We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good value for money”
Review of Hotel THB Flora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THB Flora
Ranked #36 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We returned from the THB Flora last week after 5 days all inclusive and, despite the wetter and cooler weather than we expected, we had a good time. It was our first 'all inclusive' package and overall we were reasonably impressed with the hotel, service and food.

Okay, the food isn't excellent but as the other reviews have stated there's plenty of choice: salads, meats and options for the kids. I can concur with Pat's comments of the Chinese themed buffet which was rather uninspiring. Other than that the food was more than worth the money, and judging by the amount some people were putting away at and in-between meals, most felt the same.

I would ignore the negative reviews about the size of the glasses for the all inclusive drinks, they are more than adequate and the measures the staff pour far surpass the ones down in the town. The bar staff are friendly and extremely patient considering the state some of the customers get into and the way they are spoken to. I always made a point if tipping a euro or two which might have contributed to having 2 G&Ts being poured before they were asked for.

It was a mainly British crowd at the hotel but there were groups of older Spanish and Germans there as well. I read reviews about theft from their rooms and the baggage room; if you're stupid enough to leave an iPod in an unlocked bag in the baggage room or an iPad on the bedside table when you go out leaving the window open, then you deserve to get it taken - in my view people need to take some responsibility.

We paid £220 for 5 night all inclusive at the hotel and it was well worth the money, especially if, like us, you like a drink or two. I would stay at the Flora again, but hopefully we'd get better weather!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonnyb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,939 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

It's been a week since we returned from the Flora and we have had time to mull over the seven days we spent there and we have come to the conclusion that we had a good holiday. Things did not go smoothly in terms of accommodation and weather but both came good in the end. On arrival our allocated room, in Flora 2, was occupied so we were given an alternative. In Flora 2 the accommodation is either studio or one bed apartment. The studio has a cooking/dining area, a bathroom/toilet and a sleeping area with twin beds whilst the apartment, which is larger than a studio, has a bedroom, cooking/dining area and lounge which can be converted to sleep additional guests. We had booked a studio and that is what we were allocated but when we got to room 301 we could not but help notice metal connecting door with the apartment next door. No great problem, we thought, until we realised that the door meant that all, and I mean all, sound travelled between the adjoining apartments. We could easily put up with the odd conversation, movement of chairs and assorted furniture, and showering but the amorous activities of the young couple next door was an imposition too far. We requested a move which took a couple of days due to the need to speak to various staff, but Aday in reception fixed us up and we got another studio in Flora 2. So full marks to reception - they fixed or problem which is what we wanted.
This was our third visit to Flora so we knew what to expect and we wondered if they could maintain the standard. I am pleased to say that the we were happy with all aspects. The bar staff are friendly and helpful and we were always served promptly and with a smile. The entertainment (Animation) team seemed to be powered by Duracell batteries and were busy from morning 'til night. The cleaning staff were excellent and even when we had a downpour, one afternoon, the hotel was clean and dry fairly quickly. The restaurant staff worked tirelessly and patiently even with some guests who liked to sit and talk long after the 9pm closure. The chef performs wonders with his menus. We were only disappointed on one night when the Chinese theme owed more to Iceland Frozen Foods than any part of china. All meals were fully edible and on many occasions excellent. Some of the fish dishes were wonderfully succulent and delicious. There were fresh vegetables and salads available, several meat options and the ubiquitous chip at lunch and dinner to complement English and continental breakfast options. I still fail to see the point of travelling 1500 miles and expecting to eat egg and chips every day, so anyone who found the menus unpalatable should stay in Blackpool.
The hotel is clean throughout and new seating was being installed in public areas during our stay. The pools, one adjacent to the bar and one in Flora 2, are not heated so can be a surprise when you jump in. Only the bar pool has a kiddies section so that should be noted if you are staying in Flora 2 as the pool there is 6 feet deep throughout. The paths in and access to the Flora can be steep and may not be fully suitable to the elderly or less ambulant and the hotel itself is on a steep hill above the old port in Puerto del Carmen so that needs to be borne in mind.
Out and about there are some lovely walks around the coast both north and south of Puerto del Carmen. The coastal path to Puerto Calero provides stunning views and is about 3miles in length with many stopping places and seats to break up the effort. To the north it is possible to walk to Arrecife taking in the shops of Puerto del Carmen, the beaches of Los Pocillos, the plane watchers at the end of the airport runway, and the idyllic Canarian seafront at Playa Honda. If walking is not your forte there are many cycle shops where two, three or four wheeled pedal options can be hired.
In summary the Flora is a good three star hotel where the staff are friendly and helpful and we will be looking to book up for 2013 as soon as we can.

Room Tip: All rooms good (except 301)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pat1N0rthEastEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

we have just had 9 days at the flora the hotel was very good, staff were very friendly the hotel was very clean but old ,food very good always somthing to eat the hills were a bit steep for us but no complaints, would we go back know its to hilly

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at the Flora complex 25 Nov - 2 Dec. Overall it was a good stay and I can't fault very much about the place considering how cheap it was for us.

We went half board in a two-bedroom apartment based in Flora II. The apartment was nice enough, quite basic, but clean and not too noisey at any time of the day. Maid service most days, and our maid was very cheery and left the apartment clean and fresh after every visit. Beds weren't the best quality, but are they ever at hotels like this? Poolside was nice, and plenty of sun loungers available in flora II.

The short walk through the tunnel to the main complex wasn't too bad, although if you were all inclusive I'd imagine it would get annoying every time you wanted a drink!

The food was good quality for our breakfast and dinners and there appeared to be plenty on offer and the waiting staff pleasant enough.

The hotel is quite out the way from the main resort (we already knew this having visited PDC before) and it can get tiring going up and down the hill a few times a day, but taxis always sitting outside if you don't fancy the walk to the strip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MICKM_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just returned from a one week stay here. It's just ok. Set right at the top of a hill it's probably the biggest complex in this locale. People have already mentioned the layout of the hotel grounds so I won't go into that. We had room 206 with a pool view but set away near end which was great. The rear of the apartment (where the bedroom is) backed on to another quiet complex and was very peaceful with no night time noise. 206 doesn't get the sun until the afternoon so is probably good to wake up to when the weather is 100% hotter than on our visit. The apartments are ok but require much updating as soft furnishings look faded, the bed sheets tissue thin and insubstantial and the beds the usual little pint sized affairs on annoyingly creaky wooden bases (wakes you up when you turn in your sleep). Maid service was neither here nor there with no real discernable signs/smells of a cleaning process having taken place. Note... should you return to your apartment and discover all of the kitchen cupboard doors and drawers wide open...don't worry it's just that a maid has visited to to take an inventory of cupboard/drawer things...yet the stupid person left the place looking like our apartment had been gone through. Small apology only about this. Note...pay for the safe (15 euros/week). The poolside is not large at all. Most of the outside space taken up by bar/restaurant outside seating area. Flora was surprisingly busy for time of year so no space by the pool. Yes true you can't claim a sun lounger until 09:30 but false that they make sure people don't 'reserve' with towels. The other problem I had with the Flora was the 'all inclusive' factor and a particular kind of clientele this service attracts. Sure, most people seemed to have paid to be all inclusive and most people used this service to their benefit in a civil way. However, there will always be the minority who utilise the free alcoholic drinks service to excess and who look kind of tragic in the process. It was our 1st time in Lanzarote and even though the weather was terrible we will return. However, we will be looking for apartments elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank euroweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I dont tend to leave reviews but felt the need to after bad reviews on here. i have just returned from 7nights all inclusive at the Flora Hotel. The staff are excellent and always cheery, jesus on the bar is always happy and remebers what round of drinks you have! The animation team, Ellie and Mark are also excellent, brilliant with the young children and also getting the adults involved in daily activities, dancing, archery, pool,water volly ball. etc etc and mini disco for the children in the evening before the adult entertainment. The entertainmetn was good especially the magic show and the singer!! The food wasnt for me but i am a fussy eater, however my family loved the food, good choice. We ate out a few nights, its cheap enough, and is a nice change from the hotel food. You must try Galleons inn ( great english bar) nice food, tv and cheap =). Also try Blue bells. On arrival the two rooms were not next to each other as requsted, one was in flora one and the other in two,we advised we had booked both in flora and was no problem for reception to change this for us, quickly. As my aunty had been before we had a bottle of champagne in each room, complementary. YES the Hotel is at the top of a hill, only a problem if you have walking difficulties, buses go past regular and is only 10-15min walk and 2.60 in a taxi back. I would return, thinking of going in January, but will go self catering. Nice cleans rooms, and cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Stay in flora1 over looking the pool.

Room Tip: Ask to be in flora 1 with pool view,if your all inclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had an amazing time at THB Flora Hotel, the staff made the holiday an unforgettable experience. The whole staff team were very friendly and welcoming in particular Elly and Mark from the animation team whom i miss very much. Elly was very lovely, fun and enthusiastic and always went out of her way to make us holiday makers feel comfortable. I would defiantly rate the hotel five star and would love to return without a doubt. The food and service also was amazing. Me and my family had a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: By the swimming pool under the bridge was an ideal place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siobhan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.2 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#77 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,305 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,864 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
787 reviews
9.8 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THB Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THB Flora

Address: Reina Sofia 25, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $59 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel THB Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Flora, located in Puerto del Carmen, is a settlement of studios and apartments with beautiful gardens and a multitude of services to offer a unique experience for your next holiday in Lanzarote. Relax in our beautiful pools and participate in our complete entertainment program of activities for adults and children. You will discover that the THB Flora Hotel is the perfect place for a holiday with your family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel THB Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb Flora Puerto Del Carmen
Thb Flora Hotel
Flora Apartments Lanzarote
Hotel THB Flora Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing