We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Florida Apartments
Ranked #52 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
shipley
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We'll be back.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just back from a lads 5 night getaway and on arrival at the apartments went through to reception and were given our rooms. not where we asked for when booking but the apartments are having some work done on them at the moment and the rooms we were given were fine , our room especially if just for the view when we all met up for a drink on our balcony before heading into town. the rooms themselves were huge with seperate living/bedroom areas spotlessly clean with everything you need apart from an oven. a 2 ring hob is there.the bath was the only bit of dated equipment in the bathroom and i think they are been seen to in the room refurbs but the shower had to be the best i've had on any holiday plenty of water pressure and hot water. the apartments are situated about 10-15 mins walk from the strip or go down the hill and get a taxi for 3-4 euros. it's on quite a steepish hill so people with walking difficulties give this one a miss. the staff were great from reception down to the cleaners always smiling and saying hello. we are already planning to go back again tom a quality complex.

Room Tip: we were in room 104 and it had a quality view of the sea and Fuerteventura. was overlooking the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    213
    103
    33
    17
See reviews for
95
231
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed there in November 2012. Unimpressed by the entrance and must say was dreading what we where headed into...However, we where pleasantly suprised. Apartments were basic but had everything you may need. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Maintenance were attentive when a smoke alarm needed a change of battery and a new toaster was called for. Rooms where cleaned every day! This was great and a pleasant suprise. Beds where very comfortable! Close to the old town and not too far from the main strip. Very walkable! Found Apartments to be secure enough. We were in room 208 and had a view of the ocean. It was great to be so close to the pool but not overlooking it. You could escape for some real quiet time if you wished. Overall I would return there. Only thing on the downside was that there was no air conditioning so while I would return there it would have to be in the November again...Summer would be far too hot!

Room Tip: Room 208 or any on that side of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 9 days and was great. Couldn't find a better place for value.
Before we arrived I checked the reviews on here and I was dreading it, was expecting a run place and its far from it! The rooms are fine very basic but got everything you need!
Our check in was ok, unpacked and straight to the bar. Great prices and the staff are very friendly especially rhia! Very funny and a lovely lady!
After we ventured out of the apartments, headed down the road and turned right to a square of Irish bars. Same again everyone lovely very friendly.
My only complaint was the time the cleaner knocked on the door in the morning! My partner and I had late nights out every night sometimes not getting l back till 5am! The cleaner knocks on the door every morning around 9.30am! And she doesn't stop till you get up! That is the only down side...
The main stretch Is around a 10-15min walk from the apartments or 2,50€ taxi which is very cheap! The stretch is full of everything, lovely restaurants,cocktail bars and clubs. Our faves were Route 66, tequila, bora bora (night club) say hello to Mohammed & Ryan if u visit!!
Food here is great! Highly recommend Mexican restaurant on the strip it's the first one.
If your looking for home food go to the purple turtle next to the apartment, real pub food at good prices.

We really enjoyed our holiday and are now looking for flights next November.
Highly recommended ( if your having late nights let reception know and ask them to pass it on to the cleaner that you don't want waking at 9 in a morning!)

P.S
We were never burgled the apartments are very secure!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollysmummy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

just returned from a 10 day hol to puerto del carmen and stayed at la florida again,the first time we stayed we were in room 333 which is right on the top floor ,not for the faint hearted as there are loads of stairs but awesome views,this time we were in 310 which is on the 2nd floor dont get me wrong the rooms are great but dont recommend to stay in this room again its right on the end and very close to the next door neighbours which can be quite noisy ,not that we were in apartments that much,also bedroom looks onto landing and cause it was very humid we had window open(shutters were locked) we were right by main stairs so were woken quite a few times with people walkin past.When reading other reviews regarding break ins,un helpful staff,dirty rooms etc sometimes makes you think i dont wanna book there but the twice we have been we have never had any trouble the staff,whether it the cleaners or the bar staff are always nice and have never had any problem,yes the apts arent the flashest and its not the best hotel on the island but yo you get what you pay for and we were more than happy.I love lanzarote and la florida i think is in such a good location,close to harbour and 10 minute walk to the main strip.there are so many great restaurants and still didnt get to try most of them the best ones we found were la cascada puerto which is just down the hill from la florida headin towards the harbour its the only restaurant with trees outside,they do the best steaks and recommend the sole with prawn and lobster sauce yum,we always go to don raphael cantina which i think is the best mexican in the town,we also tried enjoy which is an asian restaurant they do the best sushi and sashimi that i have ever had its to die for and they have a teppanyaki bar too.And after all that lovely food we always end up at route 66 which i love its such a great bar,could go on and on about puerto del carmen cause i love it so much its just so relaxin and has such a great atmoshere its probably not to every ones taste but everyones holiday is different i enjoy the sun and great food.Weather wasnt the best which is really unusual for lanzarote it was really overcast pretty much every day and rained at some point nealy every day 2 days we didnt see sun at all was still really warm tho and very humid,this was a good excuse to sit in a restaurant and have brunch for 2 euros 50 and a cold beer lol cant be bad what a life lol miss it so much wish i was still there roll on easter hols

Room Tip: rooms with balcony overlooking pool top floor for views as long as you dont mind stairs and maybe ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank feejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I always check Trip Advisor before booking a holiday and usually base my final decision on the overall reviews and comments. La Florida Apartments are a very good Self Catering apartments, well situated and very good staff with local amenities close by for anything and everything you will need whilst on holidays.

THE ACCOMMODATION - is clean, well stocked with plenty of cooking utensils, pots, pans, plates, cutlery, microwave, juicer, kettle, hobs etc. (there is NO AIRCONDITIONING - but you can hire anything you need from reception, safe (euro 6 deposit), fans, irons, DVD players etc - if you do want to watch TV you will have to pay a deposit for the remote and hire charge of 2 euro a day, we decided to give the TV a go after opting for an early evening as we had a trip the next day, the cable had been pulled out of the wall but the maintenance man arrived quickly to provide a replacement, a bit disappointing though as there only seemed to be two channels to watch). Loo roll, clean towels/bedding are provided.

BED - I found the beds a little uncomfortable and only one pillow each was provided (again this a personal preference) - I used the blankets in the cupboard to prop up my pillow, there were twin beds in the bedroom, you could sleep in the lounge, either on the sofa or pull out bed.

We arrived on the 18th October and stayed for 12 days, we requested a high room and this was arranged as asked (we stayed in block 3, room 336 with views overlooking the sea). I have to agree that the stairs are a bit of a nuisance and really not suitable for anyone with mobility issues (don't forget the apartment is situated on a hill too).

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the apartment, yes it is basic but has everything you need, we had a 'welcome' bottle of water and were very pleased with the apartment (once we lugged our cases up the stairs). Block 1 is a low rise and is a short walk to the pool, block 2 again has 2 floors I think and has easy access to the pool and block 3 is the largest with pool & sea views.

THE GATE - there is a security gate which you get the code for as reception closes, it is up a side alley with bins in but no harm, I can understand why people would by unhappy if they were situated near the gate as it did make a loud buzzing noise when entering/opening the gate and if you didn't hold the door and shut it carefully it would slam shut with a bang.

INSECTS - YES !! there are mosquitoes and cockroaches, but this has nothing to do with the apartments, you will get them all over hot places, be sure to take repellents, a can of bug spray is provided in the apartments and we did spray all doorways and windows each evening and used the whole can pretty much - we still had a few visitors due to having to keep the windows open. Some people did get quite bitten my the mozzys who had rooms around the pool, my cousin had a few bites but I escaped relatively unscathed thankfully.

THE POOL - is salty, it is a decent sized pool with a small children's pool, we saw the pool and pool area being cleaned every day, the sunbeds are free but you have to pay 1 euro for the sponge mats to make the beds a little comfier, it's personal preference, there is a pool bar open 8.30am-5pm with English speaking staff offering a selection of drinks, snacks and icecreams, we snacked a few times at the pool bar and it was all good.

THE STAFF - are brilliant, reception, cleaners, maintenance etc, all very friendly and hard working.

LOCATION - is on a hill, just outside of the apartments are two supermarkets, we mainly shopped in the Hippodino which had everything you could need to make a nice meal or snack. You are literally next door to the Purple Turtle which seemed busy most of the time, we had a snack and a few drinks in there and everything was very nice. We trotted off a little way down the hill to a lovely little bar called 'Saints and Sinners' and were given a warm friendly welcome by John, Emmett and staff, food lovely, service fab. Further down the hill we also visited a very small little bar called the 'Hide Out' (down the hill, first right) and were looked after by the lovely Kirsty, there is a little centre with various irish bars, entertainment, karaoke and too many restaurants locally to even mention, we were spoilt for choice. We didn't go to the strip much tbh, we went a few times, either walked (once we got our bearings) or taxi if we couldn't be bothered, lots of shops, lots of places to eat and quite a few mythering people trying to get you in their bars, we tended to stop local for a relaxing holiday.

WHERE TO EAT - Saints and Sinners (nice breakfast), Purple Turtle, we had a lovely meal at 'El Burro' just out of the apartments and turn right up the hill (just passed the Purple Turtle). We enjoyed a delicious Chinese (a taxi ride to the Casino) and a short walk from there, we were told about an all you can eat Chinese Buffet for Euro 6.95 which seemed very popular, we had a tasty meal at the Star of India but the vast amount of restaurants all reasonably priced were amazing - there really is so much choice.

DRINKS - we found to be a little expensive initially, as we were being charged euro 6 for a vodka and mixer, we shopped around and managed to get local vodka and mixer for as little as euro 2 but the average was euro 3.50. Lager was euro 1.50 and the usual charges applied for wine (unless you shopped at the hippodino where you could get a carton of rose wine for 70 cents !! and it was quite nice) - the caramel vodka is very tasty indeed (usually offered as a shot in the bars).

THE STRIP - jam packed with places to shop, eat and drink, 15-20 minute walk, a few minutes in a taxi euro 3 ( we went to Route 66 late one night and partied until the early hours, expensive for drinks euro 6 - vodka + mixer).

BEACH - we finally figured out the way to the beach which is about a 15 minute flip flop shuffle if you can get your head around getting there - its not a straight forward walk, if you are feeling especially laid back you can catch a taxi for about euro 3 which coming back we sometimes did - the taxi ride can be a bit confusing as there is a bit of a one way system that seems to take you everywhere before you finally get to where you are going! The beach is lovely, there are some large rock formations quite close to shore around the pier/harbour bit - excellent for snorkelling which is exactly what we did ! - took some bread down and couldn't believe the array of fish so close to shore, stunning and recommended.

TRIPS - we booked several trips with lastminute - there was an office a few minutes walk from the apartment on the hill, where a very helpful young man booked our trips for us. We can highly reccommend the Fuertaventura trip, a coach will collect you from the school (just a short walk up the hill) take you to Play Blanca harbour, were you catch the Ferry over to Fueraventura with various stops, including lunch, our tour guide Michel was very friendly and funny and made it a very enjoyable informative trip. We also booked the South Tour, to Timanfaya National Park - interesting trip with amazing scenery but our guide wasn't as funny so a little less enjoyable - got to see where they cook food from the heat of the volcano and various other things, included a lovely lunch but don't be fooled by the 'wine-tasting' which is a few drops of local wine... we also went of the Atlantic Adventure, a coach will pick you up again take you to Playa Blanca harbour (hope Ive got that right) and take you on a glass bottomed boat to the papagayo beaches, the sea was very choppy on the day we went due to the moon/tides so we couldnt go to the beach but were happy enough with the floating sunbeds, kayaks and bannana boat (which was only euro 2) and great fun, included, drinks and lunch.

SUMMARY - I thought the apartments/location offered great value for money - we had no trouble at all, the staff were fabulous, pool lovely and you have everything you need close by and that about sums it up really - we had a very enjoyable holiday, Lanzarote is lovely - would I stay again? - maybe, the only thing that would give me second thoughts is the lack of air-conditioning (if I am too warm I can't sleep) if it had air-con I would book again in a heartbeat, no problems at all. There is so much to see and do so, we had quite a chilled out holiday all in all and missed a few things going on with the Oktober Fest and other things but can't complain - if you are looking for a value for money place to stay (and having no aircon isn't an issue) *BOOK IT* !!! ...any questions, please feel free to ask.

Room Tip: I would request block 3 if you want to stay away from the side gate, high rooms are nice (pool &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BAMBI08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

i recomend these appartments,they are self catering with all you need to eat in if you want....they are very clean.good size,and they all over look the sea,if you have trouble walking they are up a hill. that can be a bit hard if your not great on your legs,it takes about 10 mins walk to the strip and beach,but a few great bars just under the appartments .....jintys bar which is open till 3am...and a great night in there , and saints and sinners which serve a nice breakfast and snacks at a good price ...well worth a visit

Room Tip: we choose a room on the top floor which we found to be nice a quite,but we found there wasnt much no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton St Nicholas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at these apartments We stayed here on 4th Oct 2012. They are basic and very large with everything you need including 2 ring hob, microwave, kettle, coffee maker and cutlery and crockery. Apartments are so clean you could eat your dinner of the floor, they are cleaned 5 days out of 7 with clean towels every other day. Ask for a room on the 3rd floor you then get lovely views of the sea, there arent any lifts so getting the cases up the stairs can be hard. The maids really work their socks off and nothing is too much trouble. The Pool is cleaned every day and surrounding areas. I will defo be returning here. Good place to eat is the Purple Turtle, great homecooked food and the owners are lovely.

Great location, only 10 mins to main strip and 5 mins to old Harbour where there are fantastic restaurants down by the Harbour and a great night out is in the Blarney Grill with the Drag show, Bianca. So funny! Good pub is the Irish Harbour with a great band called "The Corner Boys"

Room Tip: Lots of steps and steep hill so not good if you arent that mobile, although saw many people of mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Pueblos Apartments
Los Pueblos Apartments
#60 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vista Mar Apartments
Vista Mar Apartments
#33 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#75 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA El Dorado
LABRANDA El Dorado
#39 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Florida Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Florida Apartments

Property: La Florida Apartments
Address: C/ Reina Sofia, 30, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Florida Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Florida Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Florida Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Florida Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen
La Florida Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing