We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a memorable family holiday, this is the place for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just back from an extended family holiday (all 18 of us) And the vote was unanimous- ‘a great resort’.
We opted for the superior apartments and weren’t disappointed; those with young children were given ground floor apartments and the remainder first floor apartments. The apartments are more like suites with attention to every detail such as the provision of an electric kettle, toaster and a large flat screen TV with a wide selection of channels including Irish and UK.

The staff are very helpful and at the end of our stay there were no hidden extra charges. What really makes this resort is the Bar/Restaurant or more correctly ‘the staff’. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced. They have a different theme each evening; don’t miss the BBQ night which is really ‘eat all you can’ for a little more than a ‘tenner’. It is so well managed that you feel as if you have missed something by dining out be it the Elvis Night, the Quiz etc.

Puerto Del Carmen is about a 5 E taxi ride to the centre of but all services such as a selection of pubs and restaurants are located within walking distance. On sea front there is a magnificent walk-way.

The service from the WI-Fi was limited and is probably not worth the extra money. Be careful with children down near the play area as the wall from the outside is about a metre high but about a 5 metre high drop on the inside.

Both pools are great each with a kiddie pool attached. The lower one is somewhat heated in the off season but we found that the main pool, though a little cool, was the favourite with all.

Talking to fellow travellers, many that stayed at different resorts on the island had nothing but great praise for this outstanding resort. You won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 318 which was near the pool with a magnificent view of sea from the rear balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fearbolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate this and your feedback for other guests who may not have been with us in Costa Sal before.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the apartments comfortable.
We are currently working on the WIFI and hope to have an excellent service very soon.
We are very proud of all our Staff at Costa Sal, and we will pass on your kind comments.
We hope to see you back again soon..
If you are booking again, and you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at geraldine.mcfadden@gmail.com.
Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in the costa sal apartments in Matagorda for one week recently and found the staff very helpful/friendly,the food was beautiful and reasonably priced, our self catering apartment was very clean, also we decent television channels at no extra cost.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff helpful and friendly.
We hope to see you back with us again in the future, and if you have any queries or requests when booking again, please e mail me directly
geraldine.mcfadden@gmail.com.
Thanks again for writing your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Larzarote staying at the Costa Sal Apartments. Firstly, I would just remind anyone flying with Ryanair to check in on line. We are regular flyers and I know to do so but for some reason forget to do it this time, remembering at 3 hours and 55 minutes (you have up to 4 hours before flying). I was stunned at the £70.00 each (one way) to check in at the airport! Shame on you Ryanair!!
This was the first self-catering holiday we have taken for many years and chose to go at the very last minute and as cheaply as possible. When I booked the apartment I thought it was 4* (we usually go 4*+ or 5*). I think its official rating is actually 3*but it was a very good 3* in my view. The apartment was excellent. There were only two of us but we had two bedrooms, a lounge, kitchen diner and bathroom. There was plenty of pots and pans, cutlery and crockery (although we only used for breakfast and lunch) a 4 ring hob, fridge and microwave. There was no oven so if you do want to eat your main meal in the apartment you are limited somewhat.
The grounds are attractive and the 2 pools very nice (a bit too cold for us) but on a steep hill so not god if you have a problem with steps. It is disappointing that you have to hire sunbed mattresses and quite expensive. The hotel say they do not allow sunbeds to be reserved but it still happens. However, there were plenty of beds and we found two at any time of the day. I am not sure it would be that easy in the peek weeks.
There is a bar and restaurant in the complex. We eat there once for the Tuesday night BBQ. That was nice and there was entertainment most evenings. There is a small supermarket on site where you can buy the essentials.
The location was good. A short 3 minute walk to the beach takes you past a few bars, restaurants and two supermarkets. There are many more shops, bars and restaurants a 10 minute walk away. There is a long promenade that is a flat stroll into the main resort about 3k. The bus goes from outside of the apartments and is cheap and regular.
All in all this was a lovely holiday and the Costa Sal is well deserving of the good reviews. I would happily stay there again if I wanted a week just to chill in the sun.

Room Tip: The rooms nearest to the beach have many steps to reach them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meacja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you on behalf of the staff and management for taking the time to write your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. And I am sure other guests will find your feedback very helpful. Especially the reminder about Ryanair boarding passes ( we can always print these for you from reception)
Just one point on this. All our superior apartments have 4 ring hob, oven and microwave. Just for those of you who would like to self cater a little bit more.
Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you back in Costa Sal in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Have just returned home after staying at the Costa Sal for a week and a half. I have never written a review before but felt compelled to write something after a great holiday.
We stayed in a standard apartment which was very clean and comfortable. We traveled with a 3 year old and an 8 month old. Our 3 year old had pneumonia 2 weeks prior to traveling so we were apprehensive. We asked if we could have an apartment which was on ground level and close to amenities and the hotel staff went out of their way to provide an ideal room close to the pool, and reception and play area as well as been quite (room 417).

What makes the Costa Sal so special are the helpful staff, its location and facilities and the excellent restaurant. Loved the bbq night with steak cooked to order. The staff in the restaurant were without exception helpful, pleasant and friendly. Mandy played a blinder!
Only issue was that the mattress in our apartment 417 was very soft and you could feel the springs coming through! This was sorted immediately with no questions and replaced with excellent mattresses.
The apartments are located in Matagorda. Having stayed previously in the town center previously, I think Matagorda is preferable, especially for families. Particullary as the promenade is excellent and goes on forever!
Thanks to all the staff for giving us a holiday to remember. Will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: room 417 was very well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niall c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you on behalf of the staff and management for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff so freindly and helpful. This is something I think we can be very proud of in Costa Sal. From check in to check out, I think we provide a professional service, with always with a smile. I will pass on your kind comments to Mandy .
Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent a lovely 8 days in March in the Costa Sal. We have been to Matagorda many times so we know the area very well. Lots of lovely restaurants and bars around. This holiday we ate lunch and dinner in the Costa Sal for the 8 days and we were not disappointed. Its the best value in Matagorda. The food was excellent every day, staff very friendly and welcoming. We are already looking forward to returning in October. Its home away from home.!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
It is always a pleasure to welcome back our lovely repeat clients and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meals in the restuarant for the 8 days . We are very lucky in Costa Sal to have so many guests who return time and time again, and who like you consider it like home from home.
We hope to see you back again in October, and thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband Paddy and I spent the month of January, again !' In these lovely apts.
We have stayed in other apts over the years, but Costa Sal always comes out tops
From the great location, well equipped clean apartments, lovely welcoming staff, great food and entertainment, why would you want to stay anywhere else.!
Our whole family, including grandchildren , holiday here annually now, and lots of our friends keep coming back after our recommendation.
Looking forward to our next trip very soon.

Room Tip: Choose upper level if you have a problem with steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to see our regular guests come back year after year. And it is great to hear that your whole family, of all ages enjoy the complex. We pride ourselves in offering high standard apartments, and excellent amenities. Someplace you can come and relax, yet not have to move if you want good food, drink and entertainment.
Thanks again for all of your recommendations. And we hope to see you back again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at Costa Sal again this year for 3 weeks Feb/March. My review is based on a luxury apartment. Had another great stay here and my review is much the same with very few changes. This complex is wonderful and just the same as last year. One improvement is the towels. Last year they were very thin, this year they are all new and thicker. Our luxury apartment this year was downstairs and we had a lovely terrace with garden area. The grounds in Costa Sal are immaculate and constantly maintained. We had a problem on the first day with a broken shower head and it was replaced within 15 mins. I thought the bathroom paintwork was shabby last year and sadly it is even shabbier this year. The kitchen and appliances were spotless. The food was consistently good as before and the restaurant and bar staff were really friendly and helpful as before. We will be returning to Costa Sal at the same time next year as we feel very comfortable there.

Room Tip: Pay more for a luxury apartment, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review . It is great to hear that you had such a good 3 week stay and that you liked our superior apartments ( and new towels!)
I have taken note of your comment about the paintwork. I would be really grateful if you could e mail me to let me know which apartment number you were in to geraldine.mcfadden@gmail.com, so that i can check out if the bathroom has in fact been painted.
I am glad you enjoyed the food in the Restaurant and found the staff so helpful. I will pass on your comments.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
592 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,735 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
471 reviews
13.0 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sal Villas and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Villas and Suites

Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Costa Sal Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $97 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Villas and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Costa Sal Villas and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote
Costa Sal Lanzarote
Costa Sal Villas And Suites Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing