We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit to La Florida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Florida Apartments
Ranked #52 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Visit to La Florida”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed for a week from October 22nd and had no issues.I did request a seaview room before hand and got one so we had a top floor room.Having stayed here before we knew what to expect and for the price paid we have no complaints.We wanted a quiet week in the sun and thats what we got,yes its basic but it is a budget place and doesnt pretend to be anything different.I will say the beds are a bit on the hard side though so that would be my only complaint really but it didnt spoil our break.We would use this place again in future.

Room Tip: ask for a topfloor room with seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    212
    103
    33
    17
See reviews for
94
231
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've stayed here before, so were not shocked when the entrance to the Florida was locked at 6.30pm on day of arrival. The rooms are being updated bathroom & kitchen. Tips: try the restaurant El Golfo turn left walk down to the crossroads left again and it's on the left hand side. For a nice drink try The Drunken Monkey nice music in the background, across the road from El Golfo and up the hill a little. By the way Bus 61 now starts at the Airport and stops at The Balcon del Mar it's a 3 min walk to the Florida from this Stop fare €1.40 (every hour then 30 minutes ride). Taxi is €16. On the Strip near the Casino try The Vanilla Bar it's on the sea side of the Strip, very cool music the sound of the waves lapping on the shore and excellent quality wine & beer (Heineken €3). Nearby on the same side is The Tiny Bar (and it is a very small bar) pints (local beer) €1 from 5 to 7pm, otherwise €1.50 a pint. Would recommend getting the Bus 61 to Playa Blanca from the Balcon Bus Stop you stand on the School side of the road. I have never recommended an Irish Bar in Lanzarote but in Playa Blanca overlooking the Blanca beach is The Mill Inn pints €2 till 5pm. And at the Playa Blanca harbour there's a great small Pizza place alongside where the taxis park. And just around the corner is the 61 bus stop to bring you back to the Balcon Stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Golfer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed at these centrally located apartments October 2013, having been regular travellers to all the Canary islands for over 30 years. Overall La Florida Apartments represent decent basic standards and very good value for money, but we would not stay there again because the negatives outweigh the low costs.

We requested and received a high floor apartment which had excellent view across the sea to Fuerteventura, and had the sun on the balcony from early morning through to late afternoon. As others have stated, these are typical of other older 2-star accommodation on the island being of decent size but with basic furnishings and facilities. Kitchenette has two electric rings, microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster, and plenty of utensils. There was always plenty of hot water.

The main negatives were:
- we stayed for 9 nights and whilst the towels were changes 3 times unfortunately there was no change of bed linen during our stay (unacceptable);
- the cleaners worked hard, but the apartment never felt clean after their visit so we always swept up hairs etc after they left;
- beds are extremely uncomfortable (TIP: one person can use the foam cushion from the lounge to give some degree of additional comfort over the bed’s mattress);
- lack of ventilation in the bedroom and bathroom made each room hot and uncomfortable (particularly when trying to sleep);
- we are quite fit so the absence of a lift or the hillside location was not of concern, but others may wish to consider this before making their booking;
- don’t bother to rent the remote control for the TV unless you are addicted to BBC World or CNBC because that’s it for English channels and the other channels are equally limited.

During the day the apartments were fairly quiet with plenty of space around the pool (which was cleaned most days). Although the prices of the onsite cafeteria/bar are reasonable, we thought it best avoided since it had a constant greasy smell the menu was very basic – exit the apartments and there are plenty of better choices within 30 meters left or right. La Florida is located immediately above a decent sized “Dinos” supermarket which is far cheaper than most other supermarkets, with an alternative Maxcoop just across the road.

Whilst some apartments have been updated (on the cheap and only to DIY standards), be aware that apartments are being sold off and so there is additional noise from their full refurbishment. In addition, some of the apartments that have been sold now have washing machines installed, which adds considerably to the noise levels throughout the buildings.

Room Tip: If you can manage the steps ask for a high floor because the view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerculeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just a quick word about the apartments. Its our 4th stay here and cannot fault it at all. Cheap and cheerful, clean good location. Dont forget its only a basic 2 star place so dont expect 4 star amenities. I think a lot of the poor reviewers expect too much for the price they have paid. I would fully recommend here for a cheap week away in the sunshine close to bars and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible in block 200 or 300
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morty1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here from 19/09/13 for 11 nights. We read the reviews when booking and expected a lot worse than what we actually got. The rooms were a fair size and the facilities pretty good. As far as location is concerned the hotel is in an ideal spot for using both the main strip and the old town. The "massive hill" that prior reviews mention was not a problem at all and personally I couldn't imagine it being one save if you had a few medical issues.

We booked for a relaxing holiday and during the day La Florida provided the ideal setting and although the atmosphere was almost non existent we didn't mind the quiet. If you like your holidays more on the lively side then don't book La Florida.

As good as the hotel was, there is a little list of bad points. First off, the set up of reception was a little strange. Having to pick your keys up from a pub at 8.30 at night after travelling for 10 hours was probably the worst way to top off a journey and was never really open when it was supposed to be during the day. I can confirm from a couple of reviews back that there is a constant recurring noise that sounds similar to suitcases being wheeled around upstairs. I'm guessing it's the plumbing system when someone runs a tap or flushes a toilet in the building. Not ideal when you're trying to sleep but you do get over it after a while. The cleaners were another issue, out tidying up by the poolside at about 7.30 in the morning having a conversation across the length of the pool and dragging sun loungers about which was quite inconsiderate taking into account that a number of bedroom windows face on to the pool area. Their idea of tidying was somewhat less than hotel standard too. Our beds were made every day but the floors were never swept once and we had to empty our own bin. We only realised this when the room got a bit smelly a couple of days in. It was also a little embarrassing having to carry bins past the pool area and out on to the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petercampbell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed there beginning of may. On a bit of a hill but not too bad. Rooms were cleaned daily and we had a large balcony with table/chairs and a view out to sea. Beds weren't up to much but that my only real complaint.

Very good hypermarket underneath, 1ltr San Miguel = €1 :) we got most of our provisions from there and ate in apartment through the day, toaster, microwave, kettle etc were all in the room.

Evenings we went to the Purple Turtle which is next door, excellent food and cold beer :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubanesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The first impressions for this holiday were really not good...starting with our transfers from the airport to our accommodation being messed up. - We waited around for nearly an hour only to find out we weren't even on there transfer list! ('Resort Hoppa' was the transfer company. I would advise you avoid and just get a taxi as it is only 16 euros.)

Arriving at our hotel in the evening the reception was closed and we had to go to the nearby bar called 'The Purple Turtle' to collect our room key. Don't let that put you off though because once we got into our room it was lovely! Very spacious and well laid out. The kitchen had the best facilities I have seen so far abroad. In general it was all very clean and tidy. We had a bottle of water and glasses laid out waiting for us when we arrived, which was a very thoughtful touch. I personally found the beds uncomfy and didn't sleep well most nights due to that and the noise...We were on the ground floor where the sound seemed to carry very easily. It sounded like there was constant wheeling around of suitcases/moving furniture going on!

The pool area was fine, though it could have been improved by having music as there wasn't much of an atmosphere going on. We chose Bed and Breakfast which was worth the small extra - It included toast, cereal, tea/coffee, orange juice and even cooked breakfasts! The WIFI seems very over priced at 6 euros a day, you can just use it for free at pretty much any bar/restaurant!

Great location, only a 10/15min walk to the main strip which had a selection of bars, cafes and restaurants to choose from, all opposite the beach. Perfect for cocktails! There is a free bus (coach) which goes to The Rancho Texas Park. It picks you up just up the road outside the school. I would recommend going there, its a fun day out with lots of different animals to see and the shows are worth watching, especially the parrot one! We also decided to go on The South Tour Trip (which you can book through reception). This was a great day out! You get to have a ride on a camel for only 6 euros extra. Visit the volcanoes, have a 3 course lunch and some wine tasting etc. Lots of photo opportunities!

Overall this was a great holiday, with very clean accommodation. The only downside would be that the reception only seems to be open certain times of the day, which isn't to handy if you have any questions or problems when they are closed!

Lanzarote in general is a lovely place to visit I would recommend to all ages.

Room Tip: If you can I would request a room higher up - I imagine it would be less noisy than the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becz264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pueblos Apartments
Los Pueblos Apartments
#61 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luz y Mar Apartments
Luz y Mar Apartments
#49 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pension Magec
Pension Magec
#3 of 12 in Puerto Del Carmen
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA El Dorado
LABRANDA El Dorado
#38 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Volcan Apartments
Costa Volcan Apartments
#27 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Florida Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Florida Apartments

Property: La Florida Apartments
Address: C/ Reina Sofia, 30, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Florida Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Florida Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Florida Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Florida Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen
La Florida Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing