We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC - NOT ONE COMPLAINT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Myself and my family stayed here for one week at the end of july. As a travel agent i have stayed and visited alot of apartment type accomadations and can honestly say that the costa sal is the best!
ACCOMADATION: we chose to stay in a recently refurbished 2 bedroomed apartment. These apartments are huge - ample sized kitchen with everything needed for a self catering holiday. 2 great sized bedrooms and great size sitting room area. We had 5 guests in our group and the apartment offered ample room for all of us. During our stay i had a look at some of the other accomadations available. The Bungalows are very spacious, again offering everything needed for a self catering holiday. One bed apartments are simular, offer great space and all mod cons. The studios are a good size for studio accomadation, although some do not have any balconey. The costa sal also offer villa accomadation - these are STUNNING - very private, with private sunbathing area and jaquzzi. Both are beautifully decorated and extremely spacious. Ideal if there were 2 or 3 families travelling together.
POOLS: There are 2 different pool areas - both are lovely - we spent most of our time at the bottom pool which is where most families seem to go. its the freshwater pool. the bungalows are located in this area also. although busy - both pools never seem to be over crowded with plenty of sunbeds available and no need to be up at the crack of dawn to claim your sunbed!
GARDENS/WALKWAYS The costa sal is very cleverly laid out - there is a great sence of space and nothing seems to be over crowded. the walkways through the complex are simply lovely.
FOOD ETC: The pool bar / restaurant and bar are very resonably priced. We ate breakfast there every morning. The food is lovely with good portion sizes. Breakfast is served until 1pm!! The waiting and bar staff were all lovely - very pleasant!
LOCATION: The complex is literally at 5/10 minute walk from the matagorda shopping centre where there are plenty of restaurants, a few bars and a supermarket. We ventured into puerto del carmen a couple of nights. the bus stop is right outside the complex - very handy.

All in all we had a great time in the costa sal. The staff are FANTASTIC and really make you feel welcome. Reception staff are extremely friendly and always on hand to offer practical advice. We will def be returning to the costa sal next year and i will be recommending to all my clients and anyone that will listen!
Well done costa sal - its not often that an accomadation ticks all the boxes!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lovethesunIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,974 - 1,980 of 2,240 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just returned after a weeks relax holiday in Matagorda. stayed in a delux two bed appartment. loads of space and very clean although 4 days without a towel change was a little long an then they changed the twice in the last three days. If I had to complain about something I would put the unavailability of a curtesy room on our last day top of the list. and our room (211) very near the outside bar area pool tables and the level of noise after midnight and up to 2am in the morning was to high. but only 3 out of the seven nights. The best part of this break was the food in Coopers bars we stayed on a half board basis, we were never disappointed. Good breakfasts and a good choise of two course evening meals. and a top notch Sunday lunch ( I'd go for the half roast chicken but the wife said the lamb was the best she'd ever tasted).

Room Tip: If you want a quite area and an early night stay away from room 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andykfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

In need of a little R&R we returned to Matagorda and to the Costa Sal four years after our previous visit.
Decided this time to stay in the recently added Luxury Appts (306-1bed appt) and was very impressed by the modern, tasteful design and general standard of the appt. Great little kitchen, huge bathroom with great shower and very spacious living room with comfortable sofa and a decent sized LCD TV .
However, given the premium paid for the luxury appt I do think that Costa Sal could offer somethings included within the apartment, for instance the use of the safe (the safe is after all already there in the room!), maybe a DVD and definitely a fan, which we found essential to sleep at night - rather than them just being on offer as extras on the seemingly endless list of things available to rent from reception!
Also - the rooms have A/C but this is only activated between July-September, rather than having a common-sense approach of allowing A/C when the temperature is hot enough. Luckily for us, enough people also thought that 40+ degrees was hot enough and the management relented and turned it on - June or not - to the huge relief of all!!

On site mini- supermarket convenient but very expensive. We ate at the bar a few times and the food was good but again rather expensive compared to elsewhere in Matagorda. I would however recommend the Tuesday night BBQ both for quality and value for money as others have noted.
Pools great and these and all communal areas / gardens immaculately kept.
All in all not bad at all!

Room Tip: The new Luxury Appts are definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlWilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

just returned from a lovely holiday in lanzarote stayin in the Costa Sal Apartments in matagorda. This was our fourth time back and it just gets better and better each time. The apartments are very spaciousand have been recently updated and decorated. The complex is very clean and kept to a very high standerd. The bar and restaurant staff are extremely friendly and the food is top quality. A little taste of home is always available with curry nights and sunday roasts. The Beach and local shops are a five minute stroll away which makes this an ideal location. The on site supermarket is well stocked and open all day (no siesta) which is great for the constant need for bottled water and freshly baked bread rolls. cant wait to return. Thank you to Geraldine , Robbie, and all the bar staff. best of luck! J and D form Dundalk, Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baileysonice2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have just arrived back from the costa sal bungalows, it's our 10th year back to this complex. I do feel that the bungalows need to be updated, but the luxury of the bungalows is that you are near the pool and safe for the kids. I would like to comment on the zest bar and restaurant, the food is so good we ate there most nights, the chef has nailed it with the menu! The staff are so friendly and nothing is a problem! Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This apartment complex is located about 10 minutes walk from the nearest beach and about 5 minutes by taxi from P. del Carmen. We had one of the old 1 bedroom apartments. This was perfect for the week.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeanGaillimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I'll write a detailed review when i manage to get some proper sleep but avoid this complex if you have any mobility problems as the management lacks any empathy if you try to exchange apartments so you ensure a 73 year old can enjoy his holiday !! more details to follow !

Room Tip: Avoid if you have any difficulty with your mobility !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellyg1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Dear Guest
My name is Geraldine Mc Fadden and I assist with Guest Relations in Costa Sal, on behalf of the Manager Mr Eduardo Fiestas. We are very concerned to see your comments, and we would like to get to the bottom of what happened. I have sent you a message with my e mail address separate to this. But I would like to assure you, that I will look into your problems, and come back to you as soon as I have done so. As per my message to you, I just need some details from you as to your lead name on booking, and the dates you travelled, and what exactly happened.
I will revert to you soonest on this.
Many thanks
Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,864 reviews
2 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
459 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,761 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
497 reviews
3 mi away
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
#6 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sal Villas and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Villas and Suites

Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Costa Sal Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $91 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Villas and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Costa Sal Villas and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote
Costa Sal Lanzarote
Costa Sal Villas And Suites Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing