip: Try to book room near reception and restaurant as some of the apartments are some way away and are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,730 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
594 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,736 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
471 reviews
13.0 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sal Villas and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Villas and Suites

Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Costa Sal Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $96 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Villas and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Sal Villas and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote
Costa Sal Lanzarote
Costa Sal Villas And Suites Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing